Big Red is back

Golden State Warriors
What appears to be of major concern is the number of commentators who are highlighting the fact that the board is split, that certain senior management team members and coaching staff aren't working together nor supporting each other.

Typically to resolve such issues you need to remove a coach, CEO or President to get everyone back on the same page. If this is not to occur then I am expecting to see some major changes in the less public poistions of the CFC as it is not in the best interests of anyone for the status quo to remain.

Can you imagine if no positions change and Carlton lose the first 3 games next year the place will implode. The only way forward is heads must roll be they board members, senior management, coach etc.

What we want is by the time preseasons starts everyone on the same page.

I see no point in Ratten for example just surviving if he stays give him a 3 year deal, if Swann stays give him a 3 year deal etc etc. If these two stay then the unhappy board members and staff must leave also as we cannot afford to have them being disruptive behind the scences.

Lets get our god dam act together.

If Ratten goes then his supporters need to suck it up and throw full support behind the new coach.

It makes me sick to hear about all the in-fighting.

Not as moronic a post as I expected while opening this thread and I pretty much agree, if we're keeping them back them all the way and the club must be completely united but with the money coaches are on these days and the way things change in footy you'd never give a coach a three year deal.

You raise very valid points about our back room staff and there relationship with the coach. Cordy, swann and Even sticks himself are RuMoured to have fallen out with the ratts.
I don't know what is or isn't true but one things for sure, an internal audit is necessary from th pres down to the door man and i can't see all of ratts,sticks and sWann surviving. BTW I am not suggesting ratts to be sacked, esPecially on the back of the suns performance, which is 90% the fault of the players!

You raise very valid points about our back room staff and there relationship with the coach. Cordy, swann and Even sticks himself are RuMoured to have fallen out with the ratts.
I don't know what is or isn't true but one things for sure, an internal audit is necessary from th pres down to the door man and i can't see all of ratts,sticks and sWann surviving. BTW I am not suggesting ratts to be sacked, esPecially on the back of the suns performance, which is 90% the fault of the players!

If so many big players at the club have fallen out with Ratts, then why have we continued to persevere with him for this long? It doesn't make sense why the club would keep on a coach who is so abrasive with multiple people. I can tell you in my business, if i employed a manager who had a falling out with multiple people (including myself), they wouldn't be kept on. Not everything really seems to add up with all these stories and things we hear.

The major change required is honesty, whoever the coach and president are.

Remember the Leading Teams fluff? Ablett was blasted in the review at Geelong, what do you reckon Gibbs' teammates say about him?

Until we're honest about where we actually sit we'll continue to flatter to deceive. A navy jumper with a white CFC doesn't guarantee success, but there's a part of all of us that continues to believe that myth no matter how hard reality smacks us in the face.

Hubris.

The board is unmanageable. How many people on it? 12? Absolutely ridiculous.

Our administrators are stuck in the 1970s where club benefactors had a role in the operation of the club. They shouldn't. They appoint a CEO and other figures who then should be free to pursue whatever methods they want.

I have no doubts whatsoever that board members are pushing their own agendas through media channels.

Cull the board in half. They're a bigger problem than Ratten.

The board is unmanageable. How many people on it? 12? Absolutely ridiculous.

Our administrators are stuck in the 1970s where club benefactors had a role in the operation of the club. They shouldn't. They appoint a CEO and other figures who then should be free to pursue whatever methods they want.

I have no doubts whatsoever that board members are pushing their own agendas through media channels.

Cull the board in half. They're a bigger problem than Ratten.

:thumbsu:

Not normally one to post in a thread of this nature or vent frustrations on the forum but i agree 100%.

For a club to be a great club it needs more than cattle on the park and powerful people in the board room. As stated everyone needs to tow the line and have the 1 goal and work as a team to achieve the goal.

Walking out of the GWS game i stated to my mum (the reason i am carlton and go to every game with her) something seemed off at the club and since then i have had false hope that we had started to fix what ever issue we had.
I dont claim to know the problems or ins and outs of the club i am just an everyday supporter of the club that has seen the obvious. If ratten is the problem move him on, if its some board members move them on.

This competition is now getting more and more professional as each year passes and we have some serious decisions to make if we want our beloved club to be a power house again.
In the mind of opposition supporters its sad to say we are still a rabble just a rabble That has been winning more games than 02-07 era.

I love this club. Back in 04 i decided if it every merged or went under i wouldnt follow the AFL anymore. I want nothing more than for us to strive to be the best.

Right now we are the 20th century champions, 21st century losers.

Can you imagine if no positions change and Carlton lose the first 3 games next year the place will implode.
And what happens if we win the first three games next year?

Negative nuffy.

Scak Ratten, scak Kernahan, scak Judd, scak Gibbs, scak Casboult, scak internet, scak lightbulbs, scak wallpaper, scak Judge Judy, scak everything.

What appears to be of major concern is the number of commentators who are highlighting the fact that the board is split, that certain senior management team members and coaching staff aren't working together nor supporting each other.

Typically to resolve such issues you need to remove a coach, CEO or President to get everyone back on the same page. If this is not to occur then I am expecting to see some major changes in the less public poistions of the CFC as it is not in the best interests of anyone for the status quo to remain.

Can you imagine if no positions change and Carlton lose the first 3 games next year the place will implode. The only way forward is heads must roll be they board members, senior management, coach etc.

What we want is by the time preseasons starts everyone on the same page.

I see no point in Ratten for example just surviving if he stays give him a 3 year deal, if Swann stays give him a 3 year deal etc etc. If these two stay then the unhappy board members and staff must leave also as we cannot afford to have them being disruptive behind the scences.

Lets get our god dam act together.

If Ratten goes then his supporters need to suck it up and throw full support behind the new coach.

It makes me sick to hear about all the in-fighting.

Mate... I am on record as saying that I support the club... I dont support the coach and if Ratts was to go, then I will throw my full support behind the new coach.

And I think that you will find all the other Ratts supporters will do exactly the same thing.

We back the incumbent coach until such time as it becomes obvious that he has gone... at the moment, Ratts is still the coach.

I see no point in Ratten for example just surviving if he stays give him a 3 year deal

I'm not sold on this. Assume our preferred coach is Roos, who is available in 2014.
Ratts can see out his contract, and if everything goes right (ie #17), he gets another one. If we fail, we get our preferred coach, not our second or third choice because we wanted to be seen to do something.

And what happens if we win the first three games next year?

Negative nuffy.

Scak Ratten, scak Kernahan, scak Judd, scak Gibbs, scak Casboult, scak internet, scak lightbulbs, scak wallpaper, scak Judge Judy, scak everything.

Bit of a nuffy response don't you think?

It has come to my attention that you are not familiar with the use of sarcasm.

Just the fact that you seemed to only pick a single line out of his entire post and criticised it seemed a little bit like a nuffy response. Sarcasm was obvious but it wasn't really needed anyway in the first place.

I was responding to one part of the post, of course I'm only going to quote it. It's called common courtesy, champ. :thumbsu:

My opinion

The board is too high-profile
Carlton needs business people, not wealthy supporters

Things will go down further when matherson jr joins next year

Recruiting hasn't helped, a few too many front-runners (although Gibbs has stepped up)
Carlton needs to look for the mature 23-25 year olds and trade out some others, players without fear, with mature bodies who don't look for attention

My opinion

The board is too high-profile
Carlton needs business people, not wealthy supporters

Things will go down further when matherson jr joins next year
Who do you think is currently on our board? Here's a clue, jump onto the Carlton FC website & take some time to read the profile of our board members. I think you will find many of them are "business people".

If you are going to give an opinion on our board, at least make sure it is supported by some facts rather than something you heard your 'ole man' or a couple of mates at the pub regurgitate.

The media are hungry ravenous dogs and we are one of the better tasting meats in town. Carlton news is big news and big news makes big money. A lot of this crap is rumor as far as I am aware. The media will take any scrap of carlton news they can get, even if they hear it from unreliable sources (like this forum). Or put two and two together and word so it almost sounds like fact. It would not be surprising for the board to not all agree on something, particularly something big like coaching changes. That's why you have a board, different ideas and opinions are brought to the table on most matters. It's easy for someone to hear that the board aren't agreeing on things and for that rumor to snowball into a rumor that reads that there is infighting and unprofessionalism such as people not talking. So again take what you hear with a grain of salt.

The truth is I feel sorry for Rats. He's given is all but we probably have got all we can out of him. I recon Ratts has been surrounded by dud coaches and fitness staff which has not help but the buck stops at him. We just need to get in some proven, more experienced and more successful people into the club who will go through the finer details and cross the t's and dot the i's to make those little improvements are made that will take us to the top. New faces with new ideas, training methods, Game plans/rules, new emphasises and a different attitude might also liven things up amongst the playing group.

Truth is we are going poorly. We have highly successful business people in charge and with a big say at the club. They have not got to where they have by accepting mediocrity and being quiet and in the background. They are the sort of people who will make a noise when things aren't succeeding until something is done. We do this right then they will go quiet and any friction should ease.

So let the board sort this one out. They will fix this. Let the changes come, because they simply must and take everything that does not come from the club with a grain of salt.

The media are going after Carlton and Ratts because they are all opposition supporters and they have their own little agenda to slag off Carlton as much as possible and get in as many kicks as they can before we start winning premierships again.

Through the media destabilizing the club, they can hope to cause enough internal conflict that we burn straight through premiership window constantly distracted by the internal bitch fighting going on in the board room. We saw what happened when our boardroom was divided in the past and these guys will do anything to get that back again because they love to see Carlton weak and leaking boardroom secrets like a sieve.

I would love to see the media turn the spot light on Essenscum... they have lost 7 of their last 8 matches including a massive 96 point loss to us. But no... the media, instead of turning the blowtorch on the Essenscum coaching team, are concentrating on reporting the soft tissues injuries that Essenscum have had this year instead of looking at the backroom staff.

BRIB, good post. You have done some good work recently and it deserves to be acknowledged.
I agree with the core of the post.
I know longer care about the individuals- the managers, players, coaches and board.
There is now once simple mantra for the off season.
Carlton, get your house in order!

No more press leaks, no more infighting, no more backstabbing. Pick a direction, and anyone who has a problem with it can get out of my damn club. It's comeback time.