Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

Essendon, Carlton, West Coast supporters all in agreeable must be some sort of record for BigFooty

Acutally the last half dozen pages is an the who's who of Hawthorn trolld on Bigfooty... I hope they're getting paid by post.

It's peak BigFooty poultry yard... the exact moment the whole coop realises the gate’s open and everyone comes out flapping.

Every few posts someone yells “Lewis!” like it’s a magic word that changes the trade maths. The Judd comparison gets resurrected for the 30th time.

The cognitive dissonance here is that if any other club made the same offer, it’d be called “a monster bid”

But because it’s Hawthorn, the badge itself triggers years of stored resentment — flags, arrogance, 80s trauma, 2013–15 PTSD. So “neutral” supporters aren’t neutral... they’re exorcising their own Hawks fatigue.

Pick 9 + F1 + F2 + Hustwaite (F2/F3)

That’s a total draft-value index haul that eclipses Dunkley, Dangerfield Neale, Cameron, Curnow and nearly equals Judd for a much older player.

There is no precedent of a 30-year-old player being traded for that much. None. Not even close.

If this were, say, Sydney chasing him, the media would spin it as “bold list management to fast-track contention.”

Why “neutrals” are siding with Essendon

They’re not neutrals.
They’re anti-Hawks sentimentalists... supporters who still remember years of being flogged by brown and gold. They see this as payback theatre.

So every take is emotionally inverted... Essendon are being strong actually means:

“Hawthorn aren’t allowed to win another trade.”

The cognitive dissonance trap of Essendon posters quietly admitting they take that offer (“get the sook out”) but the tribal reflex kicks back in seconds later..

“nah it’s unders… but overs… but junk.”

They’re not processing numbers.

No club (none) would have offered a better deal.

Not Carlton, not Sydney, not Geelong. They’d all balk at the two first round picks alone.

Hawthorn’s was literally the ceiling of what’s reasonable for a contracted 30-year-old.

So you’re right... it’s not that neutrals are siding with Essendon... it’s that everyone loves to see Hawthorn told
“no” for once, even when logic says the Hawks played it well.

as has been pointed out,

Mitchell met with Oscar Allen, meeting leaked
Mitchell met with Harley Reid, meeting leaked
Mitchell met with Merrett, meeting leaked

what's the common denominator here?

1760446989063.gif

If I was in Essendon's position, I'd honestly jump at the chance.

I'd know we need to rebuild. I know Merrett holds value. I'd know we need max picks before Tassie pillages the draft and ruins the chance of rebuilding. Bringing in a young good core together would be amazing. Pick 9 is valuable. A future first also. 2 firsts, a second and a promising young player for a 30 year old who won't be here when we are next contending is a great deal.

If you don't believe me, look at all the gun veterans we've traded out when we have been average and need to rebuild. Jordan Lewis, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O'Meara, Sam Mitchell, etc, etc. None in exactly the same position as Merrett obviously (i.e. not worth quite as much), but look what we traded all of them for - every one of those players combined added up to less than half of what we are offering for Merrett alone.

If you still don't beleive, go back and readthrough this thread. They are quiet now, but Bomber supporters were flooding this thread to say he was worth 2 firsts (Pick 8 and F1) and a fringe player - which is what they got and more.

If you'd take this deal then you don't know anything about Essendon's current list position.

2x top 10 picks already and 2x NGA they are taking.

That's it for this draft. What's another first rounder do for them?

What does replacing their best player with a VFL plodder do for them?

The only thing of actual real value is a first rounder next year and that's likely to be a late pick anyway.

Nobody's going to trade out of the first round next year for what will end up pick 14 this year.

That's just the lay of the land as it is currently for Essendon. Trading Merrett only really benefits Hawthorn so what's the point in them doing it?

Now run it by how many players have been taken in the mid season draft and become good players. You’d be lucky to hit 10%
Sure, but in most cases it takes more than 6 months to work out whether there are any good or not.

Hence why we are tight for list spots after drafting 4 and re-signing 3 of them.

Sure, but in most cases it takes more than 6 months to work out whether there are any good or not.

Hence why we are tight for list spots after drafting 4 and re-signing 3 of them.
You’re telling me you couldn’t find another 6-7 players on your list to chop and they wouldn’t make a lick of difference to your team?

Acutally the last half dozen pages is an the who's who of Hawthorn trolld on Bigfooty... I hope they're getting paid by post.

It's peak BigFooty poultry yard... the exact moment the whole coop realises the gate’s open and everyone comes out flapping.

Every few posts someone yells “Lewis!” like it’s a magic word that changes the trade maths. The Judd comparison gets resurrected for the 30th time.

The cognitive dissonance here is that if any other club made the same offer, it’d be called “a monster bid”

But because it’s Hawthorn, the badge itself triggers years of stored resentment — flags, arrogance, 80s trauma, 2013–15 PTSD. So “neutral” supporters aren’t neutral... they’re exorcising their own Hawks fatigue.

That’s a total draft-value index haul that eclipses Dunkley, Dangerfield Neale, Cameron, Curnow and nearly equals Judd for a much older player.

There is no precedent of a 30-year-old player being traded for that much. None. Not even close.

If this were, say, Sydney chasing him, the media would spin it as “bold list management to fast-track contention.”

They’re not neutrals.
They’re anti-Hawks sentimentalists... supporters who still remember years of being flogged by brown and gold. They see this as payback theatre.

So every take is emotionally inverted... Essendon are being strong actually means:

The cognitive dissonance trap of Essendon posters quietly admitting they take that offer (“get the sook out”) but the tribal reflex kicks back in seconds later..

Not Carlton, not Sydney, not Geelong. They’d all balk at the two first round picks alone.

Hawthorn’s was literally the ceiling of what’s reasonable for a contracted 30-year-old.

So you’re right... it’s not that neutrals are siding with Essendon... it’s that everyone loves to see Hawthorn told
not reading that essay

If I was in Essendon's position, I'd honestly jump at the chance.

I'd know we need to rebuild. I know Merrett holds value. I'd know we need max picks before Tassie pillages the draft and ruins the chance of rebuilding. Bringing in a young good core together would be amazing. Pick 9 is valuable. A future first also. 2 firsts, a second and a promising young player for a 30 year old who won't be here when we are next contending is a great deal.

If you don't believe me, look at all the gun veterans we've traded out when we have been average and need to rebuild. Jordan Lewis, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O'Meara, Sam Mitchell, etc, etc. None in exactly the same position as Merrett obviously (i.e. not worth quite as much), but look what we traded all of them for - every one of those players combined added up to less than half of what we are offering for Merrett alone.

If you still don't beleive, go back and readthrough this thread. They are quiet now, but Bomber supporters were flooding this thread to say he was worth 2 firsts (Pick 8 and F1) and a fringe player - which is what they got and more.
It's easy
Hawks have to come up with a much better offer if they want him
Ezpz

They’re not neutrals.

TLDR: I don't like what people say about my club so they're all trolling.

For 350 pages, Essendon supporters have told us that we need to pay overs for a 30 year old as he is a contracted captain.

They have agreed those overs look like:

Pick 9
F1 (likely pick in the teens)
and Henry Hustwaite (contracted promising 22 y.o)

with some conceding they may have to give something late back.

Hawthorn have offered what most Bombers supporters (in all their bias) were asking for. Hawthorn have even added an additional second rounder on top (and are not seeking anything back).

It's a strong offer (and as has been repeated, the most I think any 30+ year old has ever garnered in a trade*).

*My recollection is the Wayne Carey trade beats it, but Carey is considered by many to be the greatest player of all time (at least top 3), is key position and still worked out terribly for Adelaide.

Well, this was from 300 pages ago and laughed out of the yard. Guess they ain't laughing now.

To all of the clowns that think Merrett is going on the cheap, let me say this - Essendon will not hesitate to keep him to his contract, against his will. It's happened before, and there is no reason it won't happen again.

It will be 2 or 3 x high first round picks and a top talent. Otherwise he ain't going anywhere. The only way Essendon will make this shitshow worse for the supporter base is if they bend over and cop whatever shit deal comes our way.

Gloves are off.

You’re telling me you couldn’t find another 6-7 players on your list to chop and they wouldn’t make a lick of difference to your team?
We’d probably have to pay out a few contracted players for that to happen.

I don’t think list spots is the issue with any Merrett deal though, as other than 9 and maybe Hustwaite or some other player the rest of the assets you give us would likely be future ones.

Gotta love the Hawthorn envy. Honestly it's a thing of beauty.
In fact, I reckon, Essen posters are quite reasonable, some real good banter in here but , those prying eyes, those sweaty pimple faced , nerd cult of Oppo supporters are absolute worth their weight in gold. Go on. Keep going....as I get my 🍿.

Man I thought cats fans were whiny little biatches sooking it up hard because they haven’t got what they assumed was theirs …

Nek minnit hok supporters ..”hold my beer”
It's 7pm And I don't have my Merrett

Time to rage

No, it's because Mitchell/Hawks appear to have deliberately tried to cause friction between club and player to get a discount on a trade.

It's spectacularly blown up in their face.
It’s always interesting to hear the version of reality that other supporters tell themselves. For those who want the story without the hysterics:

Merrett’s manager organised a meeting with Hawthorn. Merrett has requested a trade, and the first offer has been knocked back. There is one day left.

Gotta love the Hawthorn envy. Honestly it's a thing of beauty.
In fact, I reckon, Essen posters are quite reasonable, some real good banter in here but , those prying eyes, those sweaty pimple faced , nerd cult of Oppo supporters are absolute worth their weight in gold. Go on. Keep going....as I get my 🍿.
F*** me this trade is going to end well for everyone but Hawks. Either you guys get nothing, or sell the farm for a 30yo mid. Can’t blame non-Essendon supporters from jumping in to have a look, it’s great entertainment!

But that's essentially what the trade would equate to, because Essendon don't have many list spots and would be happy to use their current draft hand. If it were 2 futures, with one of them likely to be top 10, it'd be a very different scenario.
This is such a ridiculous take that I can't believe you keep repeating it.

Two first round picks are not nothing - we are offering a current top ten pick that can be traded or used on a player. If they need to, they will open up a list spot. Otherwise they can trade it for a 1st next year to add to the one we're alreafy giving them. They're probably so inept they'll make us trade it for them though, but not before hiving us the silent treatment because we didn't read their minds and give them exactly what they wanted.

Seriously though, please stop saying 2 first rounders have zero value, it's a truly absurd take.

This is such a ridiculous take that I can't believe you keep repeating it.

Two first round picks are not nothing - we are offering a current top ten pick that can be traded or used on a player. If they need to, they will open up a list spot. Otherwise they can trade it for a 1st next year to add to the one we're alreafy giving them. They're probably so inept they'll make us trade it for them though, but not before hiving us the silent treatment because we didn't read their minds and give them exactly what they wanted.

Seriously though, please stop saying 2 first rounders have zero value, it's a truly absurd take.

You don't know who you're replying to