What If.....

• Thread starter Thread starter Wrenny

Originally posted by Ozzie
Leave Ottens where he is and take the best midfielder we can get next year in the draft.

We have 3 nice ruckmen in the wings now. Hudson,Andrews and possibly Drabrowski. Hudson is ready now and Andrews in a couple of years will be ready. I was impressed by him last Friday. Has got a bit to work on.

I. for one am tired of overpaying for players drom other clubs. Lets go with what we have stockpiled.

Youre probably right on this one Ozzie.

Hudson was very impressive. As somebody has already said he showed more in 5 minutes than Ben marsh did in 5 years. I think he'll make it.

For a gangly awkward skinny 18 year old Andrews showed enough to make you think that there's at least enough there to work on. Not sure about Dabrowski - doubtful in fact.

We do need good young mid-fielders coming through in the next 2 to 3 years.

Originally posted by macca23
Youre probably right on this one Ozzie.

Hudson was very impressive. As somebody has already said he showed more in 5 minutes than Ben marsh did in 5 years. I think he'll make it.

For a gangly awkward skinny 18 year old Andrews showed enough to make you think that there's at least enough there to work on. Not sure about Dabrowski - doubtful in fact.

We do need good young mid-fielders coming through in the next 2 to 3 years.
I must agree on Andrews. He will probably never be a star but he showed a couple of things in the trial that I liked. There is something to work with there but there is a long way to go.

I am all for drafting midfielder.

All clubs are expected to spend at least 92.5% of their salary cap. With very possible retirements of Carey, Burns, Stevens, Clarke and Smart and with Roo and Hart becoming eligible for veteran's list we could have as much as $1M of cap space. With no real key players coming out of contract (that I am aware of) we have to spend some of that money somewhere. Do we overpay some of our players and get into trouble further down the track or do we secure someone else from aother club who is on healthy salary?????? Tough choice.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I must agree on Andrews. He will probably never be a star but he showed a couple of things in the trial that I liked. There is something to work with there but there is a long way to go.

I am all for drafting midfielder.

All clubs are expected to spend at least 92.5% of their salary cap. With very possible retirements of Carey, Burns, Stevens, Clarke and Smart and with Roo and Hart becoming eligible for veteran's list we could have as much as $1M of cap space. With no real key players coming out of contract (that I am aware of) we have to spend some of that money somewhere. Do we overpay some of our players and get into trouble further down the track or do we secure someone else from aother club who is on healthy salary?????? Tough choice.

Stiffy...I would just save as much as I could and watch who becomes available. I can see where the cap will really catch up with a few clubs and there maybe a possibilty of a class player coming onto the market. I want the Crows to be in a position to make a move if that happens.

I think we will go after midfielder and Cam Faulkner will be on our hit list as Reidy and Fanto really rate the kid. HOwever lets not get carried away and overspend on a player that hasn't played a senior game yet. I agree with you in regards to Massie. I would love him to stay but he is somewhat tradeable since we have plenty of potential HBF and Torney plays the similar role anyway.

OK lets get some facts here.
1. Were losing/going to lose some hard nuts in the short term (Bickley, Johnson, Roo - NTDF, Stevens?) - Why would you want to get rid of another hard nut in Massie.

2. Does Massie want to go to a third club? - me thinks not.

3. Who are the other HBF - surely not Hentschell your #1 fav - has he actually ever laid a bump?

4. Premierships are won with hard agressive footballers - Port try and recruit them - we try to trade them for nice/skillfull players?

We have 3 nice ruckmen in the wings now. Hudson,Andrews and possibly Drabrowski. Hudson is ready now and Andrews in a couple of years will be ready. I was impressed by him last Friday. Has got a bit to work on.

Hudsons player one game against ????
Dabrowski will never be a ruckman - has a show as a backup only KPP - but thats it
Andrews - ask me in 3 years - same as every project player - after 3 years we delist them.
How many Adelaide project players have come thru - none!

NEWS FLASH - sorry I think Perrie qualifies

I agree re getting midfielders.
With regard to the salary cap, dont believe its our choice!

Its a question of who's available, who wants to come to the Crows, and can a trade be negotiated. Thats a long road - with few success's

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
OK lets get some facts here.
1. Were losing/going to lose some hard nuts in the short term (Bickley, Johnson, Roo - NTDF, Stevens?) - Why would you want to get rid of another hard nut in Massie.

2. Does Massie want to go to a third club? - me thinks not.

3. Who are the other HBF - surely not Hentschell your #1 fav - has he actually ever laid a bump?

4. Premierships are won with hard agressive footballers - Port try and recruit them - we try to trade them for nice/skillfull players?
Wow get of your horse.:p

1. Re-read my post. Did I say I would trade him?????? I said I think he is somewhat tradeable.

2. Probably not now but he might in the near future as his girlfriend lives in Melbourne and he is very close to his mum who is the only family he has.

3. Cheap shot. Expected better from you. How about Jason Torney?????? Or is he someone who you think is not hard enough?

4. True but did it get Port anywhere?????? We also traded Kane Johnson, why because he wanted to leave. If Massie is traded it will be because he wants to leave. Otherwise he stays.

BTW, what does NTDF means??????:)

I agree re getting midfielders.
With regard to the salary cap, dont believe its our choice!

Its a question of who's available, who wants to come to the Crows, and can a trade be negotiated. Thats a long road - with few success's
True but if you don't put in the hard yard you won't get anywhere.

Who would have thought that Carey would choose Adelaide over a lot of other "more attractive" options?????? Its not impossible but it is hard yakka.

Stiffy...I would just save as much as I could and watch who becomes available. I can see where the cap will really catch up with a few clubs and there maybe a possibilty of a class player coming onto the market. I want the Crows to be in a position to make a move if that happens.

Good thinking. I like it!!

Actually that a pretty good line of thinking. So you're suggesting to get us just to the limit (92.5%) and save the rest. Draft a few players (preferably guns :D) and wait and see who becomes available in the "free-agency". If we finish in the top 4 we really don't have much chance of getting a very good player without overpaying him anyway. If we are to get a gun in the pre-season draft we would have to put a massive price tag on him so that other teams cannot afford him.

Wow get of your horse.:p

1. Re-read my post. Did I say I would trade him?????? I said I think he is somewhat tradeable.

2. Probably not now but he might in the near future as his girlfriend lives in Melbourne and he is very close to his mum who is the only family he has.

3. Cheap shot. Expected better from you. How about Jason Torney?????? Or is he someone who you think is not hard enough?

4. True but did it get Port anywhere?????? We also traded Kane Johnson, why because he wanted to leave. If Massie is traded it will be because he wants to leave. Otherwise he stays.

BTW, what does NTDF means??????:)

Sorry, but I get irritated when our affections for our players fluctaute so widely. One minute wer'e talking about players being an intregral part of the team, next possibly trading him for another player.:confused:

Torney I like, would put in tradesman like category - would take Massie in a heartbeat.

Lets try and keep some of our harder/physical players, we're losing, or going to lose too many.
Talk of recruiting powder puffs like Ottens doesnt help my frame of mind.

As for NTDF - forget, but it sounded good at the time

Sorry, but I get irritated when our affections for our players fluctaute so widely. One minute wer'e talking about players being an intregral part of the team, next possibly trading him for another player.:confused:

Torney I like, would put in tradesman like category - would take Massie in a heartbeat.

Lets try and keep some of our harder/physical players, we're losing, or going to lose too many.
Talk of recruiting powder puffs like Ottens doesnt help my frame of mind.

As for NTDF - forget, but it sounded good at the time
Thats alright mate. It was unexpected. A bit like Reilly not expecting Brett James's fist:p

I am a Massie fan. I like his hardness and his rebounding from defence. I always liked the bloke BUT we have to realist that one day he might want to go back home. I agree that it might not be in the short term. He signed a new deal at the end of last year so he is happy where he is for the time being. I would keep him.:)

Thats alright mate. It was unexpected. A bit like Reilly not expecting Brett James's fist:p

I am a Massie fan. I like his hardness and his rebounding from defence. I always liked the bloke BUT we have to realist that one day he might want to go back home. I agree that it might not be in the short term. He signed a new deal at the end of last year so he is happy where he is for the time being. I would keep him.:)

My impression Stiffy, is he's a fairly independant, out there sort of bloke. Not the type who needs the security of family and friends on his doorstep. Remember because of 10 teams in Victoria, we travel alot to his home state. I'll be amazed if he chose to try a third AFL club - the best players don't change clubs that many times - he would be aware of trying to develope his career image with the Crows.

I've had the pleasure of having a yarn with Massie. He's just one hell of a nice bloke with a bit of a way out sense of humour. To meet him is to like him.

I got the impression from him that he's here for the duration, so you're probably right. He actually made the point to me that he didn't want to play with a 3rd club.

The girl friend's the only worry - get her over here!!! ;)

You are right with him being fairly independent but he is also very close to his mum. There was a very good article in The Age late last year about Massie. As I said he is probably happy with Adelaide BUT there is still a chance (even a slight one) that he might want to go back to Melbourne. If it gets to this then we have no choice but to trade him. As I said I would love him to stay as I think he is very much a required player.

Don't forget he also has a girlfriend in Melbourne. We all know what a woman can do to a man:p Stiffy runs for cover:(

You are right with him being fairly independent but he is also very close to his mum. There was a very good article in The Age late last year about Massie. As I said he is probably happy with Adelaide BUT there is still a chance (even a slight one) that he might want to go back to Melbourne. If it gets to this then we have no choice but to trade him. As I said I would love him to stay as I think he is very much a required player.

Don't forget he also has a girlfriend in Melbourne. We all know what a woman can do to a man:p Stiffy runs for cover:(
Leaving that subject well alone

Our recruitment this year of midfielders needs to have a focus on inside hard at it, Brock Maclean, Sylvia, style of player.
Roo will go downhill quicly, due to the style of football he plays. Will probably go to FF, or HFF, or even HBF. Need to get some toughness coming into the midfield. Still have Macleod, Reilly, Ladhams, Stiffy to provide the run.

Originally posted by Jerome
I think our best package of players/picks end up going to the Doggies to get Cam Faulkner. We need midfielders badly.

Can we stop this talk of Faulkner huh?
Let's wait until he shows he is any good, if...

JR & co. said they liked him, if we cared that much we could have traded up to have a go. we didn't like him THAT much.

We don't even know if he's going to be any good yet, and some want to trade for him already. gee whiz.
patience

Actually that a pretty good line of thinking. So you're suggesting to get us just to the limit (92.5%) and save the rest. Draft a few players (preferably guns :D) and wait and see who becomes available in the "free-agency". If we finish in the top 4 we really don't have much chance of getting a very good player without overpaying him anyway. If we are to get a gun in the pre-season draft we would have to put a massive price tag on him so that other teams cannot afford him.

No-one says that the clubs have to spend the entire cap amount and it would be nice to have the cash there to sign a gun if one should become available.

That is indeed what I had in mind. I like the way we conduct ourselves in the way we deal. I get the sense that future trades will not be so hard to broker. I think Carey was the breakthrough trade we needed. One only has to hear the interview young Watts gave after getting drafted to notice a real shift in attitude from the kids.:)

Hudsons player one game against ????
Dabrowski will never be a ruckman - has a show as a backup only KPP - but thats it
Andrews - ask me in 3 years - same as every project player - after 3 years we delist them.
How many Adelaide project players have come thru - none!

NEWS FLASH - sorry I think Perrie qualifies

OK Hudson impressed me so much. This bloke knows how to play. He showed aggression and knew exactly where to position himself and is not afraid of contact. No-one is saying he is a ready made star but as a backup ruckman he will be fine this year. At Werribee he played against the Loats of the footy world and more than held his own. Good player.

I hear you on the projects but hey in time things change. Perrie is the first , and there will be others. Just have faith. We have some good youngsters around the place right now. Neither Andrews or Drabowski have cost as much as what that tosser Angwin did.

Leaving that subject well alone

Roo will go downhill quicly, due to the style of football he plays. Will probably go to FF, or HFF, or even HBF. Need to get some toughness coming into the midfield. Still have Macleod, Reilly, Ladhams, Stiffy to provide the run.

Roo to go down hill, didnt he just win the club there first brownlow, he has three good years as an on baller left. After that he will end up at full forwrd like Darren Jarman did.

The club should not worry about pinching players from other club and develop our own. who know's if the Cameron Faulkner wants to return to Adelaide and if he does......he might go to heaven forbid ....but go to port power

Originally posted by crows98
Roo to go down hill, didnt he just win the club there first brownlow, he has three good years as an on baller left. After that he will end up at full forwrd like Darren Jarman did.

I would like to think so as well but thats my heart talking, not my head.
Unfortunately, due to the physical style of play, he will have a shorter life than most in the midfield.
The drop off won't be gradual, but will happen from the end of one season to the start of the next. At 29-30 he'll be close IMO

I would LOVE to get Daniel Harris from the Roos. There is a bit of Robert Harvey about him. Very strong in the hips and can get some good inside ball. He would be a great get.

Unfortunately, I think the chances of us getting him are big fat zero. I know noddy would also like him at our club. The kid can play.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
Can we stop this talk of Faulkner huh?
Let's wait until he shows he is any good, if...

JR & co. said they liked him, if we cared that much we could have traded up to have a go. we didn't like him THAT much.

We don't even know if he's going to be any good yet, and some want to trade for him already. gee whiz.
patience

Not much point waiting until he's a star, then his price tag will mean he is out of reach.

With trading for youngsters you have to back your judgement. If you think he's going to be a star then do the deal now, if you're right it will be the only time you get the opportunity.