gocats88

geelong,cats,gfc,pivots
I'm really worried with our forward line structure atm. nablett has done nothing for 8 weeks pretty much. i know you all are going to say his only young and has played less than 30 games and that he didn't get brought up in the tac cup and that abletts take awhile longer too mature and he's been really improving i know all this. im just wondering who will be our 2nd tall when nablett gets the boot and goes to the magoos. tom hawinks too young and defenders will double team him, playfair no, gardiner no, spencer no, grima won't ge rookie elavated so no, why not try egan up in the forward line or even milburn playing chf he has great hands and a good engine, he also harrases and gives 100% every time. stevie j could also be the 2nd tall i mean he is 190cm so he's no slouch. in my opinion if we don't have no 2nd tall we won't when a premiership this year. and al those people who said nath is going to kick 5-8 goals this year are dreaming. even in 2004 we had to tall options with beeny ghraham and kingsley with both of them kicking 48 and 39 respectivily. now mooney might kick 40-50 this year but who else can step up and take the ff chf roll. we tried nathan but as we can see he's just a little to inepreince this year and maybe next will be his time to step up.

well if thats the case no premeirship for us then this year.

Even if Nathan isn't performing well, he takes a very good defender out of the equation.

Geelong has the rare ability to completely switch their forward line and still be effective. It can go from:

HF: S.Johnson C.Mooney P.Chapman
F: T.Hawkins B.Ottens N.Ablett

to

HF: G.Ablett C.Mooney S.Johnson
F: T.Varcoe N.Ablett M.Stokes

at the drop of a hat. Most teams can't counter that and that's why we are the leading scorers this year.

Nathan needs to be there even if he's not performing because of the team structure. He takes a good tall defender, and he provides the coach with the tall-small forward line option to be played around with. Quite simply, having him there screws up other teams backline structures if needed.

Even if Nathan isn't performing well, he takes a very good defender out of the equation.

Geelong has the rare ability to completely switch their forward line and still be effective. It can go from:

HF: S.Johnson C.Mooney P.Chapman
F: T.Hawkins B.Ottens N.Ablett

to

HF: G.Ablett C.Mooney S.Johnson
F: T.Varcoe N.Ablett M.Stokes

at the drop of a hat. Most teams can't counter that and that's why we are the leading scorers this year.

Nathan needs to be there even if he's not performing because of the team structure. He takes a good tall defender, and he provides the coach with the tall-small forward line option to be played around with. Quite simply, having him there screws up other teams backline structures if needed.
Agreed. He's not the easiest match-up. And he's only going to improve by having more experience.

He's on target to kick 35 to 40 goals this year.
I think that's more than enough at this stage of his devlopement.
Hawkins will come back in this week I reckon, depending on injuries...

The only complaint I have with Nate is that he sometimes doesn't chase hard enough in a second effort to keep the ball in our end. But I think he is learning a lot playing with Mooney and he will be a devastating CHF in a couple of years. He isn't affraid to lead up the ground and is also comfortable in the hotspot. All he needs is the confidence and a bit more arrogrance to take a stronger mark. All things that will come by keeping him in the side.

Our forward line is not our issue. Nablett is more than capable, mooney is in ALl Aus leadership form. COmbine this with chapman not playing to his ablity, and gary ablett playing career best football. Plus or minus charlie gardiner and tommy hawkins and our forward line looks real potent. Also forgot to mention stevie j haha.

well if thats the case no premeirship for us then this year.

That is a pretty poor attitude.

I'm really starting to wonder a lot about who writes on these threads. I would hate to see them in their real lives as they are just the most pessimistic bunch of people.

To grow as a club, to be fully successful by winning the premiership we need all supporters to put their heart and souls behind the guys. If we continue with this sort of comment, it will be no wonder we won't win.

Positive behaviour by all at the club, and us as supporters can only bring positive outcomes.

This isn't a simple thing, we may hit some snags on the way, however pointing the finger and blame will get us no-where. Just like last year. Some of that crept into the game vs the Swans, I hope that was quickly washed away in the post match stuff.

Nathan Ablett has been playing reasonably decently. He hasn't been horrible, and still kicks a goal or two a game. As others pointed out though, he is an important part of our forward set-up; he gets a defender. He is too good to get any crap defender, but probably not good enough to be able to kick many goals against a good one, but he still draws one nonetheless.

I think he needs to get a bit of the mid-to-lower brand of the female anatomy about him. That's all.

Bit of killer, a mean streak, and you will see him shine.

Perhaps he could borrow some off Mooney, noone better to learn from.

That is a pretty poor attitude.

I'm really starting to wonder a lot about who writes on these threads. I would hate to see them in their real lives as they are just the most pessamistic bunch of people.

To grow as a club, to be fully successful by winning the premiership we need all supporters to put their heart and souls behind the guys. If we continue with this sort of comment, it will be no wonder we won't win.

Positive behaviour by all at the club, and us as supporters can only bring positive outcomes.

This isn't a simple thing, we may hit some snags on the way, however pointing the finger and blame will get us no-where. Just like last year. Some of that crept into the game vs the Swans, I hope that was quickly washed away in the post match stuff.
Well said!

If he kicks 35 goals from 22 games it will mean alot more for next year. No point if we drop him for 5 or so games and he kicks 25 from 16 games...

I want him to havea big one though, and I think he may just do it against Essendon.

Nathan has been playing his role. If you watch him he deliberately leads his defender away from the play at times to let S Johnson get space or to let one of the midfielders run into space around 60m out.

Nathan is doing a good job. The team still doesn't kick to him enough, but he is a reliable target.

He is very heavily defended against by the opposition and usually gets nothing from the opposition. Probably the most offended upon player i have seen this year.

Actually the bigger grounds suit him better where he can lead into space. I think Skilled isn't the ideal ground for him.

He has suffered since Tomahawk has been out of the team. I think they should bring Tomahawk back, though I realise that they are preserving him for the end of year so it will be 4-5 more weeks before Nablett can get some relief.

Regardless of what the stats say it has been a watershed year for Nathan. He is playing great team footy, average individual footy, but most important of all is doing his job.

Thompson isn't allowing him to be a 50goal a year style CHF.

So far this season Nathan Ablett has kicked 21 goals - exactly the same as Nick Reiwoldt.

I rest my case : Nathan won't be dropped

Goals and a thing called 1%ers does them both

How harsh do some of you idiots want to be. Guess you are the same ones wanting to Trade Joel Corey all the time, ditch Boris and get rid of Charlie..........................Well 2 out of 3 anyway See ya Charlie!

What must be remebered as well, is that he has great ability when the ball is on the ground. He has great vision and his handpasses out of a pack situation always find someone in space. I think he had 3 goal assists on the weekend (??). Add that with the goal or two that he kicks every game and he becomes a very handy player for us.

Regardless of what the stats say it has been a watershed year for Nathan. He is playing great team footy, average individual footy, but most important of all is doing his job.

Exactly SirRooke, virtually all of the forward line is playing TEAM footy, that's why we are in the position we are.

Varcoe, Stokes, SJ, Moons, all of them are playing the team game. Even SJ, he often gets shown in replays by his brilliance, yet it is the 1%er's that I see that don't get recognised. His goal assists have been great this year.

The team play has been great this year and Nath is filling his role.

If its not Nathan , its Enright or Corey or Ling or someone. Give up the bagging guys they dont deserve this crap. We are not Tiger supporters remember.

Imagine if we weren't on top of the ladder,1 game plus% clear!
We should be putting a lid on all the knocking of the players.