Your Club in 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Fitzey

hmm including likely draftees and a lot of wishful thinking.

b/ morris - chaplin - grimes
hb/ batchelor - rance - dea.
c/ deledio - cotchin - grigg
hf/ stringer - lee/elton - knights.
f/ martin - riewoldt - vickery/griffiths
r/ maric - tuck - foley
int/ moloney - conca - ellis - newman.

chaplin - fa
knights - fa
stringer nd 9
lee - nd 31
moloney psd

tom lee from claremont?

i hope he slips that low, has been very prominent for the tiges in WA. exactly what we need in our dysfunctional forward line

Top 4 sounds like it's going to be crowded next year.

I reckon the Lions will end up around 10th. Would be pretty happy with that personally.

Think the eagles will finish anywhere from 1st to 6th. Have us down with a range of 14-18 wins. Personally think we'll finish on 17 wins with a percentage of 130 and slip into second spot with the hawks finishing top in a geelong of 2008 styled year.

Carlton to be the big upward movers, Collingwood to be the big downward movers if they lose cloke.

Worsfold to obviously still be coach, glass to stand down as captain in his final year for the club and Waters to get the captaincy with scott selwood given the vice captaincy.

Structural changes in the player group and to the team.
NEGATIVES
Nicoski will play less than 5 games and will retire at the end of the season (possibly forced retirement by the club but won't be put that way as he is a great clubman)
Embley to retire
Glass to retire
Lynch to retire
Koby stevens to have a breakout season for a club other than us.

POSITIVES
Lecras, Kennedy and Darling to combine for 150+ goals for the season.
Naitanui to put all doubters aside everywhere around the country and show to all clubs that he is our number 1 ruckman.
Brad Sheppard to have a breakout season and play 20+ games for us.
Scott Selwood to have a season the quality of Kieran Jack this year and be a potential AA whilst also getting 20 brownlow votes.
Brent Moloney to come to us, play 20 games for the season while priddis has a very injury interrupted year and improve our midfield.

B&F winner: Scott Selwood.
Highest goal scorer: JK with 65
AA: Nicnat, Lecras (others should make it but a correctional year on this year by the panel as seems to happen at times)

Best 22 for the year
FB: Brennan Glass Waters
HB: Schofield Mckenzie Hurn
C: Rosa Moloney Gaff
HF: Masten Kennedy Lecras
FF: Dick Darling Hill
R: Nicnat Kerr S Selwood
INT: Cox Shuey Sheppard Mcginnity

Lastly Daniel Kerr to win the norm smith medal in a losing team.

Final 8 after H+A
Hawks (geelong of 2008 style season, but will have a shock prelim final loss) 20 wins
West Coast (as discussed above) 17 wins
Sydney (have another very good season but lose the close ones in H+A but win the grand final by 1 point after winning the prelim against hawthorn) 16 wins
Fremantle (they will pick up goddard in off season) 15 wins and a draw
Carlton (will get cloke and gibbs will have a murphy of 2011 season putting all his doubters to rest) 15 wins
Essendon (will sort out their injury issues, start the season a bit slower but be a much better overall side. Ryder to make AA team) 14 wins and a draw
Adelaide (will lose tippett) 13 wins
North (exact opposite of this year, will start on fire and finish poorly) 13 wins

Coaches: Mckenna to be sacked
Voss to be sacked

Top 4 sounds like it's going to be crowded next year.

I reckon the Lions will end up around 10th. Would be pretty happy with that personally.

Can't really think of a club whose supporters are anticipating a drop-off. St.Kilda is the obvious one IMO, but the club has got the supporters in a positive frame of mind by talking up its prospects.

Coaches: Mckenna to be sacked
Voss to be sacked

Not beyond the realms of possibility, but we'd need a really horrible season for Vossy to lose his job. With still low expectations surrounding the group, you'd think we'd have to win 6 or less and show very little or no development in our youngsters for it to happen. Would require us to go backwards in a major way, hence why I haven't seen many others predict it recently - but I guess you're still filthy about round 10 :p

As for McKenna, it could happen, but I think it would be unfair on him personally. What's really expected from them next year? To be a bit more competitive, sure, but I don't think you can judge McKenna until 2014 at the earliest.

I think Hird might find himself under more than a little pressure if the Bombers have a season similar to this year. Also think that Worsfold, Buckley and Longmire could be in a bit of hot water if their clubs under-perform, as all three have clubs with proven pretty strong lists right now, so if they fell away it could cause some questions to be asked.

Can't really think of a club whose supporters are anticipating a drop-off. St.Kilda is the obvious one IMO, but the club has got the supporters in a positive frame of mind by talking up its prospects.

Which is going to lead to nothing but disappointment, sadly. I think Geelong, Fremantle, St Kilda, Adelaide, Collingwood and even Carlton (could go either way) fans might be quite let down by how next season unfolds.

I still think North and Richmond will be the two clubs to really announce themselves and push for the top four, and I also reckon we might see a more competitive Bulldogs side. Not finals worthy - not even close, most likely - but they'll elevate themselves from the bottom rung up to the bottom-middle rung that the Lions are currently at.

I hardly dare hope. We've been in this position before, but rarely with as much potential or with the club in anything like the shape it's in off the field. Everything points to us making a leap, but it's difficult to nominate clubs above us who I'm confident we'll overtake. The gap between 1st and 13th is the second-smallest ever (after 1997)...luck with injuries is going to play an enormous part in settling the order.

Voss is back on track now for mine; list regaining some shape. The coaches most at risk are McKenna and Neeld IMO.

Bailey, last 27 games: 11W-15L-1D, 90.70%
Melbourne, 27 games after Bailey: 5W-22L, 69.96%

That's pretty damning for a young club with as much latent talent as Melbourne. They have to make a jump in 2013.

Not beyond the realms of possibility, but we'd need a really horrible season for Vossy to lose his job. With still low expectations surrounding the group, you'd think we'd have to win 6 or less and show very little or no development in our youngsters for it to happen. Would require us to go backwards in a major way, hence why I haven't seen many others predict it recently - but I guess you're still filthy about round 10 :p

As for McKenna, it could happen, but I think it would be unfair on him personally. What's really expected from them next year? To be a bit more competitive, sure, but I don't think you can judge McKenna until 2014 at the earliest.

I think Hird might find himself under more than a little pressure if the Bombers have a season similar to this year. Also think that Worsfold, Buckley and Longmire could be in a bit of hot water if their clubs under-perform, as all three have clubs with proven pretty strong lists right now, so if they fell away it could cause some questions to be asked.

Which is going to lead to nothing but disappointment, sadly. I think Geelong, Fremantle, St Kilda, Adelaide, Collingwood and even Carlton (could go either way) fans might be quite let down by how next season unfolds.

I like to make some possible yet slightly out there predictions. If you play it safe you never get anywhere. While i dont think voss has huge expectations i think after this year the board will be thinking of a season at least at the same level as this year. Switch forward over the off season and black and brown are another season older and more likely to fall down and you guys have some key structural players with significant injury histories. A couple of major injuries could really hurt. In saying that if you pick up tippet, the backline holds together and the berger comes back and has a good season next year you guys could significantly improve your standing as i rate some of your youngsters very highly.

Mckenna i think will be marked unfairly and i see him losing his job. I think gold coast while being more competitive wont win many more games. They'll lose the close ones they got up in this year and i think the board and the afl will be expecting significant improvement next year in the W/L column. If they get less than 6 wins for the season i think his bags are out the door. While this may well be unfair i see it as a distinct possibility.

You would have also noticed i tipped collingwood to finish outside the top 8 if they lose cloke. Thats a pretty big call considering their consistancy over the last few years.

I agree with you on hird and while i've tipped for things to go in their favour they could just as easily continue in the manner of the second half of their season which would make the shit really hit the fan.

I think if you want easy money next year put it down on richmond missing the 8. All their best players bar roo jnr had career best seasons this year and they unearthed maric and got some good output from unheralded players. Their list is still very young to my mind and they still have a lot of dead wood and players even in their best 22 who have significant issues in regards to them being afl quality. I find this hard to say as i've always had a soft spot for the tiges but i think they will stay exactly where they are or even fall away a bit before venturing further up the ladder even though they did lose a lot of close games this season. Funnily enough they could actually win more games next season yet have had a much worse year if they win the tight ones.

Mckenna i think will be marked unfairly and i see him losing his job. I think gold coast while being more competitive wont win many more games. They'll lose the close ones they got up in this year and i think the board and the afl will be expecting significant improvement next year in the W/L column. If they get less than 6 wins for the season i think his bags are out the door. While this may well be unfair i see it as a distinct possibility.

Where I gave McKenna/Gold Coast a pass last year, I failed them in 2012. Yeah I know, Richmond are their bitches and they got Ratten sacked, but at face value

2011, 17th, 3 wins, 56.3%
2012, 17th, 3 wins, 60.8%

there was precious little to show for 12 months of development. Tend to agree - ~6 wins needed for McKenna.

What do you think your clubs best 22 will be in 2013?
Hopefully match-fit and not shattered with injuries.

What do you think your club will finish on the lader next year?
Higher than 16th - lower than 1st.

Who do you think will be the coach at your club in season 2013?
The guy playing Barassi in the new stage show.

Who do you want to see at your club in season 2013?
Scott Pendlebury! :D

Best 22 won't changes heaps, good to have LeCras back.

Glass Mackenzie Waters
Hurn Schofield Butler
Rosa S. Selwood Gaff
LeCras Kennedy Masten
Hill Darling Cox

Naitanui Shuey Kerr

Priddis ? ?
S: ?

Those fighting for last few spots: Sheppard, Embley, A. Selwood, Brennan, McGinnity, Nicoski, Lynch, Smith

I think we'll finish between 2-8, depending on draw, luck etc. If we miss out on GC or GWS twice for the third year in a row I'll be pissed.

Woosh will coach.

I'd like to see Wellingham, but don't think it will happen. Think we'll be quiet this off-season.

FB: Stevenson MacKenzie Glass
HB: Hurn Schofield Waters
C: Rosa Masten Gaff
HF: LeCras Darling Hill
FF: Cox Kennedy Dick
R: Naitanui S.Selwood Kerr
I/C: Shuey Priddis Moloney Butler

On the cusp:
Brennan
McGinnity
Brown
Sheppard
Smith
Embley
Stevens
Swift

Depth:
Lynch
Nicoski
A.Selwood
Hams

Ladder Position: 1st - 3rd

Coach: Worsfold

Captain (end 2013): S.Selwood (VC: Waters)

Recruit: Moloney

**** that's some good depth.

By the end of the year I'd be happy if our best team looks like this:

FB: Hibberd Carlisle Dempsey
HB: Heppell Fletcher Hardingham
C: Myers Howlett Stanton
HF: Crameri Hurley Gumbleton
FF: Ryder Daniher Winderlich

R: Bellchambers Watson Zaharakis
B: G:)ddard Hocking Browne Davey

I would love to see us 5th-8th and maybe even winning a final.

Coached by Hird

I'd love to see both Caddy and Goddard join the team, but am hoping the bombers can get their shit together to at least get hold of the latter. I expect nothing - I've been hurt too many times.

What do you think your clubs best 22 will be in 2013?
What do you think your club will finish on the lader next year?
Who do you think will be the coach at your club in season 2013?
Who do you want to see at your club in season 2013?
FB: Guerra, Gibson, Stratton
HB: Birchall, Schoenmakers, Burgoyne
C: Young, Sewell, Smith
HF: Bruest, Franklin, Rioli
FF: Puopolo, Roughead, Gunston
Foll: Hale, Mitchell, Lewis
I/C: Shiels, Whitecross, Suckling, Hodge
Emer: Ellis, Bailey, Savage

Finish 1st or 2nd.

Clarkson.

Duryea, Hallahan, Woodword, Schneider & Wanganeen to debut during the year.
McCauley to stay in the squad.

Geelong could push top 4, we weren't far off it this year, and we let slip a few games we shouldn't have that would have gotten us into the top 4. We will miss some retirements, but the kids will get more games, our best players are still at the club, and we get guys like Menzel, Varcoe and Vardy back for longer periods. Plus guys like Brown and Guthrie will push for more game time.
Chris Scott will remain coach, nothing will knock him out of his spot.
Just recruit some speedy players and we are set!
Def: J. Hunt - Lonergan - Enright
HBF: Mackie - Taylor - Guthrie
Mid: Varcoe - Selwood - Duncan
HFF: Motlop - Podsiadly - Christensen
For: Chapman - Hawkins - S. Johnson
Ruc: West - Bartel -T. Hunt
Int. Kelly - Corey - Vardy - Menzel
Emg. Brown - Stokes - Murdoch

Hopefully, with money to burn, there will be a few decent recruits in the mix as well.

Best 22 (with no changes to the list barring Taz retirement) -

B - Toovey Brown Maxwell
HB - Shaw Reid O'Brien
C - Beams Swan Sidebottom
HF - Thomas Cloke Wellingham
F - Didak Dawes Krakouer
R - Jolly Ball Pendlebury
INT - Blair Goldsack Fasolo Keeffe

EMG - Johnson Macaffer Elliott

Coach - Bucks

Finish - Would expect no less than Top 4

FB: Shaw Richards Smith

HB: Mattner Grundy Johnson

C: Jetta Jack McVeigh

HF: Hannebery Reid O'Keefe

FF: Rohan Goodes McGlynn

R: Mumford Bolton Kennedy

B: Malceski, McGlynn, Parker, Bird

Rohan has a two year injury. Won't play much next year. Mitchell will break into the team probably at the expense of Bird and Bolton (rested). I'd also expect to see a few games from Lamb.

Lions:
Golby - Merrett - Patful
Harwood - Maguire - Adcock
Redden - Rich -Hanley
Rockliff - Brown - Zorko
Green - Lisle - Staker
Leunberger - Black - Raines
INT: Docherty - Polec - Bewick - Beams
EMG: McGrath - Lester - Karnezis

Ladder - 9-13th - another development year before any serious challenge for a top 8 push.

Voss to stay coach.

Code:
B:  Grimes  Chaplin  Morris
HB: Conca    Rance    Houli
C:  Deledio  Cotchin  Grigg
HF: Newman  Vickery  Knights
F:  Martin  Riewoldt  Edwards
R:  Maric    Tuck      Foley
I:  King    Jackson  Griffiths  Nahas (sub)
E:  Dea      Ellis    Batchelor

is the side I'd pick to win a game tomorrow (pending clearances). By the time Round 1 rolls around though, there'll probably be 3-4 differences at least.

i like this, ellis should be in our best 22 thou. swap vickery for martin. I think Martin is a Royce Hart. Great mark, strength and lovely long booming kick, would be hard to stop there. but thats just my opinion

As a Melbourne surporter i would have to agree. :)

I like to make some possible yet slightly out there predictions. If you play it safe you never get anywhere. While i dont think voss has huge expectations i think after this year the board will be thinking of a season at least at the same level as this year. Switch forward over the off season and black and brown are another season older and more likely to fall down and you guys have some key structural players with significant injury histories. A couple of major injuries could really hurt. In saying that if you pick up tippet, the backline holds together and the berger comes back and has a good season next year you guys could significantly improve your standing as i rate some of your youngsters very highly.

You would have also noticed i tipped collingwood to finish outside the top 8 if they lose cloke. Thats a pretty big call considering their consistancy over the last few years.

I agree with you on hird and while i've tipped for things to go in their favour they could just as easily continue in the manner of the second half of their season which would make the shit really hit the fan.

I think if you want easy money next year put it down on richmond missing the 8. All their best players bar roo jnr had career best seasons this year and they unearthed maric and got some good output from unheralded players. Their list is still very young to my mind and they still have a lot of dead wood and players even in their best 22 who have significant issues in regards to them being afl quality. I find this hard to say as i've always had a soft spot for the tiges but i think they will stay exactly where they are or even fall away a bit before venturing further up the ladder even though they did lose a lot of close games this season. Funnily enough they could actually win more games next season yet have had a much worse year if they win the tight ones.

WOW defiantly going to come to you for bets if you think picking a team to miss out on the eight next year is easy lol. Thats why they have the draft, in with the new and out with the old. Cant see us missing out next year mate

FB: Guerra, Gibson, Stratton
HB: Birchall, Schoenmakers, Burgoyne
C: Young, Sewell, Smith
HF: Bruest, Franklin, Rioli
FF: Puopolo, Roughead, Gunston
Foll: Hale, Mitchell, Lewis
I/C: Shiels, Whitecross, Suckling, Hodge
Emer: Ellis, Bailey, Savage

Finish 1st or 2nd.

Clarkson.

Duryea, Hallahan, Woodword, Schneider & Wanganeen to debut during the year.
McCauley to stay in the squad.

I'm not sure we will see much of Whitecross next year.