Curto

Big footy members and supporters annoy me. What the hell do you want, here is why I feel this way:

Lonie: Superstar with the ball, doesn't go hard enough. Drop him
Johnson: Has a red hot go, disposal isn't great. Drop him
Morrison: Excellent disposal (never misses a target), Mick's pet (?). Delist him
Tarrant: Works his butt off, gets crap delivery and doesn't perform, therefore isn't committed. Bag him
O'Bree: Consistently 20-30 possesions, 5 clangers. Delsit him.
Egan: Oozes class but doesn't go hard. Drop him.
Rhyce: 25 disp, too many clangers. Drop him.
Buckley: Perfect.
Richards: Lots of potential, but doesn't dominate games. Drop him
Swan: 20 disp, uses it well but all cheap poss. Drop him
Lockyer: 25 disp, poor disposal and far too defensive minded (ie. hits the boundary all the time). We love him?
J.Cloke: Plays his heart out, 100% all the time, great 1%'s and great support in defense but lacks class/skill. Drop him.
Thomas: A superstar (big expectations first year??).
Davis: All skill and a potential game breaker, doesn't do enough. Delist him.

and finally:

Mick: Got us to two grand finals when, according to everyone else we shouldn't have with out list, two poor seasons wrecked by injuries resulting in low ladder positions. Sack him.

HAVE A GOOD LOOK AT YOURSELVES.

When will you realise we can't have 22 Buckley's out there each week? Players have strengths and weaknesses, it's a balance we are looking for. Support your players and the coach and let's have a good year and beyond.

I love Collingwood!!

PS I am making comments on players with a combination of my opinion, popular opinion and generalisations.

I've posted about 4-5 replies to all the threads about tonight's game and the season coming up, unfortunatley I'm a positive supporter so i get no response.

You guys are weak.

Today's society is made up of negativety and you are all just whingers. It's ok, I bet you all switch on to "tomorrow we have footage of a car salesman exploiting a young chick and/or an american car chase that you won't believe". Enjoy Jeeerrryyy..... but for all of us devote supporters...good signs tonight I reckon.

I am a positive supporter but I can't let things go unnoticed.

BTW - I found Chris Tarrant, he was in the carpark.

Lonie_from_50 said:
I am a positive supporter but I can't let things go unnoticed.

BTW - I found Chris Tarrant, he was in the carpark.

No forward could have dominated with our delivery last night.

guess_who said:
No forward could have dominated with our delivery last night.

Especially against their defence.

Rocca was on the All-Australian Full Back ffs.

Are you seriously blaming Tarrant for last night? The best FF/HFF in Australia wouldnt have got a mark with the pathetic kicks *cough* TARKYN LOCKYER and BEN JOHNSON *cough* into the forward 50.

Cassius_Clay said:
Are you seriously blaming Tarrant for last night? The best FF/HFF in Australia wouldnt have got a mark with the pathetic kicks *cough* TARKYN LOCKYER and BEN JOHNSON *cough* into the forward 50.
Oh and Swan played a magnificent game. Gave 100%, used the ball extremely well, compared to Lockyer anyway and went in and didnt take a backward step unlike some others.

That Egan is an absolute pansy.

My response,

Lonie: Safe
Johnson: Safe
Morrison: Delist
Tarrant: Safe
O'Bree: Safe
Egan: Safe (at least for now)
Rhyce: Safe
Buckley: Safe
Richards: Williamstown
Swan: Safe
Lockyer: Safe
J.Cloke: Not Safe
Thomas: Safe
Davis: Trade

I would delist Morrison and trade Davis. Jason Cloke is not safe, but he should be. Richards needs time at Williamstown.

Tarrant just had a bad game last night. We know he is capable of better, heaps better.

I'd be surprised if there was anyone willing to take Davis, unless he shows something this year he won't be going to any AFL club.

Curto, how long would you like us to support a second rate team and coach before we say enough is enough?

We have drafted hacks almost exclusively up until last year, our list has limited scope for improvement, and the genuine stars that we do have (Rocca, Burns, Buckley) are all reaching the end of their careers. What do we replace them with? Jason Cloke? Brent Hall? You've got to be kidding me.

Almost every player on our list has at least one glaring deficiency. That's not good enough. They shouldn't have been drafted in the first place, and the fact they are still there is even worse. Look at the good teams (hint: we're not one of them). They have virtually no-one with such obvious deficiencies as our list.

For example, hardness at the ball. St Kilda and West Coast may have a couple of players in their 22 who might be termed outside players (ie. Goddard) but we carry 4-5 blokes every single week who sleep with the light on (Lockyer, Egan, Didak, Lonie).

How about footskills? Clubs might have a couple of players who are a bit iffy, but we carry O'Bree, Johnson, Egan, Licuria (even though I love the bloke, let's be honest) all of whom turn over the ball far too often.

And then the coach. The only bloke in history to coach 500 games for less than 4 premierships (and you might argue they were gifted to him when he inheritied the WA state of origin team). The bloke who has had seven years to build the list he wants and has got us in no better a position than when he took over. The bloke who got us Chad Rintoul, Chad Morrison and Andrew Williams (which WCE love-child will it be this year - I can hardly wait!).

We are on off-field power, but I would give the whole lot to the Kangaroos and let the club live in the gutter if I thought it might give us a premiership. Optimism is fine, but Collingwood takes it to a new level with the number of supporters we have content that we are losers. Content that we reappoint a coach after consecutive bottom four finishes. Content that we spend more money on our football department than anyone in the history of the game and can't even find 22 blokes who can hit a target. Content that we made two grand finals in 2002 & 2003. How about being dirty that we lost and taking steps to correct it?

How about having some foresight - trading second rate duds like Lockyer three years ago when they had some currency. No, let's keep him until the whole world knows that he's a complete and utter fairy, and no-one wants him. Hell, lets go one better and chuck him in the leadership group. What an inspiration to the rest of the club. Egan clearly looks up to him. "Tarkyn, what do I need to succeed?" "Simple Chris, the most important thing is to never put your head over the ball - look where it's got me!".

The club is an on-field embarrassment. We may win a few games and even push for the top 8 on the back of an out and out champion in Buckley and some solid senior players contributing. But we will never, ever, ever be a power while that dud Malthouse is in charge, and while Collingwood fans keep up their blind optimism over the list of duds he has assembled.

The Majestic said:
I'd be surprised if there was anyone willing to take Davis, unless he shows something this year he won't be going to any AFL club.

Fremantle will be interested. Leon always seems to play his best football against that mob, especially at Subiaco.

Adelaide will be one of the top sides in the comp this year.

that you can put them under siege for a period of the game like that, shows you dont have much to worry about this year with your list.

Cassius_Clay said:
Oh and Swan played a magnificent game. Gave 100%, used the ball extremely well, compared to Lockyer anyway and went in and didnt take a backward step unlike some others.

That Egan is an absolute pansy.

NFI at all.

I rate Swan very, very highly. But his disposal was ordinary last night. Five clangers (although he got plenty of it - mostly because he reads the play as well as anyone in the club) is not good enough.

Swans disposal was good but wouldn't damage a fly.
We let too many goals past in 4th quarter when we were physically stuffed. I think it is a worry we weren't fit enough. Then again I thought the match selection was poor with Maxwell, J.Cloke both in when they have a relatively small forward line.

Disappointing end to Mondays game. Weren't we suppoed to benefit from altitude training in Arizona and finish running over the top of teams? The most disappointing aspect was not being able to get the ball off the Crows for long periods of time. From my view up high it seemed the Crows were employing a type of zone ahead of the ball when we had it. Conversely our boys instead went man on man and it was easier for their players to get free, we're not the quickest side in the comp. Happy with the stoppage work and endevour we just need to work on getting the ball back and getting some quality ball to our forwards. I'll settle for any kind of win at this stage, It's been a while.

Coin_Toss said:
Fremantle will be interested. Leon always seems to play his best football against that mob, especially at Subiaco.

There woudldn't be much, and we wouldn't get much if we went to trade him there.

1980GFVideo said:
Adelaide will be one of the top sides in the comp this year.

that you can put them under siege for a period of the game like that, shows you dont have much to worry about this year with your list.

Fitness wise we do, running out of legs in the final quarter in Round 1 is a very big worry. I would hope we could run the game out against Hawthorn and not die in the last like we did on Monday.

You know what is suprising! Chad Morrison, he actually had a good year last year, looking back, considering the way we all are going on about him. His pre-season has been far from ********house, and he was unlucky not to be playing. He was the 23rd man in the squad, so was just unlucky. With Lonie, Swan both performing, and Ben Johnson getting plenty of it, just mistakes off the boot, then their is a chance he won't play again. He is capable of having a big year, and doing better, but we haven't given Chad the appreciation he should be getting.

Chad Morrison - 2005
Games: 15
Goals: 1

Kicks: 141
Handballs: 133
Disposals: 274
Ave. Disposals: 18.27

Marks: 58
Clearances: 28
Field Clangers: 22
Clanger Rate: 12.45

Ranking Points: 1139
Ave. Ranking Points: 75.93
Impact Rating: 74.59

Time on Ground: 1527
Ave. Time on Ground: 101.8 mins

Not too bad a season than we have given him credit for, aswell as, his pre-season hasn't been too bad either. Has performed at Williamstown when having to play there.

His Clanger Rate was good for the club, ranking him at 13th at the club overall, or 7th for players who played 10 or more games.

the Clanger Rate stat takes into account how many disposals per field clanger (excluding frees against)