Western Region FL - Division One - Part 3

had a beer with the sunshine runner, and he was telling me brett has made proble 3 changes for the whole year from the ground, he has complete faith in the blokes he has on the side lines, and i dont think anyone can bag setters or greg for our performancers because were playing in a pre lim

Faith in your assistants is a great thing but the ultimate responsibility is with the coach. If a vital moves haven't been made and result in a loss, the coach cops it in the neck. BJ is a great addition to your club, no doubt about it but if his right hand men get caught napping, BJ will get the blame. Unfair but that's the plight of the playing coach.
The same goes for Kelly, Clarkey and anyone else who does or has done the job. Had to add that.

Heard Hoppers are going to be chasing Patrick Wiggins over the summer as they need a forward, and he has a connection somehow with David Mitchell.
Wonder if he signed for one or two years at the Roos.

Hoppers were probably a big forward away from a gf in 09 so I'd say Mitch would be looking at any big forwards that could play KP, don't know if Wiggins is on the raider though. In saying that you would think the club will be looking to strengthen list considerably from last seasons side and I reckon he would be looking at a ton of players.

Good win by Spotty again, they are just playing with the league. I'd expect them to beat Albion quite easily in the GF but like last year things don't always go the way we think.

Heard Hoppers are going to be chasing Patrick Wiggins over the summer as they need a forward, and he has a connection somehow with David Mitchell.

Connection would be vfl footy together.

Hoppers were probably a big forward away from a gf in 09 so I'd say Mitch would be looking at any big forwards that could play KP, don't know if Wiggins is on the raider though. In saying that you would think the club will be looking to strengthen list considerably from last seasons side and I reckon he would be looking at a ton of players.

Hoppers have been talking o Scott Grainger from West Coburg leading goal kicker in the EDFL 1st division not a bad effort for a side that won the wodden spoon.

Grainger ex hawthorn listed player spent many years at the bullants as a dominant full forward in the reserves.

Good win by Spotty again, they are just playing with the league. I'd expect them to beat Albion quite easily in the GF but like last year things don't always go the way we think.

I agree with you tige, Spotty have been to the big dance 4 years in a row now, having performed well every time. Having been the most dominant team we have had in any one season for a very long time.
Shame young dumbleton done his hammy, still spotty have the depth to cover.

Wiggo is on board for another year. Both Hoppers and St.Albans have already approached him with bigger offers but he has declined and decided he wants to finish his playing carrer with the Kangas (where his wife has a close connection with long time friends.) Hopefully that helps you put an end to that rumour. Congrats to Spotty for their 4th G/F in a row and hope the weather is fine for what should be a great game. Good luck to both sides and hopefully it's the last G/F at Werribee. Other wise the WRFL will have to put cardboard cut outs around the ground and get every body to bring their dog to get a crowd.

Hoppers have been talking o Scott Grainger from West Coburg leading goal kicker in the EDFL 1st division not a bad effort for a side that won the wodden spoon.

Grainger ex hawthorn listed player spent many years at the bullants as a dominant full forward in the reserves.

If correct his old man played at Essendon (Gary) and has another brother as well Dean, so pretty handy footballer.

I agree with you tige, Spotty have been to the big dance 4 years in a row now, having performed well every time. Having been the most dominant team we have had in any one season for a very long time.
Shame young dumbleton done his hammy, still spotty have the depth to cover.

not according to Time To Relax

I think were Wiggins is going would be better spoken about next week, after the last and biggest game of the year is played.....?
I think Albion will get close to Spotty, but Spotty did win 17 games this year by an average winning margin of around 20 goals for a reason...
Im tipping Spotty by 17 points
Best on to a roughie,,, J. Salmond of Spotty

seeing as spotty are trying for four in a row to equal braybrooks feat can anyone tell me whether brookers four were all in first division.

After speaking to Barry Preist, Braybrook have won 3 consecutive Premierships, twice, never won 4 in a row.
In 1954, 55, 56 and in 1973, 74, 75 In 1975 Braybrook drew with West Footscray and then the following week won.
What ever happened to having Grand Finals REPLAYED if there was a draw?

I think were Wiggins is going would be better spoken about next week, after the last and biggest game of the year is played.....?
I think Albion will get close to Spotty, but Spotty did win 17 games this year by an average winning margin of around 20 goals for a reason...
Im tipping Spotty by 17 points
Best on to a roughie,,, J. Salmond of Spotty

Joel will be out to impress after missing last year and has been in good form,
your not the salmond that plays for altona 18s???

Joel will be out to impress after missing last year and has been in good form,
your not the salmond that plays for altona 18s???

haha! A vote for Joel, doesn't mean im the Salmond from the 18's!
I've watched a couple of Spotty recent games, and he is a quality under rated player, who like you said, would want to prove something after being dropped from last years grand final team...

haha! A vote for Joel, doesn't mean im the Salmond from the 18's!
I've watched a couple of Spotty recent games, and he is a quality under rated player, who like you said, would want to prove something after being dropped from last years grand final team...

don't think luke salmond would be on here more like facebook or twitter would be his go,is joel's cousin and son of one of the wheeler clan from spotswood.

Very true. Have heard that Essendon are thinking of having an alliance with a EDFL team with many other AFL sides considering the same thing. Must be because they are the next level down from the AFL and above the VFL.

Who gives a F___. The EDFL has a top 4 the WRFL has a top 5. EDFL charge to get in WRFL dont. At the end of the day we will never know and never really care. If it bothers you that much dont read the thread.

2 apparent guns were playing for Albion at the start of the year and did nothing. They were servicable at best. Left for better money. Let your league be full of mercenaries thats fine. The pay rol of EDFL clubs is extrodinery. They should be better than the WRFL.

I hate spotty like many other division 1 people but success makes people jealous. If you think they would struggle to make finals fine unfortunatley we will never know. Yes our league may not be as strong as previous years but eveness is more important.

The Pekes Brothers are Far from guns mate,they have gone back to greenvale and are playing 2,s.

Has any club won all 3 grand finals?
Can't see hoppers losing or even albion in reserves
In seniors spotty has that game all sewed up
Margin will be 46 points with Lewis as BOG

hey TIME TO RELAX where your last post gone??????????????????

No Idea - may have been offensive:thumbsdown:

But what I stated was basically Spotty have a few more "A Graders" but there seniors aren't quite as strong through the top 22. IMO

Albion a bit more even across the board list on list. They also have the ability to match up the Spotty talls forward with Haldane / Manton and not sure who goes to Bloomfield for Spotty (perhaps Morgan)???

Either way Princess Strongbow, sure you will be on the bandwagon should Spotty win:D:D:D

Very true. Have heard that Essendon are thinking of having an alliance with a EDFL team with many other AFL sides considering the same thing. Must be because they are the next level down from the AFL and above the VFL.

Who gives a F___. The EDFL has a top 4 the WRFL has a top 5. EDFL charge to get in WRFL dont. At the end of the day we will never know and never really care. If it bothers you that much dont read the thread.

2 apparent guns were playing for Albion at the start of the year and did nothing. They were servicable at best. Left for better money. Let your league be full of mercenaries thats fine. The pay rol of EDFL clubs is extrodinery. They should be better than the WRFL.

I hate spotty like many other division 1 people but success makes people jealous. If you think they would struggle to make finals fine unfortunatley we will never know. Yes our league may not be as strong as previous years but eveness is more important.
every thing you say is close to spot on but i would never be jealous of arrogance.

What are peoples thoughts on the 3 divisions? If I was the league I'd be inviting applications by the 3 Melton clubs In particular The 2 BFL sides. Would lift the standard a bit and even up the 1st division, also makes sense for the Melton based club geographically.

Why hasn't the WRFL approached them already?

What are peoples thoughts on the 3 divisions? If I was the league I'd be inviting applications by the 3 Melton clubs In particular The 2 BFL sides. Would lift the standard a bit and even up the 1st division, also makes sense for the Melton based club geographically.

Why hasn't the WRFL approached them already?

If I was the league I would make sure that all of the current 20 senior teams were in good shape and sustainable before I looked at bringing in any other established clubs.

Growth within the league should come from new start up clubs (like Caroline Springs) that already have a realtionship with the WRFL through their juniors rather than trying to bring in existing clubs from other leagues who are likely to move back again when it suits them.

hey TIME TO RELAX where your last post gone??????????????????

No Idea - may have been offensive:thumbsdown:

But what I stated was basically Spotty have a few more "A Graders" but there seniors aren't quite as strong through the top 22. IMO

Albion a bit more even across the board list on list. They also have the ability to match up the Spotty talls forward with Haldane / Manton and not sure who goes to Bloomfield for Spotty (perhaps Morgan)???

Either way Princess Strongbow, sure you will be on the bandwagon should Spotty win:D:D:D

maybe the offensive part was the comment about the spotty captain, couldnt have been the part about spotty's lack of depth(how many teams they got playing sat), yep we saw real well in first final how they match up well on the spotty talls. morgon on bloomfield has worked before,this could be the key to the game.

What is it with so called gun forwards and seconds coaches.
First was Wiggins and Setterfield in the Brawl to end it all and now the Spotswood seconds coach and the cheap shot specialist Luke Molan close to trading blows at training last week. Molan was accussed of being a sniper and showed his displeasure, both had to be seperated. Might be an interesting Mad Monday.