Lidge's Official Bring Back Basia Bonkowski Action Faction Thread (II)

Not sure if this is the right spot but here goes :)

For all of us "Older musically inclined" BF posters:

Retro Rage
Countdown Specials (for all of January)
Saturday 2nd January 11:15pm

Just to jog a few memories............ or nightmares ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vt1L...D450EFEA&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=56

Ahhhh.... we'll be able to relive great moments like these
[YOUTUBE]m1TUgmFsm3A[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]BNknaz4KVBc[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]FyNAdLJpWxc[/YOUTUBE]

I remember the Iggy one, how much yayo had he taken that day?

Anyway, I reckon I saw the best recording of a live performance I have ever seen on youtube today:

Just wow.

[youtube]5F3Sy828st4[/youtube]

Wally, such an inspired performance of a seminal song. Another favourite of mine is the footage featured in the documentary, "The Road To God Knows Where", of the band performing the song in a radio studio, virtually sans instruments (Thomas Wydler provides percussion by beating his hands against his thighs).

On a semi related note, I'm still in disbelief over the news of the passing of Rowland S Howard. He was such an incendiary guitarist and I'll treasure the opportunities I've had to see him play live. I've still got my ticket from the last gig These Immortal Souls played (supported by Lydia Lunch at The Greyhound) and so, in memory of Rowland, here's a clip from said band:

[youtube]orH3GBNYFLA[/youtube]|

RIP

Chris Cornell has announced that Soundgarden will be reforming in 2010. I saw them twice in 1994 - once at the Sydney Big Day Out and their sideshow at Selinas. They were an absolutely stunning band. Let's hope they make it to Australia again.

One of my all time favourite video clips.
[YOUTUBE]Sg34YvMSDng[/YOUTUBE]

C'mon Deano...I love an end of year top 10 list - give us your top 10 album recommends for 2009 (and really, I don't care if they were realeased in 2009).

No worries, Zebs.

Cobbling together a list as we speak.

Pay that.

I'm sure he'll love doing this, but don't expect it till later on NY's Day at the very earliest (given the occasion tonight and his plans for it).

Haha. Good call, man.

Yes, messy New Years.

LEGEND. Saw him Ottawa 1000 years ago when he asked the audience to have patience while he tuned his guitar on a pedal tuner. Some wiseacre yelled out "pity they don't have one for your voice."

Quality.

Chris Cornell has announced that Soundgarden will be reforming in 2010. I saw them twice in 1994 - once at the Sydney Big Day Out and their sideshow at Selinas. They were an absolutely stunning band. Let's hope they make it to Australia again.

Not a fan, tbh. But the Melbourne leg of the above Big Day Out was responsible for a kind of funny story involving a certain someone taking a liiiiiittle too much acid. Have a feeling I may have told it before (Basia #1?), and I don't want to be one of those guys that tells the same story twice, lest someone like Larry David make fun of me in a globally-syndicated TV show.

Anyways, back soon with that Top Ten list.

This is actually the first year in a very long time that I'm not submitting a list to some website/fanzine/mag or otherwise, so thanks for asking, Zebs, cos' you've helped stave off any feelings of listsickness that I may have been having.

My best of 2009....

10. Raekwon – “Only Built 4 Cuban Linx Pt.II” – Token Hip-Hop inclusion ? Yeah, not so much. Sure, it’s a well acknowledged fact that the solo efforts of individual Wu-Tang members have struggled to capture the magic of their collective efforts. Only a handful have been exceptional. I'm glad to say, this is one of them. Raekwon is in top form, and it doesn’t hurt having his fellow Wu-Tangers drop by for some blistering guest spots. Raekwon restoring the Wu-Tang faith in '09.

[youtube]nR7kVnh3PlI[/youtube]

9. John Vanderslice – “Romanian Names” – Always enjoyed John Vanderslice’s work, right back from the days when he fronted a completely excellent band by the name of Mk Ultra that fcuk all people know, but should. His solo albums have continued to yield some certified gems, but they have been somewhat uneven in overall quality. Not so with “Romanian Names”, an album that doesn’t really have a single dud song in the bunch. It’s a laidback, effortless listen, with a subtle, keyboard-driven sound that kind of washes over you in a really cool and hypnotic way. Death Cab and Neutral Milk Hotel would be two obvious touchpoints to raise. The key to this album though is some truly exceptional vocal melodies, which are among the finest JV has ever written. Career best form.

[youtube]2ou7FnmExvU[/youtube]

8. The Pains Of Being True At Heart – “S/T" – Assured debut long-player from NY band, built on a bunch of bright, jangly guitars and a large debt to The Smiths and The Wedding Present. Doing very well to make this stuff sound fresh and interesting post-2000, particularly from the other side of the Atlantic. But they manage it with ease. Excellent album, more than worthy of a top ten spot.

[youtube]B4itzHRpltQ[/youtube]

7. Japandroids – “Post-Nothing” – Hard not to like this album on sheer enthusiasm alone. Canadian duo who play (deliberately?) naïve, fuzzy, hella infectious punk-pop anthems like their godamn lives depend on it. (With the odd stoner jam thrown in for taking-a-breather purposes.) Rough, ready, simple, and insidiously catchy on account of some top-shelf hooks. There's a bit of hype around these guys and the cynic in me says I should dislike them, but thankfully the part of my brain that likes cool power-chords keeps telling the cynic to get stuffed.

[youtube]jOoHAbnhxNI[/youtube]

6. Future Of The Left – “Travels With Myself And Another” – Ex-McLusky frontman, Andy Falkous, pens his best batch of songs yet since the demise of his previous band. McLusky have proved to be a very hard act for Falkous to follow, but this album sees FOTL finally able to step out from the aforementioned’s shadow with guns blazing. As usual, the music goes straight for the jugular, and the lyrics are a consistent highlight. Thank fcuk that there are still people out there making records that know how rock and roll should be played. God bless Andy Falkous.

This ripping song is dedicated to our former CEO. Click play and you'll soon see/hear why.

[youtube]eCvCBkx50mI[/youtube]

5. Dinosaur Jr – “Farm” – Chock full of noisy, catchy gems, all with their own shiny, new J Mascis solo to enjoy. Two albums in and the Dinosaur Jr reformation doesn’t feel the slightest bit like any kind of tacky cash-in or pointless nostalgia trip. Sure, their music is still rooted in the 90’s indie sound, and thus won't win them any prizes for innovation, but the quality of the songwriting is as strong as it has ever been. Will rightly find a place in the upper reaches of their impressive back catalogue.

[youtube]TgTJtdn6VjM[/youtube]

4. The Thermals – “Now We Can See” – They jumped ship from Sub Pop to Kill Rock Stars, but other than that it’s pretty much business as usual (ie. yet another top album) for this excellent US band. Their music continues to mature and develop, but the songs still retain that raw, anthemic quality that has always made The Thermals’ work so consistently enjoyable. Some cleverly biting lyrics are an added bonus. “Now We Can See” is the sound of an excellent band, just getting better and better.

[youtube]QJu611UdfxA[/youtube]

3. Superchunk – “Leaves In The Gutter” Ep – They’re back. Anything I say here will be hopelessly tainted by bias, but I reckon I deserve a little credit for holding them off until the third spot on the list. But in the interest of rational justification….when one of indie rock’s finest ever bands displays, over the course of five tracks, exactly what made them so enjoyable and revered in the first place, high marks are bound to follow. The hooks are as infectious as ever, and the seamless interaction between the two guitars makes the bands 10-year hiatus seem like a 10-day one. A welcome return to the upbeat, uptempo Chunk of old. Excellent from the first note to the last.

[youtube]Vrt0O4tBVX8[/youtube]

2. Phoenix - "Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix" - Just when you think Phoenix are at the top of their game, they go and raise the bar again. They are now officially the best band France has produced in....well, ever. These guys have always had some great ideas, and pop smarts up the wazoo, but this album sees it all finally click into place. It's almost annoyingly clever. But it's quality is undeniable - it's an album full of songs that enter your head and refuse to leave. In reality, they've probably been robbed of top spot.

Drummer is a crack-up.

[youtube]RulP4OXxFbM[/youtube]

1. The xx – “xx” – Not just the best debut album of the year, but the best album, full stop. The xx are a band with a rare sense for what works, and how to put everything – musically – in its right place. They show an acumen way beyond their years. However, that’s not necessarily apparent when singling out individual tracks. While the songs are universally strong, the album undoubtably works best as a complete piece. As good albums so often do. As for the music, there’s smatterings of influences present here and there (Velvet Underground, Young Marble Giants, Echo & The Bunnymen, The Cure, Joy Divison), but The xx put a sparser and far more soulful spin on proceedings. Bottom line – they’ve got a pretty damn unique sound. And in this day an age, that’s an achievement in itself, let alone making the new ground sound so captivating and tuneful. Out of nowhere (well, for me anyway), this was a truly exceptional 2009 release.

[youtube]GjcKXBFLOeo[/youtube]

Thanks for the effort TOD, some good stuff there I hadn't heard before.:thumbsu:

Outstanding TOD.

Got some purchases to make.

Agreed.

Oh and TOD, surely Air would be very disappointed in those comments.

So would Daft Punk, Les Thugs, and half of Stereolab.

But fcuk it. Phoenix are better than the lot of them.

Anyways....cheers, all. My pleasure, etc.

Not a fan, tbh. But the Melbourne leg of the above Big Day Out was responsible for a kind of funny story involving a certain someone taking a liiiiiittle too much acid.

You idiot.

Reminds me of another hyped release from '09.

[youtube]3Jma6Ojg2Vg[/youtube]

Hope its not a repost, is there a link to the original thread?[YOUTUBE]wjxef8AfVQg[/YOUTUBE]

Here you go, jozeph...

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=312625&highlight=basia

Hope you've got a spare 3 days.

Okay, just to tie off this whole 'looking back at the musical highlights of 2009' thing, if you had told me that a duet between Jay-Z and Alicia Keys would result in one of the songs of the year, I would have said you were f***ed in the head. It's not that I lack faith in Jay-Z. But if you then told me that the Alicia Keys vocal part would be the one of the, errr, keys to the song, I would have said you were even more f***ed in the head.

But there you go. Nice to see Da Godfather of Corporate Hip-Hop reclaim his throne, and Alicia take a break from being crap.

My tribute to future Gold Coast star recruit and Southport Leagues Club seafood buffet sampler, Jay-Z.

[youtube]0UjsXo9l6I8[/youtube]

Just flicking through the pages of this thread makes me feel old.

Lidge senior and I were fortunate enough to live 1 minute away from the Yarrawonga showgrounds where every second Aust Day weekend they held Rock A Longa, which alternated each year with Peaches and Cream held at Thompsons Beach in Cobram. These were concerts held prior to the Big Day out and the music was pretty good.

Bands featured include;
INXS, Mentals, Skyhooks, Oils I think!, the Angels, The Johnny's, and any other Aussie band worth their salt in the 80's.We sometimes woke up with 40 bodies (all ex ACK boys)in the house the next morning with screaching hangovers.

When I figure out how to attach a U Tube clip look out for some Femmes, T Rex and Beastie Boys.

Sticks

Every now and again I feel the need to contribute to this fine thread of music I never listen too. :stern look

But anyways, here ye is my latest post and it is of the Black Metal band Gorgoroth.

It is from their Black Mass Krakow 2004 DVD. If the music isn't to your liking turn the sound down and watch the imagery.:thumbsu:

This particular song is "Bergtrollets Hevn"

Enjoy or Boil your eyes out.

[YOUTUBE]O5qYrQeT7SI[/YOUTUBE]

Every now and again I feel the need to contribute to this fine thread of music I never listen too. :stern look

But anyways, here ye is my latest post and it is of the Black Metal band Gorgoroth.

It is from their Black Mass Krakow 2004 DVD. If the music isn't to your liking turn the sound down and watch the imagery.:thumbsu:

I was actually at that concert in 2004. My Uncle is their manager. He used to manage Cyndi Lauper but not anymore.:thumbsdown:

Any Irish music fans out there?

No?.......

Too bad.

The Frames are a band who seem to really encapsulate that terminally Irish trait, the unexploded bomb.
Anybody who has litinnd to a fair bit o' d' Irish knows what I'm talkin about. I first saw the Frames at The POW in 2002/3 and i must say it was a fekin' ball tearer of a gig. Not long after that I hooked up with a chic who was obsessed with Christie Moore and hence the seeds were sown.

Bring on the tributes.

Any Irish music fans out there?

No?.......

Too bad.

Yeah, I'll go Irish bands for a $100 please, Alex.

Off the top of my head I like The Pogues, Ash, The High Llamas, Thin Lizzy, and to a lesser extent, That Petrol Emotion, The Thrills and The Waterboys.

My Bloody Valentine rule, and I also rate a band called Rollerskate Skinny, who only stuck around for two albums (in the early-mid 90's) - both of them quite excellent. The first of the two featured Jimi Shields (brother of MBV's Kevin) on guitar.

Sadly under-acknowledged (Irish) band.

[youtube]bnA8U4s48kQ[/youtube]

[youtube]5NwgJ-PEYK8[/youtube]

The Frames are a band who seem to really encapsulate that terminally Irish trait, the unexploded bomb.
Anybody who has litinnd to a fair bit o' d' Irish knows what I'm talkin about. I first saw the Frames at The POW in 2002/3 and i must say it was a fekin' ball tearer of a gig. Not long after that I hooked up with a chic who was obsessed with Christie Moore and hence the seeds were sown.

Bring on the tributes.

Yeah, The Frames go alright, Mr K. And by way of freaky coincidences (because I see you've posted the clip in the your following post), I was listening to "People All Get Ready" just today on youtube. I shit you not. I was actually looking up versions of Curtis Mayfield's "People Get Ready", but that came up in the match so I had a squizz.

Anyhoo, quickly back on the subject of Irish bands...

I lived in England for a few years back in the early 90's. Unfortunately, for reasons that are too convoluted to go into now, I ended up spending a considerable amount of my time living (and working) in Reading. A shitty, depressing place (not far from Slough for a decent cultural reference point), but it did offer me close proximity to the Reading Festival. Which is something, I guess.

While I was there, I saw a few other gigs that were pretty cool, too. Caught this band at a dark, dingy club just outside Reading, and they were seriously awesome. Okay, the lead singer's voice is annoying and the few people that will remember their name will probably do so via their kinda novelty hit, "Where's Me Jumper?", but that's doing them a disservice. They had some pretty cool (and often funny) songs, and live they were freakin' great.

Oh, and they're Irish.

I give you, the Sultans Of Ping FC. (And I dedicate this first song to Wellsy.)

[youtube]4O7qwQlORlM[/youtube]

[youtube]uRFpgJNXqr4[/youtube]

And the "hit".....

[youtube]cWsHXX_HLKs[/youtube]

On Christy Moore, here is the great man doing a lovely rendition of The Pogues' "Fairytale Of New York".

(Thereby killing two Irish birds with the one stone.)

[youtube]FwXBtmRTsFs[/youtube]

And I shall now leave this geographical tangent with a track from Irish cult legends, The Undertones, featuring none other than obscure 80's music footnote, Feargal Sharkey.

Great 7" this.

[youtube]wGu2lu5XWE8[/youtube]

Awesome Undertones clip there. I wasn't aware of Rollerskate Skinny but they look pretty bloody good, so it's surprising to see them only last for a couple of albums. It's a fickle industry Music, seemingly rubbish acts somehow manage long successful careers while others just fade away. Hmmmm.........*pondering philosophical, adjusting rollneck skivvy look*.

Ok, so this led me to check out what became of The Undertones after The Fergeal did a runner. The guitarist brother's John & Damian O'Neill formed That Petrol Emotion, who as it turns out, aren't too bad. Here's one from the wasteland that was the 80's.

[youtube]S6Ry5gHi40o[/youtube]

Fergeal,..... well disappointing really. Unique voice gone to waste. He's now CEO Of UK Music which (Wiki quotes) is ", an umbrella organisation representing the collective interests of the UK's commercial music industry. He has become prominent in criticising the use of Form 696 by the Metropolitan Police' requiring event promoters to provide data on performers and audiences.[6]"

Seems like the Poms are going all Big Brother.