Why is Heath Shaw's decision making so bad?

Simple questions.

Is Heath Shaw a leader of the Club?

Does Heath Shaw take responsibility?

Does he deliver when he takes responsibility?

Does he blame other people (first games) when he kicks to 50 50 contests when it is 4 points the difference?

Should he do better under such pressure?

Both as a leader of men and a performer under pressure?

Yes Heath Shaw is a leader at the club. It is obvious when he is coaching the younger players and through his yapping and organising out on the field.

Clearly Heath Shaw takes responsibility. He is a leader in the backline. He gets the job done on his opponent. He is our best offensive defender. In regards to his kick-ins we had no movement up field. That isn't his fault. Theres not much he can do when there are no options.

Loaded question. I'd say he delivers. Look at his 2010 grand final if don't believe me. You say he doesn't deliver why? Because a few of his kick-ins resulted in turnovers? Look at more than just the person kicking in and at our structures and movement. Thats the coaching staffs issue to address and the players responsibility to execute. I think Shaw just didn't have the options available rather than making bad decisions on the options available.

I don't know what you are referring to here. Care to elaborate?

He does well under pressure. I think you have a seriously skewed opinion of Shaw to suggest otherwise.

Reflect on all the hard work we did to get infront and you remember the two kick outs that Heath Shaw took. They were terrible. When the ball inevitably went back over his head for a goal, he turned around and tried to blame everyone else.

Heath Shaw wants to take the responsibility for the decision making on the back line, he needs to actually make good decisions and not blame others when his kicks go astray.

Heath Shaw can be a total bully. Remember after the Grand Final last year how he went up to Ben Ried and did a Tom Hawkins impersonation.

Without Maxwell there, the others suffer from having Heath Shaw tell them what to do and then have him make mistakes.

Is Heath Shaw the man to general the backline?

This is the problem when Maxwell is out.

All the dynamics of the relationships are different.

Maxwell makes the backline work from an accountability perspective.

Without him there, the older blokes have no one to remind them of the disciplines they need to undertake.

If Heath Shaw is going to be the outlet delivery man, does he have the necessary mental facilities to undertake the disciplines of the role and not spit the dummy when things don't go our way?

Few points here.
1. Thread should be "was why Heath Shaw's decision making bad in that one game".
2. Heath Shaw is not the general of the backline. Just because he visibly points and yells doesn't mean he is the only that makes decisions, Reid does, Toovey does, Tarrant does etc. There are different ways to communicate and Heath is just more demonstrative, this has come up many times before and the players clearly know that is' just Heath's way.

1. Is Heath Shaw a leader of the Club?

Yes
Does Heath Shaw take responsibility?

Yes
Does he deliver when he takes responsibility?

Yes

Does he blame other people (first games) when he kicks to 50 50 contests when it is 4 points the difference?

I don't know. Very specific question. If he did he didn't mean it and it was only out of frustration. I haven't seen him do it at the 18 games a year I go to live.

Every player should do better at everything they do. Heath Shaw is brilliant under pressure, he could iron out the one or two mistakes he makes that cost us a goal scoring opportunity every game or 2 to make him the best small defender in the competition by far.

What is this I don't even.

[/QUOTE]

I don't know. Very specific question. If he did he didn't mean it and it was only out of frustration. I haven't seen him do it at the 18 games a year I go to live.

Every player should do better at everything they do. Heath Shaw is brilliant under pressure, he could iron out the one or two mistakes he makes that cost us a goal scoring opportunity every game or 2 to make him the best small defender in the competition by far.

What is this I don't even.

See; when it got too hard; you just claimed you didn't understand the question.

Few points here.
1. Thread should be "was why Heath Shaw's decision making bad in that one game".
2. Heath Shaw is not the general of the backline. Just because he visibly points and yells doesn't mean he is the only that makes decisions, Reid does, Toovey does, Tarrant does etc. There are different ways to communicate and Heath is just more demonstrative, this has come up many times before and the players clearly know that is' just Heath's way.

I don't know what you are referring to here. Care to elaborate?

He does well under pressure. I think you have a seriously skewed opinion of Shaw to suggest otherwise.

Heath Shaw is not the General of the backline.

Nick Maxwell is the General of the backline.

Heath Shaw is a Sargent. He suffers for not having his real General Nick Maxwell there.

Heath Shaw strives well in a disciplined environment.

Without Maxwell, that disappears.

Hence the catastrophe we saw in the kick outs when we were 4 points in front on Friday night.

When he is asked to step up to General without Nick Maxwell there, he tuns on his troops for not implementing his orders when, in fact, the plan (to get the ball out of the backline) was wrong.

First of all, have a different plan if you are the General.

Then don't blame others (esp first game players) if your plan doesn't work.

A few years ago Didak played a lot of footy off the hbf as a sweeping quarterback role. Is it feasible for him to play that role again? Obviously he would take the kick ins if he can play that role.
This may mean that Harry plays more off the wing in some games.

Beams is also an option. We need someone...

But they also must be able to defend too.

Above Harry and Heater..

We need a distributor..

We miss a distributor..

it cost us a win!

Beams is also an option. We need someone...

But they also must be able to defend too.

Above Harry and Heater..

We need a distributor..

We miss a distributor..

it cost us a win!

No, if you think that's what cost us a win you're mildly deluded. What cost us a win was a half dozen kids with under 10 games experience running out of petrol in the last quarter, and a decimated backline who allowed Buddy et al to get on top because they just didn't have enough experienced backup. The likes of Keefe, Rounds, and Yagmoor were never going to be able to give Reid and Harry the help they desperately needed.

This is why we need Tarrant, Brown, Maxwell and Johnson fit and firing - otherwise that's going to keep happening.

You can't play 4 quarters of aggressive, contested footy with kids in the team, and no help in the back six.

But you're obviously one of those types who gets something in their head and is incapable of rational discussion beyond your own beliefs, so I don't even know why this thread is still open.

Even if I agree with most of your post.

We still didn't have a distributor...

Let alone an All Australian distributor like we had last year..

The quarterback or distributor is becoming the most important position in the AFL..

We just lost the best.

And who is going to replace him?

Even if I agree with most of your post.

We still didn't have a distributor...

Let alone an All Australian distributor like we had last year..

The quarterback or distributor is becoming the most important position in the AFL..

We just lost the best.

And who is going to replace him?

Not every team has a specific 'distributor', I'd go so far as to say that most teams rotate just like we had Yagz and Heater sharing it. I was actually pleased with quite a number of kick ins Yagz did, he has a great foot and has monumental upside to his game. Yes he made mistakes, yes he is going to take some time, but I sincerely believe he'll make an impact.

We don't need to replace Leon, simply because we cannot. What we need to do is change the kick in gameplan to make for an easier exodus out of our backline. And you know what makes for easier exits? Experienced players. They understand the flow better, they're not hyped up on nervous energy, and they are battle tested.

Mark my words, whether you want to acknowledge it or not, we will not be replacing Leon this season (or possibly ever) because guys who have a near perfect kick in % don't grow on trees. What we will do is tweak the gameplan, and bring in experience into the backline.

Keep calm and carry on.

Blessed, I think you are way too hard on Heath Shaw.

He is one of our most dependable players and the fact that oppostion coaches often tag him off HBF speaks of his value to the team.

Yes he's not perfect and yes he makes the occasional mistake - who doesn't.

Davis has gone. That's now in the annals of history, and the reasons which have only ever been speculation, are now irrelevent.
The past. The dead yesterdays.

There were just no options for him those few kickouts he did to one on ones with Rounds and Seedsman - if blame is to be apportioned, then where the the guys supposedly who should have been providing target options.
They were nowhere because they were spent - they'd given their all by then.

And as I'm sure yiou know, Heater is a unique personality, he never shuts up, spouts all manner of things, and everyone around the club knows that, and TBH, you need these n blokes around the club, the fun, banter, direct talk is all invaluable to relaxing the guys and breaking down barriers.

Please allow your thinking on him to move on from where it's currently at, appreciate the 98% of brilliant things he does and how he gives 100% every time he pulls the jumper on.

I think he has well and truly earned that.

There wasn't much movement when Shaw was kicking in which makes it a bit harder .

There was none. Everyone was waiting for someone else to do something. It was painful because the Hawks were doing the opposite. They were walking it out of our forward line because they were still up and about and had some juice in the tank.

Young kids wait for someone to take charge, whereas experienced players take charge.

How many games did we hemorrhage when we lost Tarrant, Maxwell, and Johnson out of our backline and brought in Rounds, Keefe and Yagmoor? Christ, had to be a few hundred.

There was none. Everyone was waiting for someone else to do something. It was painful because the Hawks were doing the opposite. They were walking it out of our forward line because they were still up and about and had some juice in the tank.

Young kids wait for someone to take charge, whereas experienced players take charge.

How many games did we hemorrhage when we lost Tarrant, Maxwell, and Johnson out of our backline and brought in Rounds, Keefe and Yagmoor? Christ, had to be a few hundred.
Johnno had well over 200 by himself :(

Right you are:

Johnson: 224
Tarrant: 256
Maxwell: 159

We lost 639 games out of our backline on Friday, and gained less than a fistful in return. You reckon that might have had something to do with it, Blessed?

Still begs the question of Blessed's distributor, the disseminator of the inflatable out of defence. Experience does not necessarily guarantee accuracy or creativity. It will be interesting to see who Collingwood trial in this role during the year now that Davis increasingly fades from our vision to be replaced by x, y or z. Yagmoor certainly did not work, largely because lack of possession equals lack of disposals, so accuracy was hardly the issue with him on Friday.

Possible Cats and Dogs raining forecast v Richmond on Saturday night.

So this could be an even bigger issue with a wet, slippery pigskin.

Hate to see Richmond find us out as much as the Hawks did.

Yeah. Leon would never have made those stuff ups. (In the H&A season anyway). So we need Leon back although, that extra $100k he allegedly wanted, could have helped seal the deal with Pendles because according to Blessed, Pendles is getting a motsa. Of course there is no doubt Leon would have came back the motivted person that he appeared to be and would have come back for the right reasons, not the $$$ on offer. I mean after his AA season in 2009, he killed it in 2010...right.:rolleyes:

You're not fooling anyone Blessed with your thinly veiled trolls. We've played your poos & wees and you should be grateful we didn't kick straight early and you jagged 3/4 from right on the boundary line. Now you can leave our board and you'll probably come back when we play the brown and yellow again.

I can't believe you haven't been carded again, yet.

3 rubbish threads, all on the same similar bull**** topics. Seriously dude, get a life.:(

Yeah. Leon would never have made those stuff ups. (In the H&A season anyway). So we need Leon back although, that extra $100k he allegedly wanted, could have helped seal the deal with Pendles because according to Blessed, Pendles is getting a motsa. Of course there is no doubt Leon would have came back the motivted person that he appeared to be and would have come back for the right reasons, not the $$$ on offer. I mean after his AA season in 2009, he killed it in 2010...right.:rolleyes:

You're not fooling anyone Blessed with your thinly veiled trolls. We've played your poos & wees and you should be grateful we didn't kick straight early and you jagged 3/4 from right on the boundary line. Now you can leave our board and you'll probably come back when we play the brown and yellow again.

I can't believe you haven't been carded again, yet.

3 rubbish threads, all on the same similar bull**** topics. Seriously dude, get a life.:(

Mate you come up with an opinion...if you have got one.

Leon Davis had the highest kicking efficiency of any player in the AFL last year. That is just a fact.

We were always going to miss that in distributing out of the backline.

Now how we going to fill the hole?

I think we are one of the worst sides in the league in actually offering options from a kick out, at times it's a bit like junior football with the hand up but no actual leading or running to space.

The kick-outs particular in the last were bad and cost us any chance of putting pressure back on the Hawks. But it can often be much more than Shaw*.

*He will generally do something inexplicably dumb once a game, out on the full or obvious push in the back, the most common.

Possible Cats and Dogs raining forecast v Richmond on Saturday night.

So this could be an even bigger issue with a wet, slippery pigskin.

Hate to see Richmond find us out as much as the Hawks did.

Mate that's six days away. Those weather predictions are less accurate than your POV in these rubbish threads that you keep trolling us with.:mad:

Why is Heath Shaw's decision making so bad?