News Workhorse (Priddis) Improves Efficiency

silver eagles

Mar 27, 2010
article: Workhorse Improves Efficiency by Scott Burns
While the competition average for kicking efficiency has gone down 1 per cent this season, we have managed to lift our effectiveness as a side by 3 per cent after five games. That is a significant improvement. There are a number of reasons why we are kicking the ball better this season, including a skills-based pre-season program and the return from injury of some key players. But workhorse Matt Priddis has also had a role to play in that improvement through his continued elite performance at stoppages and his ability to release teammates with his clean hands.

So he actually improves the team by playing?

I dont get it..

I thought he was a hinderance?

With his sore knee fixed he has got back to late 2007 form.
He could win a Brownlow if he kept playing like he did in the last few rounds in 2007.

Interesting how he will play against Watson, who is a fantastic player.

Priddis dives in and gets the ball when he should have no chance of getting it.
Against Melbourne he showed that he is picking up the skill of contested marks as well.
You know, I am starting to also not mind having Koby Stevens come in one of these days.
He is great on the training track and if PRIDDIS is injured I would put him in.
I would also work really hard on his handballing skills to get him to be like Priddis.

Surely he would have to take the mantle as West Coast's most consistent contributor over the last few years.

Great player. Considering how many tackles and clearances he regularly gets, I don't understand all the hate.

Lack of penetrating kick = delist?

Come on.

In the past players haven’t been as proactive offensively, because they're worried about teammates fumbling or turning the ball over, but we've got that confidence now where we're feeling clean with the ball.

Thought this was a good point. Anybody who has played in a team sport for some time is bound to have experienced this. Was undoubtedly a key cause in the circle of handballs that plagued us for a couple of years.

Of topic abit, but i was Watching AFL Teams last night on foxtel, and im pretty sure i heard someone on the panel i think maybe BT say that the Eagles were number 1 in the comp for D/E.

Anyone Know if that is true?

"his continued elite performance"...
that must get up the nose of some prid-bashers here..
his kicking is hitting targets more now,even if the kicks still remain ugly..
gotta love the way he just steals or comes up with the ball time after time..like he's got it on a rubber band!?

What is most impressive with Priddis lately, is his ability to stop and prop in traffic and choose the correct option. Always seems to have time. Might not have the best pace in the world but leads the way for our young mids to learn from. If everyone at West Coast had his work ethic, we would have the best team by far.

he is never going to be the most stylish player out there but he gets the job done.Hopefully youngsters like masten and swift look to priddis and see what its like to play with guts and determination

As previously said Priddis is never going to be a stylish player. However his continued efforts and performances can't be underestimated. His not only improved his disposal efficiency this year, his gotten faster, is finding more time and has becoming smarter.

I love Priddis as a 3rd-5th mid on a team. He's better suited to the run with role shepparding for others than #1 mid role he's currently in. While his accuracy has improved, his hurt factor is still the same.

My question is whether him playing that #1 or #2 role hinders the development of our more talented mids (e.g. Shuey, Masten, Swift) into developing into those #1/#2 type roles. The improved efficiency means he has become less of liability with the ball going forward, but I'd still prefer him shepparding for others, bot others shepparding for him.

What is most impressive with Priddis lately, is his ability to stop and prop in traffic and choose the correct option. Always seems to have time. Might not have the best pace in the world but leads the way for our young mids to learn from. If everyone at West Coast had his work ethic, we would have the best team by far.

Exactly:thumbsu:. He has done this on several occassions this year, especially last week, instead of blazing/hacking a kick away like he used to. He's 26 now and this is around the age that players start to hit their peak. His work ethic and ability to win the contested ball are his unquestionable standouts, if he can maintain this improvement of his kicking and decision making then he has added another string to his bow.

While his accuracy has improved, his hurt factor is still the same.

My question is whether him playing that #1 or #2 role hinders the development of our more talented mids (e.g. Shuey, Masten, Swift) into developing into those #1/#2 type roles.

I wouldn't be surprised is Priddis is number 1 in our team for kicks to a leading target. Why on earth should Shuey, Masten, and Swift be at the bottom of the pack when they all have good speed and are good distance runners.

At some fairly recent training drills,
Priddis was situated close to Kerr and other front line midfielders.
His handball and hand speed therefore could be compared.

TOP THREE IN THE TEAM with Kerr and Natanui.
One journalist just recently wrote about Priddis great game and his quick hands.

Also in terms of body ripping fitness.
Maybe NO.1

So I guess he is good to have at training as an example if anything, just like Koby Stevens.

I reckon Koby is going to come in fairly soon and have a crack

I wouldn't be surprised is Priddis is number 1 in our team for kicks to a leading target. Why on earth should Shuey, Masten, and Swift be at the bottom of the pack when they all have good speed and are good distance runners.

Not sure, perhaps you could ask Chris Judd why he bothers?

There is a concept of midfielders who can win their own footy and be damaging with it. Thats what makes them quality. At underage level Masten won his own ball and set others up, as did Swift... they are also quick enough, can run all day etc ... Shuey is another example of a guy who can win it and be damaging with the ball in hand. To give you another example, Kerr was our main "inside" mid during our good years...

One dimensional players are one dimensional. They can be limited as a result.

The fact that some in here get exciting because Priddis has actually stopped, assessed options and hit the correct ones a few times this year speaks volumes as to his career to date. I mean its a fairly basic skill that most teams would take as a given from their premier mids. Priddis has performed this basic skill a few times this year, aged 26. Wow.

Because non of the rest of his spud team mates are good to enough to continually win contested footy. You make me laugh mate.

I live to amuse you. You amuse me by consistently failing to grasp basic points.

Chris Judd is the best in and under mid in the game currently. You argued that blokes like Masten, Swift and Shuey are wasted at the bottom of packs because of their running ability....

2+2= ..

:p

I am not sure why we continue to have circullar arguments around Priddis/Lynch etc.

It is obvious that some people value Priddis more where others think he is a plodder and it is unlikely that either side will have a miraculous change of heart anytime soon.

Personally I like Lynch and believe that he has been one of our more solid players this year. Previously E87 and I have disagreed as to his value and he expressed more then once that he thinks that I am an idiot for my beliefs. He is entitiled to his opinion just as I am entitled to mine and I will argue the point however there is a time when we reach a point of "argument exhaustion" and the same crap just gets repackaged over and over again.

The article presented here is great. It provides us with an insight of what the coaches are thinking and I personally appreciate this. However, do we need to use this article as a means of bating others just to get a reaction and to re-start the same old discussion with no new reasoning?

I argue that you wouldn't know football talent if it rammed you in the face. Why does being a distributor make you the number 1 mid? Judd is great because he can grab the ball and break away. Why do you need to have a guy do that when you can distrubute the ball out and have a relatively un-pressured kick to leading forwards?

Priddis has addressed nearly all his shortcomings and much to your disappointment is going to be sitting flat bang right in the middle of the centre circle for the next 3-5 years.

We continue to have these arguments because of E87 can't understand that you dont need to be a super strong line breaker to be a positive force for your team.

Why does he need to understand? Why do you need him to understand?

You have detailed your opinon and so has he - many times before, so do you really think that this is going to be the time when E87 sees the light and says sTeel you are 100% right?

I enjoy reading your posts and I also enjoy reading E87 views too, both of you provide value and insight regardless if I agree or not with your views. When it comes to Priddis/Lynch and co I am yet to hear any new arguments in a long time and the old ones have been done to death - so much so that they are getting more and more personal.

i have to tell you, i was typing a constructive debate against Paran's logic, but in the process of defending priddis against masten+swift etc,and the role of extractor types, i had a realisation,and arrived at E87's logic.."hang on there are Judd and Cuzz types who can do both things -extract,run and spear"..so i ended up hanging an argument with myself-which saved this panel a lot of tedium i'm sure..

but ive safely arrived at the conclusion,that cuzznjudd types are extremely rare,and until sports cloning arrives,we have to make do with human imperfections..and until then priddis is mighty fine by me,especially handing off to shuey.
(but hmm, imagine a priddis-judd clone,or priddis-cuzz clone)(you could have a priddis,cox,shuey,darling clone - and itd be a one man team!!??)

News Workhorse (Priddis) Improves Efficiency