bac

western bulldogs
Any body know why they fail attract any decent ex AFL players.

Do they not want to pay to attarct players?

They didnt get any decent ex AFL this year, i understand why Urch went to Willy town he didnt want to be assosicated with North who are Werribee AFL partners.

They attract good VFL players who always end up leaving eg Jimmy Allan, Salim Hassain? (God help us if Pods left)

Is the club still in deep financial trouble I would have thought that the Tigers Club (Pokie Venue) should be putting a fair bit back into the club. They seem to have good sponsors and always attract a good local followingat home games.

Not sure how much Pokies revenue goes back to the Tigers.

How much does an AFL alignment affect them financially?

As an outsider, perhaps distance to travel to training/games if not local (is that really an issue these days? Same question for Frankston too I guess).

What is the image of the club and are conditions at the ground for training.

Any body know why they fail attract any decent ex AFL players.

Do they not want to pay to attarct players?

They didnt get any decent ex AFL this year, i understand why Urch went to Willy town he didnt want to be assosicated with North who are Werribee AFL partners.

They attract good VFL players who always end up leaving eg Jimmy Allan, Salim Hassain? (God help us if Pods left)

Is the club still in deep financial trouble I would have thought that the Tigers Club (Pokie Venue) should be putting a fair bit back into the club. They seem to have good sponsors and always attract a good local followingat home games.

I work for Werribee and my understand is that we do want to attract players, but problem is plenty of local metro/country clubs can affod to pay them more in some cases.

Allan and Hassan left because they want to test themselves at another level which is the SANFL.

Not sure about our financial status.

Allan and Hassan left because they want to test themselves at another level which is the SANFL.

Not sure about our financial status.

Thats hardly another level. The SANFL is at best on par in terms of skill level. Only the $$$ is on another level!

I'm not sure its just Werribee that is facing the dilemia of getting a former AFL star or a 'marquee' player. They have managed to keep 'Pods' firing in that forward line...

They have been good at developing their (Werribee Based) players mentioned Hassan and Allan as a few. I think the Bulldogs alignment had a lot to do with players making an impact then leaving for greener pastures. Werribee have a great culture and a great club, with more development at Bartercard Oval.

Lets just hope they can continue to unearth stars, and the new batch of Costello, Glesson and Rockefellar can hang around for a while and enjoy some Tiger success!!

Before the AFL alignments, Werribee used to have big crowds every week. as there was always local players playing for them. People would go and watch thier mates play at a high level. these were the succesful days for the Werribee Football Club. Back when there would be 18 good local footballers and a couple of marquee footballers. (i.e Shaun Smith, Micheal Frost) These players were superstars and I can remember walking down to Chirnside park and seeing people struggling to find car parks near the ground. now if the reserves for both teams didnt hang around and watch the games, the crowd would be lucky to get to 100!
Watton street would have people streaming down at 1.30 to see the mighty tigers going around. Now no one wants to go. I hope now that it is only a part alignment that local kids, like Rhyce Prismall, Ben Fletcher, Chris Hudson and a few others get a crack at it and bring back the Werribee Football Club as we used to know it.
Its a shame that the western jets and williamstown are aligned, as their are a lot of talented western suburbs kids going straight to willi. I.e Patrick rose, Nathan Lyons, Nathan Black, Tom Langlands & David Stretton. That leaves the 2nd round WRFL u/18's to top up the werribee sides. the players that were not good enough to play TAC cup level.

I want the AFL out of the VFL. Bring back the suburban football and bugger the rest of them!

Before the AFL alignments, Werribee used to have big crowds every week. as there was always local players playing for them. People would go and watch thier mates play at a high level. these were the succesful days for the Werribee Football Club. Back when there would be 18 good local footballers and a couple of marquee footballers. (i.e Shaun Smith, Micheal Frost) These players were superstars and I can remember walking down to Chirnside park and seeing people struggling to find car parks near the ground. now if the reserves for both teams didnt hang around and watch the games, the crowd would be lucky to get to 100!
Watton street would have people streaming down at 1.30 to see the mighty tigers going around. Now no one wants to go. I hope now that it is only a part alignment that local kids, like Rhyce Prismall, Ben Fletcher, Chris Hudson and a few others get a crack at it and bring back the Werribee Football Club as we used to know it.
Its a shame that the western jets and williamstown are aligned, as their are a lot of talented western suburbs kids going straight to willi. I.e Patrick rose, Nathan Lyons, Nathan Black, Tom Langlands & David Stretton. That leaves the 2nd round WRFL u/18's to top up the werribee sides. the players that were not good enough to play TAC cup level.

I want the AFL out of the VFL. Bring back the suburban football and bugger the rest of them!

Spot on.

As a kid in the early to mid 90's, I loved going with my Dad to see the Doggies on the Saturday and the Tigers at Chirnside Park on the Sunday or vice versa.

These were the days when Werribee had players like Jack Aziz, Damien Drum, Neale Daniher, Stephen Sells, Dallas Normington, Lynton Fitzpatrick, David Allday and Andrew Button.

I loved it as the VFA, but the character has gone from the competition now and the Werribee Tigers are just not the same, which is a pity.

Are no longer interested in the competition or just the club in general Dogs Rule?

Being a Dogs supporter I keep an eye on Williamstown, but I wouldn't say I'm an ardent fan (one that goes to matches every week).

I still live in Werribee and I wish the Tigers well, but for some reason, I don't get as excited as I used to about the competition anymore.

I reckon the SANFL is better. Older bodies and minds = better football

u would think that older bodies would be viewed as a negative! how can u compare the SANFL to the VFL when the (at least) half the players running around on a saturday in the VFL are AFL listed??
get serious

Are no longer interested in the competition or just the club in general Dogs Rule?

The only reason why I am interested in the VFL is Brent Prismall a werribee boy, cant get a game with Geelongs seniors and he is dominating. That is a very different tune that i used to sing when big Jack was kicking goals for the tigers!

I know that your involved with the club Ben, and when i was a kid, I loved it that much that i would have done anything to help out. I loved the Werribee tigers, but not no more. I am interested and hope they win, but ever since the locals have been taken out of the game, and forced to chase dollars in local comps, local competitions have flourished whilst the V.F.A / V.F.L has perished. I know that this is the same for clubs other than Werribee. But if you want to find me watching a game on the weekend, look for me at the Werribee Amatuers. Were im watching My former teammates from a junior level, cousins and family friends play. Not watching a bunch of blokes that couldnt care less about the club, the town or the supporters who go and watch.

I want the AFL out of the VFL. Bring back the suburban football and bugger the rest of them![/QUOTE]

I would agree but it aint going to happen the AFL are pulling all the strings and will mould the VFL(sic) as it pleases.

ATM both Peter Schwab CEO and John Hook FOM are both as usefull as **** on a bull. FFS Schwab commentates on AFL football radio on the weekends!
How about he does his job and attends some local clubs to see whats really happening to the rapidily declining VFL/AFL seconds comp

I used to go watch willy heaps as a kid but as ive gotten older and the way its going, its not the same as the old days.

It was a great day when it was local players playing with the odd marquee player and the club really connected with the community.

Being a willy junior, we rarely saw the VFL side down at the junior club which would be disappointing.

If im not watching north, i would much rather watch the western magpies another junior club of mine and watch me mates play and kick back with them after the game.

What I would love to see is say the AFL make a reserves comp where it can either be a 12 team eastern seaboard comp or the 16 sides now.

As for the VFL, merge it with the TAC cup and then the clubs have a seniors reserves and under 19s. It might also give guys the chance to go back to there VFL clubs with there loyalty if they get delisted.

I like your way of thinking.

But as the guy before you said. It will never happen the AFL are happy with the current system even though no one else is. So much for the AFL giving to grassroots football, they are raping grassroots football.

table tennis, you just dont follow werribee because youve become an eastern suburbs toff. your an undercover box hill fan these days arent ya???

You can take the boy out of Werribee, But you cant take the Werribee out of the boy!

I think you should worry about your old clubs fortunes. Whingenvale. Their stuffed!

I really miss the old VFA. Remember Port v Werribee at Chirnside one day drew close to 8-10,000. Even old enough to remember the 2nd Div days where as kids we could go into the rooms and hear the half time address.

All gone now. How can you possibly take a competition seriously when half the players running around don't really want to be there?

The VFL is not a patch on the VFA it is just a reserves competition - as mentioned previously, stocked with players who don't want to be there. They'd rather be in their Ones.

The SANFL is a better quality of football (having seen the SANFL, WAFL and VFL at close quarters in recent years), and their clubs are far more cohesive as the core of the side remains consistent week in week out ... and the crowds are proof of the pudding (2000+ v maybe 300-400)

The VFL is not a patch on the VFA it is just a reserves competition - as mentioned previously, stocked with players who don't want to be there. They'd rather be in their Ones.

The SANFL is a better quality of football (having seen the SANFL, WAFL and VFL at close quarters in recent years), and their clubs are far more cohesive as the core of the side remains consistent week in week out ... and the crowds are proof of the pudding (2000+ v maybe 300-400)

You have to remember too, The SANFL and WAFL have been the number 1 leagues in thier states for a long time before AFL footy came along. VFL/VFA footy has always been number 2 in this state. So therefore i dont think it is fair to be compared to the SANFL or WAFL.

All heritage and community spirit has been pulled out of the VFL. As suggested above, no one wants to be there anymore.

Get rid of the AFL reserves, bring back local sides, which intern will bring the crowds, which will see the VFL return to the glory days of years before.

Either that or abolish it, and with the Metropolitan leagues, make them a state leauge with the powerhouses forming division 1 and work the way down like that. Similar to District Cricket style.

Now days, i rather watch the Werribee Amatuers than Werribee Tigers.

Had a rather fruitful association with Werribee in the 1990s (one because of being a local and also because a number of mates suited up for them).

Part of the problem is the strength of Hoppers Crossing in the WRFL. In fact, if you go and check their playing list, there is a very common theme...half played at Werribee!

Now Ben, can you confirm for me what is going on with these supposed lights the club is putting in for the new season (and the match against Bendigo which will kick things off), because I haven't heard a bloody thing.

Had a rather fruitful association with Werribee in the 1990s (one because of being a local and also because a number of mates suited up for them).

Part of the problem is the strength of Hoppers Crossing in the WRFL. In fact, if you go and check their playing list, there is a very common theme...half played at Werribee!

Now Ben, can you confirm for me what is going on with these supposed lights the club is putting in for the new season (and the match against Bendigo which will kick things off), because I haven't heard a bloody thing.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...task=DETAIL&articleID=7076595&sectionID=60264

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...task=DETAIL&articleID=7351831&sectionID=60264