why did we ...

• Thread starter Thread starter kidstyler

theGav56 said:
Dear self proclaimed genius, could you please put up the list of players who said they wanted to be traded to win a flag? Several have been named who said they wanted to and were successful. How many have said they wanted to, and not been successful?

Dear self doubter,

No one has named any who stated they wanted to leave clubs to win flags and actually win a flag.
Those who wanted to change clubs to win flags but never did/will are around, Buckley from Brisbane, Colbert from Geelong and now Tarrant from Collingwood to name a few!

theGav56 said:
Selwood has already had knee operations, and like all players there is no guarantee. Look at the top 20 picks in the last "super" draft and then look at the percentage rates for success. After the fabled, fab three, it dives immediately. Polak was probably rated as highly as most of the KPP's in this draft, or certainly in the same bracket and was going to be selected #1 by the dockers. No guarentees with draft picks.

Sorry Gav, but that isn't my quote.

I am on your side.

Jimbob said:
Dear self doubter,

No one has named any who stated they wanted to leave clubs to win flags and actually win a flag.
Those who wanted to change clubs to win flags but never did/will are around, Buckley from Brisbane, Colbert from Geelong and now Tarrant from Collingwood to name a few!

Have you lost your way troll ?

Run back behind Goldenblues skirt ok little boy :rolleyes:

Jimbob said:
Dear self doubter,

I have some self doubts, and proud of it. How is your perfection going?

Nobody needs to name anyone who left to win flags and actually won one. You brought up the subject, and like a typical eagles cretin sledged people who responded as being thick! Go figure that.

Colbert never left to win flags. You clearly have know idea. Where did he say that? He left because he was too young for the captaincy at Geelong and the older players did not give him the authourity he needed to undertake the role. So, you are talking about Buckley. I reckon if anyone knows what it has been like for Buckley, it would be Tarrant.

bushie said:
Sorry Gav, but that isn't my quote.

I am on your side.

Hi Bushie. Big oops. Actually would love to have a fab new midfielder coming through the ranks. Anyway, not meaning to bag anyone, just think the club has done a very couragous thing and want to support them.

In fact, would go further and say that CC has just done the coaching move of the off-season, which has propelled us into serious flag calculations.

Moo said:
Whats your source on this? I heard Headland traded down on his last contract and I dont know any details about Taz

Do you know or are you making it up? (just interested)

Headland is on $375-400,000pa, Tarrant is after a 4 year deal at $400,000, but apparently is contracted on close to $450,000 next year.

theGav56 said:
Hi Bushie. Big oops. Actually would love to have a fab new midfielder coming through the ranks. Anyway, not meaning to bag anyone, just think the club has done a very couragous thing and want to support them.

In fact, would go further and say that CC has just done the coaching move of the off-season, which has propelled us into serious flag calculations.

My thoughts exactly Gav.

Since there was no budding Judds being offered in the trades, we have done the very best thing for the club.

Regardless of what that nob Jimbob thinks.

Jimbob said:
West Coast didnt encourage him to leave, he stated in the media he wanted to leave and play for a premiership side. The one is he stated was West Coast. Freo decided that they were going to trump West Coast but needed to do some fast talking to get Tarrant to come to the purps!

No one is saying Tarrant isnt a handy pick up, but to state he is a GUN and the missing link to the 2007 flag is deluding yourself. If he was such a gun Collingwood wouldnt have let him go at any price. A handy pickup for West Coast, yes, but at any price, no!

Freo have a history of overcooking trades and for some reason love paying new car prices for used cars!
"His preference was West Coast, which had made the early running for his services last month and officially opened his eyes to leaving the Lexus Centre."

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20577791%255E19742,00.html

I think you will find the average wage will be around $200K next year, there will be a fair few footballers on 350=400K at all clubs.

I know scouts who still think Hurn is a fat hack.

Tarrant was the best thing going round at trade week and we did the deal. I think we will see him as a consistent contributer next year, and players around him will benefit substantially. I believe his off-field behaviour will not be a factor as a result of the move.

We will not be last in 2010, 2011, 2012. By a long shot. Plenty of other drafts between now and then.

I have stated my preference to have gone for a middie to help the clearance issues in preference of Tarrant. But I'm willing to concede that CC etc might know a little more about footy than I do. ;)

There were also no standout middies available (like Kerr) that would give us a return in 2007 which CC is aiming for. So we did the next best thing.

I can see the logic in Tarrant and tho I consider the price paid is full I think its Polak that threw the spanner in the works and cost us the flexibility and ultimately higher picks. That lack of loyalty\gratitude is unforgivable by Polak for the support the club has given him but such is the reality of life. He owed Freo the opportunity to extract the best price for him.

So I'm putting my confidence in CC and Co. We will need to draft and rookie draft well which we have done pretty well previously.

Freo Shark said:
I can see the logic in Tarrant and tho I consider the price paid is full I think its Polak that threw the spanner in the works and cost us the flexibility and ultimately higher picks. That disloyalty is unforgivable by Polak for the support the club has given him but such is the reality of life.

Did you see where Polak was saying that he was disappointed that he did not get more opportunites, especially during the finals. i don' think he gets it. His opportunities were in his hands. All he needed to do was consistantly try his heart out. Hope he does at Richmond.

theGav56 said:
Did you see where Polak was saying that he was disappointed that he did not get more opportunites, especially during the finals. i don' think he gets it. His opportunities were in his hands. All he needed to do was consistantly try his heart out. Hope he does at Richmond.

I hope Polak finds his feet at the Tigers as well, if you want to play finals footy you have to earn it not just expect it to happen.
I think Tarrant will be a good get for you guys, as long as he is not a central focus in the forward line, he seems to struggle when he is a KPP, would like to see him play between hf & wing where he would be most damaging, as he knows how to get the footy & with Pavlich & Murphy to kick it too could be an invaluable asset for your finals chances next year. As for getting Soloman, I think that was to get the Tarrant deal done, as these guys are best mates & would think that was a condition in Tarrant coming to the Dockers, that you at least attempt to get that deal done.

Blinger said:
As for getting Soloman, I think that was to get the Tarrant deal done, as these guys are best mates & would think that was a condition in Tarrant coming to the Dockers, that you at least attempt to get that deal done.

Not so sure. Can't imagine that it was a condition, particularly going through in the last minutes and well after the Tarrant deal was done.

We actually tried to get him unsuccessfully two years ago so think he is respected at the club. Also, Harvey and Shaw know him really well, and they see him as bringing the big bodied hardness at clearances that we lack. In reality though he is a short term depth player for us.

blockerhall said:
I know scouts who still think Hurn is a fat hack.
LOL, you wanna name names on that call mate? didn't think so. That's because it's unmitigated bull****.

No it isn't. Mate. Ever wonder why he did slide on draft day?

A lot of clubs didn't rate him.