News Yarran Charged

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Didn't see it , but the commentators on 91.3 were surprised he was reported, as they didn't see much in it.
Well the commentators were wrong as the MRP of WAFL judged that Shane did strike the Swans player. I was at the game and IMO Shane did strike the SD player in the stomach right in front of the umpire The offence drew a 1 match penalty and he was offered a reprimand on an early plea.

I did and it was wet lettuce leaf stuff. No damage to the other player. 50 metre penalty and get on with the game. Umpire bias in full view.
Hey Salim Yarren copped a penalty for the strike so it wasn't a wet lettuce situation. He was penalised for 1 match reduced to a reprimand for an early plea. Us young blokes sometimes get it right ha ha :thumbsu::D:p

I used to help people from other countries settle here during the mining boom. One guy, a highly paid and regarded Jr. Executive was at welcoming drinks with his colleagues when they decided to kick on in North Bridge. He was new to the company so hadn't had much to drink and a lot less than most of the others. When they got to the club all the others got in but he was told he was drunk so couldn't come in. While he was outside trying to call and text the only number he had for the group inside he got a move on notice that he didn't really know what was for but he started to leave and then the guy inside called back and said he was coming out to get him. When he turned around and went back not 5 minutes later the cops arrested him. He wasn't drunk or rude he was from Kenya. Welcome to Perth. It was bloody embarrassing. So I'll wait for more info on Shane Yarran before I have an opinion.

Likewise. I work in criminal law and have seen plenty of incidents similar to the one described above.

I will withhold judgment until we have more information.

I was pleased when we drafted Yarran as Ive loved watching him in the WAFL over the last 2 years (seen him destroy my falcons many times) and I'm all for second chances for people who've done their time. Fair to say that it hasn't really worked out for him so far and given that the club is preparing for a rebuilding phase rather than a role at the flag this season, it's hard to see him playing too many games for us. But I hope I'm wrong.

Pity, a bit of respect goes a long way.

Respect for your country and the opportunities you have been given, respect for the ANZACS, respect for the Ambos, Emergency Services, the armed forces who do our fighting for us and yes respect for the police who have a shit job to do.

But you continue on thinking everyone needs to earn your respect, it seems to fit the new thing " it's all about me" well I don't think it is.

The police might be doing a shit job, but it's their chosen vocation, they aint doing it for free to serve mankind like mother Theresa, they prefer it to flipping burgers, being a cop doesn't entitle someone to a nice person medallion.

To quote you "a bit of respect goes a long way". Respect only works when it's 2 ways, not one way. That's why the senior officer returns a salute these days and that it's mantra that you salute the uniform being worn and not the person (who you might despise). Not long ago, respect only flowed upwards to lord higgletybottom and since you mention the Anzac, if you knew your ww1 history, Australia was not fond of that and we removed ourselves from that nonsense midwar to be served by our own senior officers - and respected by those senior officers.

Police need to show respect as much as they should receive respect. Sure, the public fail to respect them, but they are the ones being paid by the public and they have more onus to show respect than to be accorded it. I've been a model citizen but harassed when I was younger for minding my own business while walking down the street on numerous occasions, my crimes being youth, long hair and ear rings. I've thanked the cops on occasions when they've earned it, but it is wrong to kowtow just because they are police - they aint our feudal overlords.

giphy.gif

What this thread is becoming

I used to help people from other countries settle here during the mining boom. One guy, a highly paid and regarded Jr. Executive was at welcoming drinks with his colleagues when they decided to kick on in North Bridge. He was new to the company so hadn't had much to drink and a lot less than most of the others. When they got to the club all the others got in but he was told he was drunk so couldn't come in. While he was outside trying to call and text the only number he had for the group inside he got a move on notice

Pretty much exactly how I got mine too. Refused entry to the pub, stood outside trying to call my mates who were inside already, got a move on notice.

The police might be doing a shit job, but it's their chosen vocation, they aint doing it for free to serve mankind like mother Theresa, they prefer it to flipping burgers, being a cop doesn't entitle someone to a nice person medallion.
Very much the attitude of people who leave a filthy mess in their hotel room and say the cleaners are paid to clean up after them.

Very much what is wrong with our society.

Let's all sit behind our keyboards and bag out the guys who put their lives on the line for us and our families because not all if them get it right all the time.

Here's my cop story. Back in the day, like many people I used to regularly drive home from the pub pissed. Cops picked me up one night and I lost my licence for six months, lost my job and ended up having to move interstate.

I have never driven over the limit since, and I thanks my lucky stars for those cops every time I see an innocent person killed because some idiot just like me was pissed behind the wheel.

I'm not blindly defending cops, but if the worst thing that ever happened to you was a move on notice or a yellow sticker you didn't deserve you have had a pretty blessed life.

Due in no small part to the cops that so many here are keen to bash.

I will continue to respect our police and the work they do - but feel free to continue to yap about how hard done by you are in this terrible country.

And this I the same attitude as people who point to a violent crime and say "see, another black crime".

It is hard to argue against bigotry of any kind.

And this I the same attitude as people who point to a violent crime and say "see, another black crime".

It is hard to argue against bigotry of any kind.
Nobody is saying the police don't do their jobs, it's just they don't ALL do their jobs, and you can't blame certain sectors of the population for not exactly welcoming all police with open arms. I'm sure a majority are decent, fair and honest people, but there are also a proportion who a drawn to the job because it gives them a certain amount of power.

Guys can we get a bit of perspective here?

I have many friends that are cops (ex-army, a lot transition into police and ambos) and most are pretty decent dudes just trying to help. And yeah, most of them have said they have worked with openly racist cops (usually the older ones been in 20 years) and say that they pull rank when the younger, level headed copper just says a quickly worded "it's ok mate, move on".

I'm in the camp of wait and see what happens, and with a plethora of indigenous mates I know exactly what they face that as a white male I never will when dealing with police. However, Shane Yarren, by the letter of the law did the wrong thing. Let's not bash cops here, and lets not make out that Shane was just minding his own business (he very well could've been) but the continual "cops are shit" banter doesn't serve anyone on a friggin FOOTY FORUM. I've been wrongly arrested by arseh*le cops before and also had the cops go above and beyond what they were supposed to to help me. Let's get back to talking footy guys, this threads becoming a shitfight.

Hopefully Shane fully recovers from this and plays all matches next year, he's an exciting talent.

Nobody is saying the police don't do their jobs, it's just they don't ALL do their jobs, and you can't blame certain sectors of the population for not exactly welcoming all police with open arms. I'm sure a majority are decent, fair and honest people, but there are also a proportion who a drawn to the job because it gives them a certain amount of power.
This is exactly my point Sweetback. They are not all perfect, no section of society is, but this thread has degenerated into a series of anecdotes about how badly people are treated by cops.

A little balance goes a long way.

Anyways, I have made my point, I'll leave it at that.

This is exactly my point Sweetback. They are not all perfect, no section of society is, but this thread has degenerated into a series of anecdotes about how badly people are treated by cops.

A little balance goes a long way.

Anyways, I have made my point, I'll leave it at that.
Yeah, and the balance is that you can trust some cops and you can't trust others, but how do you know which ones to trust when you first meet them? Some of us will give them the benefit of the doubt from the outset, and some of us don't. It really boils down to personal experience, and in the context of this discussion about Yarran and WA police, it's brought up to remind those of us who jump on Yarran first that there may be other sides to the story.

I have many friends that are cops (ex-army, a lot transition into police and ambos) and most are pretty decent dudes just trying to help. And yeah, most of them have said they have worked with openly racist cops (usually the older ones been in 20 years) and say that they pull rank when the younger, level headed copper just says a quickly worded "it's ok mate, move on".

I'm in the camp of wait and see what happens, and with a plethora of indigenous mates I know exactly what they face that as a white male I never will when dealing with police. However, Shane Yarren, by the letter of the law did the wrong thing. Let's not bash cops here, and lets not make out that Shane was just minding his own business (he very well could've been) but the continual "cops are shit" banter doesn't serve anyone on a friggin FOOTY FORUM. I've been wrongly arrested by arseh*le cops before and also had the cops go above and beyond what they were supposed to to help me. Let's get back to talking footy guys, this threads becoming a shitfight.

Hopefully Shane fully recovers from this and plays all matches next year, he's an exciting talent.
I thought the discussion had been very level headed with people putting their cases forward. Yeah it's a footy forum, but footy is a microcosm of the world, or at least of Australia. Eddie Maguire reminds us of that, so does Adam Goodes and Nicky Winmar. It's not just a game that is played out on the oval, often it's our national consciousness, so it's totally appropriate for these discussions to be taking place.

Hey Salim Yarren copped a penalty for the strike so it wasn't a wet lettuce situation. He was penalised for 1 match reduced to a reprimand for an early plea. Us young blokes sometimes get it right ha ha :thumbsu::D:p

Nah,it was soft as .The offended player didn't go to ground and ran straight down to the new 50 metre penalty mark. We all know there are different rules for different players.

I thought those of us cautioning against the police are being measured, and the ones blindly defending them are resorting to name calling.
I don't have anything against the police, I just don't trust they always have my interests at heart.

Wow so your side of the argument is the only "measured" side and the other side is blind - hmmm

I suggest you go back to Clems Knee excellent post

"Surely respect should be the default position, whether there is a uniform or not? i like to think people have to earn my disrespect."

Good response and I will leave it there.

Wow so your side of the argument is the only "measured" side and the other side is blind - hmmm

I suggest you go back to Clems Knee excellent post

"Surely respect should be the default position, whether there is a uniform or not? i like to think people have to earn my disrespect."
Nope, I wasn't that unequivocal.

The worst people in the world are the police shamers who think it's their right to video record officers doing their job while they disrespectfully abuse them.

Nah,it was soft as .The offended player didn't go to ground and ran straight down to the new 50 metre penalty mark. We all know there are different rules for different players.
salim malik That's a load of crap.ha ha