Roast What do we do?

• Thread starter Thread starter docko911

He took rance from a bloke who looked to be heading to the scrap heap into what many are now claiming as the best defender in modern times.
It is no coincidence what so ever we have gone to shit since losing assistants and wilba and lade having taken greater roles.

Rance would have ended up at Hawthorn and be as good as he is now. He was one of the most obvious players that was going to make it with the right guidance. We are just a really really shit club so it took us way longer.

In actual fact it was Leppa that got Rance's career on track.
It was so obvious watching Rance at Coburg he was going to be a star . His biggest issue was that he was like a bull in a China shop .He was reckless and had poor timing and control in the air and he tended to rush his disposals. DH has not developed a single player and this is why we are where we are today. In actual fact guys like Cotchin Ellis Conca TV etc have gone backwards under him. It's amazing how many second and third rounders just get delisted under him yet potatoes like Hampson Chaplin Hunt Morris rock up and steal games from drafted talent.

2016 Off-Season Changes

Coaches

Hardwick - keep
Brendon Lade - replace
Ross Smith - keep
Mark Wilbur Williams - **** off why the **** did we hire Melbourne's development and midfield coach from when they were an absolute rabble. Shit coach.
Mark Choco Williams - keep
Ben Rutten - keep
Greg Mellor - Think about it
Ryan Ferguson & Andrew McQualter - why are these people our development coaches???

Football Director - get one

Recruiting team - overhaul

Trade Bait

Ty Vickery - Round 2 compensation pick (if we get lucky)
Brandon Ellis - Only if we get a top 15 pick - I think Ellis is still perceived as a good player by outsiders so if we can trade him for a good price then take it, otherwise hold on.
Bachar Houli - Only for a top 30 pick
Ben Lennon - Only for pick in the top 20
Ben Griffiths - If we can get into the top 20 ala Rhys Stanley
Jake Batchelor - Test the waters I suppose? See if a third rounder comes and take it.
Reece Conca - Anything in the top 25
Kane Lambert - again test the waters, you never know when a stupidly dumb club might make a move who knows

Retire/Delist

Maric - sorry to say it
Chaplin - cooked
McKenzie obviously
Moore
Townsend
Marcon
Butler (I think will have to go)
Hunt
Morris

2016 Off-Season Changes

Coaches

Hardwick - keep
Brendon Lade - replace
Ross Smith - keep
Mark Wilbur Williams - **** off why the **** did we hire Melbourne's development and midfield coach from when they were an absolute rabble. Shit coach.
Ben Rutten - keep
Ryan Ferguson & Andrew McQualter - why are these people our development coaches???

Trade Bait

Brandon Ellis - Only if we get a top 15 pick - I think Ellis is still perceived as a good player by outsiders so if we can trade him for a good price then take it, otherwise hold on.
Jake Batchelor - Test the waters I suppose? See if a third rounder comes and take it.
Kane Lambert - again test the waters, you never know when a stupidly dumb club might make a move who knows

Retire/Delist

Maric - sorry to say it
Chaplin - cooked
McKenzie obviously
Moore
Townsend
Marcon
Hunt
Morris
Like your work , both Lambert and his mate are duds and no club would want them
Also the whole of the FD need to go.

Rance would have ended up at Hawthorn and be as good as he is now. He was one of the most obvious players that was going to make it with the right guidance. We are just a really really shit club so it took us way longer.
go have a peak at old threads on here . not to many were prepared to suggest he was gunna make it.
hindsight is a great thing and fwiw i dont disagree in the thought players dont develop as others may. I suggest it has been the same for the whole of fj's tenure. he is the master of taking blokes with little scpe for improvement.
He just cant see potential.

Its pretty obvious that we are carrying players that will never make us contenders for a flag.

Having so many players coming off contract at the end of year suggests the club knows it as well.

There's also talk of reviewing all positions in the FD - so its pretty obvious that the club knows that doing nothing and hoping for success is not an option.
Hope the first person out the door is dan richardson absolute amateur. Time to bring bondy home from Fremantle as footy manager. And lure chris fagan from hawks and make him director of coaching

You can call an egm with enough signatures our friend rfctiger74 can enlighten us

caroma

the club has an agm after the end of the season, every season. at that agm the vote is also concluded for the mandatory 3 board positions that get turned over each year (assuming the three positions are contested)

at the agm you can ask questions on the floor, but the reality is most people have no interest in attending.

an egm can be called by obtaining the signatures of a certain number of members. You have to have signatures and membership numbers, and the list will be vetted to ensure they are genuine. At the EGM the board will be spilled. I believe the EGM only occurs at seasons end, but not 100% sure on this part

The fact that he couldn't replace his assistants, and he has a say in who, is another reason to ditch him

I think you will find Richo has much more say on the choice, number, and amount we pay our assistants than the senior coach does.

the senior coach lost much of his power to the head of footy and the list manager following the departure of Wally (the club didn't want to repeat the mistakes he made, so they were taken away from the role).

Just my gut, but I suspect our biggest issue on assistants and development coaches is we are well behind the majors in terms of paying what they do for these guys, so we end up gambling on potential or second tier options.

Footy Classified kicked off with the Tigers stuff tonight

Carro reckons 2 or 3 assistant coaches to be informed by August 1 that their contracts won't be renewed. But Hardwick is safe for 2017 but not necessarily 2018 . Big changes I n the recruiting department next year.

Lloyd said he'd make 13 changes to the list. Trade Conca, Lennon, Vickery, Griff. Delist - hunt, Chaplin, maric, Moore, and 5 others I can't remember .

Hutchy reckons our game plan is stuffed and outdated and not rated by good clubs.

Damian Barret reckons big mistake to re-sign Hardwick at the start of the year, not up to it.

Footy Classified kicked off with the Tigers stuff tonight

Carro reckons 2 or 3 assistant coaches to be informed by August 1 that their contracts won't be renewed. But Hardwick is safe for 2017 but not necessarily 2018 . Big changes I n the recruiting department next year.

Lloyd said he'd make 13 changes to the list. Trade Conca, Lennon, Vickery, Griff. Delist - hunt, Chaplin, maric, Moore, and 5 others I can't remember .

Hutchy reckons our game plan is stuffed and outdated and not rated by good clubs.

Damian ? reckons big mistake to re-sign Hardwick at the start of the year, not up to it.

Purple hates Dimma, like just wants his blood. Think Dimma has given him a whack in the past or something judging by Purples non-stop agenda.

2016 Off-Season Changes

Coaches

Hardwick - keep
Brendon Lade - replace
Ross Smith - keep
Ben Rutten - keep

Trade Bait

Retire/Delist

Maric - sorry to say it
Chaplin - cooked
McKenzie obviously
Moore
Townsend
Marcon
Hunt
Morris

what do you mean by football director? We already have a GM of Football (Richo) who reports direct to the CEO. What difference do you see in this role, because on the surface it seems you're just adding an additional layer of management.

Jason Dunstall pointed out it's fairly unusual for a club not to have a football director on the board itself, so I figured we probably needed one :P

In actual fact it was Leppa that got Rance's career on track.
It was so obvious watching Rance at Coburg he was going to be a star . His biggest issue was that he was like a bull in a China shop .He was reckless and had poor timing and control in the air and he tended to rush his disposals. DH has not developed a single player and this is why we are where we are today. In actual fact guys like Cotchin Ellis Conca TV etc have gone backwards under him. It's amazing how many second and third rounders just get delisted under him yet potatoes like Hampson Chaplin Hunt Morris rock up and steal games from drafted talent.
We have development coaches for that. Rance said in the weekend that our younger players didn't receive enough attention from our development staff and I hope we get that fixed in the off season

I'm really over the whole coach is blamed for everything stance. Clarkson hasn't taken a training session in years. A coaches role has changed.

Hope the first person out the door is dan richardson absolute amateur. Time to bring bondy home from Fremantle as footy manager. And lure chris fagan from hawks and make him director of coaching
You can stick Chis Fagan.

Member's screaming about their hard earned dollars wouldn't know the half of what he did to the punters at Melbourne.

Don't give a shit what he did at Melbourne. It's what he has done at hawthorn that intrests.me

You might have to go into detail about what he allegedly did to the punters at Melbourne

No I don't because as you've said what happened at Melbourne doesn't interest you. Only what's happened at Hawthorn.

You are just fishing out of morbid curiosity. It's kind of creepy.

We have development coaches for that. Rance said in the weekend that our younger players didn't receive enough attention from our development staff and I hope we get that fixed in the off season

I'm really over the whole coach is blamed for everything stance. Clarkson hasn't taken a training session in years. A coaches role has changed.
Agree to this , but Leppa was the man behind Rance.

It amazes me how people just say yeah keep him he's ok, Na not him get rid of that one he's shit, he's a dud that one, ahhhh this ones ok keep this one...
And it's not players they are talking about its all the coaches?
How the **** would anyone know if somebody is doing a good job and another bloke not?
Example Chocco Williams always gets a tick because he won a flag 12 ****ing years ago, the other Mark Williams is a dud because he is not Chocco, on and on.
For me if the coach goes they all go, and if for some reason the coach stays I reckon they all go too.

Jason Dunstall pointed out it's fairly unusual for a club not to have a football director on the board itself, so I figured we probably needed one :p

Playing devils advocate on that, what would you want the board member doing that isnt currently being done?

Clubs with this role tend to have that person being active at the club day to day as well (ie like Greg miller).

My personal view is as long as the footy gm is reporting regularly to the board, keep them off the board. If (for instance) richo was our footy director, it would be all but impossible to sack him outside his board seat challenge every three Years.

It amazes me how people just say yeah keep him he's ok, Na not him get rid of that one he's shit, he's a dud that one, ahhhh this ones ok keep this one...
And it's not players they are talking about its all the coaches?
How the **** would anyone know if somebody is doing a good job and another bloke not?
Example Chocco Williams always gets a tick because he won a flag 12 ******* years ago, the other Mark Williams is a dud because he is not Chocco, on and on.
For me if the coach goes they all go, and if for some reason the coach stays I reckon they all go too.
Replacing our Football Department with elite talent is easy, Rodney.
Just pick the "Best of Big Footy" and we'll win five in a row.

Before I forget... ;)

The buck stops at the top. The head coach will always cop the heat for poor on-field performance. Hardwick is responsible for our current game plan, overseeing player development, tactical decisions on game day and team selection, for starters.
Of course there's issues with the recruitment department that Hardwick isn't responsible for but it sounds as though their heads are on the chopping block.

We could name 1001 things that need to be better and after 7 years this is not good enough.
But hey i still get the distinct feeling that most think all our ills can be turned around in a heart beat.

Get real FFS. So pessimistic dude. 1001? Sick and tired of the baggers and how they exaggerate shit. Everyone ****ing knows it's 997 and not 1001