Will we break 34,646 record crowd VS Lions?

i don't reckon live tv coverage makes a massive difference MT, there are other factors that are more persuasive such as form of both sides, weather, timeslot of game. my guess is today most is in our favour, our youngsters are showing plenty of pluck and have alot of positive press, weather is a treat and sat night is a family friendly timeslot...40k no probs

Hopefully 40,000. Without Foxtel 45,000 :D

Record reached: 37,438!

It looked decent and loud on TV. That's what I love about the Tiger army up and about, against the interstate teams and the smaller Melbourne ones at the G makes it sound like an Adelaide, Freo or WC home game.

Record reached: 37,438!

Great effort!

I couldn't make the game :(

Toddler has been struck down real hard with gastro, and the wife had to work - was looking forward to taking the young'un to the game, but he is pretty sick the poor little buggar. He was very happy with Dusty's efforts before he went to bed though :thumbsu:

Makes the MCG estimated of 25k look pretty stupid

Did they really predict that? :rolleyes:

Guess thats why (from what I could see) there was only one tiny bar open (two lines) in the entire bottom level of the ponsford. Poor form!

Makes the MCG estimated of 25k look pretty stupid

The G predicted 25,000. Opening this thread I predicted we would attract 37,000. Forgive me patting myself on the back but was I right or what?

Record achieved. Incidentally the attendance for 12th placed Richmond was about 2,000 more than 6th placed Carlton got against the Lions last year. We will smash our home attendance record VS Freo next week as well barring atrocious weather.

The reason why the G underestimated turnout is simple. They believed all the anti richmond griping that you hear trying to pretend we are now a minnow and underestimated the boost even one win gives to the huge Army waiting for us to roll.

Didn't think it quite looked big enough to break the record, but I changed my mind when Jake King tackled Merrett over the line for a colossal roar of 'BALLL' after a chain of contested footy when the Yellow and Black army just got louder and louder.

Well done guys, excellent form!

Didn't think it quite looked big enough to break the record, but I changed my mind when Jake King tackled Merrett over the line for a colossal roar of 'BALLL' after a chain of contested footy when the Yellow and Black army just got louder and louder.

Well done guys, excellent form!

The whole ground level was into it last night.

Nothing beats the Tiger Army!

The G predicted 25,000. Opening this thread I predicted we would attract 37,000. Forgive me patting myself on the back but was I right or what?

Record achieved. Incidentally the attendance for 12th placed Richmond was about 2,000 more than 6th placed Carlton got against the Lions last year. We will smash our home attendance record VS Freo next week as well barring atrocious weather.

The reason why the G underestimated turnout is simple. They believed all the anti richmond griping that you hear trying to pretend we are now a minnow and underestimated the boost even one win gives to the huge Army waiting for us to roll.

Don't pat too hard or too often mate, you were 438 out. :D
Darn good effort all round, especially against an interstate team

Thought there were quite a few Lions fans there last night - there was a team called Fitzroy you know!
Great crowd though. The G was rocking. Had a ball.

Many fitzroy supporters have deserted the brisbane lions over the years due to the lack of acknowledgment (fitzroy fc) previous jumper designs and the affiliation has almost evaporated to zero its the brisbane lions not sure how many people really think theres a fitzroy with brisbane, i know fitzroy supporters who jumped on them when they merged none of them go anymore dont feel the connection its not fitzroy they tell me...

On the lions crowd...At the ponsford end (inc cheer squad) where many of the opposition supporters seem to sit as the away team how many would there have been a 1000? thats a lot of people u would see many flags or fans jumping as one, well as an estimate right around the ground inc the ponsford stand id have the lions fans turnout as about 3 to 4K max

Gotta say sitting with the Tiger Army is one of the best things ever! I don't think I'll ever sit anywhere else again. Listening to the grog squad at the end was worth paying the ticket for. One of the best games in a while I've been to and glad that we're only going to get better.

I'll be back for the clash against the Blues :)