thomo

Scott Stevens, Luke Jericho and Hayden Skipworth at the end of the season? Will they get traded or are they on another chance at the footy club.

Can't see Stevens finding a new home. Sydney didn't want him and it now appears Adelaide don't want him. Aside from one final against Port (when he was still wearing red & white), he has shown little to indicate that he has what it takes to make it at the highest level.

Skipworth is on the fringe of the Adelaide side - he's in or out, depending upon injuries (and suspensions) to players further up the pecking order. He's only 23, so age would be no barrier to any club looking to pick him up. The question is whether anyone would be willing to offer anything in a trade for him and I would suspect that the answer to that would be no.

Some players (eg Craig Bolton, Scott Welsh) seek to be traded in search of greater opportunities. Unfortunately for Skipworth, he's unlikely to be seen to be one of these players - he's had plenty of opportunities, but just isn't good enough to justify regular selection. There is no doubting that he's a hard working, honest player, but he's just not good enough.

If Skippy is to find a new home, it would likely be through the national or pre-season drafts as I doubt any other clubs would be willing to give up anything significant for him.

Jericho is a different type of beast. He's still young - only 21. There is no doubt as to his flair and athletic ability. There are, however, questions about his footballing nous (instincts). Given that 6'2" athletic types are currently flavour of the month, there is just the slightest chance of him attracting another suitor. However, given that he's SA born and bred, I'm not sure whether he would be of great interest to teams outside SA.

Vader said:
Can't see Stevens finding a new home. Sydney didn't want him and it now appears Adelaide don't want him. Aside from one final against Port (when he was still wearing red & white), he has shown little to indicate that he has what it takes to make it at the highest level.

Skipworth is on the fringe of the Adelaide side - he's in or out, depending upon injuries (and suspensions) to players further up the pecking order. He's only 23, so age would be no barrier to any club looking to pick him up. The question is whether anyone would be willing to offer anything in a trade for him and I would suspect that the answer to that would be no.

Some players (eg Craig Bolton, Scott Welsh) seek to be traded in search of greater opportunities. Unfortunately for Skipworth, he's unlikely to be seen to be one of these players - he's had plenty of opportunities, but just isn't good enough to justify regular selection. There is no doubting that he's a hard working, honest player, but he's just not good enough.

If Skippy is to find a new home, it would likely be through the national or pre-season drafts as I doubt any other clubs would be willing to give up anything significant for him.

Jericho is a different type of beast. He's still young - only 21. There is no doubt as to his flair and athletic ability. There are, however, questions about his footballing nous (instincts). Given that 6'2" athletic types are currently flavour of the month, there is just the slightest chance of him attracting another suitor. However, given that he's SA born and bred, I'm not sure whether he would be of great interest to teams outside SA.

If the events of the last two years have shown me one thing, is that players need 3-4 years on lists to sometimes show their true worth.

Like a lot of other BF regulars we are often too quick to write off players.

I have been guilty of writing off Massie, Bode, Bock and Perrie at various times over the past few years.

I cannot see Stevens improving his physicality and presence - but I may be proved wrong.

Jericho is an enigma. He has such ability but will he ever show it and will it be at the Crows. i would give him another year.

Skippy can play the forward crumbing role well, but his pace has currently gone to Bode and their are parts of his game which let him down such as depth of kicking and blistering pace. I would consider keeping him for another year unless a suitable trade could be organised.

The problem with all of this is that at least 3 boys need to be delisted in any year. Someone has to go.

And in a strong, deep draft you would think that the club would look at getting rid of 5-6 players, given that in the next two, three or four years we will lose Clarke, MCleod, Hart, Edwards, Roo, Torney, Bassett, Hudson, Biglands etc.

The coaching staff see something is Stevens that i must be missing. He dominates for the maggies, then comes in and is thrown around like a rag doll in a marking contest.

Jericho...hmmm meh, not sure if he has improved because i havent seen much of him this year (apart from the Wizard Cup granny where i believe he cost us the game). Interesting that Westies play Jericho as a winger, rather than a forward so he can develop and have a better chance with the crows at being a key forward.

Skippy... Bode has overtaken him but you never know, always seems to get oppotunities. Just doesnt have enough pace to be a genuine threat around goal.

meh said:
The coaching staff see something is Stevens that i must be missing. He dominates for the maggies, then comes in and is thrown around like a rag doll in a marking contest.

Jericho...hmmm meh, not sure if he has improved because i havent seen much of him this year (apart from the Wizard Cup granny where i believe he cost us the game). Interesting that Westies play Jericho as a winger, rather than a forward so he can develop and have a better chance with the crows at being a key forward.

Skippy... Bode has overtaken him but you never know, always seems to get oppotunities. Just doesnt have enough pace to be a genuine threat around goal.

Meh - Jericho played in the back half last week and really carried the ball well. Its what he does when he does not have the ball that is a worry. he is not a good defensive player and he oftern gives his player too much easy run at the ball. He is very good when we have the ball.

Someon has to be delisted though - Stevens atm is the obvious candidate.

Like Bigman said we should be looking at 5 or 6 player to be delisted or traded in this years super draft.

1) Mathew Clark – Retirement
2) Jason Torney - Retirement
3) Scott Stevens – Delisted
4) Hayden Skipworth – Delist
5) Jonathon Griffin – Delist
6) Luke Jericho - Trade

For some reason I can see Mathew Clarke and Jason Torney both hanging the boots up at the end of this year.

Scott Stevens, Jonathon Griffin and Hayden Skipworth are all candidates to be dropped of the list and Luke Jericho may be better suited to plying his trade at a Victorian club where he can gain that opportunity he isn’t getting at the Crows.

That’s 6 player if Jericho get traded then that would allow the club to try and convince Torney to stay on (but I just get a feeling he will retire because of injury)

Still too early to say who will go & who wont.

Much will depend on who retires (voluntary or not), who is resigned, injuries & rehab.

I think this is especialy true of the ruckmen.

Torney is only 28 crows98!

What are you talking about him retiring?

And the club has huge wraps on Griffen. Hinge would be more likely to go.

Although, as drakey says, it's too early to tell, it's shaping up to be a tough time in October. The club will not need to turn over as many players as last year, but even coming up with the minimum 3 will be tough.

Clarke will retire.

Torney might retire - I agree he's only 28 but if his body is giving him trouble it won't be the first time a 28 year old has pulled the pin.

Stevens will be delisted.

That makes 2, possibly three. Assuming we will want to turn over 4-5 players, there are going to be a couple of unlucky young men in October - at any other club they probably would have kept their spots.

Vader said:
Have to say I agree with Gets!

With all of our younger midfielders coming along so nicely, and our rucks (excluding Maric & Meesen) not getting any younger, we'd be far more likely to keep Griffen and delist Hinge.

Didn’t Hinge sign a 2-year deal when he was elevated onto the list? If he did sign a 1-year deal then he certainly would be an option but I doubt he would be cast aside if he were on a 2-year deal.

Gets! said:
Torney is only 28 crows98!

What are you talking about him retiring?

And the club has huge wraps on Griffen. Hinge would be more likely to go.

So Phillip Matera is only 30 in November and he retired because of injury.

IMHO opionion the following will go:

Clarke - fait accompli

Torney - Stiffs lover child - a great servant but 45 games in 3.5 yrs is just not good enough. Very injury prone and thus expendable with numerous other options as bp or hbf

Hinge - if on one yr contract he is gawn

Skippy - bye bye old son. Has been overtaken. WW is right again :thumbsu:

Jericho - club wuld be VERY reluctant to let him go with his obvious talents - he willl have ONE last chance next yr

Stevens - WILL be kept as a replacement KPP unless Gibson shows rapid improves

you heard it ere first ;)

The Crows Truth said:
IMHO opionion the following will go:
Torney - Stiffs lover child - a great servant but 45 games in 3.5 yrs is just not good enough. Very injury prone and thus expendable with numerous other options as bp or hbf

I'm going to assume you're counting 03, 04, 05, 06?
Code:
Player         Games played
Matthew Bode        35
Kris Massie         32
Scott Welsh         49

Great indication of how far we have come in such a short time. At the end of 2004 we nominated between 10-15 players who were dancing on thin ice. I can only find 3 players ( Jericho, Skippy and Stevens ) maybe 5 ( Hinge :( and Griffen ) who could be facing the knife.

As an aside, 2005 looks like being a bad time to be on a rookie list. With the supposed "super draft" looming I reckon most clubs, including us, will be off loading most of their 2005 rookies. Unless of course they show exceptional form. It doesn't look good for Bonad, Sugars, Elliott and especially Redden.

bigman said:
Meh - Jericho played in the back half last week and really carried the ball well. Its what he does when he does not have the ball that is a worry. he is not a good defensive player and he oftern gives his player too much easy run at the ball. He is very good when we have the ball.

Someon has to be delisted though - Stevens atm is the obvious candidate.
Yeah im just wondering because Jericho is in the Crows line-up as a forward, and Westies are playing him as a midfileder/half backer, which cant help his chances for a recall. Surely Craigy can say to the Weed that Luke needs to go forward.

No matter how good his form is for Westies in the backline, he is never going to crack into out back 6.

Way too early but indications at this stage would be :

Clarke to retire

Hinge - not a bad player but there's a lot around like him so I'd be nervous if I were he.

Griffin - his height and mobility are enticing - I think he'll be perservered with.

Skippy - if no contract no role next season

Jericho - all the ingredients that say perservere but could be trade bait and will have some currency

Stevens - has to go IMO to make the min cuts required for the draft

So that makes 3 cuts maybe 4 if Jericho could be traded or Skippy is out of contract

Interestingly, I can remember an interview with Matty Clarke this year where he said he hadn't made up his mind whether this would be his last year or not.

Fait accompli I don't think so especially with Clarke in such good form.

OK so he turns 33 in September but he is very fit and it would be such a waste if he wanted to continue to play for the Crows.

Another year on the Crow's list isn't out of the question IMHO.

So, given that Clarke is willing to continue and I hope he does, I selected my deletions from the Adelaide Crows as follows :-

Scott Stevens - too soft & lightweight for a KPP, not enough speed for a flanker. Wasn't too thrilled when we first picked him up and have yet to see him do anything that warrants a place on our list;

John Hinge - have seen him play a couple of times for Glenelg on ABC 2 and was not impressed with him at all. Whilst Douglas was a shining light for Glenelg Hinge was barely noticable. I feel we could have a much better player than Hinge on our list IMHO;

John Meeson - given that the boy is homesick then what better way to grab a high draft pick than by swapping him for such. With Biglands, Hudson, Clarke (if he signs on for another year), Maric and Griffen on our list do we really need him. I saw him play once for Norwood against Centrals in the first game of 2005 on ABC 2 where he played as a forward and he looked totally lost. His spells in that game in the ruck were also less than inspiring. Actually insipid is the best way to sum up his performance in that game. IMHO he is not blessed with a great leap which is important facet of being a ruckman. Plus he is all at sea as a forward so I feel he would be better off at another club.

Luke Jericho - I have watched him this year when playing for Westies on ABC 2 and was amazed at his total lack of defensive skills (ie tackling, chasing, positioning, running, punching, etc). Even when moved to the forward line still failed to impress and given the latest match I saw him play was against Sturt (a fellow cellar dwellar with West) it makes me wonder just how he would go against the better teams like Port & North. In point of fact Bonaddio (Crows rookie) playing in the same game against Sturt looked impressive in his spells in the ruck and at CHF.

Remember there are 4 players that need to be deleted before our club can participate in the National Draft.

This does not include the rookies where ONLY 3 rookies can be re-signed for a second year.

Assuming Tom Redden is axed for his poor attitude as shown by the Crows asking him to only train with Glenelg instead of with the main squad of Crows.

That leaves the other 3 rookies (Sam Elliott, Adrian Bonaddio, & Brad Sugars) who can all be re-signed if Tom Redden isn't.

I can't see the Crows re-signing all 3 players on their rookie list so some will either be delisted or promoted to the main list.

Having not seen either Sam Elliott or Brad Sugars I can't comment on them but I feel Adrian Bonaddio if he continues his progress may get promoted which means another senior player may be axed.

In Bonaddio's favour is that he is a KPP and a forward to boot which should hold him in good stead for a future spot on our list.

Assuming Bonaddio is promoted I feel it comes down to 2 players either Jason Torney (through retirement) or Hayden Skipworth (delisted).

Summing up here's what I think will happen :-

De-Listed :- Scott Stevens, John Hinge, Luke Jericho (Jericho could also be traded)
Retirement :- Jason Torney (through injury)
Traded :- John Meeson (for a 1st Round Draft Pick)

Promoted to Senior Squad :- Adrian Bonaddio (basically takes Scott Stevens place)

Which gives us 4 Picks at the National Draft.

If in the chance Matty Clarke did pull the pin on his illustrious career then we will either have 5 Picks at the National Draft or one of Sam Elliott or Brad Sugars will be promoted to the main list, leaving us with 4 Picks again.

Like Wayne's-World it's way too early at this stage and some players may be able to turn around their respective fortunes at the club - a bit like Kris Massie has done this year so far.

Lefty said:
John Meeson - given that the boy is homesick (Says Who) then what better way to grab a high draft pick than by swapping him for such (HOW) With Biglands, Hudson, Clarke (if he signs on for another year), Maric and Griffen on our list do we really need him. I saw him play once for Norwood against Centrals in the first game of 2005 on ABC 2 (Sorry but wasnt that 18 months ago) where he played as a forward and he looked totally lost. His spells in that game in the ruck were also less than inspiring. Actually insipid is the best way to sum up his performance in that game. IMHO he is not blessed with a great leap which is important facet of being a ruckman (And you want another club to give up a high draft pick?). Plus he is all at sea as a forward so I feel he would be better off at another club.

Chris (Isnt it Luke):confused: Jericho - I have watched him this year when playing for Westies on ABC 2 and was amazed at his total lack of defensive skills (ie tackling, chasing, positioning, running, punching, etc). Even when moved to the forward line still failed to impress and given the latest match I saw him play was against Sturt (a fellow cellar dwellar with West) it makes me wonder just how he would go against the better teams like Port & North. In point of fact Bonaddio (Crows rookie) playing in the same game against Sturt looked impressive in his spells in the ruck and at CHF.

Luke or Chris (as you called him) Jericho was West Adelaide best player last week in that game you were talking about. In the last quarter he was dominate and looked like he lead him defensive player a merry dance in the last quarter.

Try again, I gave up reading.

crows98 said:
Luke or Chris (as you called him) Jericho was West Adelaide best player last week in that game you were talking about. In the last quarter he was dominate and looked like he lead him defensive player a merry dance in the last quarter.

Try again, I gave up reading.

It clearly shows - you gave up just like Jericho did on Saturday.

Let's hope your in Mundine's corner so you can throw in the towel for him on the 17th May.

Best player - Jericho ???? You are surely joking right.:eek:

You sure you were watching the right match mate ???

Sturt Vs West @ Unley last weekend.

In that match Jericho was :D:D:D:Dhouse in the first 3 quarters.

Got enough of the ball stats wise but did SFA with it.

No hard chasing, tackling of opponents or spoiling at all - he was supposed to be playing as a defender.

As a matter of fact he looked as though he didnt give a toss in the weekend's game against Sturt.

The BEST player for West Adelaide was Ben Haynes by a country mile.

To support my facts check out the SANFL site :-

Sturt
Goal Kickers: B. CHAMBERS 9, T. WEATHERALD 3, B. COLREAVY 3, A. THOMSON 2, A. BEVERIDGE 2, M. BRATTON, M. COAD, J. MCLEAY, T. HURLEY
Best Players: M. BRATTON, J. BOWEN, A. THOMSON, B. CHAMBERS, C. TAYLOR, T. HURLEY
West Adelaide
Goal Kickers: N. PROKOPEC 4, B. HAYNES 3, M. MCMILLAN 2, L. JERICHO, B. HOLLANDS, B. FISHER, M. DRAGICEVIC, J. EZARD, A. BONADDIO
Best Players: B. HAYNES, M. MCMILLAN, N. PROKOPEC, D. PIASENTE, B. GRIEGER, B. NEWBERRY

Funny I don't see Jericho's name listed in the best players for Westies.

So the football scribes agree with my assessment and NOT yours!

Perhaps you should try actually watching a player without your rose-coloured glasses on. :rolleyes:

Either that or your a pretty poor judge of a player's performance on the paddock.

Where are your supporting facts ???

Or are you Luke Jericho in disguise perhaps ?

---------------------------------------------------------------------

@ DaveW

Luke or Chris what's the difference mate ?

A small typo on my behalf.

Neither should be on our list.

It might as well be Jim Jericho.
He has been playing in defence from what i have heard, and doing a poor job at it. His form last year for the Bloods wasnt bad, this year hes been absolute crap. He had the chance to win the Tin Cup by himself, stuffed up, then since then hes been rubbish. I think he has the talent to make it, hes had a few good games for the Crows before, but he MUST be delisted at the end of this year or else...................

Edit:
Oh i just read the post by crows98, head the defence a merry dance? West were FLOGGED by a shocking Sturt, absolutely belted, best player? Haynes had about 39 touches and kicked 3 goals, he was best for West by a mile. Jericho did nothing.

RoosterLad said:
It might as well be Jim Jericho.
He has been playing in defence from what i have heard, and doing a poor job at it. His form last year for the Bloods wasnt bad, this year hes been absolute crap. He had the chance to win the Tin Cup by himself, stuffed up, then since then hes been rubbish. I think he has the talent to make it, hes had a few good games for the Crows before, but he MUST be delisted at the end of this year or else...................

Edit:
Oh i just read the post by crows98, head the defence a merry dance? West were FLOGGED by a shocking Sturt, absolutely belted, best player? Haynes had about 39 touches and kicked 3 goals, he was best for West by a mile. Jericho did nothing.

C'mon mate, let's concentrate on my typo error rather than the actual facts of the matter. ;)

Afterall, that's what's important isn't it ? :D

The fact Jericho was absolutley hopeless last weekend or the fact I named Jericho "Chris" instead of "Luke".

Looks like you were atleast watching the same game I did.

Who knows what match crows98 was watching!

Lefty said:
Interestingly, I can remember an interview with Matty Clarke this year where he said he hadn't made up his mind whether this would be his last year or not.

Fait accompli I don't think so especially with Clarke in such good form.

[snip]

With Hudson back and Biglans in career best form AND Maric banging down the door AND Meeson showing progress this yr and Grifften developing ask yourself this......do we really want clarke going on again next year?

if meeson goes back to St Kilda that is the only possibiltity that Clarke will stay - and then dont put money on it ;)