Joe Russo wants on the board

A few years back a guy called James McNally landed himself a spot on the prestigious SCG trust, beating Stuart MacGill. The man had a clear plan and it worked with the voters, shorter lines for beer and no lining up for hours for members seats at the NY day test match. Classic !
When I was at school a kid ran for the SRC on a platform of getting dim sims in the canteen. Got a standing ovation!

Completely agree you need opposing views, as if they are the same, you don't get the flipside of the argument or issue. However with this level of 'company', we have lawyers for the legal side of things, we have accountants for the financial side of things, we have Tony Free for the football side of things, we have Speed for management experience, we have Chadwick for the marketing/advertising side of things. They all have huge board experience, and all different backgrounds, skill sets, qualifications. So bearing this in mind in not sure of a particular section we are lacking in( happy to be updated on what). It should also be said that, the management of the club generally run the day to day operations and the experience of these people is also pretty extensive.

So I do agree with having different ideas, from board and management personnel, but in this case( and others as well) as you said what else does he bring to the table? There has to be a point of difference.
I would like to see a bit of entrepreneurial flair on the board. I think if we're creative, the club can unlock alternative revenue streams. However, nothing from Joe as yet shows he would bring that.

Put Joe to one side.
Any destabilising board members are unwelcome

Speed camp
Maurice camp
Those who favoured Peggy but only until they have the numbers to topple her

Too many Chiefs. Not on.

That said, if we don't advance next year I'd be in favour of all positions being spilled and tickets being declared & advocated. I really don't like guessing where the allegiances of directors lie.
x2.

Caroline Wilson's article is an opinion piece in my view, and she's entitled to her opinion, as is Joe to his and me to mine.

It does beg the question though. Has Joe discussed his board nomination and electioneering with Malcolm Speed?

Haere Ra
When are you running, big fella?

Haere Ra

I would suggest greater investment in pokies not less. There's a slated law that will require players to register to become use pokie machines, this brings in the ability for clubs to target marketing and introduce membership rewards programs and compete on a more level footing with the casino. I can see large chains of clubs amalgamating their membership and hopefully our club managers are quick to capitlize on this. While I think Matheison will probably beat us to it there is an opportunity right now to get a program off the ground and offer it to smaller independent clubs and derive revenue from it as a service provider. All in all I expect poker machines to be a continuing growth industry particularly with the increase in Asian migration.

And no matter if your in the 'I hate pokies' camp, it is here to stay for the long term. With fixed numbers of machines, just someone else will have the licenses, so it doesn't reduce the numbers anyway. The profit just goes to other entities.
Agree with these two posts. I abhor pokies but us not having them will not reduce their number by one. Hawthorn makes millions more than us from pokies alone.

I'd love to see pokies banned (for the social benefits and the crippling effect on those scumbag Hawks who would have to fully relocate to Tassie to survive) but it's hard to see that happening and they're easy money in a tough climate.

On a separate note A New Game Plan , i really like your plans for the Cremorne site and with the Silos.....good luck with the council....looking forward to the Tiger members discount ;)
50% off, Joe?

i really dont know what to make of this

For the life of me i cant remember a time where this club has been extremely stable off field as it is now (Atleast Appears That way) and i'd hate anything or anyone that would want to change that for the worst

The conflict is why he recommends certain investments, and if it has the potential to benefit his own in any way

Tbh these issues normally start off very innocently, and no one has bad intentions. It's when party a loses money and party b doesn't that the s**t can hit the fan

It's better to avoid the situation completely

If you want an example, look at Casey and his property deals with the players. Deals didn't meet initial profit projections, so several players threatened legal action. It was all supposed to be arms length from the club, but became very messy and nearly saw us in breach of the cap rules

I know Joe is potentially talking about the players but my point was on alternate revenue streams for the club[/QUOTE]

It's the same

What happens if the club invests in a development, recommended by Joe, that he has nothing to do with, but the club loses a packet because he developed a competing site down the road?

We even had this issue with The apparel company a board person had an interest in supplying the club - it's best to steer clear where a board member has a financial stake

And tbh, this is more to protect the board member than the club. He's an expert in his field, the club isn't

If you want to invest in property, get guidance from someone like Joe on what involved, but get a consultant who is arms length to give you specific advice

On a separate note A New Game Plan , i really like your plans for the Cremorne site and with the Silos.....good luck with the council....looking forward to the Tiger members discount ;)

Agree with this

A blight on the neighbourhood long overdue for improvement!!

This is still not answering the salient point of operation surpluses and why we didn't have it? Im coming from the p.o.v that if did gain in membership, sponsorship revenue( and because it is hidden its hard to know), and did well in these areas, but did spend more in the FD, and capital works, then fair enough. Happy to do it, but as I said, as it is hidden, how do we know?

Ask the club for an operational profit or loss figure

They take out one off events like infrastructure spend and govt grants, so that you can look solely at operational costs and incomes

The club has done this in past years when the grants from the Feds we're throwing out numbers all over the place

I never liked the bloke, but he did (maybe does still) have a big interest in junior football
From memory in 2004 he absolutely loved Jordan Lewis so there's a fair chance our first two picks would have been Lids & Lewis.

Thanks for reminding me :p

I definitely haven't been following this as closely as others on here but I am afraid I smell a bit of a rat/ulterior motive here. Great to see folk putting their hand up to get involved etc... but I am not convinced at all that it is being done the right way, or for that matter that anything really needs to be changed at this point in time.

Just my insignificant 2 bobs worth.

Smarter than the average Bear!? ;)

Hey Joe,

There's only one question you need to answer and that is are you planning on siding with Speed to replace our current President?

Put your answer in writing

Cheers

PRR

Caroline Wilson has utterly blown this out of proportion in trying to get a headline story for herself. Caroline did not attempt to contact me in any way to obtain my objectives for running for the board and has made statements that are simply untrue. To clear things up once and for all, I have nominated myself for one board seat and that is all I am interested in. The opportunity to have my opinion heard and to ask the hard questions. Our football club needs someone independent like me that only has the football club’s performance at heart – no hidden agenda here. Joe

I think Joe has been as open as possible.
He's been asked questions and answered them. I think we know more about him than the incumbents, to be honest.

Issue I think lies with a few board members (in both camps - Speed camp and those who briefed Caro) who still harbour ambitions for the big chair. That's ok, but destabilising to achieve that is disappointing.

Joe warrants consideration.

I would be intrigued to know more about Carl Walsh being exited, though.

I suspect he was a little outspoken and vented too much, in terms of our on-field performances.

I think Joe has been as open as possible.
He's been asked questions and answered them. I think we know more about him than the incumbents, to be honest.
Really? I reckon he's avoided answering most of the questions.
Even the one just above he doesn't actually answer the pretty direct question asked of him.

Caroline Wilson has utterly blown this out of proportion in trying to get a headline story for herself. Caroline did not attempt to contact me in any way to obtain my objectives for running for the board and has made statements that are simply untrue. To clear things up once and for all, I have nominated myself for one board seat and that is all I am interested in. The opportunity to have my opinion heard and to ask the hard questions. Our football club needs someone independent like me that only has the football club’s performance at heart – no hidden agenda here. Joe

Thanks Joe,
Straight up and down, thanks for your answer.

Actually he didn't comment at all on whether or not he has an agreement to support a Speed tilt

Nor has Dowd commented on whether he will support a Maurice presidency

All far too political for my liking, but the fact a rich property guy who wants Richmond to be better wants to join the board may just be the real "story".

Nor has Dowd commented on whether he will support a Maurice presidency

All far too political for my liking, but the fact a rich property guy who wants Richmond to be better wants to join the board may just be the real "story".

Depends on what the agenda is

Donald trump wants to rule the USA, is that a good thing?

Is undies even worth considering? He hasn't said boo, so he's a non issue as far as I'm concerned

Well it's more than what we have from the incumbents, 3 of whom were Clinton Casey acolytes/ appointees

As you know, incumbents are banned from commenting publicly outside their statement