Swans120

Manly, Waratahs
Saw this being briefly discussed on another thread, so thought this might be a good off season topic.

What was the first Swans game you went to or saw? And what are your memories of it?

My first game that i went to was in 1998, close to the end of the year, i had been watching footy all year with my dad who got me into it as he is a Vic boy (who was a Hawks fan when he was growing up, but has since been converted to a committed Swan) but the first game i went to was against the Saints at the SCG in a QF. As an 8 year old i was caught up by things that made loud noises, so i got a huge kick out of whenever Roosy got the ball and the ROOOOOS went up around the ground. Other things i remember included Mick kicking a few (i think he kicked 4) and doing some awesome and magical things, he has been my favourite ever since (shared that title when Goodesy came along) and we won by 2 points in a really tight finish. Was hooked on it straight away.

And guess who 4 of the 5 players were in that game that were still playing this year?

Baz, Leo, Crouchy and Mick. (Max Hudghton was the other)

I had liked the Swans when i was watching them on tv, but i began to love them when i started going to games at the SCG and seeing them live.

My first game wasn't actually a Swans game. My first game came in 1999 when my parents had someone stumbled on some free tickets to a North Melbourne vs West Coast game at the SCG.

My memories of the game are extremely poor but i remember enjoying myself (im just glad my young mind wasn't warped into becoming a North or West Coast fan :p).

my 1st game was at the scg when we played the brisbane bears my mum and my mums then boy friend took me to the game i remember not caring much about the game all i wanted was a swans flag which with much nagging i got and i remember we came back to win and because of we won & you showed your ticket at maccas you got a free big mac meal...so i was a happy camper!

Another game i was taken to is when locket kicked the 1300th goal (Is that right) i remember my dad threw me over the fence and told me to run i remember looking around a getting scared and then i saw a man with his hand out stretched to me it was a swans player and i regret that i cant remember who it was he took my hand and helped me run over to lockett it was very exciting i kept telling dad i wanted to be an AFL player and he just smiled and said one day Soph

The game that got me hooked was the Geelong vs Swans game at Skilled Stadium in 2007 in the pouring rain Malceski had his top ripped off and we came back to lose by 15 points or less which boosted the team for the following weeks before finals! I was hooked!

But other game that i adored that i watched on tv was the game we smashed Port in 2003 One Word Snides!!!

The remaining games in 05

and 2008 was a massive year for me as a swans supporter i had to much going on with the ressies and players and such!

My earliest semi-clear memory of the Swans was Plugger's 1300th. Unfortunately we were up in the stands somewhere, so getting onto the pitch wasn't really an option, and to be honest at the time I didn't really know or care what was going on.

My first Sydney game was Round 1 1988 v Footscray at Waverley.

Craig Davis had his first outing for the Swans in this match (after being retired from the game for 5 years) and kicked four goals.

It was also the first time the Swans had played a H&A game at Waverley as Sydney.

My first South game was v Fitzroy at the Junction Oval in 1980. I have no idea what I was doing there and I can't even remember who I was with or who won, but I do remember Graham Teasdale getting snotted by Fitzroys runner :D

My first game in Sydney was when we played you lot up there a couple of weeks ago. Had a ripper time up there and hope we are playing there in 2010 so I can return :thumbsu:

Saw my first Swans game down at Kardinia Park at the tail end of the 1970 season. Great game as we won to knock Geelong out of finals contention and cemented our first finals spot in alot of years.

This actually came up in the speeches for my 18th last weekend ...

My uncle is a victorian who converted to the Swans when he moved up here in the same year the swans did. I can't remember how old i was when i went to my first game but i was pretty young ...

it was at the SCG, at night, freezing cold, we were stuck in the pouring rain, we were smashed by StKilda and at the end of the game i asked "can we come again next week?"

I've been a member since i was 9 but the true obsession came in the first game of 05 when we played hawthorn and i adopted nick davis as my favourite player and then going to the 05 grand final ... the swans have been a massive part of my life ever since!!!

1995 Round 3 v Adelaide

The superstars first game.

Went to as many games as I could when I lived in Sydney. 1996 finals series was awesome. Beat Hawthorn with a Cresswell goal pretty much on the siren and then the Plugger point. Made the trip down for the 1996 GF and stayed with my grandparents. Great experience, I'll always remember the blown up Carey doll collapsing during the pre match entertainment. Pity about the result.
Moved to Melbourne in 1997 and didn't miss a Sydney match at the MCG or TD between then and last year. Moved back to Sydney this year and have been able to see the Swans a lot more.

First game I would have been maybe one or two years old. Earliest I can remember is probably a game against the hawks in the mid 80's. I remember crying for most of the last half because we were getting flogged and some nice old lady telling me that it would be okay next year. "Next year" was a phrase I heard a lot as a young swans supporter.

The earliest player I recall idolising was Capper. I was about 6 or 7 when he went to the bears and I remember tearing down my poster of him. Only last year I was looking through some of my old stuff and I came across my autograph book from when I was little, it had pretty much all of the players from the 80's, I turned to the back page to find that Cappers signature had been scribbled over in red pen. I can't recall doing it, but I must have been a pretty angry 6 year old.

Sorry I cant add to this list with my first game as it was sooooo long ago, probably in the late fifties, early sixties with my dad (revealing my age here). I come from a line of Swans supporters, so have really enjoyed reading each of the posts here. Great to have so many more recent converts.

lovin the stories

my memory sucks, so i never remember much of anything :o

but it was the 1996 final against essendon.... i remember a lot of cheering and excitement..... great game, next one, not so much

SCG 1981 South Melbourne v Collingwood. The swans won by about 3 goals against a collingwood team that played in 1979-80-81 grand finals.
i remember David Rhys Jones, Silvio Foschini , Bernie Evans , the Morwoods( all 3 ) all playing for the swans,
And Collingwood had Tony Shaw , Peter Daicos, Craig Davis playing for them

first swans game was this year at the gabba in round three

been to a few others before that just not sydney for some reason lol

Can't remember exactly which game was my first, would have been some time around 95 probably. First I can remember is the Round 22 match at the SCG vs West Coast in 1996, I was 10.

That was a good game but it was very wet and muddy. Kickett and Arnott kicking the match winning goals to seal the minor premiership.

Yeah, I managed to time my run on to the Swans bandwagon pretty well ;)

I was thinking back to those days last week, and particularly about games in the wet - I can vividly remember a match around the mid to late 90s against North at the SCG that was basically played on a muddy bog... technology seems to have advanced so that we don't really ever see that kind of thing any more, but its a shame - it was an entertaining spectacle to watch the players just try to keep the ball moving forwards whenever it hit the ground and just stopped dead. :D

First Swans game was mid-1990s - don't know the actual year, would be nice to know so I could pin down the game - as a 4-5 year old, but first game was the Geelong semi. First live AFL game was the 2006 Anzac Day match, and first Swans match was a few rounds later against Freo.