Why do players actually change numbers?

Minidisc MD

Nov 29, 2019
Aside from the ego boost, what is actually the matter?

recently I just had a simple epiphany... I bet it's the locker. think about it. you got some random shit kicking number you assigned random meaning to because 43 was the square root of your parents first root while 44 was a bit too random. you suddenly get a few games in the seniors and the club offers you 15. suddenly you're down the real end of the change rooms: the captain's a bee's dick away, million dollar pay packets sitting next door to you kicking off their Pumas... you get a bit more involved and im sure things actually start working out a bit more.

also, a rare accolade footy has forgotten is the number on the locker. you play 100 games, your name is there forever.

but what happens if you play 51 games in the number 57 but then downgrade slash upgrade to #2 for the next 49? does each club have different protocol on what locker has your bogan name inscribed on it forever?

Sometimes when a player gets to the club a more senior player already has their favourite number. They then change to it when it's available. They might be superstitious, it was their number as a junior or something that has signifance to them.

The number goes on the locker you play your 100th in.

What's so hard to understand about it?

If not for the lack of racism, homophobia and/or sexism I'd have thought this was a thread by Silent Alarm.

Some players change numbers when they'd had a poor season in the hope a new number will bring them luck. I know at Hawthorn they tend to give rookies large numbers and if they look as though they're going to make it, they then progress to a lower number e.g. Roughead 35 to 2, Franklin 38 to 23, Lewis 40 to 3, etc. I think a lot would depend on the club and the individual.

I reckon this is the way to go tbh, but I think it’s actually far more interesting when players keep their original (larger) numbers.

I don’t really rate giving high draft picks high number just because they are available. We seem to do it all too often. Dow has 2, O’Brien has 5, Kennedy 7 etc. None of these guys are guaranteed to make it.

JSOS has 1, but that’s slightly justified given the family connections. I would have preferred he take on another number and make it his own. Dylan Buckley was another late draft pick who got a single-digit number.

There is a clear bias in all sports I've played that lower numbers are for better players. This is definitely the case in AFL with a few club or personal preference exceptions.

For instance due to the Jordan factor, 23 is a coveted number by some; add in Warne, LeBron and players like Franklin, Dermie etc. and it's got a few great names attached to it. At Carlton for instance we have a couple of "off normal" numbers that hold cultural significance and a cult attachment; being 25 (Jesaulenko, Fevola) and 43 (Koutoufides). Number 1 also holds significance to the Silvagni family for obvious reasons and has now been worn by 3 generations of them. 32 is another example of this at Adelaide (Ricciuto and then Dangerfield). 35 at Collingwood after Prestigiacomo unselfishly withdraw from the 2010 GF is a another great example and story, that is now given to the clubs highest draft pick for one season in perpetuity.

You then have Soccer which generally gives players numbers by their position and standing in the team (1 for first choice GK, 2 right back, 9 main striker etc.) although that is happening less and less due to player preference or what not.

Myself personally, I was a highly superstitious player and always wanted to wear my favourite number 8 where I could and felt much better doing so. I once refused to wear 13 in a school football match I was that nuts, ended up wearing 50 or something which I found much better as 8 was too small.

Why do players actually change numbers?