Which Midfield 3

Hawthorn's Midfield is highly overrated. They just have good descision making and touughness yet no style. Also, they don't really play clean.

Damn, i really thought we had a chance of getting the Peter Jackson ad this year!

Great post. How Gibbs can be rated above Foley, Bateman and Tuck is beyond me. Boyd too. He has a long way to go. He needs to get a lot physically and mentally tougher to be compared to those guys.

Gibbs played his first two seasons in defence largely to toughen him up.
He now has the frame and maturity to move up a peg or two.
There is no doubt that this will be his "coming out" year.

Richmond's goes pretty close to the best in my opinion although i do like the doggies.
but how some people can rate gibbs, sewell, cross, bateman etc ahead of deledio is beyond me.
the man is an absolute freak and at 21-22 with a b&f under his belt, an average of nearly 1.5 goals and 25 possies a game, and the speed and skill he possesses i can see him soon becoming one of the top 3 mids in the comp.
foley is a star and if your rating him last out of those players you havent seen him play footy.

Richmond's goes pretty close to the best in my opinion although i do like the doggies.
but how some people can rate gibbs, sewell, cross, bateman etc ahead of deledio is beyond me.
the man is an absolute freak and at 21-22 with a b&f under his belt, an average of nearly 1.5 goals and 25 possies a game, and the speed and skill he possesses i can see him soon becoming one of the top 3 mids in the comp.
foley is a star and if your rating him last out of those players you havent seen him play footy.

He's ahead of Gibbs but Sewell, Cross and Bateman are all very good players. He's probably on par with these guys, but not quite ahead just yet.

Bullshit: Deledio is way much the better player than all four listed there.
Remember everyone looks good in a premiership team. Some will cite Hawthorn or Geelongs 30th. team choice players to be superstars.
Well, they're not.
Deledio is out and out class. Bateman and Sewell are not

Sorry forgot him. I'm rating them 6.5 in terms of the comp. I think these ratings are pretty subjective really. I might think they're as good as what you think they are, but you might give them 8 and I give them 6.5

My basis was:

10 - Ablett, Judd.
9 - Black, Mitchell, Cooney Bartel etc.
8 - Bateman, Cross, Corey...probably Sewell in hindsight...Kerr etc.
7 - Foley, Deledio, Selwood, Thompson etc.
6 - Gibbs, Tuck, Kelly, Harris etc.

So pretty much 6 to 10 is upper echelon of the game, but varied levels of brilliance. Gibbs will be higher, as will Selwood, but not right now.

There's no such thing as a perfect 10. Ablett would be 9.5 and Judd 9 going on last years form :cool:

I think the rating there is only a guide as to level of performers.

10. Ablett & Judd hold this level down.
9. Kerr, Bartel, Burgoyne, McCleod deserve being here (along with a couple of others, I'm sure)
8. Cooney, Mitchell, Deledio

FFS, let's not all wet our pants and start throwing names like Sewell and Bateman into elite company.
They are part of a Premiership team and seemingly by virtue of this does not make them superstars, please.

Bullshit: Deledio is way much the better player than all four listed there.
Remember everyone looks good in a premiership team. Some will cite Hawthorn or Geelongs 30th. team choice players to be superstars.
Well, they're not.
Deledio is out and out class. Bateman and Sewell are not

A Carlton fan saying to a Richmond supporter "Bullshit, Deledio's heaps better than Gibbs". What's the world coming too?:D

Mind you I was going on this years form. I reckon Deledio is going to slaughter all before him next year.

A Carlton fan saying to a Richmond supporter "Bullshit, Deledio's heaps better than Gibbs". What's the world coming too?:D

Mind you I was going on this years form. I reckon Deledio is going to slaughter all before him next year.

Get stuffed Rosstickle, and face the facts. He is better;)
Although in two years time, I am not so sure.

Nah, Deledio is just on the cusp of being called a bonefide Superstar.
Not like bloody Bateman and Sewell, riding the crest of a wave.

Get stuffed Rosstickle, and face the facts. He is better;)
Although in two years time, I am not so sure.

Nah, Deledio is just on the cusp of being called a bonefide Superstar.
Not like bloody Bateman and Sewell, riding the crest of a wave.

Do you watch games of footy????

Sewell and Bateman are a major reason Hawthorn are premiers this year.

Honestly get a clue.

so your telling me that you would be just as happy having sewell, cross, or bateman on our list going into 2009 instead of lids?:confused:
please

lol thank god. but seriously how can u say that bateman, sewell, cross etc are in lids league? they are all good players but cmon they are no lids

Well they do play in the same league. Mind you I lost a lot of respect for Bateman after the grand final. Sewell is was very good this year. I probably haven't quite seen enough of Cross but what I have seen is very good.

Anyway that is irrelevant because Lids is gonna be awesome next year.