Toast Welcome to Freo Caleb Serong– Fremantle’s 2nd 2019 National Draft Pick [Pick #8]

The use to say that Tim Cahill could head the ball better than most could kick it.

This is similar to Serong, his handpasses are so quick, clean and powerful that why waste time kicking it?
It was selective writing. Cripps handball to kick ratio this season is 2 to 1. Does he need to kick more to become elite?

Is Neale actually a better player for kicking more? Sure it improves his supercoach, metres gained light up. Are they retaining the ball from his kicks? Generating scoring chains? Maybe they would gain more metres and get more and/or better scoring opportunities if he dished it off to someone on the spread more. (Not saying this is nessicarily true of course, but it's plausible).

I'd say a lack of dept in inside midfield options that can spread from the contest as well is just a big a reason why Lachie kicks more these days at Brissie.

I listened to Caleb’s post match interview with AFL nation on Saturday. One of the interviewees (I didn’t catch who, but it was a post-Geelong player), jokingly offered to put in a good word for him if he ever wanted to go back to VIC via Geelong. Caleb very politely talked about how he loved the club and WA and how committed he was to winning as many games of footy for Freo with this team.

In the US that would be draft tampering and a bloody obvious case at that, he pretty much tells him he wants him at Geelong and even admits he is employed by Geelong.
Yeah but we have different rules here for a reason - the US ones are completely stupid and ignored anyway, you just have to hope a reporter doesnt go early and cost you draft picks / money.

The AFL draft system if challenged would not hold up legally within the TPA laws. Restraint of trade provisions protect the right of movement and salary.

Might find a problem with that given the contracts for players are actually with the AFL, not the clubs.
How does that change anything.
Yes the reality is if you want to play AFL you accept “our” system.
Any other codes have drafts in Australia?

How does that change anything.
Yes the reality is if you want to play AFL you accept “our” system.
Any other codes have drafts in Australia?

Big Bash League is bringing one in.

It changes things because restraint of trade is generally being unable to ply your trade for an alternative employment location, but the AFL would argue that they have 800 players working for them and if a player moves to a different branch of their company they are still working for the AFL - they do not bar you from selling your professional services to the WAFL or VFL if you would rather not work for the AFL.

The players want the cash.

Big Bash League is bringing one in.

It changes things because restraint of trade is generally being unable to ply your trade for an alternative employment location, but the AFL would argue that they have 800 players working for them and if a player moves to a different branch of their company they are still working for the AFL - they do not bar you from selling your professional services to the WAFL or VFL if you would rather not work for the AFL.

The players want the cash.
Big bash auction is not a comparable draft.
RFA and FA was introduced into the CBA for this exact reason.
Draft forces players to play for a club. Play for this club or don’t play is restraint of trade.

Big bash auction is not a comparable draft.
RFA and FA was introduced into the CBA for this exact reason.
Draft forces players to play for a club. Play for this club or don’t play is restraint of trade.
Wouldn’t anything short of clubs advertising for players on Seek be deemed restrictive by this measure?

bump, how ******* good is he. what a first final that was.
Beast Mode: Activated

Excited Beast Mode GIF by Jack Link's Jerky

I think we picked ourselves an absolute doozy, dont'cha reckon...?!?!

He is elite in all aspects. Already....I hope he goes out there and rips 'em a new one