• Thread starter Thread starter Hu$tler

What's yours?

Not the most painful, but atm i've got a groin injury that could be OP.

It terms of mentally annoying the **** out of you, it's a shocker because you still feel like you can play well but if you don't rest it will just get worse.

Fully understand now why players like Judd and Cox had such form slumps.

Broke my wrist playing basketball when I was in year 8, and nothing like going up for a marking contest and getting punched flush in the face, though it was just a blood nose it hurt like hell for about 10 minutes

That reminds me of the time when I was playing basketball when I was younger (with braces and all at the time). Ended up copping a ball square in the mouth. Blood everywhere!

did something to my knee at cricket this season.
doctors couldnt figure it out and i was too lazy for a physio but i strained something in my right knee and occasionally when id put pressure on it id get this unbelievably sharp pain cripple my knee. when it happened id collapse to the floor.
ive broken my wrist and been knocked out and this was 10 times worse! still no idea what it was. took months to heal too :( just stayed off it in the end

Broken radius and broken and dislocated ulna. Happened on Friday. No surgery and was completely awake while the four doctors twisted and pulled until the bones went into place.

Broke my wrist playing basketball when I was in year 8, and nothing like going up for a marking contest and getting punched flush in the face, though it was just a blood nose it hurt like hell for about 10 minutes

Similar happened to me in footy. But I got punched right in the adams apple. Could hardly breathe, and when I did, it was all wheezy.

My worst injury is probably an ongoing ankle injury I have though. Whenever I play footy I have to have it strapped a ridiculous amount, so there is hardly any movement.

5332_111587298871_598668871_2209518_41226_n.jpg
Plate and 7 screws after breaking arm

That or stuffing my AC joint at the snow.

I ruptured 2 discs in my back playing netball which ended up requiring 2 lots of spinal surgery so that I could feel my leg again.

I'm one of those people who hasn't really had any major injuries. Split the bottom of my chin open when I slipped in the bath when I was a kid but besides that no broken/dislocated bones or major muscle injuries.

That reminds me of the time when I was playing basketball when I was younger (with braces and all at the time). Ended up copping a ball square in the mouth. Blood everywhere!

Similar thing happened to me when I went to block the person about to pass the ball, only for him to elbow me right in the mouth (also had braces on) and was bleeding a lot. Scared the crap out of me as i thought I'd lost a tooth or something, turned out its was only a cut on the inside of my top lip.

I find it very hard to talk about it as it still gives me nightmares..

finding it hard to type this..

I accidentally cut an artery in my wrist.

That's all you're getting, let us never speak of this again

Nothing too major.

Hurt my back snowboarding when I was 12. At least, I think I did, it's a chronic problem but it was probably from an accident I had. It wasn't a bad accident, I just fell and landed on my arse, and it's not like I was tearing along, it was only 5 days after I'd first learnt to snowboard, but it seemed to hurt a lot more than it should have. In the end I took the next day off, it was so bad. I've had chronic back problems ever since. Scans showed a distorted disc. Not sure if surgery is an option, but I probably wouldn't opt for it anyway since it's manageable with core strength exercises, but sometimes it just flared up and it's horrible.

Also did my left arm bowling in cricket, despite being a right arm bowler. Just felt an acute aching in my shoulder at training one arvo. Kept going, but it hadn't gone by the next training session. Went to see a doctor, got a scan, turned out I'd developed a partial tear in a ligament on the rotator cuff or something like that, because my shoulders are loose, and my left shoulder was jolting around in my bowling aciton. It didn't need surgery, just some focused, low-weight high-rep weight training for rehab. I was playing 2nds cricket at the time, which involved bowling a fair bit. I dropped down to 3rds which allowed me to roll the arm over. I bowled a maximum of 6 overs every two weeks, which the doctor was fine with, but my bowling action changed, I lost my outswing, by the next season had lost confidence, and then lost interest. Pity. :(

Hey Scotty, this thread is calling you.

I thought the same thing.
Half of his post history would be due to spamming his x-rays.
Yeah just 5,000 of my posts are x-rays. Brilliant. Here it is anyway.

Broken Femur after a collision at full sprint into a football fence.
brokenlegedited.jpg

Broken Hip when i was 5 (give you a tip, being stuck in a wheelchair sucks)

Torn PLC, while didnt hurt at the time, waking up the next day i was in agony

Have to put the PCL because the Hip from my recollection didnt hurt too much, just trying to get up after falling out of the tree was what set me off

Playing football. Positioned as a mobile ruckman.
Team gets ball inside 50. Make my way towards goal.
As i approach forward line quick kick comes my way from opposition defence trying to clear ball.
Grab footy as it skids towards me and start running towards goal dodging a couple of defenders. Have run myself into trouble as full back confronts me.
Instead of weaving past him or handballing to ff i step off my left foot and snap a goal.
In that process i get tackled. Now with my right foot in the air kicking the ball my left knee is obviously providing balance and blatantly is vulnerable to any contact that can come my way.
As the goal is kicked i am tackled with the weight of my opponent falling across my left knee and snapping my pcl. Along with this i tear my calf off the bone. I go to ground and immediately start screaming.
Basically balance yourself on your left knee and imagine a bloke putting all his weight on your knee cap area so that your knee bends inswards. This is the opposite of the common acl which happens if your knee bend outwards. Apparently not as bad.
Anyways that day my knee went purple black straight away i couldnt stop screaming. I drifted in and out of conciousness as the ambulance was called and my body went into shock atleast twice. Apparently i was crying the whole time begging for help.
When the ambos came i finished off two of the green morphine sticks. Felt amazing but as soon as they wore off the pain came back and it wasn until i reached the hospital i got permanent relief.
I had to wait 2 weeks for surgery so as the swelling went down. My calf had to be stapled back onto my bone. Weeks after that i underwent a knee reconstruction which has left a 20cm scar on my knee.
Since then my knee hasn felt right with muscle build up around it still not giving me full confidence to abuse it.
Mentally im ****ed and sprinting has scared me since.
In a way the experience has turned out unique in that i can watch someone else in pain, hurt themselves, be emotionally distraught to tears, even talkin to a women who has given birth recently and in a selfish way i dont sympathise with them but empathise in that i once also did experience a great pain to which this day ill never forget.

What's yours?

Not the most painful, but atm i've got a groin injury that could be OP.
An OP with OP?

Snapped all 3 ankle ligaments off the bone playing squash 2 years ago while lunging to get to a shot, floor was slippery with sweat, I slipped off balance and my entire body weight came down on my ankle. Required full reco surgery to re-attach the ligaments to the bone followed by months of rehab. Surgeon said it was the equivalent of a car crash victim. I knew I was in trouble when my opponent heard the "pop" from the other side of the court.
Coincidentally, tonight was my first time back in the squash court since the injury, just hadn't been able to get over the mental hurdle until now. And even then I was quite tentative on the court.

Been pretty lucky I suppose, the most dramatic was when i was a kid i fell over and literally bit my bottom lip off with my very first razor sharp baby teeth. It was surgically reattached by an amazing surgeon, without his work I could be pretty disfigured.

You can't even notice a scar now, it is pretty weird to think my life would be so amazingly different if I had no access to medical care.

Cracked a few ribs after wearing a bouncer from a bowling machine, and while it was quite innocuous, it ruined me for nearly half a year as it never seemed to heal properly.

Will be an interesting thread i suppose.

Probably not an 'injury' but mine's appendicitis when I was 12. Was in utter agony for 2 days ... could've been over after a few hours but Northern Hospital dismissed it as constipation. :rolleyes:

Went to the Children's Hospital the next day and was rushed to surgery.

Also had a broken wrist 4 years later but that was nothing in comparison.