Rumour CROWS-RELATED TRADE RUMOURS/PROPOSALS - ALL trade rumours & proposals go here! (Part 2)

• Thread starter Thread starter crow4life

To the ********s constantly arguing about Andrew Walker, Taylor Walker, Sam Jacobs, Patrick Dangerfield et al on the Carlton board:

You look even worse flogs than they do :thumbsd:

Please stop before the reputation of this board during trade week descends to the bottom of the barrel with theirs.

Thanks,
NTRabbit

What's happening is that one of the WA clubs has worked out that they are the only one who wants him and can get Griffin for nothing through the PSD.

He wants to go home, no Victorian or other intrestate club is going to jump in and trump them so there is no danger of them losing him.

They don't need to give up anything for him which is why a deal can't be worked out.

So we'll lose him and get nothing in return. It's a fair price IMO.

I thought Griffin was returning to WA for non football reasons meaning he was going back whether it was with an AFL club or not.
He's in a similar boat to Walker.. he's requested a trade (due to personal reasons) but is willing to stay put if no deal can be done. At least that's what's been reported so far.

Who ever said to me andy walker is not a utility in the same mould as otten and shaw...well um walker is 190 cm and otten and shaw are like 191 cm. In my book that makes them like utility players. They are quite not your gun mids and are flanker type players.

To who ever said walker is a gun...really is he? or is that just hype cause he was a no 2 pick a few years ago? i think the latter is morwe like it. He has definately only been solid. This person also states he is exactly what the crows need...really? injury prone no definate position half back, half forward, mid type at 190 cm. I would not think so!!

Crows needs pacy outside mids and crumbing smalls or half forwards at the 175-188cm range not more 190 cm plus utilities despite if the crows mention it or not.

For me definately do not want Walker!!!!! i would prefer to draft players with our second rounder than pic him

Who would you rather have running off half back - A Walker or B Symes?

B Symes is in all honesty probably a better player. Really liked his form towards the end of the year... I think is very under rated.

It's a contest between 2 clanger heavy weights here... haha...

'Walker... kicks a grubber to Symes... who takes it clean... Walker runs on for the handball receive... but OH darn... it's a hospital handball from Symes... and Walker has slammed straight into Barry Hall.... doesn't look good... he's hurt... OH NO... is that his shoulder again...

Shizzzzz

The problem with this logic is that the guy at number 6 is probably still going to be a best 22 required player and since all our required players are now contracted, we would then essentially be forcing out a best 22 player against their will. We also have stacked our list with kpp's over the last few years so number 6 on the list is still likely to be a very good player.

FWIW If we did the exercise:

1 - Tippett
2 - Rutten
3 - Walker
4 - Davis
5 - Stevens
6 - Henderson/Otten (but really more tall running players)

I'd be happy to trade you Stevens out of that list:D

The next rung down would include Sellar, McKernan, Talia

You're expecting to trade 2 guys who have been in and out of your side for much of the year for one of kpp's currently in our best 22. Walker and Jacobs may be "required" but Walker is previously highly rated but has been injury prone and has only shown glimpses of his talent and Jacobs is seemingly considered your number 4 ruck long term.

I actually think Sellar wouldn't be a bad get for you guys. Do you know anything about him and how/where he plays or are you just assuming that because he's a fringe player he must be crap ie much like Carlton supporters have accused Crows supporters of doing when underrating Jacobs because he's behind Kreuzer, Warnock and Hampson in the pecking order.

1. That's why you can afford to trade one

2. I hazard a guess these two would be of more interest to Carlton

3. No, I stated I don't know much about him, just going off the boards, not sure he is who we would be after.

I don't particularly think either Jacobs or Walker are worth a first rounder on their own, but Rendell would have a pretty clear picture of who he is likely to get at pick 14 by now and would be comfortable if he decided these guys are better options.

I guess it's not surprising really.. I mean, what does a WAFL club like East Fremantle have to trade with an AFL club like Adelaide?

About $3.50

.................... What are they putting in SA water these days ????

Seeing as you've asked Coryne. South Australian Water contains fluoride, which assists in the prevention of tooth erosion and decay.

I hope this answers your question and puts your mind at ease :) :thumbsu:

Who ever said to me andy walker is not a utility in the same mould as otten and shaw...well um walker is 190 cm and otten and shaw are like 191 cm. In my book that makes them like utility players. They are quite not your gun mids and are flanker type players.

To who ever said walker is a gun...really is he? or is that just hype cause he was a no 2 pick a few years ago? i think the latter is morwe like it. He has definately only been solid. This person also states he is exactly what the crows need...really? injury prone no definate position half back, half forward, mid type at 190 cm. I would not think so!!

Crows needs pacy outside mids and crumbing smalls or half forwards at the 175-188cm range not more 190 cm plus utilities despite if the crows mention it or not.

For me definately do not want Walker!!!!! i would prefer to draft players with our second rounder than pic him

You have absolutely NFI!!!

Seriously, have you ever taken any particular notice of any of the games AW has played in???

Whilst I haven't yet seen enough of Shaw to comment on his playing style [and I doubt you have either], I would be very surprised if Andy Otten doesn't make into a first class Midfielder for the Crows, maybe as early as 2011.

The one thing AW has that Andy Otten does not really possess is ELITE pace, the obvious reason Rendell and co are so keen on him IMO, I can see Thommo and Danger getting the hard ball out to AW who will switch the afterburners on and break the lines and deliver into Tex and Tip before the opposition can "flood" the backlines......even you should have noted that when the Crows have looked best this year is when we have played fast, flow on footy.

You say "we need pacy outside mids", Andrew Walker to tee, and the role I'm tipping he will fulfill if we are able to get him!!!

You say "This person also states he is exactly what the crows need...really????" Yeah I said that....seems the AFC agree too!! :rolleyes:

1. That's why you can afford to trade one

2. I hazard a guess these two would be of more interest to Carlton

3. No, I stated I don't know much about him, just going off the boards, not sure he is who we would be after.

1 - Yeah - I agree, we just don't want to trade any of the really good ones. It's like saying why don't you trade us Gibbs cause you've got heaps of other good midfielders. (Please could you trade us Gibbs cause you have heaps of other mids..please,please...:D)

2 - Talia would be no chance I would think. Highly rated and just his first year on the list. He was just starting to show a bit at sanfl level before getting injured.

McKernan may be a chance to be traded if he stated he wanted to return home but we'd be disappointed if he left. He's been inconsistent this year but his best (A 5 goal matchwinning performance playing as a ruck in a big comeback win and a 4 goal game playing as a kpf) has been excellent. Smack looks to have heaps of potential but just didn't put together a string of very good performances to warrant a call up. I doubt we would put him up for trade but there have been thoughts that maybe he's a bit homesick and may want to return home.

3 Sellar hasn't exactly lived up to his hype of being a first round pick but we've never given him an extended number of games as a kpp. We've played him as second ruck because that's where our needs are and our encumbant kpp's are better - that's not to say he's no good but just that comparatively he's not as good as Tippett, Walker, Rutten, Bock, Davis or Stevens. He has a big body and could step in and play as an AFL kpp immediately. If he ever realises his potential that saw him at one stage touted as a number 1 pick ahead of Gibbs, Selwood, Boak, Riewoldt, Tippett etc he will be very good. I suspect he's one of those big guys that takes a few years to get used to their bigger body and strength while maintaining their mobility and once he does he'll come good. At worst I think he'll be a serviceable KPP

To the ********s constantly arguing about Andrew Walker, Taylor Walker, Sam Jacobs, Patrick Dangerfield et al on the Carlton board:

You look even worse flogs than they do :thumbsd:

Please stop before the reputation of this board during trade week descends to the bottom of the barrel with theirs.

Thanks,
NTRabbit
Agreed. I propose a moratorium on stupid posts until after trade week.

Now what about Knights for Jacobs? I hear they both want to go home.

Am I the only one here that thinks we should be going after Alwyn Davey?!

He is yet to re-sign with the Bombers and is exactly the sort of player we need in the forward line.

I hope we are exploring this possibility.

No your not Stiffy, if he is available we should definately be going for him. Imagine a quick small crumbing hard tackling forward, we must be the only club without one.

I would rather go after Davey than any other players we are currently linked to!

He addresses a dire need and also is capable of playing further up the ground. I just think he should be our obvious target if available.

I would rather go after Davey than any other players we are currently linked to!

He addresses a dire need and also is capable of playing further up the ground. I just think he should be our obvious target if available.

What would be the asking price if you had to guess a pick range?

Cheaper than Lindsay Thomas I'd imagine.

Injuries the only major concern.

Am I the only one here that thinks we should be going after Alwyn Davey?!

He is yet to re-sign with the Bombers and is exactly the sort of player we need in the forward line.

I hope we are exploring this possibility.

"You signed the wrong Davey"

Alwyn isn't a patch on his brother, no interest.

What would be the asking price if you had to guess a pick range?

Cheaper than Lindsay Thomas I'd imagine.

Injuries the only major concern.
Well mate, we are going after Andrew Walker so I doubt injuries scare us away!

I suspect he wouldn't be too expensive in terms of trade but could be a Troy Bond like pick up for us! :_

Well mate, we are going after Andrew Walker so I doubt injuries scare us away!

I suspect he wouldn't be too expensive in terms of trade but could be a Troy Bond like pick up for us! :_

Supposedly not even a sabre-tooth tiger could rip those shoulders apart any more!

If i see a fist pumping post-goal Davey in Crows colours with minutes left in the 2012 GF I'll be a happy man!

And if Griffin doesn't go then we won't be trading for Jacobs. I guess that makes things simpler - we only have to worry about Walker now.

I guess it's not surprising really.. I mean, what does a WAFL club like East Fremantle have to trade with an AFL club like Adelaide?

I'd still want to get hold of Jacobs, Vader.

Jacobs gives 100%, is a physical player and IMO will improve with every game he plays, unlike Griffin who gets brushed aside on too many occasios.

I still think Griffin will go home, and we should probably let him go home via the PSD if we can't get anything for him, as it's hard to imagine that his heart will really be in it if he stays.

I still think we need Jacobs.

heard a strong rumour that matt jaensch may move on to hawthorn with his former sturt coach rick mcgowan being an assistant there, apparently a disagreement over not being upgraded.....