why it was a GOOD win

I thought it was a poor win.

Only got up 'cause our 31 year old star had a day out.

Struggled against a very poor team.

CoggaRules said:
smack? Yeah, i guess he did do all that didnt he Dyerbol. Funny how he can do that when he plays and cant when he doesnt, isnt it? I mean, please illumimate us on your "without Richo" line and what that is suppose to mean. From where i sat, i could see the big no 12 running around, did you?

Lets face it, if all the teams we got smashed by were "without" we would be top 4 wouldnt we? ;)
Congratulations you have officially succeeded Bentleigh as the worst poster on BigFooty. At least Bentleigh's drivel is comprehensible.

DyerBolical said:
Congratulations you have officially succeeded Bentleigh as the worst poster on BigFooty. At least Bentleigh's drivel is comprehensible.

wow, so you can comprehend drivel can you? Think about it. ;)

CoggaRules said:
this is the kind of lame ass comment that can only be forthcoming from a inferiority riddled tigerhead. the problem for the bummers DyerBol, is that the "without Richo" part didnt eventuate at the selection table on Thursday night. maybe next time we could make it a handicap game just for you.
So you are saying the way we moved the ball into the FL, and setting up set shots, didnt look any different to the try hard, kick around corners stuff the bummers produced? You are being ridiculous man.
I would even suggest that our backline lairised, it was that easy and half their score came from "stupid" lazy mistakes that we made. ;)
This is exactly what I was thinking to myself in the 2nd quarter Cogga. We got 4 or 5 goals up in the second quarter then thought we had it won and started lairising. Instead of nailing them we let them back in and get their confidence up. We get a couple of wins and get ahead of ourselves.

As for Richo, he had a blinder but it was also one of those rare games when he got some pretty good delivery.

IDGAF said:
You guys ...particularily you Bojangles .... are deluding yourselves .

Richo won the game off his own boot ... simple . Grinding effort my @rse . We were comprehensively stitched up in many areas and we only won because of one blokes performance . The best game i reckon i have ever seen him play . But you know what ? Fletcher plays and we would almost certainly have lost .

Hardly the balanced "team" performance we should be looking for at the minute .

Put your rose coloured glasses away and retrieve your heads from your rectums fellas ... the cracks are wide open and the best thing about that game was that they have not been wall-papered over .

Frawley would have been out there spruiking us up as contenders on the back of that game .... but not Terry ;) They will get the "good will" mileage out of the last month for sure and why not , but there is a tonne of work to be done guys .

The day we start winning games that actually are not dead rubbers and have some genuine importance about them is the day we can start blowing smoke up our own @rses

Lot of truth in what you say. We were playing the comp. easybeats and would have struggleg with Richo the king of Melbourne being on fire.

We beat everyone hands down fro bluster and BS as we always have done blowing our trumpet and puffing up the tiges but we need to be real about what is happening as well. The late season wins are good for morale and good for next years membership sales but that is just about it. At present we are not a top 4 contender adn would only be 50:50 for top 8. There is still a way to go. We will get there but beating the weakest essendon in memory with half our scoring from one man is NOT top 4 or anything like it.

True Thylacine said:
Sorry IDGAF I have to disagree. It was a good win because in past years or even past months we simply would have lost it! We have won 3 times in a row when we have been expected to win and against opoosition that is capable of a few surprises. I half expected this to be another Hawthorn affair. As for Sheedy tanking, those tanking tactics, when they work, are what Sheeds get called a master coach for. If they stuff up everyone just glosses over em but when they work he is a legend. Make no mistake, the biggest danger to us losing on Sat night was our own ability to get over confident or just plain stuff up and there were still signs. What I am pleased about is we got through it.
We will agree to disagree

Game was about as significant as a February practice match

IDGAF said:

Im not so sure about that when you consider the alternative would be finishing the season with 3 or 4 losses...That wouldn't be shallow it would be DEEP in the sh$#.....theres a stack of merit in finishing the year full of running with a young list getting used to a winning feeling....I fail to see any downside apart from the draft pecking order but thats another story

IDGAF said:

this is indeed a strange twist man. Werent you the one that was talking about how it was imperative for the tiges to not let the season just slip away in the last 4 games?
They have won the last 3 and could finish with a 4-0 home run, rather than the good old tigers of old, finishing 0-4. ANd you still got a complaint? FFS. ;)

CoggaRules said:
this is indeed a strange twist man. Werent you the one that was talking about how it was imperative for the tiges to not let the season just slip away in the last 4 games? ;)
LMAOOOOO trainspotter

When i get a spare couple of days i will sift through all your posts that resemble comprehensive crosswords and drag out some more of your hypocricies .

If you read through this thread properly you will see that i do mention the "good will" mileage to be gained out of it.

I agree that were and still is my sentiments , but as i have sat back and watched the last three weeks unfold it is quite visible how "un-fair dinkum" those games have been .

I will start gaining some credible satisfaction when we start winning some real games.

But as you said ... better than losing

IDGAF said:
LMAOOOOO trainspotter

When i get a spare couple of days i will sift through all your posts that resemble comprehensive crosswords and drag out some more of your hypocricies .

If you read through this thread properly you will see that i do mention the "good will" mileage to be gained out of it.

I agree that were and still is my sentiments , but as i have sat back and watched the last three weeks unfold it is quite visible how "un-fair dinkum" those games have been .

I will start gaining some credible satisfaction when we start winning some real games.

But as you said ... better than losing

hypocricy? naaa man, if i were hypocritical, i would now be agreeing with all and sundry on the stuff that i havent agreed with them on.
Hypocricy tends to be aligned to someone suggesting one week, that he would be most upset if the tigers capitulated in the run home and 3 weeks later, being upset that what he was going to be upset about didnt eventuate. Think about it, it will dawn on you. ;)

CoggaRules said:
hypocricy? naaa man, if i were hypocritical, i would now be agreeing with all and sundry on the stuff that i havent agreed with them on.
Hypocricy tends to be aligned to someone suggesting one week, that he would be most upset if the tigers capitulated in the run home and 3 weeks later, being upset that what he was going to be upset about didnt eventuate. Think about it, it will dawn on you. ;)
i`ll tell you what has dawned on me .... that you do not listen to or take in what other people are saying ... obviously

You see Cogga , being the past master of this mid stream of consciousness stuff you would think that when quoting statements , context bares some sort of relevence ;)

Would i be upset if we lost the last three games , most certainly . But it is physically impossible to lose games to sides that aren`t even having a dip . Hence mine and many others feelings of "hollowness" .

Has it dawned on you yet .... maybe you need to look up "hypocricy" in the Funk and Wagnells

:) ALL I can say is this. Based on the amount of beer and tequila I consumed post-match, there was definitely nothing hollow about this victory.
Hate Essendon with a passion and imperative that we continue to win...which is what we did.
Young sides like ours are prone to lapses and can easily drop these sorts of games (a-la the Hawthorn game), but we did the job.
I for one found nothing hollow in registering a win.:)

Interesting. I'm happy we won our past three. But I would have rathered we won one or two of the four games we had to win when our season was on the line (the four games being Melbourne, Swans, Saints, Dogs).

IDGAF said:
i`ll tell you what has dawned on me .... that you do not listen to or take in what other people are saying ... obviously

You see Cogga , being the past master of this mid stream of consciousness stuff you would think that when quoting statements , context bares some sort of relevence ;)

Would i be upset if we lost the last three games , most certainly . But it is physically impossible to lose games to sides that aren`t even having a dip . Hence mine and many others feelings of "hollowness" .

Has it dawned on you yet .... maybe you need to look up "hypocricy" in the Funk and Wagnells

wow man, so by what you are saying, the tigers a pretty sh-it then huh? is that how i should read it? Since if its physically impossible to lose to sides that arent having a dip and looking at the scoreline against the last and second last placed sides, factoring in that they werent even having a dip, that, in the wash up, suggests that we are ****ed and TW is pulling everyone's ****. ;)

IDGAF said:
. But it is physically impossible to lose games to sides that aren`t even having a dip . Hence mine and many others feelings of "hollowness" .

pal, I seriously think your drawing a long bow to suggest the sides aren't having a dip, it's actually the kinda flimsy excuse Id expect to hear from a bleeding heart bomber fan than from an ardent tiger. Make NO mistake once that ball is bounced everyone out there was putting in. Do you think Mark Bolton intentionally cluster f#$@ed the kick that probably just sealed the fate on his league career....I would have thought the efforts of Hird, Hille Peverill Mc Veigh looked alot to me like they were laying it all on the line...and I could say the same for the hapless Blues a week earlier.

I can accept the frustration at NOT winning the games we had to but lets not escape from the opportunity to take a running jump at 2007 from a side that won 4 games 18 mths ago

IDGAF said:
No

I just think we can , should and will play better .

wow another elightening comment, yeah we can do all of what you say, that aint our problem, blind freddy can see that we can, should and will play better. Now put your thinking cap on and it might dawn on you as to what the one pivotal "fix" is for the tigers. It is aligned to what you have said and aligned to what i am endeavoruing to say. Think about it, because that is the most pleasing thing about the last 3 wins. Let me give you a hint, did you find yourself turning to a mate last week and saying, i cant believe we are going to lose to a rabble like this? Well we didnt and it used to be we did, i.e dawks at Aurora dude, equals progress. ;)

CoggaRules said:
did you find yourself turning to a mate last week and saying
No

Was LMAO when they swung Asafa Powell into the middle and took Hille out of the ruck with 5 minutes to go .

Keep the condescending work up , does wonders for your internet persona :thumbsu:

IDGAF said:
Was LMAO when they swung Asafa Powell into the middle and took Hille out of the ruck with 5 minutes to go .

Have to remember Sheedy is a genius ... they keep telling us that anyway. He was obviously hoping our guys would take one look at the Turtlemeat Monster and break down in laughter. Essendon would get the clearance as our poor blokes called for the trainers to stitch their sides up.