Nathan van Captain

Give it to him now!! :thumbsu: The game was there to be won in the last quarter and he lead from the front!! That's what we want from our leader!! Great game by VB!!

I actually said at 3 quarter time that the 4th quarter was going to be a test of his ability to be a captain.

Was great to see him slot that goal through, but I want to see more than just one quarter of that type of football from him before I am convinced.

Dont confuse his football performance with your posting. :thumbsu:

Get your hand off of it, he was hardly sighted and vying for the title of Captain Clanger until the last quarter.

Should we make Sellar Captain too? He stood up and took some good grabs and kicked a vital goal in the last as well. You people are just plain ridiculous, four quarter efforts, not the memory of a goldfish because he happened to do the very last thing right.

Ah ok, thread talking about how many people don't want Van Berlo as captain is mysteriously removed. Then another suggesting him for captain made by his fan boys magically pops up after he kicks a great goal to cap off 1/4 game of good footy.

That goal was great, and he was good in the last quarter, but that doesn't excuse the other 3 quarters.

Ah ok, thread talking about how many people don't want Van Berlo as captain and mysteriously removed. Then another made by his fan boys magically pops up after he kicks a great goal to cap off 1/4 game of good footy.

The thread starter asked for it to be deleted in embarassment.

Atleast hes smart enough to be embarassed though.

Get your hand off of it, he was hardly sighted and vying for the title of Captain Clanger until the last quarter.

Who could argue with this well weighted opinion?

Should we make Sellar Captain too? He stood up and took some good grabs and kicked a vital goal in the last as well. You people are just plain ridiculous, four quarter efforts, not the memory of a goldfish because he happened to do the very last thing right.

Hahaha.

Yeah, standing up when the games on the line is a terrible quality mate. Nothing to like there at all. :thumbsu:

Who could argue with this well weighted opinion?

Hahaha.

Yeah, standing up when the games on the line is a terrible quality mate. Nothing to like there at all. :thumbsu:

Yeah and being soft, avoiding contests and kicking absolute howlers for 3 quarters isn't?

That goal was great, and his last quarter was good, but the 3 preceding quarters cannot be ignored.

Seriously though, does anyone think its a coincidence that the week we actually give him the captaincy duties, he does that? We made a big mistake fobbing the duties off to Doughty and Stevens.
Agree with this wholeheartedly.

And we can dismiss the theory that the club didn't want to show favour to one potential captain over another by getting Doughty/Stevo to fill in. They genuinely gave those guys the captaincy.

Ridiculous.

Good on VB for coming back so hard in the last quarter. His fitness has always been an asset, today he was still running strong while others were tiring.

Whoever our captain is next season, it has to be one of the younger players. It cannot be a Stevens a Doughty a Rutten or even a Thompson I'm now thinking. It has to be someone from the new wave and the young players have to be the ones in the leadership group so that the responsibility can drag these types of performances out of them.

Would be nice if he stood up to the status as captain while we were fighting to make the finals..

Let's go back over the history of football, any player to kick a goal at the end of a game (not to win it, but yes it was important) or played a decent last quarter after a poor 3 quarters and poor year, let's declare them a champion and captain :confused: A player that's kicked 8 goals in a game, up with the best..

Sellar kicked a massively important one, maybe he should be captain..

I think Rutten's last quarter was just awesome, saved us over and over.. If not for him, vB wouldn't have had the chance to put us 7 points up..

Are you Jay vB? His mum?

Knew you'd pipe up with this one ST.

That was a sensational goal, about time. Needs to do it more than once in a blue moon though. We were lucky to escape with the win today, Doughty very nearly sealed our fate.

That turnover at CHF was one of the worst things I've ever seen.

Off the field he is a fantastic leader, and when in form he is a solid player, but he is not a captain. A captain needs to be able to lift and inspire a side and be a superior presence on the ground. Nathan isn't this.

No surprise in this thread from his no.1 fanboi.

It was a typical MIA game until he stood up in the last.

At the moment through pure attrition he probably is Captain favourite, but it really says a lot about the options.

His fitness has always been an asset, today he was still running strong while others were tiring.

This at least was a plus; if the TV is to be believed, he played every second of the last quarter, which allowed the rest of the brigade to rotate through the last two bench spots, he's the only one who could have.

Still doesn't excuse his deplorable first three quarters.

Yeah and being soft, avoiding contests and kicking absolute howlers for 3 quarters isn't?

That goal was great, and his last quarter was good, but the 3 preceding quarters cannot be ignored.

Soft?

Mate, the bloke sweats harder substances than you. What a load of absolute crap you're posting.

Provide examples of the contests he supposedly shirked during this game, and ill take your rambling seriously.

No surprise in this thread from his no.1 fanboi.

It was a typical MIA game until he stood up in the last.

At the moment through pure attrition he probably is Captain favourite, but it really says a lot about the options.

Yeah, certainly.

Typical missing in action game, if you pretend he didnt have the 11 final quarter touches and match winning ripper goal.

Soft?

Mate, the bloke takes harder shits than you.

Provide examples of the contests he supposedly shirked during this game, and ill take your rambling seriously.

A number of times, one particular one where he waited back for the ball to bounce when opposed running to the attacking 50. He let two Brisbane players run onto the ball and dispose of it without a contest. Now this was in the first half, so I'm not sure if you watched that.

However, why don't you provide examples of where he played well in the first 3 quarters? Considering you made the thread, back it up with why his overall performance was captain worthy.