Sheeds weekly ramblings - merged

Re: Sheeds weekly ramblings - 03/05/2009

pears looks to be improving every week & i am looking forward to seeing both him a hurley playing side by side once they have a few games under their belts - could be a very daunting proposition for many forward lines in years to come

myers - i would say there was improvement this week to last, so he deserves to go around again, this out & out hatred displayed by some is over the top & frankly pathetic - he was wearing red & black last time i checked...

so if we can accept that defensively the side is on track, & the midfield not too far behind with hopefully the inclusion of a couple from reimers houli mcveigh skipworth soon, then its the forward setup that is the major problem & which cost us any chance against brisy

winders showed a bit up there but until there is a genuine 2nd option to lloyd (neagle where art thou?) we are stuffed imho

hate to see fletcher go down but it gives a young side a chance to adapt & cope with the loss of probably the sides most important player

well, wee are crap:) :confused::eek:

And you are a useless tool.

OP - Myers played his best game of the year, how could you say he was that bad?

We are going to have a tough month, we have lost our three most important players to injury
1) Hille - Our No1 ruckman, 2) Fletcher - General in defence 3) McVeigh - Adds a lot of class to our mid.

These three can't be replaced so we will be in a bit of trouble, but again it will hopefully give more oppurtunities to Hurley, Belly and Houli.

Interesting ruck rotation stats on the weekend:

Clark - 65% TOG
Brennan - 65%

Ryder had %80 and Hooker had 70%+. I can't recall exact figures for our boys but it was a bit more than the Brissie boys.

Maybe the Fletcher injury played a part but it looks as though Brisbane went with an exact plan and it worked well for them.

Can people just have a look at some of the things written on here.

Myers being in the best players after 15 AFL games at AFL level, yes he was a first round draft pick, but so was Mark Bolton, not all players work out, he has heaps of upside, he is not Rhys Palmer, he is not Joel Selwood, that first year player that walks into AFL football and shows that he is a worthy player, he is only what, 19 - 20 years of age. my god, give the kid some slack, Ricky Dyson is now in his what 4th season and he is only starting to show signs of being a handy depth player at AFL level, Myers is really in the team only because we have no one else able to fill this void. I feel he is being used out of position, but that is just my opinion.
Who when all players are back by round 10 will take Myers spot on a half back flank then? Kelvin Sheedy? Daytripper? any thoughts on this question.

The selection of Hooker was just reward for both form and also the inability of Bellchambers to seize his oppurtunity, instead he played like he was going to get a call up, just like that in the magoos the week after Hille did his ACL, Hooker was in the best 2 - 3 players on the ground in the 2 bendigo games prior to the Hille injury, so was just reward for some good form, obvioulsy he is able to play down back as well (where he was doing a good job) and this may have got him over the line opposed to bellchambers.

Pears has shown plenty thisyear, but needs to play on the big forwards which he will start doing, (didnt against carlton) and should be all the better for the long run, he is an exciting prospect, same goes for the others down back in Daniher and Hurley, although i severly doubt that we will see all three down back when all are fit, a fit Fletcher/Pears sees no room for one of Daniher or Hurley.

And all the lucas bashers on here, get stuffed, he is struggling yes, but who do we bring in for him, Micahel Still? its not like Neagle or Gumby are setting the world on fire at Bendigo, so we are not to reward mediocrity and hand out games to Neagle, although he has kicked a couple of goals last start, he needs to put a couple of consistant starts together before being close to a call up, but then it still does not solve our CHFforward issue, Neagle (FF) Lloyd (FF), they are diffferent players to Lucas who plays a traditional CHF role, what about playing Mcphee at CHF then, instead of a third tall, that way we run the ball inside 50 with another small on the flank, instead of Mcphee on a flank and Lucas at CHF?

So many things to worry about, all in all, its only a game for us, its not our jobs, aka matthew knights, but a mere passion for us to pass our time for those 3 - 4 hours between Friday 6pm and sunday 6pm.

Be patient for the bombers. they will be coming, just not yet, the games we have won (carlton, Collingwood) are awesome wins, but no matter where the sides are on the ladder they are nearly always exciting games, (circa 2008 V carlton; 2 wins, final position, 12th), just be patient with the kicks coming through, a lot of players i feel will be turnt over this year who we think will not make it, and look to off load to other clubs, maybe at an underpriced value, once this has been done, then we will be making gradual improvement in a year or so.

Myers being in the best players after 15 AFL games at AFL level, yes he was a first round draft pick, but so was Mark Bolton, not all players work out, he has heaps of upside, he is not Rhys Palmer, he is not Joel Selwood, that first year player that walks into AFL football and shows that he is a worthy player, he is only what, 19 - 20 years of age. my god, give the kid some slack, Ricky Dyson is now in his what 4th season and he is only starting to show signs of being a handy depth player at AFL level, Myers is really in the team only because we have no one else able to fill this void. I feel he is being used out of position, but that is just my opinion.
Who when all players are back by round 10 will take Myers spot on a half back flank then? Kelvin Sheedy? Daytripper? any thoughts on this question.

Mate, I'm just calling a spade a spade. He has been ordinary this year. The upside is not apparant to me at the moment.

It annoys me when the same old players are made scapegoats each week when they contribute twice as much as Myers yet he seems to get off scott free.

I don't subscribe to the 'he's young, give him a break' theory. If you're in MY Essendon team then I expect you to perform to expectations.

If I want to watch players develop then I will go and watch the U18 comp.

Mate, I'm just calling a spade a spade. He has been ordinary this year. The upside is not apparant to me at the moment.

It annoys me when the same old players are made scapegoats each week when they contribute twice as much as Myers yet he seems to get off scott free.

I don't subscribe to the 'he's young, give him a break' theory. If you're in MY Essendon team then I expect you to perform to expectations.

If I want to watch players develop then I will go and watch the U18 comp.

where do you Courtenay Dempsey and Scott Gumbleton. All these reputations, all for nothing, Dempsey is at least starting to show the faith that we have put in him.

Gumby should be tearing apart the AFL, a number two draft pick, best CHF in years to come through junior ranks, and now where is he, injury plagued, cannot get on the park, when the fact of the matter is players such as Travis Boak (port @ # 5) and Joel Selwood (Geelong @ # 7), are really showing where an AFL player should be at in there 3rd year of AFL footballl, sheeze, even players taken late have shown more than him from that draft, players such as Josh Hill (WB @ # 61), Robbie Gray (Port @ # 55) and even Tyson Goldsack (collingwood @ # 63) have all shown more than Gumby. I am sure that you, along with other people on here are going to say, 'keep him, hes young" or , "hes still developing", in my mind, I wouldnt mind seeing the back of him, in my eyes, he would probably be a second or third round draft pick, and what did we spend on him, a number two draft pick, and the best part of three years getting him on the park, fact of the matter is, he is no good, for the sheer fact that he cannot get on the park, would love to see him elsewhere for a reasonable draft pick while he is still worth it. I am sure that Fremantle would really love the WA boy, and would give up plenty to lure him home.

where do you Courtenay Dempsey and Scott Gumbleton. All these reputations, all for nothing, Dempsey is at least starting to show the faith that we have put in him.

Gumby should be tearing apart the AFL, a number two draft pick, best CHF in years to come through junior ranks, and now where is he, injury plagued, cannot get on the park, when the fact of the matter is players such as Travis Boak (port @ # 5) and Joel Selwood (Geelong @ # 7), are really showing where an AFL player should be at in there 3rd year of AFL footballl, sheeze, even players taken late have shown more than him from that draft, players such as Josh Hill (WB @ # 61), Robbie Gray (Port @ # 55) and even Tyson Goldsack (collingwood @ # 63) have all shown more than Gumby. I am sure that you, along with other people on here are going to say, 'keep him, hes young" or , "hes still developing", in my mind, I wouldnt mind seeing the back of him, in my eyes, he would probably be a second or third round draft pick, and what did we spend on him, a number two draft pick, and the best part of three years getting him on the park, fact of the matter is, he is no good, for the sheer fact that he cannot get on the park, would love to see him elsewhere for a reasonable draft pick while he is still worth it. I am sure that Fremantle would really love the WA boy, and would give up plenty to lure him home.

you've got to be kidding me. What a great idea! Let's buy high and sell low!

Obviously, because he's been injured now, he'll always be injured, right? All that talent, gone.

What a tragedy :rolleyes:

I swear, the amount of Chicken Littles on this board is a ****ing joke

you've got to be kidding me. What a great idea! Let's buy high and sell low!

Obviously, because he's been injured now, he'll always be injured, right? All that talent, gone.

What a tragedy :rolleyes:

I swear, the amount of Chicken Littles on this board is a ****ing joke

ever bought a brand new TV, then when it has got old and looked to upgrade gone to your mate or something and gone "100 bucks", that pretty much applies to everything in life, even house prices right now.

Dude, there's a little rule in terms of KPP players. You gots to give em 5 years.

They take longer to develop. We have made a big investment in the kid and we can't give him away for nothing. Selwood seems the right choice now but he was rated as one of the best CHF's to come out of juniro ranks.

He might not be the next Wayne Carey but if he becomes a solid Drew Petrie or Cam Mooney type then you can still develop a quality side.

He's shown enough promise when playing to suggest that if he gets his body right he'll be a good AFL player.

ever bought a brand new TV, then when it has got old and looked to upgrade gone to your mate or something and gone "100 bucks", that pretty much applies to everything in life, even house prices right now.

What a stupid analogy! :rolleyes: Gumbleton can't be compared to an 'old' TV because he isn't an 'old' player.

A more accurate analogy would be buying a brand new TV, top of the range. You have it for 6 months and something goes wrong with it. You could either 1) get it fixed for a for a small price, and then keep the T.V and hopefully enjoy it for the next 10 years (like efc are doing with gumby). Or, 2) you could sell it at a 10th of its value, and then fork out another small fortune for a new TV that may or may not be better.

Stop being so short sighted and be have some patience. Gumby WILL come good!

I don't care about their reputations or what pick they were. Its irrelevant when they run on to the field. If they're picked then they play to their best of their ability. If they aren't performing then I will call them out on it. Of course, you give some leeway for younger players - they are going to be inconsistent however if they put in 5 or 6 efforts of below par performances then again they should be called out on it.

Don't know where that has come from. Its hard to rate someone when they're always injured.

I don't care about their reputations or what pick they were. Its irrelevant when they run on to the field. If they're picked then they play to their best of their ability. If they aren't performing then I will call them out on it. Of course, you give some leeway for younger players - they are going to be inconsistent however if they put in 5 or 6 efforts of below par performances then again they should be called out on it.

Don't know where that has come from. Its hard to rate someone when they're always injured.

Well how has Zaka been in your eyes, good, bad, ugly, please, fill me in. :rolleyes: he has three weeks left then, to show some consistancy cause he is a young player ;)

Do you think he is being played out of position, because I vividly remeber seeing him in a couple of games last year in the guts at the first bounce (maybe not of the game, but of some quaters) and getting some good clearances, why do we persist with him on a back flank. Have we thought of these things, who do we bring in for him (Myers), because to be honest, Houli is the only really decent one, or Nash in the magoos that could fill the role of Myers. Although Nash could be a viable option.

Well how has Zaka been in your eyes, good, bad, ugly, please, fill me in. :rolleyes: he has three weeks left then, to show some consistancy cause he is a young player ;)

Zaka has been doing some good things but you're right - he probably needs to do something in the next 2-3 weeks or so or else he could be back at Bendigo. In all likelihood with some players returning from injury this will happen anyway.
Do you think he is being played out of position, because I vividly remeber seeing him in a couple of games last year in the guts at the first bounce (maybe not of the game, but of some quaters) and getting some good clearances, why do we persist with him on a back flank. Have we thought of these things, who do we bring in for him (Myers), because to be honest, Houli is the only really decent one, or Nash in the magoos that could fill the role of Myers. Although Nash could be a viable option.

I don't know what position he is suited to because I haven't seen him show anything in any position really. Apparantly he is a midfielder but he looks a bit unfir for that at this stage. Who knows ?

Nash or Atkinson could fill his spot quite readily. Also consider that at the moment NLM, Dempsey and Myers are all basically playing the same position (the tall, rangy half back flanker) - there probably is room for only two of them at this stage.

I would suggest that Zaharakis may be dropped to Bendigo this week.

He like most first year players is struggling for consistency - even Rich of Brisbane who played a solid game on Saturday - has been below par for the last 3 weeks.

Even Rioli struggled at times last year and was rested for one game.

Zaka has been doing some good things but you're right - he probably needs to do something in the next 2-3 weeks or so or else he could be back at Bendigo. In all likelihood with some players returning from injury this will happen anyway.

Interesting. Based on your getting a game on merrit theory and your problem with Myers kicking efficincy hwo does Zaka get 2 or 3 more weeks ?

Zakas last 5 games.
V Freo 10 kicks 11 hb 67% eff
V Carlton 7 kicks 5 hb 67% eff
V North 10 kicks 10 hb 75% eff
V Pies 8 kicks 2 hb 60% eff
V Brisbane 5 kicks 5 hb 60% eff

Nice double standard you have going. Zaka was very good in his first game and pretty good against North but based on his other 3 games you could hardly say that Myers is not getting a game on Merrit yet say Zaka should get another 2 or 3 weeks. How is giving him 2 or 3 weeks based on Merit :confused:
Given that Zaka was drafted as a skilled midfield ( even higher kicking eff than Myers ever had at under 18 level ) how could you not be judging him by the same standards that you seem to judge Myers on.
Maybe it is becasue Zaka was not a first rounder :eek:
Your 2 to 3 weeks certainly goes against your constant "we should not play them just becasue they are young argument"

Interesting. Based on your getting a game on merrit theory and your problem with Myers kicking efficincy hwo does Zaka get 2 or 3 more weeks ?

Zakas last 5 games.
V Freo 10 kicks 11 hb 67% eff
V Carlton 7 kicks 5 hb 67% eff
V North 10 kicks 10 hb 75% eff
V Pies 8 kicks 2 hb 60% eff
V Brisbane 5 kicks 5 hb 60% eff

Nice double standard you have going. Zaka was very good in his first game and pretty good against North but based on his other 3 games you could hardly say that Myers is not getting a game on Merrit yet say Zaka should get another 2 or 3 weeks. How is giving him 2 or 3 weeks based on Merit :confused:
Given that Zaka was drafted as a skilled midfield ( even higher kicking eff than Myers ever had at under 18 level ) how could you not be judging him by the same standards that you seem to judge Myers on.
Maybe it is becasue Zaka was not a first rounder :eek:
Your 2 to 3 weeks certainly goes against your constant "we should not play them just becasue they are young argument"

Zaka gets a leave pass from me because he has actually positively contributed to the team in a couple of matches. His 41 possessions combined against Freo and Nth is only 4 behind Myers total all season. :eek:

Zaka also uses the ball more by foot and generally kicks the ball over longer distances so his efficiency will be down as a result. If you are handballing all the time, your efficiency should be in the 80% to 90% range.

That said, it might be a big ask for the kid to play against both Hawthorn and St Kilda in successive weeks.

Zaka gets a leave pass from me because he has actually positively contributed to the team in a couple of matches. His 41 possessions combined against Freo and Nth is only 4 behind Myers total all season. :eek:

Zaka also uses the ball more by foot and generally kicks the ball over longer distances so his efficiency will be down as a result. If you are handballing all the time, your efficiency should be in the 80% to 90% range.

That said, it might be a big ask for the kid to play against both Hawthorn and St Kilda in successive weeks.

So Myers does well playing defence and keeps whoever he plays on quiet but Zaka contributes more.
Too bad Zaka was matched up with McGrath at half forward both time that McGrath ran forwards to contribute to goals.

As far as combined possessions go do you really think that a half back playing a defensive role is going to end up with more possessions than a midfielder ?:rolleyes:

You have just exposed that you have a seriosu double standard when it comes to juding players and it all stems from the fact that for whatever reason you belive that Myers has to somehow play to a better standard than other inexperienced players.

I have all of Myers stats and oppenents in the changes thread. He played his role and did it well. The possessions where not a part of what he was doing after 1/4 time.

It is not my problem that you struggle to pick up certain aspects of the game.

So Myers does well playing defence and keeps whoever he plays on quiet but Zaka contributes more.
Too bad Zaka was matched up with McGrath at half forward both time that McGrath ran forwards to contribute to goals.

As far as combined possessions go do you really think that a half back playing a defensive role is going to end up with more possessions than a midfielder ?:rolleyes:

You have just exposed that you have a seriosu double standard when it comes to juding players and it all stems from the fact that for whatever reason you belive that Myers has to somehow play to a better standard than other inexperienced players.

I have all of Myers stats and oppenents in the changes thread. He played his role and did it well. The possessions where not a part of what he was doing after 1/4 time.

It is not my problem that you struggle to pick up certain aspects of the game.

Mate, there is a big difference between Albert Proud and Ash McGrath as far as quality of opponent goes.You also conveniantly ignored the major intent of my post which was that at least Zaka has contributed positively for us on a couple of occasions.

Myers shut down Albert Proud.
Whoopdy Doo.

Mate, there is a big difference between Albert Proud and Ash McGrath as far as quality of opponent goes.You also conveniantly ignored the major intent of my post which was that at least Zaka has contributed positively for us on a couple of occasions.

Myers shut down Albert Proud.
Whoopdy Doo.

You can only beat who you play on. If you play in defence you have to neat your opponent. This week Myers did it.
You can not use the quality of opponent as an arguement.
Yes Zaka has contributed in the midfield but you can not say that Myers did not contribute on Saturday night when he beat the opponents he played on. That is the defenders job to beat his man.
He also did not give up many possessions (3 possessions) in the first quarter when he was on Sellwood for about 8 minutes or Rich ( 2 possessions)also in the first quarter for about 8 minutes when he was on the ground.

Lets face it for a start you flogged Myers when you had no idea where he played who who he was on and you let a complete bias cloud evey comment you make on him.
I can not help it if you can not see any of the defensive stuff that goes on during a game.
Lets face it Nash , who you say could do better, gave up a heap of possessions against a first gamer in Warren against North in the first quarter.

Dont give me any whoopdy doo shit.
Pull your head out of your arse and judge games on merit.

Who has Myers kept quiet?

Saturday night i was talking about. I know he got flogged by Wiggens against carlton and he was dropped for that performance.
He played half back and his two opponents in Proud and Polkinghorne had no impact on the game. No they are not big names but when you play in defence you try and beat your man and keep him from having an impact.
He did that.
He also held Rich to a couple of possessions in the 8 or so minutes he was on him in the first quater.

Just as an aside, Proud had 16 possessions on Saturday night - his best game for the season.

Saturday night i was talking about. I know he got flogged by Wiggens against carlton and he was dropped for that performance.
He played half back and his two opponents in Proud and Polkinghorne had no impact on the game. No they are not big names but when you play in defence you try and beat your man and keep him from having an impact.
He did that.
He also held Rich to a couple of possessions in the 8 or so minutes he was on him in the first quater.

There were a number of times on Saturday night were players turned him inside/out and he couldn't lay a tackle. It was Nashesque.

Every other game this year has been the same. He's either trailing his opponent by a few metres or getting killing on the turns.

It's like watching Courtney Johns playing defence. It's just no good at the moment as his mobility is not there.

I can't recall him killing a contest, tackling anyone, or doing anything remotely good defensively. Averaging 1 tackle a game says it all really.