Social Science Lengths you will go to in order to procrastinate?

• Thread starter Thread starter walshy93

my thesis to graduate from uni. i did it one week before it was due. 40000 words. individual effort.

i didnt shower for 72 hours, didnt eat for 30. didnt sleep for i think 55

It's not simply about the physical feat. I cannot imagine anybody compiling a pass-worthy thesis in a week, even if they didn't sleep at all.

Surely some exaggeration there. I mean, surely he would have at least had to have had rough drafts to present to his thesis adviser.

Writing might be possible, but like Caesar says, how the hell can you submit something pass-worthy? Was all the research done and notes written up, at least?

How the ****?

Seconded. Details of incredible feat required.

It's not that hard to avoid sleeping over a weekend.

Once you get past the initial tiredness, you actually feel less tired.

It's not simply about the physical feat. I cannot imagine anybody compiling a pass-worthy thesis in a week, even if they didn't sleep at all.

Surely some exaggeration there. I mean, surely he would have at least had to have had rough drafts to present to his thesis adviser.

My disbelief was more to do with writing 40,000 words in a week rather than 50 hours not sleeping.

Writing might be possible, but like Caesar says, how the hell can you submit something pass-worthy? Was all the research done and notes written up, at least?

well i did have a abstract in what i had to write, and as you mentioned it, it was all over the place papers with notes, diagrams and references in files and even in the glove box of the car. i was working during that semester so pretty much any idea i had i wrote it down and worked on it when i got home. i had written sentences here and there and such.

when it came to the final week alarm bells rang. it was pure panic. worried shitless thinking **** ive just held myself back another year due to my greed for cash.so beginning saturday morning (it was due friday) i brought my laptop, ipod, a sports bag full of junk, red bull, hard drive, etc and went into the engineering labs. i got onto a flurry but by night got exhausted and ended up watching a premier league game at the local tav making me procrastinate further.

tuesday afternoon was where i literally went **** it. told close ones where i was, switched off my phone and did it again. had breaks in between for youtubing, big footy, a game or two but hammered it away. i remember starting 10am tuesday and staying in that room till 2pm wednesday as i was told to move as there was an important exam here. sat in the other room from 3pm all the way till 3pm friday. sure there were quick trips paid to the shops and such for food and such but as caesar mentioned once you get past the initial tiredness you dont wanna sleep. though things start to resemble like a dream. included the time at uni there was countless typing, movies and laughs here and there, a shitload of music (i think it was the only time i allowed my itunes library to play non stop) and friends coming in and out going "wtf you havent left yet" the good thing was the last night my mates joined me as they were also onto their work as it was the final day of semester.

how did i feel doing it. incredibly stupid and irresponsible. i couldve ruined all my plans for the next year or so. why i did it? make or break right. i was content with 50% as a result i really didnt care and if i failed i wouldve taken it on the chin. that arvo driving home i remember nothing. a 15 minute drive was completely non existant in my memory and still is today. i slept for a good 18 hours.

the result. i fluked it. i honestly did. i got 76. either the lecturer mustve liked my writing or someone close bribed them. all i know is i didnt care and took it.

moral of the story. dont procrastinate. and if you have started something dont procrastinate it when it is already a priority. but it is def a memory ill never forget. pc games and your hard drive in those times really do help.

I used to be terrible with this up until year 12. Being one of those kids who usually did nothing and still got good grades I did the same and got 15% in my first human bio test for the year. Decided to knuckle down and study hard, the trick is to just get up and do it. Sounds so simple but that's seriously the biggest part, if you say i'll do it tomorrow, in 15 minutes, after the next ad break etc you'll never end up doing it. I found once i sat down and started studying i could do it for a few hours without getting bored/wasting time. In the end i got 96% on my last human bio test and could basically recite the book.

Another thing that I've found works is to tell someone you're going to do something. Guy at work asks me what I'm getting upto when we knock off, i say I'm going to wash my car. I either go home and wash my car or i rock up to work the next day and look like a ********. Tell your mate you'll go to the gym with him, makes it much harder to procrastinate to the point where you end up not going.

I used to be terrible with this up until year 12. Being one of those kids who usually did nothing and still got good grades I did the same and got 15% in my first human bio test for the year. Decided to knuckle down and study hard, the trick is to just get up and do it. Sounds so simple but that's seriously the biggest part, if you say i'll do it tomorrow, in 15 minutes, after the next ad break etc you'll never end up doing it. I found once i sat down and started studying i could do it for a few hours without getting bored/wasting time. In the end i got 96% on my last human bio test and could basically recite the book.

Another thing that I've found works is to tell someone you're going to do something. Guy at work asks me what I'm getting upto when we knock off, i say I'm going to wash my car. I either go home and wash my car or i rock up to work the next day and look like a ********. Tell your mate you'll go to the gym with him, makes it much harder to procrastinate to the point where you end up not going.

I kind of wish that happened to me in year 12 or earlier in university.
I'm not pulling of the same marks as I did in high school but with next to no effort, I still managed to scrape high credits and low distinctions (with the very rare HD) in my first two years of university.

Now in my third year of uni and I have a feeling that I will get a sub 20% score in one of my mid sems. I got the marks for the other three mid sems and managed decent to great (in calculus, where notes are allowed) but I do see the sub 20% score happening.

Hopefully it will be a good wakeup call.

my thesis to graduate from uni. i did it one week before it was due. 40000 words. individual effort.

i didnt shower for 72 hours, didnt eat for 30. didnt sleep for i think 55

Curtin eng?

The laziest day of my life...

I was supposed to pick my sister up from Melbourne airport, and had to leave my place at 3:00pm.

2:30-2:45pm: eating a late lunch.

2:50pm: watching the rest of WWE in my boxers, thinking "Ah I can get dressed in a flash"

2:55pm: a new ep of Futurama's on, still in my boxers fully aware of the time

3:20pm: "Whoops, I'm late. Ah **** that shit, can't be stuffed"

3:30pm, someone calls, look at the caller ID and realise it's my sister. I turn the phone off and go to sleep.

Jeez I can be a loser sometimes.

I procrastinate as long as I can. But the minute I miss a deadline, I get really anxious. So I like I think I'm a procrastinator, but not someone who puts things off.

I was supposed to pick my sister up from Melbourne airport, and had to leave my place at 3:00pm.

2:50pm: watching the rest of WWE in my boxers, thinking "Ah I can get dressed in a flash"

3:30pm, someone calls, look at the caller ID and realise it's my sister. I turn the phone off and go to sleep.

Oh dear.

Not quite the type of procrastination we're after.

I first saw this thread about three days ago, and have only just got round to reading it.

That's how good I am.

Because I can laugh at myself??

yeah i'm sure your sister had a good laugh about it too. :confused: left her hanging at the airport with even giving her the opportunity to make other arrangements to get to her destination because you wouldn't even answer your phone to let her know you were to lazy to go and get her.

there is a difference between procrastinating/lazy and doing it at the expense of others. gee, i'm probably the lord of procrastination, but if i had of made a similar arrangement to the one you made, i'd follow through, otherwise i'd say no when she initially asked.

different strokes for different folks though. but don't be surprised if you open up a christmas present from her this year and there is a massive dump inside waiting for you. :thumbsu:

The bitch should have called a taxi.

Man I hate chicks expecting blokes to do everything for them.

yeah i'm sure your sister had a good laugh about it too. :confused: left her hanging at the airport with even giving her the opportunity to make other arrangements to get to her destination because you wouldn't even answer your phone to let her know you were to lazy to go and get her.

there is a difference between procrastinating/lazy and doing it at the expense of others. gee, i'm probably the lord of procrastination, but if i had of made a similar arrangement to the one you made, i'd follow through, otherwise i'd say no when she initially asked.

different strokes for different folks though. but don't be surprised if you open up a christmas present from her this year and there is a massive dump inside waiting for you. :thumbsu:
Naaah, she loves me :heart:

She rung me up on the day she would arrive to tell me to pick her up, (and she couldn't have got some other friend or family member. I'm the one that's stranded in Melbourne while everyone else is living it up in Queensland) without even taking into consideration what plans I could've had. Well favour returned.

I'm afraid that's how I roll

The bitch should have called a taxi.

Man I hate chicks expecting blokes to do everything for them.
This. Some days, when I'm not working and shit, I like to relax a bit.

She rung me up on the day she would arrive to tell me to pick her up, (and she couldn't have got some other friend or family member. I'm the one that's stranded in Melbourne while everyone else is living it up in Queensland) without even taking into consideration what plans I could've had. Well favour returned.

So why not just say to her that you can't do it because you've got other stuff on?

You don't have to tell her your massively busy schedules involves sitting round in your boxers watching WWE and Futurama and sleeping.