crow chat for Port Board posters

i'm giddy with excitement anticipating the media reaction when walker is rightfully suspended for his spear tackle

... and did I see he got a free in that 'tackle' for holding the ball? :confused:

Was talking to a friend who is, apparently, a crow's supporter. I asked him to tell me his favourite player, and that's when I realised he was just a casual follower. Asked him how many players he even knew.
my friend said:
Chad Cornes....? (I stare at him like an idiot) Michael Schumacher?
o_O

Should just post this pic with a line about coming to support SA's only real AFL club

ZwDt.jpg

Should just post this pic with a line about coming to support SA's only real AFL club

ZwDt.jpg

In all seriousness, it's amazing they let Toyota have so much rein as part of the sponsorship. The branding and even the song? Crimony.

21 years later and we still have a strong major sponsor.

I have no issue with it. Football is a business.

21 years later and we still have a strong major sponsor.

I have no issue with it. Football is a business.

Yes it's a business, but sponsors don't write club songs.

"here we go, here we go camry crows" :eek:

sponsors should just stick to sponsorship, not ownership..!

this guy has "Adelaide Football Club est 1860" in his signature so the fact that he doesn't mind the name camry crows is somewhat understandable

also is there one of those cheeky ads in the paper again today? I flicked through a paper at the servo and couldn't quite believe the 19th man one was in there I am quite proud, it's nice and antagonizing. They really did get bogans calling and texting 5AA with the most braindead stuff imaginable, "that just makes me angry and not wanna go", good luck getting through life if that's how weak you are crowies!

this guy has "Adelaide Football Club est 1860" in his signature so the fact that he doesn't mind the name camry crows is somewhat understandable

also is there one of those cheeky ads in the paper again today? I flicked through a paper at the servo and couldn't quite believe the 19th man one was in there I am quite proud, it's nice and antagonizing. They really did get bogans calling and texting 5AA with the most braindead stuff imaginable, "that just makes me angry and not wanna go", good luck getting through life if that's how weak you are crowies!

So that means 2 premierships in 152 years - pretty good strike rate for some ;).

They sure have fairweather fans though, after all those seasons with zero people in attendance at their home ground.

Come on Natman, be fair. They did win the flag in 1886 so it's actually 3 premierships in 152 years!
Sheet, I forgot about that game. But, I now remember leaving at 3 quarter time.

Yeah, I didn't make it that day either. I was just a young fella back then. Transport to the ground was a problem as my family was too poor to afford a horse and my mum wouldn't let me go on the stage coach by myself as she'd heard stories about the highwaymen on Port Road.

I remember there was a lot of interest in the game though, with Adelaide going for their first premiership. People gathered at the post office to hear the match reports as they came in by telegraph, although some people were unimpressed with this new technology and preferred to stick with carrier pigeons.

The game itself drew a big crowd and the SAFA had to rent space in the parklands to provide additional hitching posts for all those who rode to the game from far flung suburbs like Walkerville and Medindie. Media coverage was strong and the Advertiser sent highly rated cadet, Michelangelo Rucci, who managed to file his report in time to make the deadline for the tall ship to London, meaning that keen football followers in the mother country could read about the game over Christmas Dinner. Queen Victoria sent her congratulations, as did US President Grover Cleveland and German Chancellor Otto von Bismarck.

BOG for Adelaide was veteran Leigh Whicker, closely followed by a young rookie called Graham Cornes. Club President Bill "Colonel" Sanders was delighted with the win, saying that it underlined Adelaide's strong claims for entry into the intercolonial competition as the team for all South Australians. SAFA President Max Basheer, while ecstatic about Adelaide's win, was more cautious when asked about the VFA's invitation to join the intercolonial league: "We have concerns about the VFA's motives in establishing this competition and we are not keen on paying the 4 shillings licence fee. We plan to wait a bit longer and see what happens....."

Is it just me or do normal people find many of the Crows player nicknames irritating? Tip and Smack particularly annoy me. Sauce ain't far behind.
Tip
Tex
Thommo
Sauce
Smack
Sando
Craigy
Porps (porpoise)
Truck
Macca
Birdman
Roo
Danger
Dougie (pizza boy)
Stiffy
Pets
Sloanedog (?)

That's just off the top of my head. It must help their simple minds remember them easier or something.

Heard the half time wrap of the Cow's game on the radio and Cometti and some else were discussing Thompson's hit on Stevie J and saying he'd get 4 weeks. One of the commentators said he'd been talking to Crowie and McDimwitt on the Triple M box and they reckon he'll get off. No bias there.