Your 3k time trial??

• Thread starter Thread starter tige19

I think what he is getting at is the fact that there is too much focus these days on athletic performance and not enough on genuine football skill - not knocking the bloke that posted the time in any part cos he may well be a gun footballer!!

I am in training for the Perth C2S half marathon and ran 12.3km in 48:22 @3:56/km on the weekend with the first 3km run in 11:48 according to the Garmin.

Never done a 3km time trial. In my last preseason though we did 2km on a loop with some gradients. I was the fastest at the club with 7:05.

I don't play anymore, but my goal is 5km under 20 minutes and 10km under 40 minutes. 193cm and 72kg.

Never done a 3km time trial. In my last preseason though we did 2km on a loop with some gradients. I was the fastest at the club with 7:05.

I don't play anymore, but my goal is 5km under 20 minutes and 10km under 40 minutes. 193cm and 72kg.
Flat 4s is a good goal mate. I'm running the Perth C2S on Sunday and hoping for a sub 85 min half marathon which is 4:02s over 21.1km. Will be ecstatic if I can get there in under 84:24 (4:00/km avg) but those extra 2 seconds per km will add up in the legs over 21km.

Came in at a touch over 85 mins beating last year's PB by about 30 secs. The average pace would have been equivalent to a 3km time trial of 12:07.

That's a great time jackfrost, have you ever run a marathon? I'm running the Melbourne marathon in October my first one. Did a 35km slow run yesterday & actually surprised myself 2 hours 57 mins (5:03)kms.
Well done! I've always said marathon runners are crazy and I wont have the time to put in the km but I think I'll give it a go next year and set my sights on a sub 3

Flat 4s is a good goal mate. I'm running the Perth C2S on Sunday and hoping for a sub 85 min half marathon which is 4:02s over 21.1km. Will be ecstatic if I can get there in under 84:24 (4:00/km avg) but those extra 2 seconds per km will add up in the legs over 21km.

I run half-marathons myself, my first half was the Gold Coast half this year with a time just over 100 minutes, and I did another half-marathon 4 weeks ago at the devil-bend in Mornington and got under 100 minutes. I am finding running the loner distances are getting alot easier to more I do.

I am planning to run another 2 half-marathons in the next 4 weeks, Bairnsdale on the 16th of September and the Sri Chinmoy on the 23rd in Abbottsford. I am also planning to run in the Singapore half next year as well as the Berlin half.

I run half-marathons myself, my first half was the Gold Coast half this year with a time just over 100 minutes, and I did another half-marathon 4 weeks ago at the devil-bend in Mornington and got under 100 minutes. I am finding running the loner distances are getting alot easier to more I do.

I am planning to run another 2 half-marathons in the next 4 weeks, Bairnsdale on the 16th of September and the Sri Chinmoy on the 23rd in Abbottsford. I am also planning to run in the Singapore half next year as well as the Berlin half.

Thats a good time mate =) do u live on the coast or just up for a visit? idid my first half marathom at the Gold Coast aswell. Had ever run that distance previously (10km was my max) but finished in 77minutes which i was pretty stoked with. Have picked up the training and running 17km 4-5 yimes a week so hopefully should improve by the time i start my next one.

That's a great time!

No I flew to the GC just for the half-marathon; caught up with some of my wife's friends so it worked out well.

It was my first ever half-marathon, my previous longest was the Melbourne 14.5 km run for the kids in Melbourne this year; 1 hour 10 minutes.

I only started my distance running in May last year at 40 (after having not run in over 20 years) when I ran in the Perth 12.5km C2S; 1 hour 7 minutes.

I am running in 2 half-marathons in September, the Bairnsdale Half-Marathon on the 16th and the Sri Chinmoy Half-Marathon at the Yarra Bend on the 23rd.

My plan is to run in the Singapore Half in May as I will be up there for business for 6 months from February, and maybe running in the Berlin half in April I believe.

My goal is to get my half-marathon time down under 90 minutes by the end of the year; a goal I think is not bad for a 42 year old who would have only been running for 18 months!

I am running about 90-120 km's per month when I can with work commitments; mostly around Albert Park Lake or stuck running k's on a treadmill whilst working away.

How the bloody hell do you all get such great times, I am very unfit when I'm just constantly running, I am about a 19 minute 3km runner, any idea of a good running schedule and how fit I would be able to be by next March, I know that everyone is different but I would like a rough estimate thanks :)

i am doing a 5.5km circuit around home now and ran a 24.30 last week for it. I'm looking to increase the distances not get the times down so i'll be focusing on tacking an extra km at the expense of pace for a few weeks then lift the pace at 6.5km, then increase distance again and so on. Seems to work well for me, does anyone have a better way to bring up distance?

slow down, run further. easy pace.
do tempo runs at a distance you're comfortable with
do intervals. smash them, the only way to get faster is to run faster.

your distance will increase and eventually the speed work will transfer to your long runs. plus it adds a bit of variety instead of running the same loop at the same pace all the time

Well this thread had stood the test of time!! Good to see so many fit and healthy athletes posting here, and also the guys that aren't at the fitness levels of some working there bums off. Well now as a 27yr old I'm finding it harder with injuries and natural deterioration of my body from footy to run a good time! Currently in finals and with a prelim coming up haven't done much running as such, I didn't play on the weekend due to an arm issue so will smash out a 3km this arvo..

176cm - 77kg, looking back when I started this thread I was 81kgs so I've dropped a few, probably due to the fact my diet is better and I'm not really bulk training.

Best is 11:14. Middle of January on the road for a North Adelaide training camp.
Bout 190cm and 75kg

Just completed the melbourne marathon, ran it in 3hrs 10 minutes. First marathon after playing AFL senior football for19 years . A great atmosphere, really got that buzz you get when you win a game definitely worth the hard training.
Awesome stuff

Just completed the melbourne marathon, ran it in 3hrs 10 minutes. First marathon after playing AFL senior football for19 years . A great atmosphere, really got that buzz you get when you win a game definitely worth the hard training.

Excellent effort. :thumbsu: What was your training like?

I didn't train properly at all, with longest training runs ~20km and a ~28km both coming less than three weeks before the full mara. Ended up finishing in 4:16:57, which is about what I expected.

Looking to reduce lap of Albert Park to sub-20's and go from there. PB at the moment is just under 22 mins.

I got my best time in the 2.4km run a week ago - 8:55. I was surprised that I am finishing 2.4km one minute quicker than the quickest AFL draft hopefuls finish their 3km time trial, because I have never considered myself even a half reasonable middle distance runner. I am more about endurance and up hill running. Not sure what my 3km time trial would work out to be, but it would be somewhere around 11:20-30, which would have me finishing towards the back end of the pack at the draft camp, I guess.