Strength Weight/Athletic Training: AFL

i don't think they'd be counting cals as they have a chef and all at the club that cooks most of their meals which would focus on quality foods above all else...and they train 6 days a week with plenty of 2 a days in there as well

Apologies if it's been asked/answered earlier in the thread, but on average how often would AFL players be lifting weights throughout the season?

2 - 3 per week maybe 4 depending on the player (injuries, experience, fatigue etc)...ill be releasing an unseasoned training manual for footy in the next month or so

i don't think they'd be counting cals as they have a chef and all at the club that cooks most of their meals which would focus on quality foods above all else...and they train 6 days a week with plenty of 2 a days in there as well

i guess so, brandon ellis said his skin fold test wasn't impressive after being in a calorie surplus and so the club put him in the heat chamber to lose a few kilos. matt white needed to lose fat a few years ago due to injury and said he had a meeting with the dietitian.

i guess so, brandon ellis said his skin fold test wasn't impressive after being in a calorie surplus and so the club put him in the heat chamber to lose a few kilos.

Does that even help bodyfat percentages? I always thought that was a last ditch solution for people who needed to drop water weight quickly before weigh ins.

it's not really a sauna if that's what you mean? he was doing circuits and cycling in there.

anyone can correct me if i'm wrong (pretty likely) but i think the increased or decreased temperate helps the body lose weight, as your body does it's best to maintain a constant temperature..which speeds up metabolism? don't take my word for it, think i saw it on a gridiron fitness video many years ago

it's not really a sauna if that's what you mean? he was doing circuits and cycling in there.

Ok gotcha. Freo doesn't have anything that advanced, hence the move away from Freo Oval.

anyone can correct me if i'm wrong (pretty likely) but i think the increased or decreased temperate helps the body lose weight, as your body does it's best to maintain a constant temperature..which speeds up metabolism? don't take my word for it, think i saw it on a gridiron fitness video many years ago
The Bulldogs have a sports science unit of Vic Uni monitoring their heat room training - they believe it works better than altitude training

do you know much more about it? i was wondering how hot the rooms are and if they would just be like training on a 35 degree day

Maybe that's why we don't need one - we train like that every day of preseason.

Not very much - I think part of it is the variance in temperatures and the body's coping mechanisms

what are people's running programs like? now that season started it's pretty hard to get proper running in but i've recovered really well from both trials i played, and round one yesterday so i went down this evening and did an 800m (2.55) followed by 8x100 (about 16 secs on each).

just prior to last season i did an 800 in 2.43 so i was hoping to get my 800 time down to 2.30 this season. i did a fresh 800m a couple of weeks back and did 2.51 which was a bit disappointing given the summer training i've put in. i feel fitter than last year. with the 800 i did a couple of weeks back or today i wasn't puffing too hard at the end but the legs just wouldn't go any quicker. obviously today the body was still a bit sore from playing yesterday, but the earlier 800 i hadn't done any training for about 3 days prior and felt real fresh at the start.

80% of my pre-season running has revolved around shorter sprints, i usually do between 4 and 6 sets and the sets total 400 metres - either 20x20 over 6 minutes, 8x50 over 5 minutes, 4x100 over 4 minutes or a 1x330 (the park at the back of my house is ~330 circumfrence) - so i'm doing between 1600 metre and 2400 metres over 20-30 minutes...i was doing these about twice a week on average. sometimes dropped off to just once a week, sometimes did them every second day. maybe not enough volume? i'm generally absolutely rooted at the end and really don't feel like i can go much further. perhaps maybe the opposite and i'm overtraining but i feel physically good. real good most of the time actually.

i just would've thought with the summer i had put in, i'd be posting better times than that. i didn't do any time testing till lately, which hasn't helped. i should've started testing around christmas to get an idea of the pace i can run at. maybe i just have to accept at 28, i know i'm not old, but i'm not the spring chicken i was at 22. and years of shithouse attitude to recovery is probably coming back to haunt me. this summer after nearly every session i've properly cooled down, properly stretched and run the cold water for at least a minute in the shower. this is pretty much a complete 180 degree turnaround to the previous 28 years of my life.

in saying that in neither of the trials, the game yesterday, or at training with teammates have i found myself falling far behind. certainly i'm not up with the real fittest guys there, but i'm not miles behind them, i did a pretty good tagging job on a quick and fit youngster yesterday who was about 20 so i it's not disastrous. just thought it'd be a bit better.

what are people's running programs like? now that season started it's pretty hard to get proper running in but i've recovered really well from both trials i played, and round one yesterday so i went down this evening and did an 800m (2.55) followed by 8x100 (about 16 secs on each).

just prior to last season i did an 800 in 2.43 so i was hoping to get my 800 time down to 2.30 this season. i did a fresh 800m a couple of weeks back and did 2.51 which was a bit disappointing given the summer training i've put in. i feel fitter than last year. with the 800 i did a couple of weeks back or today i wasn't puffing too hard at the end but the legs just wouldn't go any quicker. obviously today the body was still a bit sore from playing yesterday, but the earlier 800 i hadn't done any training for about 3 days prior and felt real fresh at the start.

80% of my pre-season running has revolved around shorter sprints, i usually do between 4 and 6 sets and the sets total 400 metres - either 20x20 over 6 minutes, 8x50 over 5 minutes, 4x100 over 4 minutes or a 1x330 (the park at the back of my house is ~330 circumfrence) - so i'm doing between 1600 metre and 2400 metres over 20-30 minutes...i was doing these about twice a week on average. sometimes dropped off to just once a week, sometimes did them every second day. maybe not enough volume? i'm generally absolutely rooted at the end and really don't feel like i can go much further. perhaps maybe the opposite and i'm overtraining but i feel physically good. real good most of the time actually.

i just would've thought with the summer i had put in, i'd be posting better times than that. i didn't do any time testing till lately, which hasn't helped. i should've started testing around christmas to get an idea of the pace i can run at. maybe i just have to accept at 28, i know i'm not old, but i'm not the spring chicken i was at 22. and years of shithouse attitude to recovery is probably coming back to haunt me. this summer after nearly every session i've properly cooled down, properly stretched and run the cold water for at least a minute in the shower. this is pretty much a complete 180 degree turnaround to the previous 28 years of my life.

in saying that in neither of the trials, the game yesterday, or at training with teammates have i found myself falling far behind. certainly i'm not up with the real fittest guys there, but i'm not miles behind them, i did a pretty good tagging job on a quick and fit youngster yesterday who was about 20 so i it's not disastrous. just thought it'd be a bit better.

a mate of mine trains an elite pro boxer who has had fitness problems. they tried all sorts of different training regimes with varying degrees of limited success. eventually they twigged the impediment could be diet related, so they went to a pro nutritionist who order blood tests etc. the 'coats' looked at his blood and discovered his blood wasnt carrying oxygen very well. he was lacking something in his diet. it may have been folate and b12, i cant remember. but from that blood test the nutritionist set a diet program. now the boxer has made amazing advances in his fitness levels. can train way beyond what he could achieve before.

in light of this, my advice is to go to a nutritionist, get the blood test done, and tweek your diet.

cheers mate that could be a go. have to give it a few weeks though while i sort my $$$ out as recently re-started a work contract after 2 weeks bludgeing. my diet and routine is generally good, but i am prone to blow outs where i binge up for a week or two on the booze. i still train during those periods cause i love running and kicking a footy around but the intensity is definitely not there as compared to when i'm fully focussed.

my only alcohol intake on the weekend was 6 to 10 beers at home on sat night across about 5 hours and it's amazing how much better i feel monday morning (not to mention the bank account). probably gonna need more of these weekends though the boys are a great bunch of lads so it's easy to fall into temptation with them... this once again comes back to the fact i'm not 22 any more and could go on an all night bender, get home about 7 and go straight to the game and play as if i had 9 hours sleep.

my weight also doesn't seem to move much at all. regardless of whether i'm training or not. i don't know if that's good or bad? over this pre-season i've barely from moved from 85kg's. i went on a 6 week boozing tour of NZ at the end of last season where i did only two runs the whole time. i was looking through my notes last night and my average weight during the week leading into grand final last year was 84.5kg's, my average weight the week after i got back from NZ was 84.9. it's @ 85.5 at the moment. i'm 181/2cm's so about average, probably 2-3 over for footy though. That said when i'm training properly I definitely notice i'm leaner, but the weight is still pretty much exactly the same.

cheers mate that could be a go. have to give it a few weeks though while i sort my $$$ out as recently re-started a work contract after 2 weeks bludgeing. my diet and routine is generally good, but i am prone to blow outs where i binge up for a week or two on the booze. i still train during those periods cause i love running and kicking a footy around but the intensity is definitely not there as compared to when i'm fully focussed.

my only alcohol intake on the weekend was 6 to 10 beers at home on sat night across about 5 hours and it's amazing how much better i feel monday morning (not to mention the bank account). probably gonna need more of these weekends though the boys are a great bunch of lads so it's easy to fall into temptation with them... this once again comes back to the fact i'm not 22 any more and could go on an all night bender, get home about 7 and go straight to the game and play as if i had 9 hours sleep.

my weight also doesn't seem to move much at all. regardless of whether i'm training or not. i don't know if that's good or bad? over this pre-season i've barely from moved from 85kg's. i went on a 6 week boozing tour of NZ at the end of last season where i did only two runs the whole time. i was looking through my notes last night and my average weight during the week leading into grand final last year was 84.5kg's, my average weight the week after i got back from NZ was 84.9. it's @ 85.5 at the moment. i'm 181/2cm's so about average, probably 2-3 over for footy though. That said when i'm training properly I definitely notice i'm leaner, but the weight is still pretty much exactly the same.

do a google on folate and see how important it is for assisting with oxygen transportation in the blood.

most greens are high in folate. go for raw spinach or silver beet. eat a plateful and see how good you feel the next day!! also, nori, the jap seaweed is a good source of it.

recipe.

chop silver beet finely (very)
mix crushed garlic, few drops sesame oil. mix equal amount olive oil and soy sauce. mix this dressing in a huge plate of young spinach or fine chopped silver beet and eat raw. really, good, shit.

id have a steak with it...

cheers mate, just had a real quick scan there. So many foods high in B9 i don't like :( but that's the same for just about anything. I'm the most picky eater on the planet. Only thing I'd change about myself really.

with training 2 nights a week plus a game on saturday why do you need MORE running?

Yep, put in hard at training (like game day) and that will be all the running you require IMO

I agree they probly arent counting calories, but they would have a general idea.

A lot of football players have come through my gym and they drink the Musashi p30 (Roughly 30g protein, 25g sugar)

The club would recommend them healthy food choices but ultimately they make their own choices. and can get away with a lot more IMO because of their extremely active lifestyle.

How can a 14 year old improve the physical side of his game?

I wonder when Collingwood are going to clue on that there extensive list of soft tissue injuries are due to their lifting program??
North Melbourne have been way ahead of the pack with injury prevention (Steve Saunders), port are doing something very similar, time on the track >>>> time in the gym. Get neuromuscular control correct, accompany with proficient biomechanics and load accordingly. Old school lifting programs & football don't mix

how do you know what nm and coll do in their training?

that being said i went to a david buttafant talk (ex collingwood s&c coach now at carlton i think?) when collingwood were supposably at the forefront of footy s&c and it turns i was doing glute activation stuff 3 or 4 yrs before collingwood which was suprising...they'd only gotten onto it from a physio from within the club right at the end of buckley's career which might have lasted a bit longer and been more successful at the back end if they had implemented that with him and his dodgy hamstrings earlier