If we dont change the style of play we have no hope. Zone and handball against Port and they will repeat the NAB cup result.

BL v COL · NM v CAR · ADE v FRE · RIC v PA · WCE v SYD · MEL v GCS · WB v ESS · HAW v GEE ·
Weekend Wrap and "Liked, Learned, Hated" right here -- How did tipping go?
Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
steady on. we only kicked 10 goals, and the doggies have been going through a rough patch of form of their own.
better isn't the same as good enough.
o tbh i suspect we might make 11th-12th by season's end, but god knows)Log in to remove this Banner Ad
Amer, Port flogged us in the pre-season comp. Comprehensively flogged us. I don't think their win says anything more about St Kilda than it does about Port. Port are a young and inconsistent side, but make no mistake, they are playing some good footy. St Kilda, on the other hand, won convincingly last week without said Riewoldt in the side. I'm thinking it was more a mental thing last night rather than a talent (or lack thereof). Port have self-belief (something we are sorely lacking at the moment) and St Kilda quite possibly thought they had the game won and slackened off (this is something that will see them miss out on the ultimate prize IMO).
The positives out of that game for us could be that it was a hard slog in the rain and they will be buggered for next week. The negatives are that they'll have their tails up after a win against THE contender.
Thats wrong. Fremantle have been one of the worst travelling sides (one victory in Melbourne for 4 years) and the Saints got over the line in a titanic struggle by 15 points - hardly convincing. Saints without Reiwoldt is a huge loss for them and their chances winning the flag have diminished significantly (they won't even make the GF is my call).
A showdown is 50 - 50 bet each and every time. How many times has the side that was expected to win, lose? In recent years, first showdown 2004, first showdown 2005, last showdown 2006, last showdown 2008. Its just about a regular occurence.

Betting oddsSorry but we (Adelaide) were favorites for that game. You had just come off a shell lacking the previous week from St Kilda.

Apologies to the fear mongers ahead of next week's clash, but I'd suggest Port's victory says more about St Kilda than it does the mob that got up. If the adjustments to opposition spreads and set-pieces defensively in Riewoldt's absence are any indication, I'm calling panic stations here and now for the Saints. Alarm bells should've been sounding last week when they decided they needed to uproot a player of Goddard's ilk to save face; but Fremantle, oversold as they have been thus far, had people transfixed.
The Victorian media's been selling this mob as a contender without Riewoldt all week. I can't see that. They're in bigger trouble than people think.
As far as we go, with our form you'd be lying through clenched teeth if you were to say you'd tip us with confidence. But we're in with a shot.

I reckon you're on the money with the Saints.
They were a rabble last night. A headless chook.
They never seem to give Port any respect when they come here and have paid the price again. Against the crows on the other hand, they are like Port - they grow another leg.
But hell, can't see them being a contender until Riewolt is back and in form. Saints will still be top four you would think but I don't think they could win it without him.
I just can't see us doing any better than the saints could, the way Port harass and ...well...just get in the way...like somebody else's annoying children running around your feet.![]()
It was comfortably our best loss. I wonder if we'll top it this week?the great thing is I believe our worst is well behind us.
If we played like we did against the Dogs we would have won probably 2 games already.

Gram was also a big loss for them, they had no run
This week will be a great test for our kids against one of the real up and coming young lists in the AFL.

Now where have i heard that before![]()

I reckon you're on the money with the Saints.
They were a rabble last night. A headless chook.
They never seem to give Port any respect when they come here and have paid the price again. Against the crows on the other hand, they are like Port - they grow another leg.
Nice victim mentality, if only the opposition didnt try so hard we might just have done better!!
Good luck with that.![]()
Nice victim mentality, if only the opposition didnt try so hard we might just have done better!!
Good luck with that.![]()
You can read into it anything you like, but seriously ....'victim mentality' comment from a Power supporter.![]()
Have you ever read anything on the power board? - Everybody hates us, nobody wants to just hand us a casual few $mill, tv against the gate because they dont want us to make money, the umpiring is against because the afl dont want us to be successful...is Port the only team that has officially gone boohooing to the afl about the umpiring? ...they wont let us merge only because they hate us... yaddayaddayadda. Yep good luck with that.
Poor victims.
I'm considering putting money on he crows winning. Should be easy for you guys. If you guys don't win this then god have mercy on your soul.
RIP

We seem to play teams into form, Carlton beat us won today , Freo...keep on winning, Swans ,,, keep winning as well, Melbourne...just may have given them the confidence after nearly beating Collingwood...
So....does this mean we have played some teams that are actually pretty good ...from the ladder now we have played four of the top 8 and ninth - next week we front a genuine, and I mean a GENUINE bottom 8 side ...I see nothing Port have done to impress me ...95 point shellacking, a grind over Saints who for whatever reason decided to play defensively all night, held on against North and beat WC courtesy of 65 clangers by the Eagles.
Does logic go out the window...or do we just hope the Footy Gods have had their fun and order will be restored next week?![]()