Society & Culture What is your greatest achievement?

• Thread starter Thread starter ClarkeM

He works as a war correspondent type journo. Utterly mad ****, but great value.

Was one of the last Western journos to interview Ahmed Shah Massoud.

Anyway, last year, was up near the border and basically got kisnapped by the Pakistani Talibs.

The way he tells it the dudes drove him and this other journo they'd kidnapped to a house and left them there with one guy looking after them. The kidnappers drive off and the guard left the room so him and this other dude have a quick discussion along the lines of 'Well, let's make a run for it, the main road is only a k or so away. Yes, the guard may shoot us but that's got to better than having your head cut off live on the Net'

So they made a run for it, the guard let off a few shots but missed them and when they got to the main road luckily some military type convoy was passing by and picked them up.

This same dude gave me an awesome birthday present: its a US flag, proper American army battle flag, that he bought in the Smuggler's Market in Peshawar from dudes who'd taken it off some American soldiers they'd attacked over the border.

My mate says these guys were also selling bits of US body armour with bullett holes and shit in it. I have the flag in my room right now.
F*** me you have an interesting life and interesting mates, I would completely sh*t my dacks in that situation, good thinking by the journos though

Yeah was pretty wierd going to this pub, our tour guide took us there but I wasn't really that keen to go there after what he told us. Was pretty wierd standing in a place where you knew people had been gunned down.

To make it worse a lot of the old locals there were around at the time, although they were friendly it was pretty awkward talking to them, kind of like being at a funeral where you are shit scared of saying the wrong thing.

Not the sort of place to yell out "hey guys, whose up for some shots?"

The whole of Belfast was pretty wierd really, the place was like a ghost town after about 6pm, no one on the streets at all. I even remember going to the local Maccas and there was a wreath of flowers at the entrance, when we asked about it we were told some people were shot dead there recently.:eek:

It was at that time we decided it might be better to go takeaway rather than eat in.

Belfast is really cool now. Sure, there's bits of it you wouldn't go to but there's parts of Melbourne I'd never go to.

I have an Irish sounding name so I'm always careful not to go to the hardcore Proddy areas but I've been out drinking til like 3AM on the Falls Road and on the Bogside in Derry and walked home and never felt unsafe.

Also, same with Beirut. Its actually one of the safest cities I've ever been to for the random punter. Mainly because there's so many cops/soldiers with AK on the streets that there's no chance you could get mugged.

F*** me you have an interesting life and interesting mates, I would completely sh*t my dacks in that situation, good thinking by the journos though

He's a bit ****ed up now though. Basically has got PTSD but won't admit it. I could never do that kind of crazy war reporting shit though. Mental bastards.

Anyway, last year, was up near the border and basically got kisnapped by the Pakistani Talibs.

The way he tells it the dudes drove him and this other journo they'd kidnapped to a house and left them there with one guy looking after them. The kidnappers drive off and the guard left the room so him and this other dude have a quick discussion along the lines of 'Well, let's make a run for it, the main road is only a k or so away. Yes, the guard may shoot us but that's got to better than having your head cut off live on the Net'

So they made a run for it, the guard let off a few shots but missed them and when they got to the main road luckily some military type convoy was passing by and picked them up.

This same dude gave me an awesome birthday present: its a US flag, proper American army battle flag, that he bought in the Smuggler's Market in Peshawar from dudes who'd taken it off some American soldiers they'd attacked over the border.

My mate says these guys were also selling bits of US body armour with bullett holes and shit in it. I have the flag in my room right now.

Awesome.

Off the top of my head would say:

- Finding a hawt amazing woman who can stand me for more than 5 minutes and for some unfathomable reason agreed to marry me. (she has never sechsed another bloke either ftw)
- Get arrested by brazillian police and successfully bribe my way out of south american jail.
- Chase down and assault a bag snatcher on las ramblas in Barcelona.
- Voted 5th best poster on GD ;)

Probably the toughest dude I know. As in, not a flog who goes around bashing people but you just look at him, and once you know what he's done etc, you're like 'Yep, he would take anyone here easy'.

The only person I've met who I reckon could take him is Akhmed Zakayev's bodyguard. That was a seriously cold cold individual who I am supremely confident had killed dozens of people.

I :heart: your stories.*

*notsureifhomo?

The only person I've met who I reckon could take him is Akhmed Zakayev's bodyguard. That was a seriously cold cold individual who I am supremely confident had killed dozens of people.

please tell me you've met Zakayev and have a story to go with it. :thumbsu:

those Chechen guys are all complete nutters.

Off the top of my head would say:

- Finding a hawt amazing woman who can stand me for more than 5 minutes and for some unfathomable reason agreed to marry me. (she has never sechsed another bloke either ftw)
- Get arrested by brazillian police and successfully bribe my way out of south american jail.
- Chase down and assault a bag snatcher on las ramblas in Barcelona.- Voted 5th best poster on GD ;)

Good work. Acts of international vigilante justice are to be applauded.

A good mate of mine headbutted a German dude in Bangkok was being nasty to some poor girl he'd obviously bought for the evening.

please tell me you've met Zakayev and have a story to go with it. :thumbsu:

those Chechen guys are all complete nutters.

Yeah, met Zakayev in the UK. Nice guy. Had one of those like furry leopard print type hats that important dudes from those wacky parts of the world have.

40053970_maskhadov_bbc300body.jpg

But his bodyguard. **** me. Chechen guy. Would have been in his late 30s, not a huge dude but big enough, but you just looked at him and his eyes and you know he had killed loads of people.

I know exactly what you mean.

an old female friend of mine (with benefits :thumbsu: ) was Ukrainian. same age as me, meaning she was born in Soviet times. her dad used to work in some level of the government and wouldn't talk about it if I asked him (being massively interested in Russian history as I am etc). don't think he was a KGB guy or anything to that affect but, well ... I never told him I was porking his daughter because he scared the ****ing shit out of me. still does. he had that same cold, hard look in his eyes.

ps: Zakayev is a dead ringer for Boris the Blade from Snatch. :)

Belfast is really cool now. Sure, there's bits of it you wouldn't go to but there's parts of Melbourne I'd never go to.

I have an Irish sounding name so I'm always careful not to go to the hardcore Proddy areas but I've been out drinking til like 3AM on the Falls Road and on the Bogside in Derry and walked home and never felt unsafe.

Also, same with Beirut. Its actually one of the safest cities I've ever been to for the random punter. Mainly because there's so many cops/soldiers with AK on the streets that there's no chance you could get mugged.

I was only there about 8 or 9 years ago and I was told it was pretty cool back then, maybe it was, we were there during the week rather than the weekend so maybe that made a difference.

The place still had a wierd, creepy vibe to it though compared to the rest of Ireland. Kind of like going into Deliverance territory in the US south or going to Adelaide here.

The rest of Ireland was awesome though, plenty of awesome pubs and people.

Putting $50 on Bartel on the day of the 2008 Brownlow, when he was paying 10-1.
Losing $50 was a great achievement?

I once scored two goals in a game of hockey. And I once scored a behind (hit the post) in a game of footy. Yeh ok, I'm not very good at sports.

Drama queen.

Play me the world's tiniest banjo Gus.:D

Nah in all seriousness I've never actually been to Adelaide, probably couldn't be more boring than Perth.

At least you guys have a decent cricket oval.

Play me the world's tiniest banjo Gus.:D

Nah in all seriousness I've never actually been to Adelaide, probably couldn't be more boring than Perth.

At least you guys have a decent cricket oval.

Adelaide is ok. Has ups and downs, as any city does. Definitely not as dangerous as people make it out to be. I'm fine walking around the CBD at night alone.

And yes, at least Adelaide Oval is decent.

I have hit a cricket ball on Adelaide Oval, it was a four.
I have multiple cricket stumps that were used in games, including signed Brian Lara, Adam Gilchrist, Freddie Flintoff ones.