Discussion Our 2012 draftees

• Thread starter Thread starter Squizz

Thanks for that hayes, I don't think that video is coming up on my computer and I don't have the time to watch it at this stage anyway, so it's good to hear your thoughts on it. :thumbsu:

Glad to hear all that about Wright and with Murdoch I think we may have picked him more on potential and maybe based on what he did when he first arrived in Adelaide (when he kicked 30 goals in his first 6 games, deep forward), rather than what he necessarily did in his games across HB and in the midfield this year, where his numbers weren't great. I think we're hoping he will get better in those positions once he's had more time getting used to playing there at the higher levels.
I watched it on Chrome if that's any help.

But yeah Wright is a ripper. If he can fix his short kicking we could have a real game breaker on our hands. He's like lightning.

Pearce was in that game as well but by the time I realized it was too late to take any real notice.

Hey guys sorry if you have already spoken about this, but i was just wondering if you guys had it again would you prefer to have kept your first draft pick in the draft and taken Grundy instead of Hickey? seeing as all the talk is that Grundy is ready to go from day 1. Thanks guys

Grundy is going to be a star no doubt, but it's irrelevant because we weren't able to tell the future to know he'd end up falling. The Hickey trade also got us an upgrade on our second and third round draft picks as well and right now we're very happy with those. Time will tell how well we did or didn't do.

Too soon to have regrets for mine.
Grundy being ready from day 1 is as you say "talk " He's big enough, but can he play the footy.
Tom has done enough in his 12 games to make him more of a sure thing.

VERY happy with the Hickster. He's brought an excellent dynamic into the group, and is well loved by the players already. Grundy might have been great, but Hickey looks even better, imo.

Grundy is going to be a star no doubt, but it's irrelevant because we weren't able to tell the future to know he'd end up falling. The Hickey trade also got us an upgrade on our second and third round draft picks as well and right now we're very happy with those. Time will tell how well we did or didn't do.

How do you know he wasn't just a big boofhead who was easily able to monster the TAC kids?
Funny how every Collingwood draftee is always going to be the next big thing.

Much prefer Tom Hickey & Spencer White over Grundy & whoever was picked with 40 or whatever it was. Hickey is going to be a gun, and can step up straight away if needed.

It's not a simple matter of Hickey vs. Grundy. As has been pointed out, we picked up extra picks so the trade wound up being pick 13 (potentially Grundy, in actuality Jesse Lonergan), 37 (Tanner Smith) and 57 (Tim Sumner) for Hickey, pick 25 (Spencer White) and pick 47 (on-traded for Trent Dennis-Lane, used to draft Harrison Marsh). I'm fine with that trade, but it's close. Grundy and Smith could be mighty useful pick-ups

It's silly to debate who we would have taken with a pick we traded.

Maybe we would have taken Lee at 12/13. Or Lonergan and Corr.

But with trading those two picks for the 25/26 upgrades means we basically have 4 chances with those picks instead of 2. And if any more than two of Hickey/Lee/Wright/White turn out really good we've done pretty alright I guess.

And tbh I'm not sure how much attention Saints supporters paid to Grundy cos we all assumed he'd be gone in the first couple picks.

In conclusion, come back in 5 years!

How do you know he wasn't just a big boofhead who was easily able to monster the TAC kids?
Funny how every Collingwood draftee is always going to be the next big thing.
There was talk about how good he is before Collingwood drafted him mate. Best ruckmen to come through since Nic Nat, potentially top 5 pick and all the rest of it. His athleticism overall is through the roof, has a bit of X factor about him and has put up some pretty ridiculous numbers in some games. I can't remember exactly and I'm too lazy to look it up but something like over 40 possessions, 5 goals, 30+ hitouts. Even in the Vic vs SA game I mentioned here the other day he had a pretty ordinary game and still kicked a lazy 3 or 4 goals. No guarantees of course but he looks the goods. Might watch that game again at some stage on the weekend and watch the Pearce vs Grundy matchup more.

In terms of potential I think Hickey has just as much as Grundy. Grundy is already pretty developed physically, what's going to happen in a few years once Hickey has put on some weight?

There was talk about how good he is before Collingwood drafted him mate. Best ruckmen to come through since Nic Nat, potentially top 5 pick and all the rest of it. His athleticism overall is through the roof, has a bit of X factor about him and has put up some pretty ridiculous numbers in some games. I can't remember exactly and I'm too lazy to look it up but something like over 40 possessions, 5 goals, 30+ hitouts. Even in the Vic vs SA game I mentioned here the other day he had a pretty ordinary game and still kicked a lazy 3 or 4 goals. No guarantees of course but he looks the goods. Might watch that game again at some stage on the weekend and watch the Pearce vs Grundy matchup more.

In terms of potential I think Hickey has just as much as Grundy. Grundy is already pretty developed physically, what's going to happen in a few years once Hickey has put on some weight?

Meanwhile last season the Ruckman who actually had an impact was Maric. Pick 40 in the draft.
Its meaningless to regret potential until it happens.
Kosi and Raph Clarke had so much between themself its not funny.
Meanwhile Kurt Tippet is one of the highest paid players. ( So is Tom Scully though )

Meanwhile last season the Ruckman who actually had an impact was Maric. Pick 40 in the draft.
Its meaningless to regret potential until it happens.
Kosi and Raph Clarke had so much between themself its not funny.
Meanwhile Kurt Tippet is one of the highest paid players. ( So is Tom Scully though )
Don't get me wrong I'm not one bit phased that we missed out on Grundy. Ruckmen are the least of my worries, worst case you let another club develop them for a while then pinch them. More than happy with Macca, Stanley and Hickey and the pick upgrades, I just think Grundy will be a very good ruckmen. Probably didn't make that clear enough in my original post.

Looking back, I am still quite happy with that trade. Although Grundy would have been a very nice addition to the team, Hickey and White together are better. I really, really like White and Hickey has shown he can do well in the AFL.

From what I've been told we preferred Hickey (I was told this before we even got him) and would have still done what we did even if we'd known that Grundy was going to slide. The fact that the Hickey trade enabled us to get White, as well as whoever we got with the other upgraded pick (either TDL, or effectively Saunders, from memory) just made it all the better, as far as the club were concerned.

The next couple of pages make for interesting reading from when Brian first comments on Knightmare's mock draft thread, from a month or so ago, for those that haven't read them. It was the first time that I'd seen him posting on a thread outside of here and he went in to bat pretty hard for Tom and Tom: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/knightmares-2012-mock-draft.956129/page-65

Personally, I reckon that Grundy is likely to end up like Adam Goodes and Jack Darling and kick all sorts of ass and have everyone wondering how he slipped so far and how so many clubs could possibly have overlooked him. It just has that feeling about it for me. Anyone that can dominate games like he did, when he's only been playing the game for a couple of years, just has an enormous amount going for him and too much for him not to be successful, IMO. I also think he's ended up at the perfect place for him, because he will be right up Buckley's alley with his personality apparently being very similar to Bucks.

Whether Hickey ends up better, well, time will tell. I certainly hope so, because I think that will mean he'd have to be bloody terrific. I'm very happy to have Hickey and White instead of Grundy though, that's for sure. As for what we would have done if we'd kept pick 37 (if we'd kept 13) I'm not convinced that we would have gotten Tanner Smith, because I don't think we rated him, so we may have just grabbed Murdoch 3 spots higher and perhaps grabbed Pierce in the 40's, instead of at 75, because we rated him in our top 50, so may have been happy to have gotten him there.

Pearce won the hitouts when up against Grundy IIRC. Other than that he sat on the bench for majority of the game, think he was injured.

Nice. There was a bit of talk about Pearce out-rucking Grundy in a game, I'm assuming that was the one.

What game was this? As in the Championships game they played Grundy was the better Ruckman on ground and actually beat Pierce.

Grundy was easily the better ruckman. Just saying Pierce won the centre hitouts that I saw.

From what I've been told we preferred Hickey (I was told this before we even got him) and would have still done what we did even if we'd known that Grundy was going to slide. The fact that the Hickey trade enabled us to get White, as well as whoever we got with the other upgraded pick (either TDL, or effectively Saunders, from memory) just made it all the better, as far as the club were concerned.

The next couple of pages make for interesting reading from when Brian first comments on Knightmare's mock draft thread, from a month or so ago, for those that haven't read them. It was the first time that I'd seen him posting on a thread outside of here and he went in to bat pretty hard for Tom and Tom: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/knightmares-2012-mock-draft.956129/page-65

Personally, I reckon that Grundy is likely to end up like Adam Goodes and Jack Darling and kick all sorts of arse and have everyone wondering how he slipped so far and how so many clubs could possibly have overlooked him. It just has that feeling about it for me. Anyone that can dominate games like he did, when he's only been playing the game for a couple of years, just has an enormous amount going for him and too much for him not to be successful, IMO. I also think he's ended up at the perfect place for him, because he will be right up Buckley's alley with his personality apparently being very similar to Bucks.

Whether Hickey ends up better, well, time will tell. I certainly hope so, because I think that will mean he'd have to be bloody terrific. I'm very happy to have Hickey and White instead of Grundy though, that's for sure. As for what we would have done if we'd kept pick 37 (if we'd kept 13) I'm not convinced that we would have gotten Tanner Smith, because I don't think we rated him, so we may have just grabbed Murdoch 3 spots higher and perhaps grabbed Pierce in the 40's, instead of at 75, because we rated him in our top 50, so may have been happy to have gotten him there.

BrianSpeaking got pwned IMO. for instance stating that lee was a pick 6-12 prospect is ludicrous. if he genuinely was, another club would have offered GWS pick 6-12 for him. then he said hvourat was going to put many clubs off due to his combine and performance, but then if we look back he was picked up before pick 20.

the hickey/lee trades will take time before we can properly review them. we cant afford to get any of them wrong.