What Type of Player Will We Draft?

CHF please....remember there are many gems left late in the draft. the fish dog is testament to this!

p.s. i wouldn't mind giving our first round pick to get joshy back! doubt the eagles would be stupid enough though...

Key position player who can play at both ends of the ground after Waite's game last night.

Calling Waite's game against the Dreamteam average would be extremely kind because he didn't look at home amongst the elite players. Waite still doesn't have the size to handle power CHFs like Brown or the nous of a Scarlett(similar size and athleticism) to handle athletic forwards like Franklin.

He looked all at sea last night.

We will have struck gold if we're lucky enough to get Hurley with our first pick, but our priority for this draft should still be a quality tall defender or tall forward if there isn't alot separating the available players. I'l be crossing my fingers that we draft a big body defender this year and fix what is still the biggest weakness on our list.

A 6'5" KPP would be a godsend. :thumbsu:

What kind of offer would be too good to refuse if a club made us an offer for Waite?

We can always trade a sillky HFF or HBB to get another second round pick to get another young forward or mid.

Stupid overreaction to a nervous start by Waite last night. In case you didn't notice HE WAS PLAYING FOR VICTORIA. :rolleyes:

His form has been good so far this year but beyond that he's a fixture at the club and it'd be a huge dent to the morale of the playing group if he was forced out of Carlton. Won't happen.

He is not going to want to be traded and it would be a player morale killer
I asked the question because I was curious about his trade value.
Stupid overreaction to a nervous start by Waite last night. In case you didn't notice HE WAS PLAYING FOR VICTORIA. :rolleyes:

His form has been good so far this year but beyond that he's a fixture at the club and it'd be a huge dent to the morale of the playing group if he was forced out of Carlton. Won't happen.
It wasn't an overreaction.

Waite wasn't great against the slower Kennedy who kicked two goals on him and led him to the ball most of the night.

Why would Waite be nervous about playing for Victoria? :confused:

Jarrad is 25 and a professional footballer.

Selwood, Franklin and Pendlebury are just 20 or 21 years of age.

I'm still not convinced he's our long term solution for CHB and he should be played in the forwardline.

A shame I can't make the sort of call on Waite as you do with Russell because you watch him with one eye.

Haven't the Pies and Hawks gone backwards since they trade Tarrant, Hay and Thompson?

Trading Josh Kennedy hasn't dented the morale of the playing group. ;)

Bring in a good player or two via draft picks and they won't have problems with we start winning.

Taking into account Swann putting the heat on Fev and saying it's a make or break season for Brendan at Carlton, you can assume the players are mature to enough to deal with any decisions the football department and Admin makes.

They don't have the right attitude if they're going to sook.

Personally, I would trade a Houlihan for a second round pick and send him to a club who needs an outside player with skill. It was good enough for Melbourne to trade the 28 year old Johnstone for a first rounder to bring in a young inside player who is hard at the ball and was the captain of the Knights IIRC.

Waite wasn't great against the slower Kennedy who kicked two goals on him and led him to the ball most of the night.
Bower was on Kennedy at that point in time. :eek:
Some guys get nervous and throw up before EVERY game.........he looked nervous.......his "lead legs" in the first quarter when chasing the man on the lead.......and his mongrel kick on goal/pass to Fev....(still not sure which it was) is testament to this.

He earned his place in that side and should play on Bradshaw this week.

The answer to your question in terms of trade value?

If Tarrant is worth 2 first rounders, and Nathan Thompson the same.........I'd say 2 firsts and an established listed player..........but clearly Tarrant and Thompson were overpriced when comparing to Judd........so the answer is whatever they are willing to give and whatever we are willing to settle for.;)

Straight swap for John Brown?:D

Waite is not the solution and if he is playing as a key defender then we cannot seriously expect to win a flag anytime soon! look at all the flag sides in recent times all had good defences.

i concur with others opinions, jarrod is far too inconsistent. he has the ability to perform freakish acts but the downside is honestly that he makes poor decisions and his execution with the footy is ordinary, his best and worst are worlds apart! i cannot look at him with confidence knowing he can/and will shut down an oppositions dangerous, matchwinning forward and becoz of that he just cannot be relied upon to carry our defence and therefore we need to draft a KPP players that are capable of doing so!!

Bower was on Kennedy at that point in time. :eek:
OK, I was wrong about the goals because I can't be stuffed watching the replay.

But I saw Waite being led to the ball by Kennedy on more than one occasion in the first quarter. :confused:

I just fast forwarded through the first quarter to have another look and saw Waite on Kennedy at the start of the match.

Russell turned it over and Wirrapanda cleared it to kick long to Kennedy who had front position against Waite.

Masten roves Waite's spoil and kicks to Jones.

Jones handballs inboard to Kennedy who had run hard to present again and JK dished off a handpass back to Jones.

Next contest, Waite spoils Kennedy again.

Rosa receives the ball on the wing and kicks to another Waite-Kennedy contest.

Waite was on Kennedy at the start of the match and Josh was presenting well to take front position in their contests.

Ratten switched Bower on Kennedy and Waite onto Lynch at the end of the first quarter.

Waite's handpass to Bower was shocking and forced Paul to reach for it and do something special to clear the ball from our backline. :eek:

5 minute mark of the third quarter Kennedy marked on the lead out in front of Waite and Schwarz said Waite's speed was great, but Kennedy had him beat on the lead.

Were Bower and Waite switched again? ;)

Hypothetical mmmm
Clubs want too much for their lottery tickets even though they come with no prize guarantee so I would prefer a player trade rather than settle for a 14th selection like Melbourne got (despite the age diff, I don't think we would get much more than that)
Hard to see Cats or Hawks wanting/needing to trade. Hard to come up with anything - no wonder not many deals are done in Trade week
Hypothetical
a) Melbourne offer us Jamar (they now have Fijian) and Miller
b) Kangas offer us Wells
c) Freo offer us whole team

Surely it's a bit too early for the draft talk to start...

It sure is forget pp be out we can win more games :)
this week and next week are winnable games ;)
the only way we'll get pp is if Melbourne, west coast win games

go Blues win win win :) were no longer the Easy beaters :thumbsu:
we need wins for % boosters
Give Melbourne & Wce the 1st & 2nd PP

Haven't really given the draft much thought of yet to be honest. I think we have to go for needs this year and not the best available player, not saying we haven't done this in the past.

I think we go after the best available KKP's considering the amount of times we have fallen down across half forward. Also i wouldn't mind seeing a little more pace around the ground, especially coming out of the backline. Also a little more defensive pressure in the forward 50 would hurt either.

Jarrad is 25 and a professional footballer.

Selwood, Franklin and Pendlebury are just 20 or 21 years of age.

I'm still not convinced he's our long term solution for CHB and he should be played in the forwardline.

A shame I can't make the sort of call on Waite as you do with Russell because you watch him with one eye.

Haven't the Pies and Hawks gone backwards since they trade Tarrant, Hay and Thompson?

Trading Josh Kennedy hasn't dented the morale of the playing group. ;)

Bring in a good player or two via draft picks and they won't have problems with we start winning.

Taking into account Swann putting the heat on Fev and saying it's a make or break season for Brendan at Carlton, you can assume the players are mature to enough to deal with any decisions the football department and Admin makes.

They don't have the right attitude if they're going to sook.

Personally, I would trade a Houlihan for a second round pick and send him to a club who needs an outside player with skill. It was good enough for Melbourne to trade the 28 year old Johnstone for a first rounder to bring in a young inside player who is hard at the ball and was the captain of the
Knights IIRC.

Why would a club already short of KPP stock look to trade a versatile, athletic 25 yo who can perform a role just about anywhere down the spine INSTEAD of looking to clear a Houlihan or Scotland? You'd have rocks in your head! :rolleyes:

Waite is not the solution and if he is playing as a key defender then we cannot seriously expect to win a flag anytime soon! look at all the flag sides in recent times all had good defences.

i concur with others opinions, jarrod is far too inconsistent. he has the ability to perform freakish acts but the downside is honestly that he makes poor decisions and his execution with the footy is ordinary, his best and worst are worlds apart! i cannot look at him with confidence knowing he can/and will shut down an oppositions dangerous, matchwinning forward and becoz of that he just cannot be relied upon to carry our defence and therefore we need to draft a KPP players that are capable of doing so!!

Some of the comments on this post leave alot to be desired Waite has been very good for Carlton this year, he has shown he is more than capable of holding Centre half back in the long term.

The problem with this post is people are comparing him to the elite players in the comp e.g Franklin, Pavlich etc, talking about his trade valve is stupid, he is clearly in our top five players and even if you got a top 10 draft pick DOES NOT GUARANTEE that you are going to get a Pavlich or Franklin.

Waite is clearly now a very good player who is still one step below the real elite players of the comp, is that really that bad that people make suggestions about trading him, l think the trading suggestion is way off the mark.

The problem with this post is people are comparing him to the elite players in the comp e.g Franklin, Pavlich etc, talking about his trade valve is stupid, he is clearly in our top five players and even if you got a top 10 draft pick DOES NOT GUARANTEE that you are going to get a Pavlich or Franklin.
It is just a hypothetical exercise but I don't know about top five (you have been listening to Walls's spruiking too much) and you do realize the elite you are talking about are the players he is probably expected to play on

OK, I was wrong about the goals because I can't be stuffed watching the replay.

But I saw Waite being led to the ball by Kennedy on more than one occasion in the first quarter. :confused:
Woop-te-do........so your point is that if you are lead to the ball as a defender then you are being beaten? Umm..........okay.......you run with that. :eek:
Next chance you get watch a replay of the Blues vs Saints game and tell me how many times Waite was "led to the ball" by Riewoldt........then tell me who you think won the contest.;)

I just fast forwarded through the first quarter to have another look and saw Waite on Kennedy at the start of the match.

Russell turned it over and Wirrapanda cleared it to kick long to Kennedy who had front position against Waite.

Masten roves Waite's spoil and kicks to Jones.

Jones handballs inboard to Kennedy who had run hard to present again and JK dished off a handpass back to Jones.

Next contest, Waite spoils Kennedy again.

Rosa receives the ball on the wing and kicks to another Waite-Kennedy contest.

Waite was on Kennedy at the start of the match and Josh was presenting well to take front position in their contests.

Ratten switched Bower on Kennedy and Waite onto Lynch at the end of the first quarter.
Because Lynch was going well? ;)
Waite's handpass to Bower was shocking and forced Paul to reach for it and do something special to clear the ball from our backline.

5 minute mark of the third quarter Kennedy marked on the lead out in front of Waite and Schwarz said Waite's speed was great, but Kennedy had him beat on the lead.

Were Bower and Waite switched again?

So you did bother to watch the replay...........so tell me who is standing on Kennedy when he has kicked his goals?:rolleyes:

FWIW, I think Kennedy had a good game, and I was pleased to see it. HIs impact on the game was minimal until he got hold of Bower in the third Q and got the WCE going with 5 good minutes where he actually influenced the game.

Other than that he had no impact, despite leading his defender to the ball. BTW, how many CHB's can actually play in front of their man?:cool:

umm ... Why would we get rid of Heath Scotland?

Because his recent form is good enough to PERHAPS be worth something and because he is the type of player that we have a number of. I'm not actually 'pushing' for Scotto to be traded just suggesting a couple of names/types of players i'd think were less important to our structure than Waite. ;)

Did you notice we started to win/close to win about the time Scotty hit form. ;)

Be wary of cause and effect statements ;)
Sure.....and as Yossy points out, he wasn't the only one to increase his output (Fev springs to mind as well), but Scotty when he is playing well is a very damaging player, and one of few in our side to be able to kick off both feet acurately.
IMO he is very important to our structure ATM. When Gibbs runs and carrys more of the HBF then Scotty will become less important, but as a point of interest, go into Gibbs buddy page and have a look at my write up on the WCE game......the number of times Gibbs goes to Scotty as he clears from HB is quite amazing.:thumbsu:

Sure.....and as Yossy points out, he wasn't the only one to increase his output (Fev springs to mind as well), but Scotty when he is playing well is a very damaging player, and one of few in our side to be able to kick off both feet acurately.
IMO he is very important to our structure ATM. When Gibbs runs and carrys more of the HBF then Scotty will become less important, but as a point of interest, go into Gibbs buddy page and have a look at my write up on the WCE game......the number of times Gibbs goes to Scotty as he clears from HB is quite amazing.:thumbsu:

Don't get me wrong, I'm a fan of Scotland and don't think his trade value would outweigh his experience and grunt he adds to our side.:thumbsu:

Agree with all your Scotty points Bb but w/o hitting the tapes, have felt he is lobbing it long a bit more, so far this year, as opposed to pinpointing.
IYO?

Did you notice we started to win/close to win about the time Scotty hit form. ;)

He along with plenty of his teammates BB. ;)

Look, at the risk of repeating myself, i'm NOT looking to bone Scotto. The point was raised as to who we should be prepared to trade in order to bolster our number of high picks. It was suggested Waite should go - i suggested that there are others whose loss will hurt our structure less - this includes Scotland. Houlihan on the other hand.......:p

What Type of Player Will We Draft?