Golf World Golf thread - Including the Ryder Cup

how do you know what the purpose is?

Saudi have been clear they want it to run at profit. They aren't just pissing money up a wall for sportswashing purposes ONLY, though i am sure it's part of it.
They have time to make a profit, remember foxtel no ads other than internal .haha

yeah i know.

the idea Saudi are just pouring money into golf as only sportswashing is bogus.

They of course want it to be self-sustainable and turn a profit. These guys aren't stupid people.

PGA actually want people to give a shit about Golf. It was inevitable.
Rory should sue or actually go after people now. He has been playing consistent golf and at the same time supported PGA.

Not a fan of Cam Smith going back to PGA tbh. It is what it is.
The main driver now surely should be contracts for professional golfers and incentives not just for missing cuts but tournaments.

It’s such a lonely sport and players need support

Not the same thing

yes, it is.

you can't have split ethics. You either support Saudi or you dont.

I'm not actively trying to promote the Saudi regime by pumping fuel into my car. Just such a stupid take.

Neither does watching Golf.

Go buy an electric car then if you dont want to fund them.

Only stupid take is yours.

Supporting a league where its players are cashing nine figure cheques directly from the PIF - with their sports washing intentions - is on a whole different level to people getting by in life by simply putting fuel in their car.

I feel that when it comes to a regime/country/ideology/politics, people are fluid in their non binary take. That means, it's not 1-0 or 0-1. If it suits an argument, go with it. If not, dial it back and find another way around it. That's life.

Before the middle east it was or is china. The idea that say playing sport in china is supporting their way of life and political ideology, censorship etc is not bona fide. Vice versa. Why? Because if someone was to be absolute and stick to his or her guns against China, they he or she would then boycott anything related to China, it's people, it's culture, it's economic contributions. But you can't. same as in this case oil from KSA, or Russia before. We need the goods and services they provide so we deride them but only upto a certain point. Diplomatic relations.

It's similar to say footy. A player on your team transgresses, but you fight for him. Opponent does exactly the same thing, you bay for blood. When someone points out that the incidents are identical except for the colour of the jumper, it's imperative that the accused has the presence of mind to pivot and manipulate the discussion in his or her favour.

Similarly, supporters of man city pre current day ownership. Im sure there was a portion of the supporter group that walked away from the club, but those who stayed should be accused of contributing to the sportswashing.

The world cup in Qatar also. A form of sportswashing one may say. I know some on the BF forum boycotted watching anything to do with the event because of sportswashing......BUT watched Australia games because, that is ok.

The amazing thing about this new arrangement is how quiet the main players were able to keep it.

Not often an announcement as big as this is kept secret
It was about to be leaked hence the rushed announcement today.

Read that Ricky Fowler turned down 110 mil and hideke turned down 50.. those guys would be ropable ..

Wonder how it will work now in terms of $$$ figures for contracts if pga guys join the team events for liv .. let’s say rahm wants to join a liv franchise will he get bulk cash sign on or do they not need to do that anymore to get people over

They'll be coming for more sports and more leagues as well. Newcastle is just the beginning in the soccer.

I think it has made the EPL more interesting and better to watch but I'll add I follow West Ham so i'm not having titles taken away from my team with all the money that's coming in and I prefer Man City winning over Man U, Arsenal and Liverpool.

Interesting the timing of this announcement , the anti trust case was to start up again in the US. Maybe the PGA were getting legal advise that it would lose ?
Both the PGA and DP World Tour have previously held talks with LIV difference is that Norman has not been involved this time and you can guarantee he will not be part of the new model.
Supposedly this is only a framework arrangement so the PGA players weren't consulted. God knows how they spin this out to the players.

Wonder how it will work now in terms of $$$ figures for contracts if pga guys join the team events for liv .. let’s say rahm wants to join a liv franchise will he get bulk cash sign on or do they not need to do that anymore to get people over
Mate there will be no more LIV.

The product hasn't worked/captured the interest of anyone (other than a strange pack of bogan Adelaidians for a week) so will be mercifully euthanised before you know it.

We will then end up with a PGA Tour that is more powerful and cashed up than ever before. Which by the way is terrible news for Aus golf fans.

The product hasn't worked/captured the interest of anyone (other than a strange pack bogan Adeladians for a week) so will be mercifully be euthanised before you know it.

We will then end up with a PGA Tour that is more powerful and cashed up than ever before. Which by the way is terrible news for Aus golf fans.
And the PGA tour will have blood money coursing through its veins

The product hasn't worked/captured the interest of anyone (other than a strange pack bogan Adeladians for a week) so will be mercifully be euthanised before you know it.

Ive been listening to a couple of podcasts and they're basically split as to whether LIV continues. Some are saying this is huge for LIV and the value of their teams and they're on major networks now. LIV players taking a victory lap. Then you have Greg come out saying business as normal for next year and beyond (which is hard to grasp considering he wasn't informed at all on it). Others to which I tend to agree with, are adamant its done. I don't know what to believe.

If the PGAT is still the entity who is 'in control' in terms of an operational standpoint, I find it hard to see that LIV in its current form can still continue? Perhaps a series at the end of the season? Even then, I'd find it hard to imagine. Team golf IMO just simply doesnt work unless it's the Ryder Cup.

The whole scenario has just been utterly exhausting as a pro golf fan.

I've lost all desire to watch any form of professional golf on tv now, outside the majors. Its a clusterf*** of disgusting greed.
I feel the same way unfortunately.

Good article here titled 'The Disease of More" - The Disease of More | No Laying Up.

Pretty much how I feel about the whole thing now. Only going to get messier I'd say given the complex legal issues surrounding the new entity.

I've lost all desire to watch any form of professional golf on tv now, outside the majors. Its a clusterf*** of disgusting greed.

Good article here titled 'The Disease of More" - The Disease of More | No Laying Up.

Pretty much how I feel about the whole thing now. Only going to get messier I'd say given the complex legal issues surrounding the new entity.

Golfers are and have been greedy capitalist people. Its all about money. It's all about prizemoney, points to get into events for more money. Money, get sponsored, get free stuff every year, private jets, luxury lives *

They do charity yes, but unlike volunteers its for a different purpose (for themselves ultimately)

* top portion of golfers

Agree mate read KVV's article this morning. An excellent summary.

Summed up beautifully. This narrative that the Saudis were never going to stop spending so why not have the cash in the mainstream game is a bs justification.
I was inspired by Rory sticking to his principles, JT, Speith etc.
You know the PGA tour could have just stuck to their guns. LIV wouldn’t have lasted. Now the Saudis have exactly what they always wanted and they will NOT grow the game. They won’t come down here, Korea, STH Africa, Japan from where a big chunk of talent emerges. Nup, but I bet they play a PGA event in the Middle East.

Summed up beautifully. This narrative that the Saudis were never going to stop spending so why not have the cash in the mainstream game is a bs justification.
I was inspired by Rory sticking to his principles, JT, Speith etc.
You know the PGA tour could have just stuck to their guns. LIV wouldn’t have lasted. Now the Saudis have exactly what they always wanted and they will NOT grow the game. They won’t come down here, Korea, STH Africa, Japan from where a big chunk of talent emerges. Nup, but I bet they play a PGA event in the Middle East.
There is a bit of debate as to whether that was possible. Litigation drawn out over many years could have proven incredibly costly for the PGAT. Factoring in rising purses and nervous sponsors who no doubt would be asked to increase their contributions for pretty much the same product with depleted fields, perhaps the writing was on the wall that it was the PGAT that would have struggled to survive?

It'll be very interesting to see how those countries are included (if at all) under the new arrangement.