Would Hobart need a new stadium?

I agree with this, when I travelled to Adelaide the only time the city had a lot of people in it was the night the footy game was on at Adelaide oval, it brought the city to life.
Yep. When people go to the footy in Melbourne it's not just a case of go to the game and go home. They go for dinner/drinks before and after. The other major advantage of the site is it's the perfect site to showcase Hobart to tourists.

I doubt it will get built though due to Hobart being so left-wing and there being no incentive for liberal governments to spend money there.

What we need is for federal Labor to come out in support of a stadium in the hopes of winning the seat back off Andrew Wilkie (who is basically a Green and against a new stadium in Hobart).

Yep. When people go to the footy in Melbourne it's not just a case of go to the game and go home. They go for dinner/drinks before and after. The other major advantage of the site is it's the perfect site to showcase Hobart to tourists.

I doubt it will get built though due to Hobart being so left-wing and there being no incentive for liberal governments to spend money there.

What we need is for federal Labor to come out in support of a stadium in the hopes of winning the seat back off Andrew Wilkie (who is basically a Green and against a new stadium in Hobart).

I did read about this actually they knocked the stadium idea on the head because they didn't want it to end up like docklands in Melbourne which is seen as a waste of prime real estate how that whole area has been developed and not very popular. I think they got MONA to design the site.

It is a good point they should approach labor to get on board although they would need to be fast as the election is on in a few months time.

Imo it just has to be Macquarie Point. The location is absolutely perfect and would be great for all of the bars and restaurants in the city as well as for tourism. No work's been started on the site yet, so it's not too late for them to fu** off their "truth park" or whatever it's called and put a stadium on the site instead.

Just need the government to be bolder than Tassie governments have been in the past. Luckily, I think Gutwein is a lot more ambitious with Tassie sport than others have been in the past.
They are already doing some work in that location and I don't see the plans changing for that site now after all the work that has gone into the plans.

I did read about this actually they knocked the stadium idea on the head because they didn't want it to end up like docklands in Melbourne which is seen as a waste of prime real estate how that whole area has been developed and not very popular. I think they got MONA to design the site.

It is a good point they should approach labor to get on board although they would need to be fast as the election is on in a few months time.
A park (that we have plenty of) and a bunch of apartments seems like more of a waste of the land than a multipurpose inner city stadium.

Everybody hates Docklands because the design of it is so lifeless, not because they put a footy stadium there.

They are already doing some work in that location and I don't see the plans changing for that site now after all the work that has gone into the plans.
I think it's hard for them to change their mind on Mac Point because they've already done that (and been criticised for it) several times.

In reality, no one's started building anything yet and they haven't even finished siteworks yet so it's not too late. Will be soon though!

Any Dumb f%$ker can see that if we do get any rail redevelopment. it needs to link from Hobart CBD out to the growing Brighton area. Just building it from the City to Glenorchy, 6km, is just a Stupid waste of money & solves nothing.
Gotta start somewhere. It's an easier political sell to start with a shorter line that costs less money. It's also an easier sell to link an operating railway line to Brighton than it is to propose an entirely new line from there to the CBD. The best idea is whichever one convinces the state and federal governments to open their wallets and start building.

Thankfully the whole silly idea of a rail link has been canned, finally.

The old rail corridor does need to be used. Something like modern electric busses which can go off either end of the rail corridor would be fine. Cheaper & more useful as part of an overall public transport plan.

Would there be enough space for these buses to go in each direction though? Doesn't look like that wide of an area.

I wouldn't call it silly at all. It's a fine idea, and rail is always more energy efficient than buses due to rolling resistance being lower.

How do you know they're cheaper and more useful? Can you cite an analysis that proves this?

I wouldn't call it silly at all. It's a fine idea, and rail is always more energy efficient than buses due to rolling resistance being lower.

How do you know they're cheaper and more useful? Can you cite an analysis that proves this?

Do you know much about the proposal? Or the history of passenger rail in Hobart? Given I mentioned electric buses power by hydro electricity, I don't think 'resistance' has much to do with the overall costs of running any sort of system.

Cheaper than a complete rebuild of the rail system. Latest report costed it at $685 mil. How much would some electric buses & some tar to run on cost? Even a modern driverless system. Less than $685 I'd recon.

Do you know much about the proposal? Or the history of passenger rail in Hobart?
Yes. You may not remember, but I've extensively quoted the two business cases on light rail in Hobart to you in previous posts.

Given I mentioned electric buses power by hydro electricity, I don't think 'resistance' has much to do with the overall costs of running any sort of system.
Yes it does. No matter how you generate power, some uses of it will be more efficient than others. I work in the transport industry and I know full well that running steel on steel requires less power per unit of mass compared to rubber on bitumen, due to rolling resistance being lower.

Cheaper than a complete rebuild of the rail system. Latest report costed it at $685 mil. How much would some electric buses & some tar to run on cost? Even a modern driverless system. Less than $685 I'd recon.
Find a full cost analysis (or do it yourself) and then you can make firm declarations instead of merely saying "I'd reckon". I hope you're aware that an electric bus has a lower capacity than a light rail vehicle, so you need more of them to move the same number of people, which will increase the cost. You also need charging stations at certain points along the line.

Yes. You may not remember, but I've extensively quoted the two business cases on light rail in Hobart to you in previous posts.

Yes it does. No matter how you generate power, some uses of it will be more efficient than others. I work in the transport industry and I know full well that running steel on steel requires less power per unit of mass compared to rubber on bitumen, due to rolling resistance being lower.

Find a full cost analysis (or do it yourself) and then you can make firm declarations instead of merely saying "I'd reckon". I hope you're aware that an electric bus has a lower capacity than a light rail vehicle, so you need more of them to move the same number of people, which will increase the cost. You also need charging stations at certain points along the line.

I think its obvious theirs lower resistance on rail. I just dont think its relevant to the overall discussion.

How could anyone justify the cost of $685mil for such a limited project. The growth areas of Hobart get no benefit from it.

Just remember why the rail ceased in the first place.

Bellerive is a beautiful little cricket ground, but it's never been fit for purpose as an AFL ground regardless of how many upgrades they've made.

But - and I've been repeating his for years - successful stadiums in Australia are, almost without exception, located in CBDs or just on their outskirts. The TCA Ground is just a nightmare location and, along with the "ABC roundabout" is everything that's wrong with Hobart's shitty traffic design for anyone traveling from the east or the south.

So IMO, unless you're going to develop Macquarie Point you haven't really got an option. Jesus, could you imagine if they tried to acquire land to develop North Hobart Oval. That'd be fun to watch as an outsider who knows the area well.

It's really an issue that only Tasmanians can determine. There are questions that they need to ask:
  • What do we need a better facility for and what do we want it to do?
  • How are our existing facilities failing us, or why is there a perception that these facilities are not meeting our needs?
  • Can those issues be addressed more affordably by land purchases of adjacent property and upgrading the existing stadium(s)?
  • Is it cheaper to cut our losses and build at a Greenfield site?
  • If so, where is the best location?

It's happening!!!!!

Not quite yet, but it is the first step

The Regatta Foreshore is less central than Mac Point but should be fairly accessible with the right supporting infrastructure built nearby.

Attachments

• FCB51B83-A8B3-49E3-8713-AF4F979C6CA5.jpeg
    FCB51B83-A8B3-49E3-8713-AF4F979C6CA5.jpeg
    367.3 KB · Views: 41
Not quite yet, but it is the first step

The Regatta Foreshore is less central than Mac Point but should be fairly accessible with the right supporting infrastructure built nearby.
The two new footbridges just built will come in handy for foot traffic to/from the CBD. Connection to the rest of the waterfront might be a bit ugly until the Macquarie Point development is done, but Rome wasn't built in a day.

Its a great spot for access off the highway + via ferry from the Eastern shore.

The two new footbridges just built will come in handy for foot traffic to/from the CBD. Connection to the rest of the waterfront might be a bit ugly until the Macquarie Point development is done, but Rome wasn't built in a day.

Its a great spot for access off the highway + via ferry from the Eastern shore.

The Regatta foreshore is effectively the Hobart Cenotaph. I'm not sure now they could fit it in.

The CBD is a short walk along the waterfront. A good spot for a drink after a game. ;)

If somehow such a plan can be realised, the nature Mac Point's development may change. Right now we're none the wiser as to what Mac Point will be. We have no real plan.

So a Stadium may stimulate Mac Point to become a top residential & entertainment area, right next to the waterfront.

I dont know where the money would come from, but this is a positive story at least

The Regatta foreshore is effectively the Hobart Cenotaph. I'm not sure now they could fit it in.

The CBD is a short walk along the waterfront. A good spot for a drink after a game. ;)

If somehow such a plan can be realised, the nature Mac Point's development may change. Right now we're none the wiser as to what Mac Point will be. We have no real plan.

So a Stadium may stimulate Mac Point to become a top residential & entertainment area, right next to the waterfront.

I dont know where the money would come from, but this is a positive story at least
Very positive news indeed and apparently the AFL head office are now very supportive of a Tassie team so things are definitely looking more positive than ever.

The article mentioned that the stadium would encompass the current regatta grandstand and foreshore area, potentially jutting out over the water a bit, so I imagine something roughly like this:

Stadium-location.jpg

The article mentioned that the stadium would encompass the current regatta grandstand and foreshore area, potentially jutting out over the water a bit, so I imagine something roughly like this:

View attachment 1335834

Yes. Do you realise how steep that bit of foreshore is? Its not flat as the photo looks. The infill & structure needed on the circle as it appears would be HUGE!! The would add many many $millions to the cost of such a project

In realty, I think they'd need to move the Cenotaph over about 50 metres. The RSL might yet balk at that.

Anyway, its a start.

Yes. Do you realise how steep that bit of foreshore is? Its not flat as the photo looks. The infill & structure needed on the circle as it appears would be HUGE!! The would add many many $millions to the cost of such a project

In realty, I think they'd need to move the Cenotaph over about 50 metres. The RSL might yet balk at that.

Anyway, its a start.
It would also need to possibly include a roof because a stadium out onto the Derwent river would be one of the coldest locations in Hobart in winter,very interesting times ahead for sure.

Anyway, its a start.
Yeah it certainly doesn't seem like it would be cheap ... I guess we'll find out what the government's plan is tomorrow when Papi announces it.

It would also need to possibly include a roof because a stadium out onto the Derwent river would be one of the coldest locations in Hobart in winter,very interesting times ahead for sure.

Geez I hope some one has a fat wallet 'cause that'll cost a mint.