Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

Im probably not doing it gor anything less than their next 2 first and Cam Mackenzie

I can understand maybe some Hawk fans not wanting to do that and thats fine

That’s Essendon’s prerogative but as a neutral that’s objectively well over the top. Pick 9 and a good young mid like CMac for Merrett and pick 28 would still be a good deal for the bombers IMO, even though it would probably piss both sets of supporters off which means it’s about right.

Carlton’s 1st and 2nd this year + F1 for Merrett and an F2 I feel like is fair but then again someone will say he’s 57 years old and not a top 15 player itl if not top 10.

Reckon we would do that in a heartbeat. Essendon would want more though.
If they go full on rebuild and sell off others like Ridley and Laverde and such then I can see it being Merrett and an F3 or F4. I don’t think Hawthorn will want to lose out on any more than 2 picks in net in/out as they’ve brought in older players last season and now this.

21 years and counting…

If the bombers don’t trade Merrett out this year. Will probably ask for a trade next year to another contender. Ala Joe Daniher. By the time he comes out of contract and moves, he will be worth bugger all as a RFA.

I never said that at all, even once.

Have zero issues with you speaking to ZM or vice versa. I also don't even think it's a big deal he met with Mitchell.

Just don't hypothetically lowball us is all when he has 2 years left on his deal lol. You want him, come take him. But pay up is all I care about.

have zero issues with him leaving as long as the trade is worthwhile to us. Its good we are taking a firm stance that he's going nowhere, but if a good deal comes our way out of this. Happy to let Merrett go.
You're coming from one perspective.... As if we came for Him, couldn't be mutual interest at all? Well has to be mutual cause why would Zac meet with us if he didn't have mutual interest. Discussions to be had, but this pony up comment is nonsense, when it's an internal problem between Zac & Essendon, your player & club need to make an agreement what they're gonna do, if this deal is to get done, it'll be late in trade period cause Bombers can haggle, but we don't have to overpay for him, especially if he wants out, obviously Merrett has remained quiet, so wait & see

Could not care less that Mitchell spoke with Zac, that’s his job to improve the team.
For me though Zac’s captaincy is not only untenable but so too is his time at the club. Once the skipper talks to other clubs I don’t think there is a path back and I’d hope the club move him on. I would take pick 8 and a future 1st as a starting point and anything over that is a bonus. Maybe Hawthorn throw in a fringe player or some pick swaps but 8 and a F1 would be my starting point

You're coming from one perspective.... As if we came for Him, couldn't be mutual interest at all? Well has to be mutual cause why would Zac meet with us if he didn't have mutual interest. Discussions to be had, but this pony up comment is nonsense, when it's an internal problem between Zac & Essendon, your player & club need to make an agreement what they're gonna do, if this deal is to get done, it'll be late in trade period cause Bombers can haggle, but we don't have to overpay for him, especially if he wants out, obviously Merrett has remained quiet, so wait & see
Something I really hate about the AFL. Wouldn’t shock me at all to see Merrett kick up a stink and move for unders to Hawthorn. Players and player managers have too much power. Same with Curnow. I understand why it’s not due to the nature of the size of the finances, the country and the population of players, but god I wish we could do an NBA and say alright if you wanna leave we’re trading you to whoever pays the most at 2am in the middle of the night.

With how precious the industry is, even a nominate state you wanna go to rather than team.

Could not care less that Mitchell spoke with Zac, that’s his job to improve the team.
For me though Zac’s captaincy is not only untenable but so too is his time at the club. Once the skipper talks to other clubs I don’t think there is a path back and I’d hope the club move him on. I would take pick 8 and a future 1st as a starting point and anything over that is a bonus. Maybe Hawthorn throw in a fringe player or some pick swaps but 8 and a F1 would be my starting point
I don't think Pick 8 will be available as I think it may be going to the Dees,

That’s Essendon’s prerogative but as a neutral that’s objectively well over the top. Pick 9 and a good young mid like CMac for Merrett and pick 28 would still be a good deal for the bombers IMO, even though it would probably piss both sets of supporters off which means it’s about right.
I disagree

Pick 9 is getting you the 14th best kid in a weak pool

Zerrett should have plenty of time left in him, hawks would be signing him to atleast 4 years if he went there. That would be a minimum

We need ridiculous overs like dees needed for Trac last year, like blues need for Curnow this year. If the players top line and contracted..... thats even before we talk about leadership/captaincy

I dont think Zerretts going to mope around, especially considering hes probably not going to ask for an official trade either

Found it strange a couple of days out from a cut throat final Mitchell is at the centre of a distraction
All focus on this week?
Nah
You think a dinner a few nights out from the game is going to impact the team in anyway?

I disagree

Pick 9 is getting you the 14th best kid in a weak pool

Zerrett should have plenty of time left in him, hawks would be signing him to atleast 4 years if he went there. That would be a minimum

We need ridiculous overs like dees needed for Trac last year, like blues need for Curnow this year. If the players top line and contracted..... thats even before we talk about leadership/captaincy

I dont think Zerretts going to mope around, especially considering hes probably not going to ask for an official trade either
If ya think ya getting overs for a durable 30 year old, you can keep him

I don't think Pick 8 will be available as I think it may be going to the Dees,
Not if we get on the front foot. Should be first in first served.
I’d have this deal done on the opening day before Trade radio even has time for their first Makita ad break

Not if we get on the front foot. Should be first in first served.
I’d have this deal done on the opening day before Trade radio even has time for their first Makita ad break
I highly doubt it'll be first deal done, if anything could go to last day. Trac deal will get done, Hawks have shown before they won't be pushed around with last year's trade period ala Barrass, Eagles were playing hardball so Hawks went & done the trade with the Blues instead

If ya think ya getting overs for a durable 30 year old, you can keep him
That’s the thing that it seems like Hawks fans are a little amiss on. Why would they not? Merrett who’s largely been absent of injuries and is a consummate professional, likely to play and contribute well into his 30s, who’s club captain and contract for 2 more seasons, and is largely considered a top 10? 15? Player in the competition. What makes anyone think you should be able to have him for unders?

Well I'll point out we are into two players Trac & Merrett, they're looking at getting both done. This sounds more of a Merrett & Bombers issue than it does a Hawks coming out to pry Him, cause there is obviously mutual agreement, but with the silence of Zac & Essendon responding to rumours etc, so much to play out before saying how much leverage they have & what hefty price they think they can ask for, cause at the moment asking for 3 first rounders is laughable.

This is gonna be a slow one, cause anger needs to settle down & then the convo between Merrett & Bombers if this is to get any wheels on it, cause obviously he's contracted, if it to happen it'll be later into the trade period.

We won’t screw you over. He’s a player of need we don’t need more young talent right now. So what gets it done as he’s gone there’s no chance he’s not a hawk next year today guaranteed that.
It will end up being 2 firsts and a fringe player with a second coming back. The 2 firsts allow Dodoro style “we won the trade” messaging, having 2 early seconds allows us to trade back into the first round with the suns. It’s a win win. Any of Reeves Hustwaite Serong as the fringe player works and all will be best 22 next year.

We won’t screw you over. He’s a player of need we don’t need more young talent right now. So what gets it done as he’s gone there’s no chance he’s not a hawk next year today guaranteed that.
It will end up being 2 firsts and a fringe player with a second coming back. The 2 firsts allow Dodoro style “we won the trade” messaging, having 2 early seconds allows us to trade back into the first round with the suns. It’s a win win. Any of Reeves Hustwaite Serong as the fringe player works and all will be best 22 next year.
We will need another 1st rounder then cause ones looking likely going to Dees

Well they can, the way this has been done his team mate will not want to play with him.

That just creates all kind of problems for your footy club and add the player no longer wants to be there….

I feel for the bomber… I think 2 first round draft picks is a tad overs given his age, but I think it will get the trade done. Which would be fair for all…

Not really. The team-mates will want him as hes their best player and the players would like to win something before they are 50. And regardless the players wont make the call the club will and especially in this draft trading him doesnt look like an awesome set of picks the club would want. The manager can try and bluff his way out but merrett isnt retiring so he lacks leverage.