What If.....

• Thread starter Thread starter Wrenny

Guys a few conversations goin on about Ottens and how he is out of contract at the end of this year. Seeing as he is from glenelg i was thinking just say he does wanna head to adelaide what would you be prepared to give up for him?? Put urself in the recruiting managers seat and let me know who u think is a good trade?

Originally posted by wrennyboy
Guys a few conversations goin on about Ottens and how he is out of contract at the end of this year. Seeing as he is from glenelg i was thinking just say he does wanna head to adelaide what would you be prepared to give up for him?? Put urself in the recruiting managers seat and let me know who u think is a good trade?

He had an opportunity to look at Adelaide, with his last contract negotiations.
If I remember he showed very little interest in coming to Sth Aust, preferring to be in Victoria.
I stand to be corrected though.

I really have no idea what we could offer Richmond in terms of compensation. With the iminent retirement of Clarke, Burns, Carey, Smart and possibly Stevens (also remembering Hart and Roo are eligible for veteran's list), we would have a fair bit of money to throw around at Ottens and someone else for that matter but thats only half the job, satisfying Richmond would be a much bigger challenge.

I think we will struggle to put up a decent package of picks and players for Ottens.

Not a bad player at all is Brad Ottens. Not bad at all.

His start to the season was ruined by a stake impaled into his groin. After his first game back against the Roos he averaged in excess of 16 disposals, 8 marks and 21 hitouts for the last 11 games of the year - excellent stats for a big man.

25 years of age next January.

He wouldn't come cheap. He'd be at least a 1st and 2nd round draft pick - maybe more.

The trouble is we need them for mid-fielders. I don't think it can be done, without giving away something like a Goodwin and I don't want to lose Goody either.

Originally posted by macca23
Not a bad player at all is Brad Ottens. Not bad at all.

His start to the season was ruined by a stake impaled into his groin. After his first game back against the Roos he averaged in excess of 16 disposals, 8 marks and 21 hitouts for the last 11 games of the year - excellent stats for a big man.

25 years of age next January.

He wouldn't come cheap. He'd be at least a 1st and 2nd round draft pick - maybe more.

The trouble is we need them for mid-fielders. I don't think it can be done, without giving away something like a Goodwin and I don't want to lose Goody either.
Thats the point I was trying to make.

The blokes that might be of interest to Richmond are the blokes that club won't trade. Those are the players that are our stars. I also doubt club would trade Burton while Stenglein might be an option. And thats a big might.

Ottens would be a fantastic pick up but we would have to give something big and I really doubt whether Richmond would expect 1st and 2nd round picks for their best player. They might if they were early picks.

I wouldn't mind trading those pick if we can somehow do other trades that land us a couple of good young midfielder. If we can get Cam Faulkner and someone like Daniel Bell (Melbourne) for a player or 2 that we can afford to lose I can't see us getting it done.

It would be an interesting trading period at the end of this year. We would have the money to attract a big name but will we be able to do the trade without getting r*ped in the process. Remains to be seen.

Don't understand the obsession with this guy.

He hasn't done a thing for years.

No point trading for overrated players... you ending up giving away more than you get in return.

Originally posted by DaveW

No point trading for overrated players... you ending up giving away more than you get in return.

well he hasn't been fit for years...

hang on a minute... fair call :D

let me just say to you one name.........Ben Holand......Remember how The Richmond Football club ripped us off.......Brad Ottens wont come back to sa......and if he did.....we would need to give up a lot more than Tyson Stengline and all due respects to the lad......but we would need to give a simon goodwin or a brett burton and a graham johncock for brad ottens.....

so l wouldnt go with him.......lets get fergus watts up and running........and if he becomes a gun....offer him for ottens...

Are you crazy crows98? When, not if, Fergus Watt's becomes a star we will never trade him - certainly not for Ottens.

Originally posted by DaveW

Agree. Let's build up young Fergus and keep our 1st and 2nd rounders for young guns - the best forwards available. Trading away Burton or Stenglein (both touted as future captains) for a player with injury history is suicide.

The only way we won't be r*ped out of this is if Big Brad declares he wants to come home and will stand out of footy if he can't. And that won't happen.

Re: Re: What If.....

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
He had an opportunity to look at Adelaide, with his last contract negotiations.
If I remember he showed very little interest in coming to Sth Aust, preferring to be in Victoria.
I stand to be corrected though.

Exactly my recollection as well.

Ottens - over-rated, over-priced, hasn't done anything for years, injury prone, and shows no interest whatsoever in coming to SA.

Not a good target to try to recruit, IMO.

he has already said he wants to go home.........f watts might change his mind.....but it didnt stop k johnson from going home did it.....not even 2 premerships

Originally posted by crows98
he has already said he wants to go home.........f watts might change his mind.....but it didnt stop k johnson from going home did it.....not even 2 premerships
Where and when did he say that??????:confused:

I have heard him say that he loves it here and plans to be a one club player. He was genuinely stoked to be drafted by Adelaide and couln't wait to get over here.

The only person who wasn't genuinely happy with Adelaide was Brent Reilly but he seens to have turned a corner after signing a new contract at the end of last year.

Have you got a link to where wants said he want's to go home?

lets just weight and see........l belive and have some information thats not avaliable for public knowlage.........and l have no links

Originally posted by crows98
lets just weight and see........l belive and have some information thats not avaliable for public knowlage.........and l have no links
Personaly, I don't believe it.

And besides if Watts fulfills his potential then I would want someone MUCH younger than Ottens and probably a lot more for Watts as well.

I think our best package of players/picks end up going to the Doggies to get Cam Faulkner. We need midfielders badly. I still think Massie would be up for trade - mainly due to the fact he still has strong ties in melbourne.

As for another ruckman...my mail is the Crows have been out at Elizabeth having a look at our new bloke from Tassie.

Originally posted by Jerome
I think our best package of players/picks end up going to the Doggies to get Cam Faulkner. We need midfielders badly. I still think Massie would be up for trade - mainly due to the fact he still has strong ties in melbourne.
I think we will go after midfielder and Cam Faulkner will be on our hit list as Reidy and Fanto really rate the kid. HOwever lets not get carried away and overspend on a player that hasn't played a senior game yet. I agree with you in regards to Massie. I would love him to stay but he is somewhat tradeable since we have plenty of potential HBF and Torney plays the similar role anyway.

As for another ruckman...my mail is the Crows have been out at Elizabeth having a look at our new bloke from Tassie.
Come on mate, spill the beans:D

How old is he?????? Height????? weight and more impotrantly ability?????

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

How old is he?????? Height????? weight and more impotrantly ability?????

from footysa:

Travis Ronaldson. He has been recruited from Tassie in the VFL. Height: 193cm Weight: 87kg.

I thought he was taller. Got no idea on ability but has also played for Gippsland.

Originally posted by Jerome
from footysa:

Travis Ronaldson. He has been recruited from Tassie in the VFL. Height: 193cm Weight: 87kg.

I thought he was taller. Got no idea on ability but has also played for Gippsland.
.... & Stiffy was worried about Krueger's height for the ruck!! ;)

Leave Ottens where he is and take the best midfielder we can get next year in the draft.

We have 3 nice ruckmen in the wings now. Hudson,Andrews and possibly Drabrowski. Hudson is ready now and Andrews in a couple of years will be ready. I was impressed by him last Friday. Has got a bit to work on.

I. for one am tired of overpaying for players drom other clubs. Lets go with what we have stockpiled.