What do you hate about your suburb/town?

Originally posted by clucas91
Ashmore sucks, I have lived here for 6 years and it gets more boring by the day.

BTW, where exactly are you?

Yeah, Ashmore is hanus. But Gold Coast itself is good.
Im near the Gold Coast TAFE Ashmore Campus, yourself?

Originally posted by mouldy_bread
As you can tell, I don't like Werribee, I feel sorry for any decent human being who has to live there.

Hey back down sally, it aint that bad! I lived in Hoppers Crossing for 6 years till last December. Werribee is a bit older than Hoppers & both have no real attractions, but the place doesn't stink. Werribee Plaza got an upgrade just before I left, and while it was nothing to write home about, it wasn't the scum hole of the earth either. I'd much rather be in Wertibee or Hoppers than Footscray, Altona, Laverton and so on and so on anyday...

Originally posted by manutd/dogs
I hear you sister. I was born in Altona, though. Coupla hundred metres from the 'beach'. Sometimes its smell rivals that of even Werribee though...

Werribee South is a doghole, but in general Werribee stinks less than the majority of Altona does.

I used to live in Broken Hill.

Not that great a place

lead dust everywhere
not much to do
anyone with half a brain has left

Is a nice place to visit but not that great to live there.

But i have recently moved to Ringwood, haven't been here long enough to find all the pros and cons, but seems like a nice area.

I live in Mount Clear and I am around the corner from the local sewerage farm. So I hate windy days because it stinks.

Coming from Woodford in Queensland, I have a couple of qualms.

1. Theres a damn prison two mins out of town and all the chumpstain kids have the 'Daddy will be out in 5 months' aura about them.

2. The Folk Festival after Christmas, its spot the local most of the time, due to the influx of hippies.

3. The High School finishes at Grade 10, so we have to catch a bus and head 20 mins down the road!

4. As I mentioned, the kids, alot of absolute twits, sex, alcohol and drugs from Grade 8!! Alot of kids are influenced, it is a downward spiral for most of them.

Apart from that, it quiet and secluded. Most of the normal towndwellers are genuine people and the one thing that sets it apart from everywhere else - I live here :D :D :D :cool: :p ;)

I hear you sister. I was born in Altona, though. Coupla hundred metres from the 'beach'. Sometimes its smell rivals that of even Werribee though...

Sometimes the smell is enough to make you pass out, but supposedly it's one of the cleanest beaches around..

Originally posted by RzrBlade
Hey back down sally, it aint that bad! I lived in Hoppers Crossing for 6 years till last December. Werribee is a bit older than Hoppers & both have no real attractions, but the place doesn't stink. Werribee Plaza got an upgrade just before I left, and while it was nothing to write home about, it wasn't the scum hole of the earth either. I'd much rather be in Wertibee or Hoppers than Footscray, Altona, Laverton and so on and so on anyday...

First of all, Altona is nowhere near as bad as Laverton, Altona Meadows, Footscray, etc. (in fact I don't think it's that bad at all) If you'd rather live in Hoppers or Werribee over Altona, well in my opinion you are insane :D

Secondly, it's not so much that I don't like Werribee Plaza, more so that I can't stand the tools that frequent the place, just the same as I can't stand the majority of morons at Altona Gate. I prefer to go to the city because it's so busy everyone sort of blends in and I can stick to my own little world, at AG or the Plaza because they aren't overly crowded I take notice of every little incident I see, and most of them make me depressed, so it's better for me not to go there.

I have bad memories of Werribee, it may have changed since the last time I spent a decent amount of time there, but I don't plan to find out, so I'll continue to hate and avoid it for the rest of my life.
And that is my own personal issue, it doesn't really affect anyone else, and it shouldn't offend anyone because it's not about anyone personally, just the area in general, if any of that makes sense.
Sorry to carry on, but I never feel as though I've explained myself properly.

There is nothing wrong with Wantirna South except those damn mothers from the Knox School. It's like Range Rover heaven coming out of that place after-school.

Originally posted by The Hitman

- I hate it's distance from the city. Hop on a train and it takes 40 minutes. Drive, and you might make it within the hour (depending on times, of course). Too damn far.

If you have the Citylink pass and use the Monash Freeway non-peak, it would take you 35 mins tops. By train, its a long way from Dandenong to the City but at least Dandenong is a major station so the trains leave regularly and constantly.

Originally posted by The Hitman

- I hate the shops. Dandy plaza is okay with Rebel Sport, Myer, and Kmart. JB Hi-Fi is my favourite shop on earth. But below that there is nothing. I drove past the Club X Megamart today. It's like a supermarket of smut. Not to mention all the other adult shops around the train station.

Spot on there. The Plaza has killed off the other shop areas in the area. The old Dandenong Hub, which used to be the main shopping centre, is the proverbial dead zone these days. At least 40% of the shop areas are empty/closed down, there's one shop going in the food court.

Also, I love how the Hub contains a music store where a large section is devoted to the sale of bongs. A sign accompanying it says something along the lines of 'we know/you know what they do, please leave them alone unless buying'.

As for where I live at the moment - Rowville - I hate the fact that there closest train station is Dandenong, about 7 kms away. Was a pain getting around in the days before I had a car.

Apart from that, it's a pretty good suburb to live in - even if it is the same distance from the city that Dandenong is Stud Park centre is a cosy little shopping place. This is a beacon for young families, virtually every adult you run into at the shopping centre has a young child beside them.

Originally posted by ImperialPurple
AAAhhh Ozzult, young fella... that's where you're wrong. Very few ferals left in Fremantle thses days, and besides, they add CHARACTER - what would Freo be without the resident ferals??

Character is perhaps something that most WCE supporters are not familiar with, being that you have no home town with which to identify;) .
You've still got your fair quota. I go to Murdoch Uni and the missus lives near Freo, so I'm in the god-awful place (just kidding) a fair bit.

But the ferals are still alive and well. But you are correct, the ferals are always good for a laugh.

Originally posted by mouldy_bread
Sometimes the smell is enough to make you pass out, but supposedly it's one of the cleanest beaches around..

First of all, Altona is nowhere near as bad as Laverton, Altona Meadows, Footscray, etc. (in fact I don't think it's that bad at all) If you'd rather live in Hoppers or Werribee over Altona, well in my opinion you are insane :D

Secondly, it's not so much that I don't like Werribee Plaza, more so that I can't stand the tools that frequent the place, just the same as I can't stand the majority of morons at Altona Gate. I prefer to go to the city because it's so busy everyone sort of blends in and I can stick to my own little world, at AG or the Plaza because they aren't overly crowded I take notice of every little incident I see, and most of them make me depressed, so it's better for me not to go there.

I have bad memories of Werribee, it may have changed since the last time I spent a decent amount of time there, but I don't plan to find out, so I'll continue to hate and avoid it for the rest of my life.
And that is my own personal issue, it doesn't really affect anyone else, and it shouldn't offend anyone because it's not about anyone personally, just the area in general, if any of that makes sense.
Sorry to carry on, but I never feel as though I've explained myself properly.
Altona is one of the most smelliest towns I have ever been through. Urgh!
My parents often drive through the Western Ring Road. :eek:

This Brilliant Dance and Hands Down are better!

Agree, but the lyrics from Hands Down weren't what I was looking for, and I think I've already had lyrics from This Brilliant Dance in my sig.

This Brilliant Dance was the first DC song I ever heard, I can't wait for the new album!!!

I live in Kambah, a suburb in South Canberra (Tuggeranong to be exact). TV reception isn't that great, but other that that I've never had a real problem with living here until January 18 this year when the bushfires tore through South Canberra. We didn't get it as bad a Chapman and Duffy, but in the 27 years I'd never seen anything like it. I didn't realise living on the side of a Mountain with fantastic views of the valley and Brindebella's, could be so dangerous to ones health.

Originally posted by topdon
i went to Monash Uni. I lived on campus ... and no one who has can forget about Thursday nights at The Nott! :o

So did I... I think everyone in Melbourne needs to experience the Nott at some stage.

I lived in Wanniassa for 4 years. Beautiful place to live, but when the fires were raging I was thinking otherwise.

Wanniassa - Scum of the Earth:D

Back in 1983/84 Kambah High played Wanniassa High in a Rugby League High School's final and with about 10 minutes to go the game broke out into an all in brawl with two Wanniassa Players sent to Hospital with Broken Noses. The following week the two High Schools met in an Aussie Rules game and before the whistle for the start of the game, a fight broke out again. By 1986 this was so common I think the ACT Schools Authority banned the two High Schools from playing each other. I think the ban only lasted a year or two, but it was a real ego trip for the Kambah Kontigient because we not only beat them on the park, but we beat them in the fight as well.

God I loved those times.

Toorak.

Pros

- The stereotype which automatically makes me loaded whenever I mention that I live here.

- 2 minute walk to the train station.

- 15 minutes from Chapel St and 10 from Glenferrie. But I tend not to go out as much as I did when I turned 18, so this is not such a big deal these days.

- This one's no longer relevant, but I live literally across the road from school. Used to get up 10 minutes before school started.

- 15 minutes on the train to the city.

- The neighbours. Especially the girls that live in the house around the corner...

- Closest fast food place is Maccas in Glenferrie, too far for me to go there for lunch. If there was a fast food joint closer, I'd be obese.

- I know all the shopkeepers up the road, so I occasionally get free stuff.

- I can walk home from the city at 3 in the morning if I have no money for a taxi. Never run into any trouble doing that.

- No crime. Well not much anyway.

Cons

- The stereotype which automatically makes me a rich snob whenever I mention that I live here.

- This house is effectively on a train line. Get used to the trains but not when they decide to use their whistles at 5 in the morning.

- Living so close to school. This made me late for school pretty much every day. Go figure.

- It can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 2 hours to get to uni, depending on luck.

- Bloody 4WD's. Get the f*ck off suburban roads I say.

- Our street is possibly the most dangerous in Melbourne. There's a small crest half way along the street, which makes it impossible to see what's happening on the other side of the hill. Drivers generally speed along the street. The street starts off Glenferrie Rd and the end is a sharp corner, which is pretty blind, with trees and a stone fence around the road. I'm seriously surprised there hasn't been a fatal accident here in recent times.

- Everyone around here is rich, except the people in the flats next door. My family is not rich.

- The people in the flats next door.

- This house is partitioned. Our next door neighbours have surround sound digital tv which they like watching with the volume loud enough so when can hear what they are watching. Very curtious of them.

- School kids.

Well, since that there's only dairyfarms, tomato fields & orchards around Dhurringile (for now) and the only thing there is a Primary School, a hall and four tennis courts, I can't really give you a Pro/Con description of the place except that I hate one of my neighbours, but the other one's great because he gives my discounts on servicing my car.

Tatura's strong points are its sporting and recreational facilities, close proximity to Shepparton and affordable housing , but there's nothing to do at night except go to Shepp which is a hole (I'll go into that later),and sometimes the place can smell when Rosella is making Chutney.

Murchison's a pretty place, that has really good public transport, and it gets interesting when the backpackers come here during summer. but there's too many caravans (they need to bulid some flats there seriously), and the pub's a ****hole and the publican's a fat mole who everyone hates.

The rest of the towns around the valleys are the same but there are three places which I loathe with a passion.

Rushworth, pretty place with many beautiful buildings and the Whroo Forest, but thier footy grounds a rabbit's warren and ever since Centerlink moved all these unemployable bogans from Melbourne to Rushworth 10 years ago, the place has gone backwards dramatically.

Mooroopna, it's an Yorta Yorta word meaning "Big Hole":D , 'nuff said.

Shepparton, nightlife's O.K, but it can get boring sometimes, and apart from the newer housing estates and the area close to Deakin Reserve (the town's major football ground) and the north end of Maude St (which looks like a leafy Eastern Suburb), the place is a real *****hole, with the area's closest to Wanganui Park S.C (A good school, but full of *****heads), and Maguire College, South Shepparton, by far the worst parts of town.

Public transports O.K, but unlike Bendigo, Benalla & Ballarat, Shepp has no character what so ever, and all the people I know that live there hate it and want to get out A.S.A.P.

Well I live in fremantle,Perth about 100 metres from the prison and about 700 metres from the club/cafe district.there is nothing better than being able to get on the pi.ss and be able to walk home

(even better if you have picked up some chick :-)

Lol. I never made it to Wanniassa High, I left Canberra in grade 5 from Wanniassa Hills Primary School. Shame...

I think we've just shocked all these people who think that Canberra was a quiet, loving little town!

I think Wanniassa Hills Primary was the school that was burnt down a few years ago. I know some ****heads tried to burn down Village Creek Primary (the Primary School I went to), but they didn't do a great deal of damage. The week after one of the Wanniassa Primary Schools received extensive damage and I think it was Wanniassa Hills.

Williamstown

Pros:

- Excellent public transport, inc Three train stations all within 6-700m of each other.
- Serene beach
- Lovely footy oval and great VFL team
- Little/no crime
- Celebrity heaven
- Close to the city, quick trip to Geelong
- Excellent shopping
- Plethora of parks, reserves and gardens, etc
- Clean
- Kind people
- Housing prices are soaring
- Surrounded by water on three sides :)
- Great eateries, cafes, pubs, etc
- Excellent sporting facilities
- 'Culture'

Cons:
- Snobbery
- Tourists
- 30somethings have found it
- Is surrounded by Altona and Spotswood
- Having to change trains at Newport during off-peak times
- Few females of my own age :(
- 1hr 30m to get to Uni by Public Transport.
- Everywhere you turn, a new celebrity is moving into their recently renovated $800,000 dream home.

All in all, 9/10. Needs more 17-21 girls urgently

evertonfc, we're neighbours, I live in Newport. ;) Well it's probably a few streets from being Williamstown. I LOVE Willi though, my favourite place in Melbourne. Well, besides the City, of course.

I'm right near Pymble and I can't agree more: re Pymble. Given, where I am is exactly the same (1 suburb away)... but the way pymble people view "West" pymble ppl really ****es me off