Which rivalry would you rate as the biggest in the AFL?

The biggest rivalry in the AFL?

I don't think Carlton have ever recovered since we smashed them in the Champions of Australia in 1914, but the Port vs Fruitloops rivalry is slightly larger.

Round 8, Sat May 11th, bring on the next Showdown.
Cannot wait to be there.

And? Perhaps we can add traitor to your long list of deficiencies. It's no secret nobody respects you.

Whilst I don't know him personally, I have respect for much of his posting. Often presents pretty reasoned views in my experience and someone who genuinely loves the game, regardless of team affiliation.

Care to inform me rather than simply belittle my post? I acknowledged I may not have a full appreciation as someone from outside the state and you have not produced a counter argument of any kind. I would be happy to compare any points you have with other rivalries such as Carlton vs Collingwood, Hawthorn vs Essendon or Hawthorn vs Geelong.

Ok, but just briefly, as they are silly.

1. They have never played off for the ultimate prize - Geelong and Hawthorn as just one example have played in 4 GF's, one many consider the greatest of all time and another the biggest upset of all time. Coll and Carl have played in MANY, including biggest comeback and other storied controversies, Ess v Haw (3 straight), etc. Never once playing for a flag surely takes some heat off.
Has nothing to do with a rivalry.

The fact Hawthorn-Geelong "rivalry" is largely based on this shows it is not an enduring rivalry, just a fleeting competitiveness resulting from events that won't last long (have already expired).

2. They have only played in 1 final ever, a boring 83 point thrashing of 1st vs 8th. Basically, there have been no games of any real consequence between the 2. Compare that to other rivalries above where there have been numerous close finals, heart breaks, etc.
See 1.

3. As far as I can recall, there have been no significant spiteful clashes between the 2. Hawthorn and Essendon had the 'line in the sand' brawl and the Lloyd/Sewell fiasco after a long line of incidents, Coll and Carl have had a number of notorious brawls, including arguably the biggest ever (which was in a GF). Geel/Haw has Matthews/Bruns, 89GF (several famous incidents), etc. On field has always been pretty meek between these two as far as I can see.
Wut?

4. No storied off field controversies between the 2 clubs themselves (at least not on a national level that I can recall) - Geel and Haw had Kennet's curse, Chappy's pact and a bunch of others, Ess vs Haw have had heaps including police involvement, etc. Can't even think of any big trade controversies between the 2.
See 3

(Hint: Ramsgate brawl)

5. Relatively short history - Whilst I understand that Port were a dominant force in the SANFL, Adelaide didn't even exist in that competition. Port's rivalries were with Norwood, Sturt, West Torrens, etc which are separate clubs entirely and still playing in the SANFL (incidentally against Port). Hell, I know many Port supporters who supported Adelaide in the AFL and Port in the SANFL until Port were admitted.
Maybe commenting on things you don't understand isn't the way forward.

6. No real history of close hard fought encounters or even being good at the same time - Whilst 2018 produced 2 crackers between port and Adelaide, go back 5 or 6 games and the average margin blows out past 5 goals (including the 2 close ones from last year). Until last year, the teams had only played twice EVER in matches decided by less than a goal (in 40 something 'showdowns')! and neither have finished in the top 4 together. Compare that to say, Hawthorn and Geelong, who were both basically top 4 for a decade and had about 15 games in a row decided by 2 goals or less (something like that anyway).
That's the thing about a genuine rivalry. It doesn't matter where you are on the ladder you come out to punch above your weight and embarrass your rival.

After 45 showdowns over 22 years the record stands: Adelaide 23 wins v Port 22 wins.

So given the consensus seems to be quite rightly that Crows v Port is the AFL's biggest rivalry, why are we still waiting for this to be scheduled for a Fri night game, to correct the Carlton abomination of last year?

Because the VFL do VFL things that favour poorly administered or non profitable Victorian teams.

After 45 showdowns over 22 years the record stands: Adelaide 23 wins v Port 22 wins.

Has the beginnings of a decent rivalry for sure. Compare with Carlton vs Collingwood though. 256 games played (Most out of any clubs): 127 wins for Carlton, 125 wins for Collingwood, and 4 draws. After 122 years the ledger is still neck and neck.

Maybe Carlton and Collingwood are bored with each other because their games are pretty lacklustre affairs

Y'all are still in the honeymoon phase of a rivalry and have only played one final against each other. Right now you just argue amongst yourselves out of geography. Wait until one side pips the other due to questionable umpiring in a final. Then you'll understand what a rivalry really is.

People always ask the wrong question. If you ask for the biggest rivalry in the AFL, it has to be Carlton vs Collingwood. The longest rivalry and the most history. You can't say otherwise.

That being said, are we all anticipating a Carlton vs Collingwood final/GF? No. There are much better and more interesting rivalries.

The question should be, what is the best rivalry in the AFL. The best rivalry has to have both history and some sort of spite like most rivalries typically have. To me, that is in no particular order:

Adelaide vs Port
Carlton vs Essendon
Essendon vs Hawthorn
Hawthorn vs Geelong
Collingwood vs Richmond

These are the most interesting rivalries.

Personally, I enjoy Adelaide vs Port and Essendon vs Hawthorn the most. Will probably go back to Carlton vs Essendon if Carlton become better.

Ok, but just briefly, as they are silly.

Has nothing to do with a rivalry.

The fact Hawthorn-Geelong "rivalry" is largely based on this shows it is not an enduring rivalry, just a fleeting competitiveness resulting from events that won't last long (have already expired).

The Hawthorn Geelong rivalry is not based on close encounters at all (read my post on the previous page). I'm not arguing that Port and Adelaide don't have a rivalry - I am arguing that it may not be the biggest as something that adds to a rivalry os on field competitiveness and desperation- close, important games. Modt Port and Adelaide clashes have shown nothing of the sort.

What do you mean see 1. Are you trying to argue that finals, Grand finals and things that genuinely cost a club mean nothing to a rivalry. What does? Bogans having an argument at a Christmas party?

Wut?

See 3

(Hint: Ramsgate brawl)

I already acknowledged the Ramsgate brawl. What else have you got? Because in determining the biggest rivalry that is one example when most others could reel off 10-15 incidents of more significant consequence.

That's the thing about a genuine rivalry. It doesn't matter where you are on the ladder you come out to punch above your weight and embarrass your rival.

That's you just making the results suit your argument. Another way to look at it is that one team in the Showdown typically rolls over whilst many of the great rivalries both teams give their all to win, resulting in high quality close games regardless of ladder position (ala Geel-Haw or even Showdowns 2018). Especially since it is usually the higher ranked team in the Showdown dishing out a lesson - the complete opposite of what you are claiming.

You then highlight the overall ledger being close which contradicts your earlier argument that closeness means nothing - which is weird because overall means even less givn it can simply mean a decade of one team thrashing another and then the roles being reversed - not to mention the other rivalries have equally close ledgers.

REgardless of the above, I was not suggesting you try and pick my points. I was making an argument for why the 'Showdown' may not be the biggest rivalry (ie the premise of the thread). A true counter argument is you making a case for why it IS bigger than the other main options.

Just look at the poll. This from a rivalry that gets no free to air televising interstate.

People know a real rivalry when they see it.

Why is Collingwood v. West Coast even an option? :$
They aren't even our biggest Victorian rival.... and as for Collingwood, we wouldn't even be amongst their top 5 rivals.
I'm sandgroper, but I still voted for the Showdown. They have us covered in the rivalry stakes- and that is saying something.

I don't think Carlton have ever recovered since we smashed them in the Champions of Australia in 1914, but the Port vs Fruitloops rivalry is slightly larger.

Round 8, Sat May 11th, bring on the next Showdown.
Cannot wait to be there.

You'll get smashed. :p
Amidoinitrite?.....

The 3 biggest rivalries in any context are as follows: Geelong v Hawthorn, Goku v Vegeta, Germany v civilization.

Anything else is an insult except for the many exceptions to this rule.

Why is Collingwood v. West Coast even an option? :$
They aren't even our biggest Victorian rival.... and as for Collingwood, we wouldn't even be amongst their top 5 rivals.
I'm sandgroper, but I still voted for the Showdown. They have us covered in the rivalry stakes- and that is saying something.

yep, in WA the derby is based (off field anyway) more on utter contempt for one another.

Freo think the Eagles are:
- the detroyers of the WAFL
- an american style franchise
- arrogant and showboating

Eagles think Freo are:
- a poor excuse as the continuation of the proud history of footy in the town of Fremantle
- a weak neighbour who`s main objective each season is just to knock off the Eagles
- trying to take the (faux) moral high-ground saying they are an actual club not a franchise

In SA there is more pure hatred, for various reasons.

The SA rivalry is a 150 year old rivalry. The Crows team may be recent, but who they represent (their whole reason for existing) have hated Port for over a century.
We 'hate' them because they stand for all the over privileged, entitled bullshit that the Adelaide chattering classes represent. A corrupt, bereft of feeling group of Whickers and Olsens.
They 'hate' us because despite that we are still more successful than they were individually.

The Collingwood-Carlton rivalry has stood the test of time.
There is no doubt though the two derbies Ade-Port and WC-Freo are the more passionate clashes because of the fact they are both two team states.
As the clashes between Syd-GWS and Bris-GC are both in non-traditional afl states, their rivalry will take time to grow but for the good of the game, I hope it does.

Geographic rivals are small fry

Freo v WC
Syd v GWS
Port v Adelaide

They are like your Manchester Derby Second city (Birmingham) Derby, West London derby (Chelsea v Fulham) in the premier league, normally meh for everyone apart from the people that live in the City.

Adelaide and Port have only ever played one final, a boring 10goal plus flogging.

The real big rivals come about from teams that are consistently challenging for titles

United v Liverpool
Yankees v RedSox
Lakers v Celtics
Giants v Dodgers
Madrid v Barcelona

When you get two dominant teams in a league being from same city that is where you get the really big rivalries

Old Firm - rangers v celtic
Superclasico - Boca v river

That is why in AFL you have

The big4 as they were consistently playing finals against each other.

Back in 50s-60s the biggest rivalry was Pies v Dees, but it has long died.

And modern equivalent would be Geel v Hawks who are regularly meeting in finals, have plenty of on and off-field incidents...they are the games that all fans take an interest in...not just teams from that city.

So for mine Geel v Hawks biggest AFL rivalry at present.

Which rivalry would you rate as the biggest in the AFL?