Who should we draft/trade for?

crows98 said:
But l posted on another threat that we don’t have anything else do we, what player quality we do have, the AFC are not going to give up and no other club wants them players. Massie, Ladhams, Skippy, Shirley, S Stevens, Mattner, Bock would they :mad:

Actually - Massie for Jordan McMahon might be realistic. McMahon nisn;t necessarily going to solve any of our core problems, but he is a ball carrying midfielder who would probably be worth more to us than Massie.

Kristof said:
Actually - Massie for Jordan McMahon might be realistic. McMahon nisn;t necessarily going to solve any of our core problems, but he is a ball carrying midfielder who would probably be worth more to us than Massie.
Decent trade I reckon.

McMahon is a bit soft but he is tallish ball carrying midfielder with pace who could be a handy pick up. Playing him off the HBF or on the wing might bring the best out of him.

I wouldn't be againt this if it happened. Maybe Jordan could finally bulk up with out weight program:p

Stiffy_18 said:
Decent trade I reckon.

McMahon is a bit soft but he is tallish ball carrying midfielder with pace who could be a handy pick up. Playing him off the HBF or on the wing might bring the best out of him.

I wouldn't be againt this if it happened. Maybe Jordan could finally bulk up with out weight program:p
I wouldn't neccesarily mind McMahaon, but DO NOT keep taking hard players out of the list unless we are going to replace with hard players.

We do not have enough hardness in the side as it is.

Stiffy_18 said:
If you think you will get all those player in a space of 2 years you are dreaming. I think the best chance of those 2 is Thompson but even he is up in the air at this stage.
Stiffy, mate, I was being sarcastic. Didn't you see the wink?

OK after 24 hours of despair I thought I would wonder down to Adelaide Oval to Watch Eagles Vs Sturt today. I kept a very close eye on Monfries and I reckon the kid will have a fantastic career ahead of him.

He started on the wing and spent a bit of time accross HF. Played most of the day on the wing and only got around 14 or 15 touches but what impressed me most was his work rate. He was running up and down the field all the time, positioning himself at every ruck contest and is a real hunter. Another thing that really stood out was his desperation. He chased and laid tackles or put pressure on the ball carrier. His skills are pretty good. Kicked a goal in the 3rd quarter. With a bit of work in the gym he could play a handful of games next year. He is not ligthing quick but he does cover the ground well and has good pace.

Beautiful penetrating kick and clean, quick pair of hands. I would definetly pick up this kid if he was still available. For a 17 year old he played like a man in the final, put his body on the line and put pressure on his opponent all day. A clever player that would be worth getting.

As far as other Crows go, Mattner was fantastic in the first quarter but died out a bit as the game went on. Suprisingly his disposal was pretty good today. Bock probably played his best game of the finals but still was a bit iffy. Shirley was just Shirley. Smith was average.

PS. It would appear that Chaplin had a big night last night as he was deadset shocking today. Worst game I have seen him play but I reckon Port wouldn't care

I am extremely high on Monfries. The kid is just a natural footballer - works hard, hits targets on both sides and is very smart. I think he could play AFL footy next season, and with some hours in the weights room will be a very accomplished AFL wingman/onballer. Praying he slips to 10, but with Collingwood and Adelaide (currently) picking ahead of us, I can't see it happening. I don't think he gets past your mob.

Stokes is a little gem, but is he big enough to play AFL footy? Particularly coming off a shoulder reco.

kirky said:
Stiffy18, was also at Adelaide today (at least that salvaged the weekend for me, go you Eagles) and I reckon Matthew Stokes could also be picked up in the rookie draft - only 19 and has some goal sense.
A bit of Medhurst in him I reckon but I fear he will once agan be overlooked because of his height. He is only 170 cm and coming off a shoulder reco. I doubt whether clubs would be interested in him.

I would definetly grab Monfries with pick 8 though.:)

Stiffy_18 said:
Hartlett has more footy brain than the 2 put together;) A FF who with a huge leap who can take a contested overhead mark and is a good set shot at goal is always more than handy

Just out of curiousity who are those insider types you are talking about??????:confused: I would have thought we need some inside midfielder who will get the hard ball.

I went over to footydraft.com and in the weaknesses for Hartlett they say he makes mental mistakes. I admit I have not seen the lad play but reading that was enough for me. Kerley was right last year when he said we have "dumb" footballers, I want to see us draft "smart" players, ones who make the correct decisions under pressure.
The type of inside midfielders I was alluding too were Roo, goodwin, Edwards (when he is in there) and Bode. Shirley and Stenglein also can win a hard ball. You are right in thinking we need another one of these types and suggesting we are targetting Monfries at pick#8 is sure to go some way in covering Bickley and Sugar from the middle. To clarify my point Macca is nearly finished and I want to see us add a midfielder with pace to clear the ball ala Macca when he could find the extra gear. Hence I think our first 2 picks should be midfielders.

Johncock is a defender and should be left there, he can not play in the midfield at this stage of his career and neither can Reilly. As for forwards we have plenty of youngsters, who knows if any will turn out to be any good but time will tell. Ruck is a need, but I just saw where David Loats has been released and I am sure there will be similiar delistings, so I would try and get a big man by trade or late pick up in the draft.

Just some of my thoughts. :)

Thing with 'dumb footballers' is the one place we can afford to have them is where Hartlett plays - full forward. Burton, for example, is an exceedingly dumb footballer but when you stick him at full-forward he becomes a liability for the other team because he is so unpredictable. The fact that he has kicked more than 50 goals in a season says good things for him.

I reckon we need to draft thomas redden. Tall midfielders are rare and this guy is a S.A boy. Our midfield is to short. Look at Carlton they've got bannister, kouta, walker, sporn and sometimes waite.

Ozzie said:
Johncock is a defender and should be left there, he can not play in the midfield at this stage of his career...

While I'm inclined to somewhat agree with your highlighted comments after his overall output in season 2004, in season 2003 he produced a 30-possession game and also had some damaging hauls from across half-forward - 5 goals vs Carlton, 6 goals vs St Kilda, 4 goals vs WCE.

He has the talent and courage to play on the ball... it's just a question of consistency now.

Who'd have thought Andrew McLeod would be a near Brownlow Medallist midfielder when he was a slightly overweight forward-pocket/half back flanker from 1995-early 1997?

Ozzie said:
Johncock is a defender and should be left there, he can not play in the midfield at this stage of his career and neither can Reilly.

I reckon Johncock in defence is a waste, he is a natural at timing his leads and has the pace to leave his defender dead in the water as well as being a great chaser and tackler that is good at keeping the ball in our forward zone.

We have plenty of other players that can do the job as a small defensive player.

Agree he does not have the quick hands to be a midfielder yet.

Ozzie said:
Johncock is a defender and should be left there, he can not play in the midfield at this stage of his career and neither can Reilly.

We cant afford not to play them in the middle IMO maybe not on a full time basis but we need to start getthing these types of guys ready for when Goodwin, Roo, Macca and Edwards retire so they can step up and take on a senior role while hopefully the likes of Monfries and whoever else we draft learn the ropes on HB/HF line.
If we leave it until these guys retire we are up the creek even more so than what we are now.
We have to bite the bullet next year and play the young kids to get some experience, much like NC did at the end of this year.

Blue Red and Gold said:
We cant afford not to play them in the middle IMO maybe not on a full time basis but we need to start getthing these types of guys ready for when Goodwin, Roo, Macca and Edwards retire so they can step up and take on a senior role while hopefully the likes of Monfries and whoever else we draft learn the ropes on HB/HF line.
If we leave it until these guys retire we are up the creek even more so than what we are now.
We have to bite the bullet next year and play the young kids to get some experience, much like NC did at the end of this year.
Reilly should be in the midfield IMO. IF Stinga goes he can fill the hole

Good luck getting either Beau Waters or Sam Butler, they are "hands off". Future of our midfield.
I wouldnt be suprised if Melbourne agree, to see Stinger at Eagles, Thompson at crows and Hansen at Melbourne.

Altho i like Ash Hansen, he is injury proned and is a victorian. Plus we have back Gardiner this year, and hopefully a fit Travis Gaspar, Hansen would just be in the WAFL for most of the year.

dyertribe said:
While I'm inclined to somewhat agree with your highlighted comments after his overall output in season 2004, in season 2003 he produced a 30-possession game and also had some damaging hauls from across half-forward - 5 goals vs Carlton, 6 goals vs St Kilda, 4 goals vs WCE.

He has the talent and courage to play on the ball... it's just a question of consistency now.

Who'd have thought Andrew McLeod would be a near Brownlow Medallist midfielder when he was a slightly overweight forward-pocket/half back flanker from 1995-early 1997?

Spot on..........Macca was a half forward or he was nothing in 95/96.

It's just a question of his endurance ....... he wont beef up to a Roo but look at Burger (p)..James...kingsley..etc....none of them are muscle men.

Stiffy will be a Mr fixit for the next 10 years for us....his poise down back as well as his opportunism up forward are equally as important

Johncock is too valuable to play in the backline. He needs to be pushed in the midfield and he can play there is he improves his endurance.

What I would like us to do next year is have Roo and Johncock swap between midfield and forwardline throughout the year. That way we look after Roo and hopefully prolong his career and get Johncock to play in the midfield for longer periods of time

Stiffy_18 said:
Johncock is too valuable to play in the backline. He needs to be pushed in the midfield and he can play there is he improves his endurance.

What I would like us to do next year is have Roo and Johncock swap between midfield and forwardline throughout the year. That way we look after Roo and hopefully prolong his career and get Johncock to play in the midfield for longer periods of time
The Johncock position debate is an intersesting one.

IMO, he is more consistent in the backline, but has won more games playing as a forward. The problem with Stiffy as a forward is he often drops out of the game ... but this is where the coaching staff need to come into play & either get a message to him (on the ground or via the bench) or switch him elsewhere on the ground (ie. wing or defence). Perhaps playing Stiffy for part of the game in the midfield could improve his forward play. Would have liked the Crows to have used him in bursts in the midfield this year. We must increase our midfield rotation.

Kane McGoodwin said:
The Johncock position debate is an intersesting one.

IMO, he is more consistent in the backline, but has won more games playing as a forward. The problem with Stiffy as a forward is he often drops out of the game ... but this is where the coaching staff need to come into play & either get a message to him (on the ground or via the bench) or switch him elsewhere on the ground (ie. wing or defence). Perhaps playing Stiffy for part of the game in the midfield could improve his forward play. Would have liked the Crows to have used him in bursts in the midfield this year. We must increase our midfield rotation.
To be fair Kane, HFF or FP are by generally inconsistent parlty due to the nature of position. He might kick 6 goals in a quarter and go without a touch for the other 3.

While I would like to see him be a consistent player week in week out, quarter after quarter I think its understandable why. The suggestion I made of swapping Roo and Johncock between midfield and forward line would also ensure that Johncock spends a bit more time around the ball and thats where he will get more consistency.

This move worked really well during the pre-season comp earlier in the year and I was really disappointed that we didn't follow on with that during the season proper.

Stiffy_18 said:
To be fair Kane, HFF or FP are by generally inconsistent parlty due to the nature of position. He might kick 6 goals in a quarter and go without a touch for the other 3.

While I would like to see him be a consistent player week in week out, quarter after quarter I think its understandable why. The suggestion I made of swapping Roo and Johncock between midfield and forward line would also ensure that Johncock spends a bit more time around the ball and thats where he will get more consistency.

This move worked really well during the pre-season comp earlier in the year and I was really disappointed that we didn't follow on with that during the season proper.
Hey Stiffy I agree it is difficult to be consistent when playing a forward flank role ... BUT Stiffy dropped out of games for far to long periods this year & the coaching staff did NOTHING & left him out of the action! If things aren't working, make changes, as we shouldn't die wandering ... which unfortunately occurred way too often or my liking this year.

Agree that Johncock needs to spend some time in the midfield next year, and swapping with Roo is perfect really.

Reilly is definitely ready to play in the middle, or maybe off a wing for 2005 - he is a gun who is ready to be a regular contributor.

Also think Schuback should in the forward pocket as a crumbing forward - we don't have any others and he showed he can be awsome in that role in the Hawthorn game. I still think he has a future in our midfield, he is similar to Goodwin.

Add Monfries (fingers crossed), who looks a perfect match for our needs as a hard working inside midfielder, and Thompson (fingers and toes crossed) and our "future midfield" doesn't look too bad.

I'd like to see Stribling picked up as well.

Agree with you both Stiffy and Kane.............at least we're agreed Johncock doesnt get traded !...RIGHT ??!!

As I said b4 - he's good enough to play wherever we need him - but ultimately in the guts.

adelaide first and foremost need to look at getting the best possible player from its first pick but on the others they will need to look for a forward and if they can not get ottens with a trade a ruckmen would be a good pickup. as for the first pick angus monfries picks up plenty of possesions for sturt and after a few games would slot in nicely on a flank and in the centre for his first year.maybe even on the wing.
Ben Eckermann would be a good pickup the same as monfries. eckermann gets in the best plenty of times which suggests he gets plenty of the ball like monfries.
if adelaide were to trade stenglien they would want 2 quality youngsters for him otherwise it isnt worth it.
if its possible adelaide should trade stenglien to a WA team and get ottens and a top draft pick.
they thing that worries the most is adelaide forward line and i dont no about any half decent forwards. would someone be able to tell me about some decent forwards.please

tommy