What do you do with Shane Watson?

• Thread starter Thread starter Slax

England weren't even trying to disguise their plans to him. A bunch of short straight fielders, and literally every single ball fired in at the stumps.

They could not have been more obvious as to their tactics if they tried. Yet Watson just keeps blundering straight into the same trap over and over.

Forget his scores. It's the fact that he is completely unwilling or unable to adjust his game to address a glaringly obvious weakness that should see him dumped.

He'll get out this way for most of the series.

He needs to be dropped, immediately, especially if we aren't going to bowl him; but it's a flaw he has throughout his entire career, and it'll be exploited and fatal here.

If they are going to pick him he needs and I mean NEEDS to get away from six.

He averages 26 there after 9 tests. He can't bear batting with the field out, he can't rotate the strike and he gets confused as to how to pace an innings. If he's not in the top order, he's of no use to the Aussies whatsoever with the bat.

If they are going to pick him he needs and I mean NEEDS to get away from six.

He averages 26 there after 9 tests. He can't bear batting with the field out, he can't rotate the strike and he gets confused as to how to pace an innings. If he's not in the top order, he's of no use to the Aussies whatsoever with the bat.
Lol. Give up the idea that batting position matters. He averages 26 at 6 because he is a hack, nothing else

Good **** off.
XZIBIT-LOL-Why-you-mad-thou.jpg

Good **** off.
I think we've found Shane's mother;)

Seriously how on earth can you justify his position any longer. Even some of his most ardent supporters on this board have jumped off him. He's done mate!

I think we've found Shane's mother;)

Seriously how on earth can you justify his position any longer. Even some of his most ardent supporters on this board have jumped off him. He's done mate!
When everyone else is doing worse then him, I dont see a need for him to be dropped. Also you have to change your DP we learnt that he can field.

watson only knows one way to get out lbw he should be dropped for mitch marsh . Hemie has had enough chances
Mitch Marsh has been so much better in his 4 tests.. a bunch of starts and one fifty and one wicket. Yeeha, numbers to really write home about.

Watson to be dropped. Come back into the side later in the series and get a big score and this thread will continue.

This. With the best will in the world, even if Mitch Marsh gets selected, there is little chance of him going through the next four tests without picking up a niggle.

Probably just in time for Watto to come in and smash the dead rubber to pieces with the bat.

Mitch Marsh has been so much better in his 4 tests.. a bunch of starts and one fifty and one wicket. Yeeha, numbers to really write home about.

I'm inclined to agree with this. But the encouraging thing about Mitch Marsh is that he really wants to get better as a test player. He's skipped IPL twice now and tried to get contracts in County cricket. He's in a different place in his career to Watson, chances are he will get better with that sort of attitude.

I want to improve myself as a Test player.. doesn't mean it will happen ;)

You do understand what I'm saying so don't pretend you do not.

How many of the Aus players give up playing in IPL? Clarke did but then no-one was willing to pay him what he wanted.

Well maybe you should work a bit harder. Would make a change to have someone from SA worthy of a cap.:p

Given Johnson's batting display I say play him as the allrounder, drop Watson and bring in Shaun Marsh. Also drop Haddin to 8 (better still drop him for Nevill).
Thats not playing an allrounder thats just playing Johnno above Haddin. He'd still be one of the four bowlers and then we'd only have the four bowlers and Voges & Smith

I friggin hope its fatal to his selection prospects.

I'd love to see the photos Watson has, they have to be seriously pornograhic. It's the only possible explanation for his continued selection.

I reckon he has A grade photographic dirt on Clarke, Bingle and that dreadlocked bloke. No other logical reason why he is in the side.