Lenny Hayes Hit

Listen here sonny, this is the big problem that the AFL have created for themselves now.

Ziebell shouldn't have been rubbed out, thats a fact. So why the feck would you want Hayes to get suspended for what he did ??

Two wrongs don't make a right and the sooner everyone else gets on that page, the sooner we may be able to save this game from becoming a total embarrassment.

Consistency.

If Lenny "Good Bloke" Hayes gets off, it will be a joke.

He was just second to the contest, should be fine.

On a side note, i hope the MRP forget the Jack Ziebell decision, and never mentioned again. I can't stand a bad decision being used as a reference point to make future bad decisions. If they take the Ziebell incident into account, he's every chance to be suspended.

Can JZ have the last four weeks of his career back then? And his points and 50 per cent loading wiped?

Why the **** are people even debating this collision of players ??

Fair dinkum, this game has sunk to even lower levels than I originally realised because now the rank & file numpties who follow the game are brainwashed into thinking that is a reportable offence.

Fact is that Aussie Rules is a "collision sport" and has been for the best part of a century. However, the clowns in charge of running the game are far more intent on appealing to soccer mums than providing an actual contest such is their gung-ho attitude to anything that may remotely be competitive.

Lenny Hayes was going for the chest mark and realised late that he wasn't going to make it in time and braced himself for the impending body on body collision with Hunt. It was not intentional, it was not reckless, its called playing the game like a man and it is what this former great game was based on !!!

If he even gets cited for that, I'll spew up and be even one step closer to giving this game away completely.

The umpires cannot umpire the game any more (ie. last week's over the top 'out of of bounds' fiasco), the rules committee add rules each year to cover for the farcical rules they implemented the year before and players cannot pass comment or text about a thing or they get fined.

And now hard ball players like Hayes (and early it was Ziebell) are being scrutinised for actually "playing" the game in the manner it should be and what crowds are expecting.

This is not a mans game any more, it's for squibs & seagulls and the game is poorer because of it. The lunatics have finally taken over the asylum !!!

Yeah it's sad that people try and bring up a good hard hit like this as suspension worthy, just shows how much the soft rules brought in by the AFL and the MRP have brainwashed supporters into becoming soft themselves.

10 or more years ago, or even 5 years ago, a hit like Hayes wouldn't have even been talked about. I still question whether it was even a fifty as the collision wasn't late, it was just a collision with both players going for the ball. These days though if a player like Hunt gets hurt it seems to be an automatic fifty and a suspension from the MRP, just nonsense.

You sir, are an imbecile of the highest order who either hasn't, or ever had, a shred of knowledge of what this game is about and will never ever get it.

To suggest one player going for the ball and collides with an opposition player a 'dog act' clearly shows your lack of grey matter.

WTF do you want players to do now, just stand back and wait for the ball to come to them ??

Yeah, go follow the netball, you are nothing short of a disgrace and I'm being as polite as I can on this public forum by using that term.

Timmy is a known troll in anything related to St Kilda so you can't take his opinion seriously.

People labelling the Hayes hit as a dog act have obviously never played the game, Hayes was running at full pace and had no chance of pulling out of the contest, he just braced to protect himself in the collision and Hunt came off second best. There was nothing malicious in it at all.

I thought Ziebell was stiff getting 4 weeks but he was reckless in jumping off the ground and raising his arm, something Hayes didn't do.

Consistency.

If Lenny "Good Bloke" Hayes gets off, it will be a joke.

The joke is if he gets suspended !!

You cannot undo what has been done in the past, what can be done is to prevent that sort of crap from happening again.

Stop your sooking because it was one of your players who got unfairly reamed and look a the big picture here !!!

The joke is if he gets suspended !!

You cannot undo what has been done in the past, what can be done is to prevent that sort of crap from happening again.

Stop your sooking because it was one of your players who got unfairly reamed and look a the big picture here !!!

Mate, I don't give a shit about the big picture. I care about North.

Neither Ziebell nor Hayes should have gone/go. But if JZ did sadly, Lenny must too.

The truly sickening thing is that either player is suspended for playing the ball while your dog captain got the same weeks for intentionally try to cripple defenceless opponent.

Mate, I don't give a shit about the big picture. I care about North.

Neither Ziebell nor Hayes should have gone/go. But if JZ did sadly, Lenny must too.

The truly sickening thing is that either player is suspended for playing the ball while your dog captain got the same weeks for intentionally try to cripple defenceless opponent.

Based on that immature & completely one-eyed response, I'll now desist from trying to logically discuss anything further with you because its quite clear that you don't care about where this game is going and the horrid state it is in right now.

And because nimrods like you sprout stuff like "Mate, I don't give a shit about the big picture. I care about North.", then you are only going to be given more and more of this sort of deadshit behaviour from the MRP & those running the game.

Now, run off and rattle some cans at your local shopping centre to keep your club afloat ..... there's a good chap !!

Not saying Cotchin shouldn't have gone for this, but it's a blurry line that separates 4 weeks from having no case to answer.

Cotchin didn't brace to protect from impact though. He braced to strengthen the impact. That's a fair difference from last night.

Cotchin made a mistake in leaving the ground, but the similarity with Hayes is that they both committed to getting to the fall of the ball from a fair distance away.

Cotchin made a mistake, but the similarity with Hayes is that they both committed to getting to the fall of the ball from a fair distance away.

Sure, But Cotchin didnt need to dig the arm in the way he did, he had other options. Im not putting him in the thug catogry but the difference between this and last night were the options at the point of collision. Cotchin could haqve werapped the arms or gone in with open palms, lessened impact significantly but he went in with the shoulder. Deserved some time off.

Hayes contact was as much the player turning into him, on field whistle call nothing more needed. The difference which you quoted as a blurred line was a clear demonstration of intent.

Like Lenny but I thought it looked pretty bad. Was never a chance at marking the ball, & lined Hunt up late who had no chance to brace/defend himself.

FFS .................. !!

Which game were you watching ??

"& lined Hunt up late" - I'm probably going to get a reprimand for this but what the heck, you deserve it. You can go and get totally ****ed if that genuinely is your short-sighted opinion of what happened.

How you can suggest that Hayes 'lined up' another player when he had eyes for the ball is nothing short of mind-boggling ??

Open the other eye, it'll give you a clearer picture overall.

Scarlett wrote the book on dog acts, Lenny just plays hard and fair.
To what do you refer? Scarlett defending his teammate, Bartel, who was sledged by Saint Robert Harvey? Or Scarlett's brain-fade hit on Ballantyne? If the former, then the book is fiction.

FFS .................. !!

Which game were you watching ??

"& lined Hunt up late" - I'm probably going to get a reprimand for this but what the heck, you deserve it. You can go and get totally ****** if that genuinely is your short-sighted opinion of what happened.

How you can suggest that Hayes 'lined up' another player when he had eyes for the ball is nothing short of mind-boggling ??

Open the other eye, it'll give you a clearer picture overall.

I have Hayes in my DT and would prefer he played next week. But watching it live, it looked like he half heartedly put his hands out for a mark he had no chance of taking and then veered slightly into, rather away from a defenceless Hunt, breaking his nose in the process. Pretty much how Dennis saw it.

I have Hayes in my DT and would prefer he played next week. But watching it live, it looked like he half heartedly put his hands out for a mark he had no chance of taking and then veered slightly into, rather away from a defenceless Hunt, breaking his nose in the process.

Paallease ............... ?? :rolleyes:

The one thing I'm sure nearly all footy followers would agree on is that Hayes never ever does anything half-hearted on the field, he always attacks the contest and always within the rules as well.

How did McEvoy get a nose bandage then ??

Can JZ have the last four weeks of his career back then? And his points and 50 per cent loading wiped?

Get over it junior ............ its happened, its past, its gone, its tedious ............... much like your constant whining over something that can't be reversed !!

Paallease ............... ?? :rolleyes:

The one thing I'm sure nearly all footy followers would agree on is that Hayes never ever does anything half-hearted on the field, he always attacks the contest and always within the rules as well.

How did McEvoy get a nose bandage then ??

Pause the video on the AFL site at 2 seconds. Hunt has dropped into the space and is almost directly front of Hayes, who at this point had zero chance of marking the ball & must have seen him. Hayes takes another 4 or 5 steps straight at Hunt & cleans him up. Yeah, it's attack on the ball which is what we want but I think Lenny knew what he was doing and used the situation to deliberatly clean him up. It was a hospital pass & this can be expected to an extent but Lenny def made the most of it.

If there's an angle that show Hayes' eyes locked on the ball the entire time I'll agree it was incidental

Definitely a bit late, and Hayes could have avoided heavy contact if he had chosen to. However, based on MRP's decision to not even cite Simpkin and Kosi for their far worse head high hits against the Pies 2 weeks ago, there is no way Hayes will go.

I think he deserves a week or two, love Lenny like the next man over, but that was an ordinary hit.