Roast What is wrong with our supporters?

Footy is now a family outing event. It's over the top the amount of kids there are at games and parents, with the help of social media, are so obsessed with making sure their kids behave perfectly and they appear like they're perfect parents.

As a result you have:
  • Parents showing little to no real emotion or passion. It looks bad as a parent apparently.
  • Parents hardly actually watching the game because they're too busy making sure their kids are behaving 'disciplined' and if the kid/s have no interest in the game, they're constantly making sure they're doing the right thing on the parent's iPhone.
  • There are far too many 'politically correct' *******s in every bay who think anything above a golf clap is unacceptable behaviour so when someone yells out at the players/umpires/opposition, they are given a serving to by the *******s. "There are children who can hear you..."
  • Kids voice's don't travel over distance.
  • When you combine the above and remove them from the crowd, you're left with a majority of suit wearing hipsters who only go to look hip in their skinny-tied suits and faggy beards and don't go to support a team although they would try and fool you with their $200 football coloured hipster scarf.

When you take away all the people in the above out of a crowd of 50,000 you may be left with 5,000 real, traditional supporters. Hard to sound like an old-fashioned 50,000 crowd with 5,000 real cheering supporters.

That's when finals and their expensive costs show the true supporters. The true supporters, the ones who cheer loud and proud, come to the games from all around the country while the families stay at home because it's late and too expensive, and the hipster w***ers don't go because the rest are there to watch the game and cheer their team, not look at a ranga with a beard looking ultra hip.

When you go to a matinee or a cinema, you can't talk. It is pretty much what the AFL has turned this game into. Bloody San itised entertainment where you get warned for being too loud. Too loud for god's sake. Get stuffed.

Last year I almost got kicked out for being too aggressive for calling Petrie a punce in the choke game. And the gutless wonder who dobbed me in didn't return to their seat. Saw them on the way out and gave them both barrels.

The problem is everyone keeps lopping at the tall poppy and irrespective of what or how we support or barrack for our club, we are always painted in the wrong light. And then they'll have their hand out for money. This may very well be the last year I attend a footy match. Hopefully with a threepeat. Had enough of this manufactured crap with equalisation on every front and continually biased opinion. I can do without it.
Yep there are soooo many hypersensitive sooks wherever you go these days....yet supposedly we are a more tolerant, multicultural society.

Yeah right. The bloody minority groups are too busy pushing their own agenda (and getting a hearing) while the majority have to make the adjustment to accommodate them.

Trouble is now the minorities are overtaking the majorities and calling the shots from the back in most nearly everything.

Tail wagging the dog stuff.

#beloudandpassionatehawksfans

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

We are an affluent club with extremely passive supporters. We have our pockets of numerous crazies however they are far and few between. We will become feral once we drop off.

Frankly we do not even attend home games with any great numbers. We should have attracted minimum 70 v Essendon on Saturday. We failed. Granted Essendon supporters didn't turn up either.

KOLOKOTRONIS
It was 10k more than the round 2 game which was in perfect viewing conditions (about 5 degrees warmer I think) and that was a replacement game.

62,500 was an excellent turnout against an Essendon side that was 4-7 going into the game, in the middle of winter

This fixture was never going to draw 70,000...the big crowd was always going to be the round 2 game (which disappointed)

Footy is now a family outing event. It's over the top the amount of kids there are at games and parents, with the help of social media, are so obsessed with making sure their kids behave perfectly and they appear like they're perfect parents.

As a result you have:
  • Parents showing little to no real emotion or passion. It looks bad as a parent apparently.
  • Parents hardly actually watching the game because they're too busy making sure their kids are behaving 'disciplined' and if the kid/s have no interest in the game, they're constantly making sure they're doing the right thing on the parent's iPhone.
  • There are far too many 'politically correct' *******s in every bay who think anything above a golf clap is unacceptable behaviour so when someone yells out at the players/umpires/opposition, they are given a serving to by the *******s. "There are children who can hear you..."
  • Kids voice's don't travel over distance.
  • When you combine the above and remove them from the crowd, you're left with a majority of suit wearing hipsters who only go to look hip in their skinny-tied suits and faggy beards and don't go to support a team although they would try and fool you with their $200 football coloured hipster scarf.

When you take away all the people in the above out of a crowd of 50,000 you may be left with 5,000 real, traditional supporters. Hard to sound like an old-fashioned 50,000 crowd with 5,000 real cheering supporters.

That's when finals and their expensive costs show the true supporters. The true supporters, the ones who cheer loud and proud, come to the games from all around the country while the families stay at home because it's late and too expensive, and the hipster ******s don't go because the rest are there to watch the game and cheer their team, not look at a ranga with a beard looking ultra hip.
My kid was loud and annoying (just like his Daddy). Got dirty looks to get him to shut up. Murmured something to the effect of "this is the last bastion of publicly owning ADHD FFS"

Me and my mate got kicked out of the 2012 gf for a dust up in the tab after the game with a few swans supporters that were in front of us.. I think I was as feral as I could have been, dropped my friggin phone and wallet as the police escorted me out. My mate got taken in the divy van so I was left with no money, no phone after the worst day of my adult life... Ended up legging it to southern cross and trained it out to mums half way to Bendigo only to be kicked out at watergardens for having no ticket...

Moral of the story? If you want to be feral, get on the turps.. Why do you think the poms are feral in the PL? They drink from 10am on game day, by the time they arrive they're tanked.

We are an affluent club with extremely passive supporters. We have our pockets of numerous crazies however they are far and few between. We will become feral once we drop off.

Frankly we do not even attend home games with any great numbers. We should have attracted minimum 70 v Essendon on Saturday. We failed. Granted Essendon supporters didn't turn up either.

KOLOKOTRONIS

When walk ups can expect nosebleed seats while vast areas below are empty whos surprised ?

Still the reserved seating is guaranteed income, just not a good look. Notice large areas of southern level 4 were also reserved for bombers fans who failed to show

When walk ups can expect nosebleed seats while vast areas below are empty whos surprised ?

Still the reserved seating is guaranteed income, just not a good look. Notice large areas of southern level 4 were also reserved for bombers fans who failed to show

It was only 7 years ago that Saturday would have been our 3rd highest attended home game ever. Instead (assuming the Tigers hold their form) we'll probably have 4, perhaps 5 MCG home games that draw 60,000 plus

Me and my mate got kicked out of the 2012 gf for a dust up in the tab after the game with a few swans supporters that were in front of us.. I think I was as feral as I could have been, dropped my friggin phone and wallet as the police escorted me out. My mate got taken in the divy van so I was left with no money, no phone after the worst day of my adult life... Ended up legging it to southern cross and trained it out to mums half way to Bendigo only to be kicked out at watergardens for having no ticket...

Moral of the story? If you want to be feral, get on the turps.. Why do you think the poms are feral in the PL? They drink from 10am on game day, by the time they arrive they're tanked.
Nah, that's sounds like a s**t way to have to enjoy footy. "Get pissed and start a fight!".

I hardly drink at the footy, only have a couple at the pub before hand......I don't need to be pissed to cheer or support the Hawks, and I don't believe others need to be either.

What I'm asking is as to why our supporters seem uninterested or less than thankful for the team and the ride that they've been given, as pointed out by Gary Lyon on MMM, as posted earlier in the thread.

Get up, show some voice.

Nah, that's sounds like a s**t way to have to enjoy footy. "Get pissed and start a fight!".

I hardly drink at the footy, only have a couple at the pub before hand......I don't need to be pissed to cheer or support the Hawks, and I don't believe others need to be either.

What I'm asking is as to why our supporters seem uninterested or less than thankful for the team and the ride that they've been given, as pointed out by Gary Lyon on MMM, as posted earlier in the thread.

Get up, show some voice.

It was a s**t day... the game was done and I was 8 hours deep full of grog and plus I dislike the Swans and their supporters. Definitely no fight.

Against Melbourne in round 7, on a beautiful sunny day in Melbourne, there were apparently 41K at the ground, pigs arse there were, and it was the worst atmosphere I have experienced at the footy.
We all scream blue murder to get Saturday afternoon footy back but no one goes.

I think the problem is with our recent success you get the rich pricks who are hopping on the bandwagon getting the memberships rather than the diehard supporters. And would it help if some of our silver memberships would actually ******* attend the game. Last year I had reserved seats in M53 and looking over to M10-M15 there would always be a crowd of Hawthorn supporters going nuts. At the game on Saturday there were so many empty seats it was ridiculous.

I can tell you that Hawks fans in Perth are loud...mental like and esp against West coast

In melb, (like yesterday, I was sort of meh, whatever...), there were some times when the hawkers around where I was sitting arced up, but I think it was expected we would win and that's it.

Back over in Perth, it means a truckload to the Perth Hawks fans to win (as its that one game a year), so we don't have to hear the shite they dribble on with for the remainder of the week..

Prelim final in 2013 was insane, so was qualifying final 2007 against Adel...

I can second this. Every Hawks game I've been to in Perth has been loud. When we played the eagles in 2013 and smashed them, the Hawks supporters were going off their heads. Started the team song halfway through the fourth quarter, and giving heaps to the Eagles 'fans' scurrying out of the stadium.

I can't speak for everyone else, but I only really get to see a handful games a year, and usually only one of those is a Hawks game. Therefore, when it is, I'm generally screaming my throat raw.

I can second this. Every Hawks game I've been to in Perth has been loud. When we played the eagles in 2013 and smashed them, the Hawks supporters were going off their heads. Started the team song halfway through the fourth quarter, and giving heaps to the Eagles 'fans' scurrying out of the stadium.

I can't speak for everyone else, but I only really get to see a handful games a year, and usually only one of those is a Hawks game. Therefore, when it is, I'm generally screaming my throat raw.
Perth and Adelaide fans undoubtedly appreciate having their team come visit them once or twice a year, and it shows.

Brisbane supporters will go nuts....if we ever play there again.

Whereas Hawks from Victoria seem to take our side for granted, and it's become pretty evident that our supporter base just expect the team to win well each week.

KOLOKOTRONIS

if there were 15,000 essendon supporters there it is a stretch

keep winning flags and we will continue to build into a true Empire...the weight of numbers will become overwhelming and the passiveness will naturally turn to ferallness....just like wine ageing finely it is a natural evolution....bombers blues pies tigers have 2nd 3rd and 4th generational support, our base has basically been built from 1970 onwards from the ground up

if there were 15,000 essendon supporters there it is a stretch

keep winning flags and we will continue to build into a true Empire...the weight of numbers will become overwhelming and the passiveness will naturally turn to ferallness....just like wine ageing finely it is a natural evolution....bombers blues pies tigers have 2nd 3rd and 4th generational support, our base has basically been built from 1970 onwards from the ground up

This.

Check this out...

http://afltables.com/afl/crowds/hawthorn.html#3

18/20 of our highest home crowds + home / away crowds have appeared since round 7 2008 - its actually 27/30 if you include all the extra 65,000 plus attendances that have been superseded in recent years.

How does that compare to the traditional Victorian clubs over the last 7 years?

Hawthorn - 18/20 highest home crowds + 18/20 home / away crowds
Geelong - 13/20 highest home crowds + 12/20 home / away crowds
Collingwood - 12/20 highest home crowds + 7/20 home / away crowds
Carlton - 10/20 highest home crowds + 9/20 home / away crowds
Richmond - 9/20 highest home crowds + 10/20 home / away crowds
Essendon - 7/20 highest home crowds + 6/20 home / away crowds
W Bulldogs - 4/20 highest home crowds + 7/20 home / away crowds
St Kilda - 4/20 highest home crowds + 7/20 home / away crowds
Melbourne - 3/20 highest home crowds + 3/20 home / away crowds
North Melbourne - 0/20 highest home crowds + 1/20 home / away crowds

Hawthorn >>> Geelong >> Collingwood / Carlton / Richmond > Essendon > W Bulldogs / St Kilda > Melbourne > North Melbourne

Consider this, in round 18 2007 the Hawks game against Essendon (55,019) was the 3rd largest home crowd Hawthorn had ever drawn (only behind a mammoth QB game in 1981 and the inflated Waverley Park farewell in 1999). Since that point Hawthorn has played 18 home games that have drawn larger than that crowd. In 2015 alone the Hawks will probably have 4 home games that will draw 60,000 plus (Geelong, Richmond, Sydney and Essendon)...so the club has come a hell of a long way in a decade. Noise or no noise