What is wrong?

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

sabre_ac said:
Yes we are undermanned I realise that but....
In my opinion I still believe we had the players to cover the loss of Haddrill,Polak and Carr.
McPharlin, Parker, Thornton and even longmuir are enough in my opinion to cover the tigers backline.

So the question is where does the problem lie?
Is it our game plan (Coach)?
Is it our lack of discpline (Coach)?
Is it our forward line (List)?
Is it our midfield (List)?
Is it out depth (List)?

My opinion is at full strength we are a top four side, we have finally got the midfield to run with the best of them. Our backline is one of the strongest and forwad line wise if we could get it working could be potent. Some say we are too reliant on Pavlich, but from what I see we dont kick it to him enough. Murphy just needs to be left to develop and I believe Longmuir needs to be played up forward more often.

So as I see it, it is our game plan. Untill we play accountable football we wont be a force in the afl. Chipping and kicking it sideways isnt getting us anywhere and finishing 6th and below and we have failed again this season.

Possible ways to rectify the situation?
GET AN EXPERIENCED COACH!
Sheedy is out of sorts at Essendon perhaps he is an option?
Or maybe entice another coach out of retirement?

I havent attacked Conolly much this year but I think it is becoming pretty evident that our problem is our coach.

For me today, being undermanned was not an excuse. Being undermanned doesn't make people drop chest marks and miss targets with hand and foot at will. I was happy with Murphy today given the lack of genuine delivery in the forward line and our tactic of depriving our forwards of an even contest by playing an ultra defensive brand of footy.

The Warning signs were there last year when we persisted with playing a spare man in defense last year, leaving their spare man to kill us in defense. It cost us the game against the roos, where king belted us and it also cost us the game against port last year. While I'm not all against this tactic, when it doesn't work, it really costs us. However it doesn't seem that CC is very flexible when it comes to changing the gameplan. If we're getting badly beaten using that tactic, you would think that you should at least try and change the tactic, wouldn't you. It also makes me wonder if this adds to our lack of accountability in our forward line, our players simply have more options to cover and are just not up to it, add to that sandilands and we're effectively outnumbered by 2 mobile players when the ball hits the ground, allowing them to rebound from defense.

While I recognise that this tactic can allow us to clog up space in the oppositions forward line, on days like today it was more of a hinderance than an advantage. We had little problem getting it just forward of CHB, but once we got there we just had nowhere to go. Without any genuine run off half back, we were sitting ducks.

It really shows a lack of flexability in the matchday methods of the coach when the gameplan is simply left to run it's couse, whether it is working or not. In the lead up to the game CC was fuming about Wallace saying that we were fragile and played unaccountable footy, you would think that he would at least structure the game and actually make it possible for our blokes to have a man. Until we actually do this, it becomes harder to see which players are playing unaccoutable footy and which players are adhering to team rules.

This is not to say that I don't think CC can be a good coach, infact I think he can. But at the moment he seems to be making the same mistakes and not doing anything about it. In the past few weeks he has really tried to defend the players and their performances..... "it's super dissapointing" and the like. Perhaps this week he needs to the hard on the blokes and get them down for an early morning session etc. I think most dockers supporters are just frustrated that after a loss it is always just the same old thing.

Our team is average. Look at players who got a game today and ask yourself would they get a game at WCE.
players Like
Dodd
Grover
Woods
Webster
Sandilands
Mcmanus
Johnson.

Others like
Haselby
Schammer
Bell
Are no longer dominating games

Pavlich
Parker
had poor games.

BTW, you don't reckon shane on dockerhitlerland hasn't got RSI from overuse of his delete key.

Yeah hes deleted quite a few already - all those associated with CC

i) Our talls lack strength
ii) Our smalls lack pace
iii) Our marking, kicking and handballing skills are poor
iv) Bell, Hasleby (hip apparently) and Schammer are far from match fit
v) Sandilands has become a liability. Should remain on our list longterm but Johnson and Warren should get a game ahead of him until he can take a contested grab.

I agreee with Freo Docker being under manned is not an excuse, I believe the problem lies in the amount of depth at the club. Our top 16 would get a game at any other club it is the remaining 6 on match day and the rest of the squad that is causing the problem. Half of them will never make it and a lot of the young guys have not been given the opportunity at the highest level as CC does not have the confidence to play them and when he does he plays them out of position or on the bench. What this means is that the same old guys that have struggled for years are still getting games. Perfect example today when CC played Murphy and Johnson up forward they got us back into the game. After half time CC left them on the bench & goes back to his origional plan that did not work.
Last year the Eagles had injury problems and Woosha was forced to play the you guys he had faith in them and now they are reaping the rewards. The future of the club is the development of the young players, CC is now under more pressure so what does he do keep playing the same old players and maybe sneak into the finals or does he bight the bullet and start playing the young guys dropping the non performers.
Grover, MacManus, Woods, Walker, Sandilands & Cook would not get a game at any other club.

Healy brought up a good point during the game. He basically said you are missing Simmonds more than you realise. He may not have been a great player but he took a good defender and made the opposition honest. He was a part of your side's structure and you really haven't replaced him.

coasting said:
Healy brought up a good point during the game. He basically said you are missing Simmonds more than you realise. He may not have been a great player but he took a good defender and made the opposition honest. He was a part of your side's structure and you really haven't replaced him.
we aren't missing simmonds

coasting said:
Agree, but by the same token would have been disappointed if we had offered him a 5 year deal. Where do you get them from the WCE having been trying to find one for years. Got to draft them and hope for the best.

coasting said:

Fair point, but Simmonds, Croad and Leigh Brown would all be handy players but none are worth $400,000+ p.a.

theferrett said:
BTW, you don't reckon shane on dockerhitlerland hasn't got RSI from overuse of his delete key.

Yeah hes deleted quite a few already - all those associated with CC

He's not the only one Sooky SABRE has scrubbed two of mine of this topic and they weren't even critical.

The obvious problem is the position of Full Forward. Its a huge problem for you guys and you are doing nothing to solve it. Ryan Murphy is touted as ur future Full Forward, you have no one else to play it, SO GIVE YOUR YOUNGSTERS A GO FOR ONCE........ THERE NOT GONNA LEARN ANYTHING PLAYING AGAINST PEEL THUNDER

YAKUZA said:
He's not the only one Sooky SABRE has scrubbed two of mine of this topic and they weren't even critical.

Now now yakuza your first was a childish jab at the freo side. Something you can do on the main board, but as I said to you the team board works differently.
Your second post was a cry about the removal of your first post.

sabre_ac said:
Now now yakuza your first was a childish jab at the freo side. Something you can do on the main board, but as I said to you the team board works differently.
Your second post was a cry about the removal of your first post.

My first post was a valid jab at you and your post, quote "How many times do you have to be told".

My second post was a challenge to you to remove the two posts above mine which were along the same lines as mine and you failed to do so.

RIPPER_46 said:
A virus went through the club. Obviously some were out there affected by it.

dont give me that lame excuse pal, your team of pussy cats were unmercilessly flogged by a superior outfit. we were relentless on our attack and would have not let anyone stand in our way today, least of all a mob of 2 bit bums from freo

we're keeping a lid on it , we realise we haven't beaten anyone yet...however momentum is building...

Eat'em alive tigers

Too many players that should be playing in the WAFL
Medhurst,Headland,Sandilands,Mcmanus,Farmer back to the WAfl for 3-4 weeks come back when you are ready to pull your head in
Give the kids a run cannot hurt and they might do a better job than the squibs I have named
Now to upset a few more Docker supporters think about this
Your board re-signed Connolly BEFORE Pagan re-signed with Carlton
Pagan with your list scary
Connolly with your list laughing stock

WA ROO said:
Medhurst,Headland,Sandilands,Mcmanus,Farmer back to the WAfl for 3-4 weeks come back when you are ready to pull your head in
Give the kids a run cannot hurt and they might do a better job than the squibs I have named
You started off saying that our list was crap, then finished with our list would be scary with a good coach, which one is it?
Our Midfield struggled today, as any midfied would with two players missing.
If Carr and headland don't play, haselby and schammer struggling for form, we might have to throw pavlich back into the middle of the ground.
Johnson and Murphy to play up forward.
J lo is not much better ruckman than sandi, but J Lo offers more around the ground. It might be time to send sandi back to the wafl, we would struggle in the ruck. At the moment we are struggling with our clearances, so it might not affect us to much.

WA ROO said:

Sandilands I agree on, but Headland was excellent in the first three rounds and wasn't playing today. Farmer and Medhurst again looked dangerous today and have also had good starts to the season. Farmer's defensive pressure once again was excellent and Medhurst kicked 1.3, took 11 marks and set up several other scoring scots.

As for McManus, he should have been out of the side after the loss to St Kilda and IMO the fact that Connolly didn't drop him shows that he doesn't have the balls to do so, and perhaps he never will.

WA ROO said:

So Pagan only re-signed with Carlton because he knew he wasn't going to be the Fremantle coach in 2006? Imagine how good the blues would be if their coach actually wanted to be there!

|D_J^B_J| said:
As for McManus, he should have been out of the side after the loss to St Kilda and IMO the fact that Connolly didn't drop him shows that he doesn't have the balls to do so, and perhaps he never will.

We don't have any fit, ready made replacements to come in which would improve the side. Woods has been dropped after rounds 2 and 3 but been a late inclusion due to injury the last two weeks.

BB gun said:
You started off saying that our list was crap, then finished with our list would be scary with a good coach, which one is it?
Our Midfield struggled today, as any midfied would with two players missing.
QUOTE]

thats a weak excuse when u consider we had our captain Kane Johnson out amongst others