- Dec 22, 2006
- AFL Club
- Carlton
- Other Teams
- Tottenham Hotspur
Dale Thomas is sitting on 47 games for Carlton, if you excluded his Collingwood career he would be in the conversation.. Liam Jones is on 83 career games

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Zeph came from a small community near Fitzroy Crossing in the East Kimberley. The change from going there to Melbourne would have been a different world for him and a massive cultural change. He was an absolute gun playing footy up there, so to say he had no discernible weapons is well and try off the money. He was quick for his size, agile, fantastic leap and mark. If you travel up around where he can from and lived there, you would realise that there are many indigenous players up there that are easily as good as many AFL footballers playing today. The reason they dont succeed in the AFL has nothing to do with a lack of ability.Zephi Skinner had no discernible weapons whatsoever and he could not do even the simple things well. Was a speculative late draft pick and played like one.
Im yet to see a player worse than Jarrod Oakley-Nichols
Legend has it that he was picked sight unseen by Greg Miller.
He never saw him play in the flesh or met him. Only watched him on tape.
Hard to believe...but
Zeph came from a small community near Fitzroy Crossing in the East Kimberley. The change from going there to Melbourne would have been a different world for him and a massive cultural change. He was an absolute gun playing footy up there, so to say he had no discernible weapons is well and try off the money. He was quick for his size, agile, fantastic leap and mark. If you travel up around where he can from and lived there, you would realise that there are many indigenous players up there that are easily as good as many AFL footballers playing today. The reason they dont succeed in the AFL has nothing to do with a lack of ability.
Yes you are right. Zeph Skinner was happy to spend his time fishing and hunting and having a kick on a Saturday afternoon. Having taught in a remote indigenous community before, in many ways it was like a third world country. The chances of Zeph Skinner making it as an AFL player were very small. Not because of lack of talent, because of where he comes from. If people are going to name players as the worst AFL player they have seen, they need to be bit better and not name someone like Zeph Skinner.He might have had footy talent, but it may not have fit or may not have been able to be harnessed into productivity within the AFL environment and structures, both on and off the field. That's no knock on him, as sometimes it just doesn't work out, regardless of where you come from. The question is always there for guys like Skinner though, from remote areas and non-traditional or comparatively unstructured footy pathways - How will they adapt, and how long will it take?
From memory he left the game through homesickness.He might have had footy talent, but it may not have fit or may not have been able to be harnessed into productivity within the AFL environment and structures, both on and off the field. That's no knock on him, as sometimes it just doesn't work out, regardless of where you come from. The question is always there for guys like Skinner though, from remote areas and non-traditional or comparatively unstructured footy pathways - How will they adapt, and how long will it take?
Isn't he "the future"???John butcher is terrible. Still on ports list but can't get a game which is telling
Todd Elton giving it a real shake...![]()
I think you're giving him too much credit...Todd is about at that ex Melbourne guy Michael Newton's level...ie very very ordinary.
But they both have a bit on Liam McBean i reckon.
I can only go on what I saw on the field at senior AFL level and he simply wasn't up to it on any conceivable level - all the attributes that he might have shown in his local league were never showcased in the AFL, or even the VFL to be honest. The pressure to perform even the simplest and most basic skills against the best players in the country was proven to be well beyond him - I'm sure there were factors outside of the game that contributed but he gave it a crack at least. I wish him well.Zeph came from a small community near Fitzroy Crossing in the East Kimberley. The change from going there to Melbourne would have been a different world for him and a massive cultural change. He was an absolute gun playing footy up there, so to say he had no discernible weapons is well and try off the money. He was quick for his size, agile, fantastic leap and mark. If you travel up around where he can from and lived there, you would realise that there are many indigenous players up there that are easily as good as many AFL footballers playing today. The reason they dont succeed in the AFL has nothing to do with a lack of ability.
No worries Sedat. I think that Zeph just came from a different world and wasnt happy with life in Melbourne. Couldnt get used to the training required. Saw him playing in Darwin a few years ago and he looked happy and was doing some pretty special things out there.I can only go on what I saw on the field at senior AFL level and he simply wasn't up to it on any conceivable level - all the attributes that he might have shown in his local league were never showcased in the AFL, or even the VFL to be honest. The pressure to perform even the simplest and most basic skills against the best players in the country was proven to be well beyond him - I'm sure there were factors outside of the game that contributed but he gave it a crack at least. I wish him well.
How this has been allowed to occur is one of the greatest mysteries of all times. You forgot to mention the 5 clangers and 3 HTB FA... but apparently he puts on a few decent blocks per game and has a decent left hoof. Other than that, we are devoid of clues that will allow us to solve this perplexion. Although it does appear he has run his race, which makes us all feel rather grateful. Anyone want him at the end of this year?nick suban averages 13.2 disposals a game as a midfielder and has some how managed to play 146 games
In any event he didn't play 50 games so doesn't fit the criteria for the thread.I can only go on what I saw on the field at senior AFL level and he simply wasn't up to it on any conceivable level - all the attributes that he might have shown in his local league were never showcased in the AFL, or even the VFL to be honest. The pressure to perform even the simplest and most basic skills against the best players in the country was proven to be well beyond him - I'm sure there were factors outside of the game that contributed but he gave it a crack at least. I wish him well.
No chance, McBean won a VFL leader goalkicker award (yes I know this is about AFL players), was very strong in the reserves but just wasn't able to put that into AFL performance as he wasn't physically strong enough to play key forward, played like a small forward.Todd is about at that ex Melbourne guy Michael Newton's level...ie very very ordinary.
But they both have a bit on Liam McBean i reckon.