raikkonen64

Its offically our last roll of the dice, if we beat freo we are back to square 1 as it covers the swans lose, then we takle the saints at the G, which they havnt beatin us there in somethig like 7 or 8 years.
If we beat freo you never know it could be 2 in a row, but if we lose to freo its all over red rover and we will lose to the saints by 100+.

So cmon boys dig deep for one last go. Show the sprit we showed in round 1.

raikkonen64 said:
Its offically our last roll of the dice, if we beat freo we are back to square 1 as it covers the swans lose, then we takle the saints at the G, which they havnt beatin us there in somethig like 7 or 8 years.
If we beat freo you never know it could be 2 in a row, but if we lose to freo its all over red rover and we will lose to the saints by 100+.

So cmon boys dig deep for one last go. Show the sprit we showed in round 1.

I had a good feeling about the Swans game until the first 3 goals so I’m not sure what to think. You’re spot on though raikkonen64, lose this week and it’s all over. There’s one thing for sure- I’d rather play Freo after a win than a loss.

well we need to beat dogs and dons last 2 rounds and they will be far from walk overs IMO but they are the most winnable. then we need to win one out of freo saints adelaide and cats and that should just get us through about 7-8. i reckon the freo one is the most winnable imo. i heard farmer did his hammy and wont play...that true?.

who takes pavlich? miller aint playing but he sucked on him last time anyway. fergeson imo unless he plays at CHF den rivers but he wont so fergeson. i'd settle for 4-5 goals

we will be better off with rivers taking pavlich this week. If u remember in round 6 when we played them it was a joke with brad miller on pavlich. just because it was a inspired move in round 5 on hall daniher the moron allowed miller to get beat ALL DAY by pavlich. he was just too fast and beat miller to the ball all day.

Freos midfield was better than ours last time we played them, and we couldn't stop mcpharlin as well.

I say we bust this week. Again we will get shown up for our poor defence and poor coaching.

meh,

i still maintain if we play our best we will win. We are in reality one of the best teams when we plasy with confidence, run through the middle etc.

Just gotta get that confidence back!

HighRoller said:
meh,

i still maintain if we play our best we will win. We are in reality one of the best teams when we plasy with confidence, run through the middle etc.

Just gotta get that confidence back!
No but you see, most teams can win games if they play their best footy, its a matter of getting to that stage.
I think a main problem of ours is the fact that we're too one-dimensional. We rely on running through the corridor way too much, and teams have figured out to lock it up in there. Daniher needs a plan B.

actually we could stop mcpharlin with rivers but he will be needed for pavlich. i trust rivers to not get a bag kicks on him.

Start with Riv on Pav and Ferguson on McPharlin but I think we are a bit undersized in the backline. Midfield pressure will be crucial. At least when Miller played on Pav, he could match him in the F50 but not around the ground hence Pav didn't kick many goals.

Marns said:
No but you see, most teams can win games if they play their best footy, its a matter of getting to that stage.
I think a main problem of ours is the fact that we're too one-dimensional. We rely on running through the corridor way too much, and teams have figured out to lock it up in there. Daniher needs a plan B.

Yep bingo!

That is exactly what is happening, funny you worked it out before Neale :)
I dont think we have a plan B, against Port we were stuffed as soon as it hit HF and they rebounded and goaled each time.

If they lock it up we will just have to wait, or move faster! there is no plan B and personally i just dont feel confident when i see us moving the ball real slow

Marns said:
Hehe, you reckon I should apply for his job?

hehe well i dont see the harm in it.

In all seriousness Neale has been quite a good coach. He has managed our list along with others quite well and taken our team to i think 4 final series?

Last year he also earnt our club alot of money with all his spruiking and talking up of his team and got alot of people onboard this new look team full of young talent. I remember last year how good it was watching guys like Rivers, Miller and Davey go from no-name melbourne hacks to quality players in each of their roles. We has the top 2 rising stars and this year Brocky and Sylvia are both fantastic also.

His weakness is his match days.....
waiting till Big Al gets four or five kicked on him in a quarter is not going to help matters either is rotating our midfield the way he does sometimes.

I still have faith we can turn it around somehow and have an influence in things just need that confidence and flair in our game back and im hoping this weekend it might come.

Yeah, I wonder if Neale could take over another job where he could stay in the media etc and continue spreading the word so to speak, and then we sign Gazza as our coach. What does everyone reckon? Serious question.

Marns said:
Yeah, I wonder if Neale could take over another job where he could stay in the media etc and continue spreading the word so to speak, and then we sign Gazza as our coach. What does everyone reckon? Serious question.

Totally agree.

masai said:
What proof do you have that Gary Lyon can be a successful coach?.

I know he has "coached" the international side, but other than that, has he ever coached a team in a weekly competition?. eg. under 12's, colts, reserves etc.
i agree totally - sometimes the "favourite son" can be a complete dud (aka Tony Shaw at Collingwood).

The only way i could see Gazza at the Demons at the moment would be part of the coaching panel in a minor role so he can learn the ropes (and see if he is any good).

Its possible that we should get a matchday coach to make calls - Neale is great for list management as well as preparation - but sometimes a little slow on the uptake.