gx122

Swannies mentioned in the WAFL thread that Hansen playing for Swans is stifling Notte's development because they look for Hansen instead so much as so they don't look for Notte anymore. So.. if Hansen playing for Swans is bad for Notte's development, would Hansen playing for WC be bad for Kennedy and Brown?

They play that lead up forward role and if Hansen is getting the ball, then the other two aren't? Plus an overly tall forward setup if Naita makes his way back into the team and Lynch is there. Most of us would agree that Kennedy and Brown are more talented, agile, better marks, probably stronger and dangerous around goals and in a team with very poor delivery. So where does that leave Hansen?

What do we do with him? Hinder Notte's development, Kennedy and Brown's, or is Hansen good enough to retain his spot?

Swannies mentioned in the WAFL thread that Hansen playing for Swans is stifling Notte's development because they look for Hansen instead so much as so they don't look for Notte anymore. So.. if Hansen playing for Swans is bad for Notte's development, would Hansen playing for WC be bad for Kennedy and Brown?

They play that lead up forward role and if Hansen is getting the ball, then the other two aren't? Plus an overly tall forward setup if Naita makes his way back into the team and Lynch is there. Most of us would agree that Kennedy and Brown are more talented, agile, better marks, probably stronger and dangerous around goals and in a team with very poor delivery. So where does that leave Hansen?

What do we do with him? Hinder Notte's development, Kennedy and Brown's, or is Hansen good enough to retain his spot?

Whilst I can see where Swannies is coming from I dont think it's all Hansen in the way of Notte, he needs to step up himself.

It's not as though the Swans forward line doesnt have enough supply, Notte, IMO needs to work harder for his posessions. Just like Callum Wilson has done at Souths.

In years past Murphy was the go to guy, throw in Farmer and he was the third option, basically he has performed to the point where he is a focus, his teammates look for him because they know he will be in space, because he works so hard off the ball.

Notte may not have the motor just yet, but he needs to find one and want to impose himself on the contest.

Part of what Swannies is saying his correct, but I feel Notte needs to lift more than worry about Hansen.

Oh, and what to do with Hansen. I'd probably shoot him.

He'll bob up for a few goals here or there but his agility, pace and contested marking aint gonna get any better.

As Mundy said, Notte needs to work harder to get himself in the game.

While Hansen's AFL game wasn't too bad, he showed why he really isn't a part of our plans moving forward. No lateral movement and has nowhere near the impact when trying to chase down a player. Watch Kennedy run down a player. You know the other fella is shitting himself...

I don't think there is a clash at the Eagles like the Swans.

Essentially at the Swans, you'd have Hansen and Geappen playing close to goals with Notte playing a less defined floating utility role. He's handy in this role but he's a key forward.

At the Eagles, we'll have one of Hansen and Kennedy playing close to goals, the other further out. Brown is left as the utility, but it appears that is how we wish to use him regardless of Hansen. Hansen is basically replacing Lynch and allowing him to play up the ground.

As Mundy said, Notte needs to work harder to get himself in the game.

I don't really agree. He is being played out of position. It's no co-incidence that without Hansen in the side he plays better. It's also no co-incidence that the Swans' tough run earlier this year coincided with Notte's knee injury. It has nothing to do with Notte worrying about Hansen but everything to do with the structure of the side changing with his inclusion.

Watch Kennedy run down a player. You know the other fella is shitting himself...

Yeah, Matt Warnock looked really worried.

I don't really agree. He is being played out of position. It's no co-incidence that without Hansen in the side he plays better. It's also no co-incidence that the Swans' tough run earlier this year coincided with Notte's knee injury. It has nothing to do with Notte worrying about Hansen but everything to do with the structure of the side changing with his inclusion.

Where exactly would you say Notte has played the majority of his footy?

Do you think he works hard enough to lead up and present when he is given the opportunity at FF and CHF?

Where exactly would you say Notte has played the majority of his footy?

Switching between FF and CHF depending on the rotations at the time.

Do you think he works hard enough to lead up and present when he is given the opportunity at FF and CHF?

Yep. On the weekend was a perfect example and Swannies highlighted it. He was leading brilliantly but the midfield were choosing the wrong options.

At times he stays back deep rather then leading forward when the ball is about 60 out, allowing Geappen, Robinson or other smalls a lead but I'd say that would be more under instruction due to his height and marking ability in the square.

I think he's far from a complete footballer at the moment and he still has a lot to learn, particularly since he doesn't have the body to really be physical, which also has the by product of making him look laconic, but the blokes a real talent and a crucial component to the side.

UD, Notte hardly set the world on fire this weekend without Hansen there. In fact, its about his usual standard game.

Switching between FF and CHF depending on the rotations at the time.

Yep. On the weekend was a perfect example and Swannies highlighted it. He was leading brilliantly but the midfield were choosing the wrong options.

At times he stays back deep rather then leading forward when the ball is about 60 out, allowing Geappen, Robinson or other smalls a lead but I'd say that would be more under instruction due to his height and marking ability in the square.

Fair enough, no doubt you have seen more of him, but from my viewings, all Souths games vs Swans, a few games against peel and one on the box he seems to hesitate when the midfield is approaching.

Alot his goals come from snaps as he has ridiculous skills below his knees, maybe it's a function of his size that he does not lead as hard as the other blokes but personally I think he could do more, have a bigger say by increasing his workrate.

Fair enough, no doubt you have seen more of him, but from my viewings, all Souths games vs Swans, a few games against peel and one on the box he seems to hesitate when the midfield is approaching.

Alot his goals come from snaps as he has ridiculous skills below his knees, maybe it's a function of his size that he does not lead as hard as the other blokes but personally I think he could do more, have a bigger say by increasing his workrate.

Fair enough.

Perhaps I have my rose coloured glasses on, Swannies is far more capable then me of providing a balanced view.

UD, Notte hardly set the world on fire this weekend without Hansen there. In fact, its about his usual standard game.

Really? I thought he was very good and worked very hard. It's hardly his fault if he is leading superbly only for a midfielder to make the wrong decision and not go to him. It sure was frustrating my wife - and myself.

Hansen should be put up for trade. In fact, he should have been traded already. Should have been traded as soon as we accepted we were entering a rebuilding phase and would be out of finals action for 3 years and not contenders for another 5. I understand that Hansen is a good bloke and is respected at the club and didn't want to go last year when we got an offer for him. But the thing is even if he can't see it, as people in his situation often can't, there is no future for him at the club. We need to develop and play key forwards who will be coming into their prime with the rest of the developing side in 3-5 years, not keep playing blokes who will be retiring then.

The club needs to explain to him that it is in the interests of both parties to part company. He will have a longer career and more opportunities at another club and we will get a draft pick and a chance to develop a younger player. If we don't have the balls to do that, and that is the reason we didn't do it last year - lack of balls to do something painful that we needed to do, we deserve to be at the bottom with the rest of the loser unprofessional mickey mouse clubs.

Hansen should be put up for trade. In fact, he should have been traded already. Should have been traded as soon as we accepted we were entering a rebuilding phase and would be out of finals action for 3 years and not contenders for another 5. I understand that Hansen is a good bloke and is respected at the club and didn't want to go last year when we got an offer for him. But the thing is even if he can't see it, as people in his situation often can't, there is no future for him at the club. We need to develop and play key forwards who will be coming into their prime with the rest of the developing side in 3-5 years, not keep playing blokes who will be retiring then.

The club needs to explain to him that it is in the interests of both parties to part company. He will have a longer career and more opportunities at another club and we will get a draft pick and a chance to develop a younger player. If we don't have the balls to do that, and that is the reason we didn't do it last year - lack of balls to do something painful that we needed to do, we deserve to be at the bottom with the rest of the loser unprofessional mickey mouse clubs.

I agree a trade should be pursued which in itself says what we should do.

We should keep playing him, especially if Cox is gone for the year and we need Lynch in the ruck.

Kennedy, M Brown and Hansen can rotate forward and hopefully Hansen will get the third tall and play some decent footy to elevate his profile and trade currency. Its not going up playing WAFL and the same applies to Seaby.

Hansens last game was pretty decent and has earned himself another game IMO.

This is always the thing with Hansen. When he returns from WAFL/injury he generally puts up a big first game then he drops like a tap. This Port Adelaide game is really his last chance to prove he can make it at this level.

He should be traded but I can't see us getting anything for him.

One of the great things that Hansen brought to our side was his leadership. I feel that this is something we are going to need to improve on in the future when Hansen gets the chop. Kennedy might be a way to go for Hansens replacement into the leadership group. Not saying Glass is a bad captain but I see Kennedy as a future captain when Glass calls it a day.

Would Hansen be a good fit for the doggies?There midfielders are very skilful and they lack a good lead up forward.I believe we could get a 3rd round pick or even an upgrade for him.

Notte suffering because Hansen is playing WAFL is a joke... Hansen isnt a fev type guy who would demand the ball above all other forwards and remonstrate against a midfielder kicking to a better option rather then Hansen.

If Notte is being played out of position he needs to absolutely work his arse off in whatever position he is given and still have an impact in game. We all ready know he has the talent so the measure of his performance should be based on workrate, not statistics.

When Notte gets an AFL call up considering we also have Brown and Kennedy not to mention Lynch, Hansen and Naita. Its possible that Notte will be made to play in a position that will not directly suit him to start with and/or a position in which he will not play in the future but will have to play now to get him into the team and/or because of match ups. For example I doubt he will play much of a deep FF role on the best defender if he is still slightly built, its more likely he will be a floating third tall.

So you could argue that being played in the WAFL as a second/third option rather then the main focus will help his development as he comes into the AFL because theres a good chance he will be the second/third/fourth option in our forward line for a few years.

As for Hansen If he plays well he deserves a game the weekend after. I dont see him as a long term option and its likely he will be offered for trade at the end of the year (which will be better for both parties) but if he can play a role very well for the rest of the year and not drop off his work rate then id play him every week.

If he somehow starts to lead the forward line like Hunter did v Geelong with the backline, chips in with a couple of goals a game and really starts to show improvement on his 06/07 form then id entertain the idea of keeping him.

Would Hansen be a good fit for the doggies?There midfielders are very skilful and they lack a good lead up forward.I believe we could get a 3rd round pick or even an upgrade for him.

Mate, we've had the paperwork filled out for over a year now, we just need the Dogs to come to the party and sign.

Hansen would rack up 10+ marks a game at the Dogs with the quality of their foot skills.

3rd rounder and as posted an upgrade if we package him with a pick.:thumbsu:

Notte suffering because Hansen is playing WAFL is a joke... Hansen isnt a fev type guy who would demand the ball above all other forwards and remonstrate against a midfielder kicking to a better option rather then Hansen.

What part of him not playing FF/CHF when Hansen's in the team do you not understand? Last year he played FB, CHB (that's back) and he's a damn fine defender, wing (yes, that's right, wing), CHF, FF and HFF, plus ruck. This year it's forward and ruck, hasn't been sent to defense yet.

Those knocking his work rate need to actually come down to Basso on a Saturday arvo, I'll introduce myself just to direct your attention to the right player, and watch him play. He was spent Saturday arvo, worked his arse off for no return. First quarter he kept leading down the corridor, where were our mids delivering? To the under 6 foot midget leading to the boundary line. Dawson had to remind the players at 1/4 and 3/4 time where to deliver. He asked Notte to keep leading for him and he did. I think he may have got an award on the night from Daws, so my son reckons anyways, so the effort was there.

Mundy's point about him needing a bigger tank is absolutely spot on, but that will come with work.

Hansen should be put up for trade. In fact, he should have been traded already......

I think you're off base there, because Kennedy was still unproven and had a few injury concerns and Brown was coming back from a knee recon, so last year was the wrong time to get rid of him. In terms of balls, I believe certain players have been told they will be seeking a trade for them this year, no ifs, buts or maybes.

I don't and didn't regard Kennedy as unproven. I thought he showed enough last year to show how good a player he could develop into. Even if there were concerns over certain players in the short term - i.e. this year - i don't think that should have really come into calculations for trades las year. Even if there were short term hiccups we knew we had players to develop for the long term and we knew that we were not going to make the finals this year and were entering a rebuilding phase. Hanging on to Hansen for an extra year was not going to change that. All it did was probably reduce his trade currency for us. If you were looking at things with a long term perspective last year, as we should have been, short term concerns over young players was not a reason not to trade him IMO.

BTW, have you heard something? Who are these players on the chopping block?

I don't and didn't regard Kennedy as unproven. I thought he showed enough last year to show how good a player he could develop into. Even if there were concerns over certain players in the short term - i.e. this year - i don't think that should have really come into calculations for trades las year. Even if there were short term hiccups we knew we had players to develop for the long term and we knew that we were not going to make the finals this year and were entering a rebuilding phase. Hanging on to Hansen for an extra year was not going to change that. All it did was probably reduce his trade currency for us. If you were looking at things with a long term perspective last year, as we should have been, short term concerns over young players was not a reason not to trade him IMO.

BTW, have you heard something? Who are these players on the chopping block?

Yep, I'll grant you that, it wasn't a long term look, more a list management issue, but I also think the club overrated, as many supporters did, the squad as a whole.

I'm PM'ing you now.

He's versatile and attacking but I'd like to see Mitch Brown be our next CHB.

There is no question that Kennedy is the man for our key forward position.

Hanson may search up the ground as a leading target but he has nothing on Kennedy as far as making a contest and following up with 2nd and 3rd efforts.

Then theres the Notte/Hanson issue. The Eagles are obviously developing Notte, will be great to see him finally come along. They must see potential in the twig.

Not sure if Hanson will attract much interest elsewhere.