Prediction What Cat will make 2014 their own?

• Thread starter Thread starter El Dubya

Which of these players do you expect to break out?

I was born and bred in Victoria... but I guess having been in SA for almost 9 years, that makes me a certified South Aussie. I can't help but like the kid after hearing some stuff from people that know him personally. He's the antithesis of a Billie Smedts in every way, but I really do hope that both boys make it.

The antithesis of Billie Smedts in every way,..:D...poor old Billie, looks like he's for it as well according to Scott's new year video, he's not amused with the boy by the sounds.

As for GHS, I think he's as fit as anyone just has that one paced diesel engine and not a revvy peaky one like Motlop, probably a little like the Captain.
Smart guys like him know how much or little time they have, first thing he needs is game time to adapt to the tempo of senior footy.
His attitude wouldn't allow him to go into a season unprepared or semi-fit, he's that sort of guy. On the other hand you'd have to probably watch a guy like Smedts.

I'm interested to see how Darcy Hourigan goes this year in the SANFL, I'll be keeping an eye on his progress too. What do you reckon about Zac Bates, plucky little bloke I reckon, reminds me of Stokes.

Pretty sure this convo is getting muddled up and is about multiple people...

I think you are right young Shane.

Bobby and I are on about two different players.

The antithesis of Billie Smedts in every way,..:D...poor old Billie, looks like he's for it as well according to Scott's new year video, he's not amused with the boy by the sounds.

As for GHS, I think he's as fit as anyone just has that one paced diesel engine and not a revvy peaky one like Motlop, probably a little like the Captain.
Smart guys like him know how much or little time they have, first thing he needs is game time to adapt to the tempo of senior footy.
His attitude wouldn't allow him to go into a season unprepared or semi-fit, he's that sort of guy. On the other hand you'd have to probably watch a guy like Smedts.

I'm interested to see how Darcy Hourigan goes this year in the SANFL, I'll be keeping an eye on his progress too. What do you reckon about Zac Bates, plucky little bloke I reckon, reminds me of Stokes.
I'll keep you updated on Hourigan, I suspect that he'll get a lot of senior game time up forward for the Panthers. They need a big, powerful forward after their dual Ken Farmer medalist (SANFL leading goal kicker) defected to Woodville-Torrens.

As for Bates, I don't know a lot about him, but from what I've seen he reminds me of Leroy Jetta. That could be considered good or bad, but at least from the initial observation I'm confident that he at least has the basic skills required to be a small forward. We know that it takes a lot more than just skill alone to become a decent AFL player though. So it'll be interesting to see how the young lad develops in our system.

I'll keep you updated on Hourigan, I suspect that he'll get a lot of senior game time up forward for the Panthers. They need a big, powerful forward after their dual Ken Farmer medalist (SANFL leading goal kicker) defected to Woodville-Torrens.

As for Bates, I don't know a lot about him, but from what I've seen he reminds me of Leroy Jetta. That could be considered good or bad, but at least from the initial observation I'm confident that he at least has the basic skills required to be a small forward. We know that it takes a lot more than just skill alone to become a decent AFL player though. So it'll be interesting to see how the young lad develops in our system.

Bates looks like the typical little tough nut, but will need tons of dedication to make it all the way.
Hourigan's an interesting one, so powerful but didn't get drafted? There were some unreasonable knocks on him but didn't stop him starring at the Carnival. We'll wait and see.

Assuming that Guthrie has already had a breakout year which I think he has (not to say he can't improve more but he's clearly settled in the best 22 already), then this thread will be owned by Caddy by year's end.

really?
jeez, I would have honestly said he's one of the fittest we have. Ripped it up in the draft trials for fitness tests but spent months on the sidelines with shoulder troubles.

His speed isn't a concern either, certainly as quick as the likes of Bartel, Corey when they were 20yrs of age.
Yeah this has become confused. I was talking about GHS.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

Currently watching GHS spray nearly every kick in march simulation at an open training session. When you're slow as treacle your disposal needs to be Mickey Mouse. His isn't. 2's player.

GHS is slow mentally - decision making and slow over the ground. He won't make it.

Thurlow to come in as a tagger.
Hartman to come in as a crumbling forward. Motlop to move into the midfield more permanently and Varcoe to reinvent himself as a permanent half back.
Can you explain some of these?
Thurlow as a tagger, based on what?
Hartman is a long way from being an AFL level player to my eye. Has patches of brilliance but no consistency.

Definitely can see Mots taking on a midfield role given he spent a lot of time there in 2013 helping with the fast rebound game.
Same with Varcoe, although he is really unaccountable overhead and would need to be playing on a player with the same skill set as himself.

Can you explain some of these?
Thurlow as a tagger, based on what?
Hartman is a long way from being an AFL level player to my eye. Has patches of brilliance but no consistency.

Definitely can see Mots taking on a midfield role given he spent a lot of time there in 2013 helping with the fast rebound game.
Same with Varcoe, although he is really unaccountable overhead and would need to be playing on a player with the same skill set as himself.

Ok. Thud low to tag based on the fact he's strong - has played against men before being drafted. He's a good size. I reckon letting him shadow gun onballers for a couple of years fast tracks his development an truth is hunts not strong enough or big enough to go with the elite onballers.
Hartman has a bucketload of talent. He is a fantastic size a can seriously play. He came to us as a young 18 year old from sanfl fitness. He needs to have his arse kicked over 2 or 3 preseasons but once his fitness catches up with his ability and size he'll be elite.
Varcoe could play the role David Wirrpanda played for the eagles when he was AA. Not because they are both aboriginal, but because they are similar players. Beautiful skills, reasonably quick and can break the lines with both pace, the ability to know when to run, and when to had it off. David Wirrpanda was never great when he had to sit on a player. But that wasn't his role. The eagles back 6 covered his man and freed him up to run and take the opposition on. They were willing to concede his man a couple of goals even, knowing Wirrpanda was probably worth 4 or 5 at least through his run and creativity. Varcoe has all the tricks to make that role his own.

Ok. Thud low to tag based on the fact he's strong - has played against men before being drafted. He's a good size. I reckon letting him shadow gun onballers for a couple of years fast tracks his development an truth is hunts not strong enough or big enough to go with the elite onballers.
Hartman has a bucketload of talent. He is a fantastic size a can seriously play. He came to us as a young 18 year old from sanfl fitness. He needs to have his arse kicked over 2 or 3 preseasons but once his fitness catches up with his ability and size he'll be elite.
Varcoe could play the role David Wirrpanda played for the eagles when he was AA. Not because they are both aboriginal, but because they are similar players. Beautiful skills, reasonably quick and can break the lines with both pace, the ability to know when to run, and when to had it off. David Wirrpanda was never great when he had to sit on a player. But that wasn't his role. The eagles back 6 covered his man and freed him up to run and take the opposition on. They were willing to concede his man a couple of goals even, knowing Wirrpanda was probably worth 4 or 5 at least through his run and creativity. Varcoe has all the tricks to make that role his own.

Thurlow~ could be played anywhere, great overhead, Tassie tough as well.

Hartman~ potential yes!.. passion and hardness? To early to tell in 2013, this year expect big improve.

Varcoe~ a defender? No. You got to be damn tough, otherwise you'll leak goals. He's far from physical which counts him out.

Thurlow~ could be played anywhere, great overhead, Tassie tough as well.

Hartman~ potential yes!.. passion and hardness? To early to tell in 2013, this year expect big improve.

Varcoe~ a defender? No. You got to be damn tough, otherwise you'll leak goals. He's far from physical which counts him out.

Varcoe as a running creator off half back. As previously mentioned, the other 5 back there would need I cover his man at times but his role would be to run and deliver the footy. And I've just been at an open training session watching him play that role at stoppage work. Being farmed the ball to run and give/kick long to options. And the reality is with motlop moving into the midfield his time even on a wing will be less.

Ok, like your idea on Thurlow, but not convinced that's his best role. I see him playing half-back, maybe pushing into the middle. Also not convinced T Hunt is done and dusted, he was really on track before he was injured in 2013.
Agree that Hartman is a long term prospect, I thought you were originally referring to him as potential for 2014.
Varcoe would have to shore up some of his deficiencies to play back consistently well. For instance he is terrible overhead. Running off half-back he could do well, but would he be that much better than say Thurlow, who is a beautiful kick, or Bews, who is pretty quick and really hard at it?

Ok, like your idea on Thurlow, but not convinced that's his best role. I see him playing half-back, maybe pushing into the middle. Also not convinced T Hunt is done and dusted, he was really on track before he was injured in 2013.
Agree that Hartman is a long term prospect, I thought you were originally referring to him as potential for 2014.
Varcoe would have to shore up some of his deficiencies to play back consistently well. For instance he is terrible overhead. Running off half-back he could do well, but would he be that much better than say Thurlow, who is a beautiful kick, or Bews, who is pretty quick and really hard at it?
Hartman with a massive preseason could surprise a lot this year. And the difference between Varcoe and the 2 you mentioned is varcoes best is proven a grade elite.

Varcoe as a running creator off half back. As previously mentioned, the other 5 back there would need I cover his man at times but his role would be to run and deliver the footy. And I've just been at an open training session watching him play that role at stoppage work. Being farmed the ball to run and give/kick long to options. And the reality is with motlop moving into the midfield his time even on a wing will be less.

I take your point and understand you're watching first hand, my concern not bias is, given his record he may not be prepared to go at times as the need requires, this would create a massive hole in our defensive structure and put pressure on the others.
Still think a defender has to be physically committed in all contests and Varcoe doesn't inspire confidence down back, at least not with me.
Maybe he'll prove me wrong, but he didn't last year. Cheers.:thumbsu:

And Aldo, for all the hunt love out there he has never cemented himself as an elite tagged. And the fact is he's small and not strong. Thurlow will in time maybe replace Enright but for now that back 6 is locked in. Taylor longegran Enright mackie rivers and Guthrie. So unless there's an injury he won't be back 6ing

I take your point and understand you're watching first hand, my concern not bias is, given his record he may not be prepared to go at times as the need requires, this would create a massive hole in our defensive structure and put pressure on the others.
Still think a defender has to be physically committed in all contests and Varcoe doesn't inspire confidence down back, at least not with me.
Maybe he'll prove me wrong, but he didn't last year. Cheers.:thumbsu:
Totally see your point. For whatever reason the Injuries hurt him last year. He was a shadow of the 2011 gf player who WAS committed and gut ran and put his body on the line. Let's see how he is after a full pre season injury free

And Aldo, for all the hunt love out there he has never cemented himself as an elite tagged. And the fact is he's small and not strong. Thurlow will in time maybe replace Enright but for now that back 6 is locked in. Taylor longegran Enright mackie rivers and Guthrie. So unless there's an injury he won't be back 6ing
Well my plan is to push Guthrie into the middle, potentially as a tagger. In part to have Thurlow or Bews learn the game off Enright while he's still in the side, and let Guthrie add a level of versatility to his game that the coaches love.

Semantics. The point remains that Varcoe has proven himself to be a sensational player. He's been r*ped by injuries 2 years running. Let's have some perspective
He hasn't shown himself to be consistently sensational, just in patches.

Totally see your point. For whatever reason the Injuries hurt him last year. He was a shadow of the 2011 gf player who WAS committed and gut ran and put his body on the line. Let's see how he is after a full pre season injury free

Just that I thought he was given plenty of time and a fair run at it last year, if he could do the business it should've come then imo.
Anyway he's got another crack, so who knows? Guess we'll all soon find out!

Well my plan is to push Guthrie into the middle, potentially as a tagger. In part to have Thurlow or Bews learn the game off Enright while he's still in the side, and let Guthrie add a level of versatility to his game that the coaches love.

Im not really a fan of the Cam to the MF theory, and i'm even less a fan of him being used as a negator. Im not saying he could not do it I just think that his skills are better suited to attacking footy. Watching him come streaming out of the back line, his calmness under pressure. ( and yes I get that a defender is a negating player ).

I just feel that he could run off very well and having to mind another player may not show his skills to their best.

It is an interesting thought however….

Go Catters