What have we learnt ?

magpielicious

Taking all emotion out of today, what have we as a club learn't from the defeats against Hawthorn ?

We continue to let them play the loose man in defence. Their skills are far superior so instead of trying something different like man on man. Keeping three forwards firmly in the 50 at all times, we just play the same dumb chasing their backsides and guarding space in the hope of a turnover.

For f...k sakes, try something different for once!

Taking all emotion out of today, what have we as a club learn't from the defeats against Hawthorn ?

We continue to let them play the loose man in defence. Their skills are far superior so instead of trying something different like man on man. Keeping three forwards firmly in the 50 at all times, we just play the same dumb chasing their backsides and guarding space in the hope of a turnover.

For f...k sakes, try something different for once!

I saw it differently myself.

Caff hasn't previously gone to Hill which worked. Our stoppage work has been horrid against them and was strong today. We normally concede a goal every 3 I50's against them and today it was 3.5 with it over 5 prior to the Pendles "throw" so our match ups worked (even with Frost on one leg and the loss of Langdon).

Yeah there were things I didn't like, but that was a clear improvement on what we've previously dished up against them, IMO.

I have learnt that the Hawk supporters are the most smug and arrogant bunch of flogs at the footy right now, but sadly it is justified. They have our number and totally own the Pies. They didn't even play well today and still handed our arses to us. We are not without hope in the future, we have a lot to look forward to I reckon.

Hopefully people finally learn that we aren't a premiership threat for the next year or two. We are building a young team that looks promising but now its up to how hard they work as to whether they will be in premiership contention in a few years time

I have learnt that the Hawk supporters are the most smug and arrogant bunch of flogs at the footy right now, but sadly it is justified. They have our number and totally own the Pies. They didn't even play well today and still handed our arses to us. We are not without hope in the future, we have a lot to look forward to I reckon.

Yeah, Hawks fans, sitting in the MCC members. Feels like I'm surrounded by prefects from private boys schools in Booroondara.

Not bagging private schools - it just the whole Hawthorn smugness, born to rule, establishment schtick. Its worse even than Demons supporters.

We were a lot better against them today just looking at the scores I will watch a replay of the game tomorrow. Brown not -playing really hurts matches up well on Roughy (who kicked 3.3 today). Just need to play good footy been to every game apart from today for the last month and apart from Cloke returning to form we have just been serving up ****ing shit. White has been shit just like Lynch before him I don't think he has ever taken a contested mark when Reid is back we will have 2 good key forwards and then we need guys like PK and Fas in the forward line then we will be dangerous and be able to kick a winning score

Our Kicks into the Forward Line go To High and Give time to Defenders to chop the Ball Off.

Too Many Injuries to Good Players to cover

We were a lot better against them today just looking at the scores I will watch a replay of the game tomorrow. Brown not -playing really hurts matches up well on Roughy (who kicked 3.3 today). Just need to play good footy been to every game apart from today for the last month and apart from Cloke returning to form we have just been serving up ******* shit. White has been shit just like Lynch before him I don't think he has ever taken a contested mark when Reid is back we will have 2 good key forwards and then we need guys like PK and Fas in the forward line then we will be dangerous and be able to kick a winning score

Bit rough on White, IMO. He was very good as ruck support today. It effects his ability to hit the scoreboard though which just kills you without Reid or Karnezis available. Our hands are tied on it, but it works better than the two young rucks.

I know first hand how smug Hawthorn supporters are. I got a cousin whos a Hawk supporter. They are unbearable when their teams winning.

We don't cover their exits out of defense well enough and our defenders don't mark the ball. Probably the 2 areas we need to clean up against them.

Well with Brown,Reid and Maxwell out it hurts our Defense badly. Except for Toovey they played less then a Season of AFL Footy

I know first hand how smug Hawthorn supporters are. I got a cousin whos a Hawk supporter. They are unbearable when their teams winning.

They are so Bloody Arrogant and Drive me Mad

We were a lot better against them today just looking at the scores I will watch a replay of the game tomorrow. Brown not -playing really hurts matches up well on Roughy (who kicked 3.3 today). Just need to play good footy been to every game apart from today for the last month and apart from Cloke returning to form we have just been serving up ******* shit. White has been shit just like Lynch before him I don't think he has ever taken a contested mark when Reid is back we will have 2 good key forwards and then we need guys like PK and Fas in the forward line then we will be dangerous and be able to kick a winning score

I actually think Lynch was better that's how angry I am with Jesse White.

Fuming at that soft **** right now.

The loose man in defence helps us. 115 points is the lowest score they have kicked since the 2011 prelim and today was also the closest margin since round 1 2012. The fact is they score at will against us so trying to bottle that up is a good move in my book.

There were only a couple of times when it hurt us at the other end, but the bottom line is if we engage in a shootout with them, Hawthorn are going to win the game 9 times out of...well, 9.

Well with Brown,Reid and Maxwell out it hurts our Defense badly. Except for Toovey they played less then a Season of AFL Footy
I also think the other thing we do poorly against them is try to exit our backline forward, when we should be chaining handballs backward until we release. Hawks notoriously just line up behind play until they release and do that 20m kick into the forward line.

also we just bombed the Ball out a few times to no one

what i have learnt is confirmation of what isaid 2 games ago that lumumba needs to be the first guy out when our injuries are back. and we cant carry young and white if we wanna win premeirships

Young was good Today.

Lumumba is a 1 way runner